Questions tagged [action-economy]

For questions centering around the "action economy", a meta-game term for the inherent limits on the number of things a character can do in a single turn.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
30
votes
4answers
6k views

Is there a meaningful difference between giving a monster multiattack and giving it multiple turns per round?

I'm creating a CR21 boss for my medium-level party of six players to fight. I know that action economy is a big disadvantage for a single enemy fighting an entire party, so I'm giving the boss the ...
24
votes
1answer
36k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
21
votes
5answers
2k views

What are the balance ramifications of always preventing creatures from taking reactions before their first turn?

I've recently been toying with some rule modifications to 5e's Initiative rules in an attempt to resolve the rule/reality inconsistency where a player "gets the jump" on a monster, but the monster is ...
16
votes
5answers
13k views

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn't even take a bonus action, is there anything in ...
12
votes
1answer
510 views

Does switching between using a versatile weapon one-handed to two-handed cost anything with regards to the action economy?

The versatile weapon property says (PHB, p. 147): Versatile. This weapon can be used with one or two hands. A damage value in parentheses appears with the property–the damage when the weapon is ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there any balance issues with allowing thrown Javelins to be drawn for free like ammunition weapons?

Weapons that have the ammunition property, such as bows and crossbows, can be used without having to worry about the action economy with regards to the ammunition itself (such as arrows or bolts) as ...
10
votes
1answer
6k views

Does 5e have a free item interaction?

Does 5e have an item interaction? I could really have some help in understanding how the item interactions work and how they are used during combat.
9
votes
2answers
502 views

Is the spell combo Booming Blade into a quickened Thunderwave legal? [duplicate]

I'm sure this topic has been beaten to death, but I can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for. That being said, maybe I'm just not seeing the answer for what it is and I just want to feel special ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Does Magic Stone require an action or a bonus action for attacking with it?

The cantrip Magic Stone states: You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Does the tentacle rod prevent multiattack?

Made by the drow, this rod is a magic weapon that ends in three rubbery tentacles. While holding the rod, you can use an action to direct each tentacle to attack a creature you can see within 15 feet ...
8
votes
2answers
579 views

What is the action-economy cost of drawing a weapon? What about two?

What does it take to draw a weapon if you start combat with it away? Is it an Interact? If so, you trigger Reactions including Attack of Opportunity. Part of a Stride (as it was in P1e)? Free? What if ...
7
votes
1answer
604 views

Can you cast Magic Stone on 3 pebbles as a bonus action, throw a stone as an action, then, on your next turn, throw the 2 remaining pebbles?

Can you cast Magic Stone on 3 pebbles as a bonus action, throw a stone as an action, and then on your next turn, throw the 2 remaining pebbles? That is, throwing the first pebble as your action and ...
6
votes
10answers
18k views

Is there any practical way to magically summon/create a weapon and throw it in one turn?

My question is heavily inspired by this question: Can I conjure a dagger or dart in my offhand and use bonus action to attack with it?. I wanted to expand the scope a bit. That question was ...
6
votes
3answers
418 views

What is the cheapest way to damage myself and trigger the effects of the Fade Away gnome racial feat?

The Fade Away gnome racial feat says (XGtE, p. 74): Immediately after you take damage, you can use a reaction to magically become invisible until the end of your next turn or until you attack, deal ...
5
votes
3answers
452 views

When you take the Dash action via Expeditious Retreat, does that consume your action on that same turn?

The expeditious retreat spell (which has a casting time of a bonus action) says: This spell allows you to move at an incredible pace. When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of ...
5
votes
1answer
207 views

Can I drop an object and cast Catapult on the same turn?

I'd like to drop an object weighing 1-5 pounds and use my action to cast Catapult on the item. PH 190 details Other Activity on your turn, and interacting with an object is included on that list. Can ...
5
votes
1answer
104 views

Spirit Guardians Material Components

Short Version: The 5e rules state that a player can substitute material components with a focus. Could the player provide the actual material instead? If so, could a Divine Soul Sorcerer/Paladin use ...
5
votes
0answers
106 views

Pros and Cons of Different Action/Turn Frameworks [closed]

I would like to have a clearer understanding of the pros and cons of various frameworks of turn composition and action economies. That is, I would like to see the relative benefits and drawbacks of ...
5
votes
1answer
627 views

How does creating two Eldritch Cannons with one action work for an Artillerist artificer? [duplicate]

The Artillerist Artificer's 15th-level Fortified Position feature (Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 60) states: You can now have two cannons at the same time. You can create two with the same ...
4
votes
1answer
476 views

Can you draw a wand while walking?

Under the "Draw a weapon" heading, the PRD states that: You can draw a weapon with a move action. This also applies to wands. You can draw a weapon on the move, if you have at least +1 BAB. This ...
3
votes
1answer
187 views

How are the Action Economies of Pathfinder 1e and D&D 3.5 Different?

I’m going to be GMing a Pathfinder Adventure Path with PF1e rules, but with some D&D players (who are familiar with 3.5 and 5e rules). This’ll be their first foray into PF so I wanted to explain ...
3
votes
1answer
105 views

If you cast Sunbeam, do you get the first beam in the same round you cast the spell?

I have a question concerning the spell Sunbeam (PHB, 289). In the spell description it says: For the duration of this spell, you can use a standard action to evoke a dazzling beam of intense light ...
2
votes
5answers
690 views

Can I swap weapons and change the grip when using two-weapon fighting?

After a fiery dispute with another player about why you shouldn't be able to cheese a magus to both use spell combat and 2-handed attack with only 2 arms, I came up with an equivalent for non-magic ...
2
votes
1answer
204 views

Does casting the Glyph of Warding spell from a spell scroll take 1 action or 1 hour?

Does casting the glyph of warding spell from a spell scroll take 1 action or 1 hour? Say a wizard has a scroll of glyph of warding (GOW). Would they be able to, at time of casting - assuming you can ...
2
votes
2answers
132 views

How do Dvati work with Maneuvers?

So Dvati may be my new favorite race. One character with two bodies poses a number of interesting questions, and while the rules are pretty clear on how that works with spellcasting, nothing is said ...
2
votes
0answers
121 views

Does anyone have a good way to allow a Necromancer to summon more powerful undead at the cost of summoning less of them? [closed]

I have a Necromancer that is starting to get a decent size army of undead going. It works great, he mainly uses his other spells to fill the support/buff/debuff role and uses the undead as his main ...
1
vote
0answers
49 views

Is it possible to take multiple bonus actions in a single turn? [duplicate]

There are ways to gain multiple actions in a turn through for example the fighters action surge, but I've found nothing in respect to bonus actions.