Questions tagged [actions]

For questions involving the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
9 votes
5 answers
2k views

Is there a way to take away an action in D&D 5e?

I'm trying to make a monster in D&D 5e and I can't find anything on taking away actions. I want to have a monster that can take away a player's action, but I can't find anything on it. I know I ...
Stick3141's user avatar
  • 139
6 votes
1 answer
422 views

Does an unconscious dying creature with regeneration regain its actions on its following turn?

A matter of order? While seeming like an easy question, it might actually be a bit more convoluted. The way I see it, the question comes down to the order of following two aspects: Regaining actions ...
Kasper Thystrup Karstensen's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
146 views

Should GM characters ever roll tests against difficulty dice?

I'm running a superhero campaign in Cortex Prime. During our bank robbery session, one of the robbers managed to escape with the cash and jump in the getaway car, which started to drive off. Our ...
DLosc's user avatar
  • 293
9 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the Devourer target itself with soul rend?

The Devourer monster from Monsters of the Multiverse has an ability called Soul Rend. The abilities does the following: Soul Rend (Recharge 6). The devourer creates a vortex of life-draining energy ...
edoreld's user avatar
  • 354
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

Does surprise prevent both moving and acting?

Note: I am not a native English speaker. The surprise rules state (emphasis mine): If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first turn of the combat, and you can't take a ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 764
4 votes
1 answer
180 views

Casting Leveled Action Spell and Bonus Action Scroll in the same turn? [duplicate]

I'd like to cast Spirit Guardians and Sanctuary (Bonus) in the same turn, but I can't. So I bought some Sanctuary scrolls. Can I cast Spirit Guardians and read a Sanctuary (Bonus) Scroll in the same ...
Foggy's user avatar
  • 135
9 votes
1 answer
578 views

How long does it take to set up a Hunting Trap? How does it work?

Can you affix the heavy chain to an immobile object when you use your action to set a Hunting Trap (PHB p. 152), or is it just the opening of the teeth that takes an action? The text says: When you ...
yeastgoblin's user avatar
  • 1,320
2 votes
4 answers
431 views

Ready Action and Bonus Action [closed]

In our weekly game we had a pretty typical question about a ready action, reaction and bonus action. I was DM and here is how it starte. The players decided to explore some ruins. As they explored, ...
Oakstout's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Why do I need the Raging Intimidation feat in order to Demoralize while Raging?

While building a Barbarian, I was reviewing the rules for Rage and Intimidation. The Barbarian has a level 1 class feat called Raging Intimidation that states: While you are raging, your Demoralize ...
Jason_c_o's user avatar
  • 8,899
4 votes
1 answer
339 views

While wearing Illusionist's Bracers, can a Player Hold Action with Booming Blade (for Reaction) and strike on your turn with a Bonus Action?

By RAW can a Rogue High Elf wearing Illusionist's Bracers use Hold Action with Booming Blade to trigger Illusionist's Bracers feature to then use their Bonus Action (on their turn) to cast Booming ...
Clipped Dragon's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
501 views

Does bestow curse's third option prevent you from using bonus action and reaction?

Bestow curse's third option prevents the target from using its action: While cursed, the target must make a Wisdom saving throw at the start of each of its turns. If it fails, it wastes its action ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.6k
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a Gloom Stalker Ranger (potentially) make an attack roll five times in one turn via the Attack action?

As the DM, a player at my table is playing a Gloom Stalker Ranger, at level 11. This player was able to make an attack on their first turn of combat while utilising two-weapon fighting, per the PHB ...
Xenor's user avatar
  • 263
3 votes
1 answer
144 views

Does a freshly mounted creature get a new turn? [duplicate]

The rules for mounted combat say: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. (...) A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it. What, ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
5k views

Can multiple Legendary Actions be used in 1 round?

I had a whole thing typed for this and then saw I need to broaden the scope of my question. If a creature has 4 legendary actions on its sheet (like the lich) and it states: The lich can take 3 ...
ItsScottish's user avatar
  • 1,301
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

What actions can I use in battle forms, and how?

If I have Intimidating Glare, I can Demoralize without speaking. So I think it should work in Animal Form. However, what is my Charisma? Is it changed? If I want to Tumble Through, how high is my ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.1k
0 votes
0 answers
66 views

Can I attack nothing? [duplicate]

Combat Expertise can only be triggered via an attack (either standard action or full-round action). When you use the attack action or the full attack action in melee, you can take a penalty of as ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
1k views

What does "last action" mean?

Taste Blood says: [...]To drink a creature's blood, either your last action must have been a fangs Strike that damaged the target[...] If on my first action I use Flurry of Blows to make 2 Strikes, ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.1k
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

How do the prone condition and AC against ranged attacks interact?

So, this is just a clarification about how a character's AC interacts with the Prone condition aside from the Flat-Footed condition. Mostly because being prone gives you the ability to Take Cover and ...
Snakehelm's user avatar
  • 2,417
4 votes
2 answers
317 views

Can you interact with objects or communicate verbally (or telepathically) while ritual casting?

My understanding of ritual casting and longer cast times is that it prohibits other actions, other than casting a bonus action cantrip such as Magic Stone or Shillelagh. You can still walk around, use ...
Cookieman's user avatar
  • 645
11 votes
1 answer
2k views

After I finish casting Teleportation Circle, can I prevent the portal from immediately opening?

My party often has my wizard start casting teleportation circle while everyone else is still grabbing treasure. If I finish casting the spell but someone hasn't made it back in time, can I wait to ...
Joe Williams's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
282 views

Does a running jump have the move trait?

I see two actions that represent a running jump: High Jump and Long Jump. Each of them are made of a Stride action, an Athletics skill check, and a Leap action that is modified by the result of the ...
droid's user avatar
  • 193
6 votes
1 answer
295 views

How does one-handed/two-handed switching work?

The specific scenario: I have a fighter character with Quick Draw feat and Sidestep Charge feat, and this fighter charges to a enemy wizard with his longsword two-handed to utilize his 1.5 * STR DMG ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Irresistible Dance force me to use *all* my actions?

(Otto's) Irresistible Dance says: As an action, a dancing creature makes a Wisdom saving throw to regain control of itself. This is a strange phrasing, in that is does not specify whether one ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.3k
3 votes
3 answers
734 views

What does "takes an action" mean?

The context of this question, is the following: I've recently joined a D&D table, which happened to be with only new players, including the DM himself. The other day, our DM introduced us a new ...
Namnam's user avatar
  • 135
19 votes
4 answers
4k views

Does a legendary action occur “outside” of a turn?

The rules for legendary actions state: A legendary creature can take a certain number of special actions — called legendary actions — outside its turn. Only one legendary action option can be used at ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 211k
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Multiattack defense vs legendary actions

I have a question about the DnD 5E Ranger Hunter Multiattack Defense feature. Should you or do you get Multiattack Defense against legendary actions? For example, when you get a bite and two claw ...
Somewhere_Nthemiddle 's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
227 views

Can you use a Sustain action on the same turn you cast it?

Many spells in DnD 4e take a Standard action to cast, and then have a Sustain Minor for additional effects (e.g. Crown of Madness, Bigby's Icy Grasp). Is it possible to cast the spell as a Standard ...
Dacromir's user avatar
  • 10.3k
16 votes
1 answer
2k views

What prevents enemies from speaking command words to turn off your magic items?

The Magic Items section of the PFSRD says this about command words (emphasis mine): Command Word: If the activation is on command or if no activation method is suggested either in the magic item ...
Makst's user avatar
  • 739
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

When does the target of Otto's Irresistible Dance start to dance?

The spell Otto's Irresistible Dance enchants a creature so that it begins a comic dance in place: shuffling, tapping its feet, and capering which has several negative effects on the creature: A ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
656 views

Does the victim of a Carrionette's Soul Swap, get a Carrionette's actions, when it gets control of its body?

The Carrionette listed in Van Richten's Guide To Ravenloft, is given a Challenge Rating 1 (!?!) and features a pair of actions which seem very powerful: Silver Needle. Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, ...
ProphetZarquon's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
341 views

Can the Hunter subclass use their Volley feature with a melee weapon?

The Ranger subclass in D&D 5e, Hunter, has an 11th-level feature called Multiattack which allows them to pick Volley or Whirlwind. Volley. You can use your action to make a ranged attack against ...
James's user avatar
  • 45
4 votes
1 answer
266 views

Climbing Movement (stay in place)

A creature making use of climbing movement, on a suitable surface, when interrupting its movement during climbing, can it act freely by remaining in the place where it is? Is it necessary to spend an ...
Raony Borges's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
116 views

In a Conflict, what does it mean to Defend on your turn?

According to the rules for Conflicts: Next, each character takes a turn in order. On their turn, a character can take one of the four actions. Resolve the action to determine the outcome. The ...
Tim C's user avatar
  • 9,713
1 vote
1 answer
77 views

Can this Pact Hag power make the target move?

So in D&D 4e, Monster Manual 3, there's the Pact Hag (p.108). One of their attacks is the Compelling staff. The description says this: "Hit: 1d6 + 5 damage, and the target makes a melee basic ...
Kris SciHist's user avatar
2 votes
6 answers
628 views

When summoned creatures are "defending themselves from hostile creatures" on a turn without commands, does this include taking Actions of any type?

The descriptions of many "Conjure ..." spells (e.g. Conjure Animals pp.225 PHB) contains text like this: If you don't issue any commands to them, they defend themselves from hostile ...
Kronecker's user avatar
  • 153
20 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a Bladesinger wizard cast a Bonus Action spell and still use their Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip on the same turn?

I noticed a peculiar rule interaction. The rule on casting bonus action spells states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell,...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,041
7 votes
4 answers
872 views

Does covering an object with Darkness cast upon it count as using an object as described in the combat actions?

In the rules for Darkness spell it states: Completely covering the source of the darkness with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the darkness So my question basically boils down to ...
Tyscribz's user avatar
  • 333
5 votes
4 answers
654 views

Do siege weapons have a maximum rate of fire?

Siege weapons typically take a series of multiple actions to make an attack. Ballistae, for example, require the input of a load action, aim action, and fire action to make a single attack roll - ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51.3k
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Object Interactions and the location of the object?

Is there a rule or rules clarification about the location (or change of location) of an object during the object interaction / Use an Object action? E.g.: stuff some food into your mouth or drink all ...
clueless's user avatar
  • 101
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

Does a Vial of Acid, Oil, Alchemist Fire, or other improvised weapon adventuring gear still require an Object Interaction to 'draw' first?

A specific example being Thief Rogue: If they don't have the vial in their hand at the beginning of combat, would they still need to use Object Interaction to take out the vial, and then use either a ...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,802
17 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does a player character who becomes a vampire gain the vampire's Legendary Actions?

One of my players became a vampire by choice and according to the Monster Manual, "the character gains the vampire's damage resistances, darkvision, traits, and actions" (p. 298). Does that ...
Hadern The Deliverer's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
3k views

Stowing and drawing weapons?

"I'd probably say they can throw one axe, while holding their polearm in their other hand, and be ready to use it again next turn. I don't think it's reasonable to allow a character to stow their ...
MilkMan6777's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
8k views

Can you use your action to take a bonus action? [duplicate]

During a game tonight, I had a DM state using an action to do a bonus action is allowed by RAW. I was always taught this is not the case. I understand it's the DM's table, but for my own knowledge for ...
Morthanal's user avatar
  • 473
0 votes
2 answers
572 views

Does Slow spell allow a move and an action?

Just looking for a clarification on what a target can do in a round when hit with Slow spell. normally we get a 'move' and an 'action' (in addition to bonus etc) my question is about just the two ...
gman_donster's user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
468 views

Can monsters take actions that aren't detailed in their stat blocks? [duplicate]

Me and my players got into an argument as to whether or not an Oni could take the Dodge action. This led me to question whether a monster can take normal actions other than the ones in its stat block. ...
Alex Sash's user avatar
  • 953
9 votes
4 answers
3k views

What does it mean that an Ancient Blue Dragon's legendary action 'Wing Attack' costs 2 actions?

What does it mean that an Ancient Blue Dragon's legendary action 'Wing Attack' costs 2 actions? Doesn't a dragon get one action on its turn like everyone else, whether it's a multi-attack, casting a ...
Rock Stone's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Are there any beasts eligible for the druid's Wild Shape feature that have Legendary or Lair Actions?

The Druid's Wild Shape class feature states, in part: [...] If the creature has any legendary or lair actions, you can’t use them. I do not recall ever seeing any creatures with Legendary or Lair ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
818 views

Can a bladesinger use vampiric touch with his multi-attack after the initial casting?

During the initial casting it's a levelled spell so I believe he can't at first, but after the spell takes effect you can use the attack without expending a spell slot does that make it count as a ...
Muhammad hiari's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
3k views

As a Magus, does Spellstrike take 3 actions?

I'm level 2 right now. My DM says it takes 1 action to melee with Spellstrike, and 2 actions to cast my spell. Which means that's all 3 of my actions... So I can't move to an enemy to use my skill? I'...
Calarious's user avatar
  • 109
12 votes
1 answer
261 views

What are the “Dynamic Manoeuvres” in Dark Souls?

In the Dark Souls tabletop RPG, one of the uses for spending Position is (p.103): Perform one Dynamic Manoeuvre. These are special actions, enabling you to do extraordinary things, pushing yourself ...
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.3k

1
2 3 4 5
14