We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [action-economy]

For questions centering around the "action economy", a meta-game term for the inherent limits on the number of things a character can do in a single turn.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
76 views

If you cast Sunbeam, do you get the first beam in the same round you cast the spell?

I have a question concerning the spell Sunbeam (PHB, 289). In the spell description it says: For the duration of this spell, you can use a standard action to evoke a dazzling beam of intense light ...
6
votes
3answers
367 views

What is the cheapest way to damage myself and trigger the effects of the Fade Away gnome racial feat?

The Fade Away gnome racial feat says (XGtE, p. 74): Immediately after you take damage, you can use a reaction to magically become invisible until the end of your next turn or until you attack, deal ...
2
votes
0answers
101 views

Does anyone have a good way to allow a Necromancer to summon more powerful undead at the cost of summoning less of them? [closed]

I have a Necromancer that is starting to get a decent size army of undead going. It works great, he mainly uses his other spells to fill the support/buff/debuff role and uses the undead as his main ...
1
vote
0answers
45 views

Is it possible to take multiple bonus actions in a single turn? [duplicate]

There are ways to gain multiple actions in a turn through for example the fighters action surge, but I've found nothing in respect to bonus actions.
24
votes
1answer
34k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
9
votes
2answers
364 views

Is the spell combo Booming Blade into a quickened Thunderwave legal? [duplicate]

I'm sure this topic has been beaten to death, but I can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for. That being said, maybe I'm just not seeing the answer for what it is and I just want to feel special ...
2
votes
1answer
163 views

Does casting the Glyph of Warding spell from a spell scroll take 1 action or 1 hour?

Does casting the glyph of warding spell from a spell scroll take 1 action or 1 hour? Say a wizard has a scroll of glyph of warding (GOW). Would they be able to, at time of casting - assuming you can ...
2
votes
5answers
492 views

Can I swap weapons and change the grip when using two-weapon fighting?

After a fiery dispute with another player about why you shouldn't be able to cheese a magus to both use spell combat and 2-handed attack with only 2 arms, I came up with an equivalent for non-magic ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there any balance issues with allowing thrown Javelins to be drawn for free like ammunition weapons?

Weapons that have the ammunition property, such as bows and crossbows, can be used without having to worry about the action economy with regards to the ammunition itself (such as arrows or bolts) as ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does 5e have a free item interaction?

Does 5e have an item interaction? I could really have some help in understanding how the item interactions work and how they are used during combat.
2
votes
1answer
74 views

How do Dvati work with Maneuvers?

So Dvati may be my new favorite race. One character with two bodies poses a number of interesting questions, and while the rules are pretty clear on how that works with spellcasting, nothing is said ...
30
votes
4answers
6k views

Is there a meaningful difference between giving a monster multiattack and giving it multiple turns per round?

I'm creating a CR21 boss for my medium-level party of six players to fight. I know that action economy is a big disadvantage for a single enemy fighting an entire party, so I'm giving the boss the ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the tentacle rod prevent multiattack?

Made by the drow, this rod is a magic weapon that ends in three rubbery tentacles. While holding the rod, you can use an action to direct each tentacle to attack a creature you can see within 15 feet ...
4
votes
1answer
326 views

Can you draw a wand while walking?

Under the "Draw a weapon" heading, the PRD states that: You can draw a weapon with a move action. This also applies to wands. You can draw a weapon on the move, if you have at least +1 BAB. This ...