Questions tagged [alchemist]

For questions about the alchemist, a class or character focused on the use of alchemy, typically to create magical or quasi-magical potions.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
2 answers
748 views

Alchemist's Fire and Burn it! Critical damage

I am aware that there were quite a few questions about the interaction between Alchemist's Fire splash damage and Burn it! feat. However I think one thing remains without an answer: what about ...
  • 61
1 vote
1 answer
63 views

Can a spellcaster Dispel an effect caused by an Alchemist's bombs?

I'm trying to build a bit of a foil for one of my more competent casters, and I came upon a conundrum. The Smoke Bomb discovery reads as follows: When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to ...
5 votes
3 answers
537 views

How do the formulas for alchemical items from the basic crafting book interact with the alchemical formulas from the Alchemist class?

When you get a basic crafting book, it contains formulas for common items. Some of the things you gain access to are formulas for alchemical items. How does this pair with the alchemical formulas from ...
  • 1,329
3 votes
1 answer
201 views

How do a perfumer alchemist's Effervescent Bombs interact with the Healing Bomb Discovery?

We had a problem with the alchemist perfumer archetype, more specifically with his Effervescent Bombs (Su) and Healing Bomb Discovery. How should it work? Effervescent Bombs seem to be more of a ...
7 votes
2 answers
282 views

Quick Alchemy and Poison Potency

Does the line on Quick Alchemy about remaining potent for only 1 round matter for poisons once they've been applied? You swiftly mix up a short-lived alchemical item to use at a moment's notice. You ...
  • 4,965
1 vote
4 answers
1k views

Would an Alchemist Artificer apply their Alchemist Savant feature once or twice in a given scenario?

Given the character has all their prerequisites 5th level Alchemist Artificer with the spells Absorb Elements, Shocking Grasp 3rd level Sorcerer (any) with Transmuted Spell metamagic The description ...
  • 29.9k
10 votes
1 answer
717 views

Is Alchemical Alacrity a mistake?

Alchemical Alacrity says: Your comfort in concocting items is such that you can create three at a time. When using the Quick Alchemy action, you can spend up to three batches of infused reagents to ...
  • 53.8k
6 votes
2 answers
880 views

What is the point of Bestial Mutagen?

The Bestial Mutagen gives you a penalty to AC and Ref, but also unarmed attacks, and an item bonus to these. The bonus to attack is 1 higher than what you could get on a level-apropirate weapon, which ...
  • 53.8k
5 votes
1 answer
926 views

What are the ways by which an alchemist can access the alchemical bomb crit specialisation?

See the title. What methods are open to an alchemist that allow them to gain access to the alchemical bomb's critical specialisation effect (increasing the splash radius to 10ft)? This includes ...
  • 2,382
1 vote
1 answer
83 views

When does a Summon spell take effect [duplicate]

!st ed: The Summon Monster and Summon Nature's ally spells all have a casting time of 1 round. My regular group have always taken that to mean that the summoned creature begins to act in the ...
  • 838
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is there anything preventing a first-level alchemist from buying a sixth-level alchemical formula?

The alchemist starts at level 1 with eight first-level alchemical formulae - two from their specialisation, four from their alchemical crafting feat, and two for free because they're alchemists. ...
  • 2,382
5 votes
1 answer
78 views

Can a non-Elven drinker benefit from an Elven Alchemist Blend spell?

If an Elven alchemist with the Infusion discovery creates an extract of the Blend spell, would that work on a non-Elven drinker?
  • 838
6 votes
1 answer
857 views

Are alchemist's tools required for Infused Reagents & Advanced Alchemy?

The Pathfinder 2 alchemist gets the Advanced Alchemy feature, which lets them spend their daily Infused Reagents resource to create alchemical items. The class description suggests that alchemist's ...
  • 31.2k
3 votes
1 answer
440 views

Can alchemists prepare alchemical items without reading their formula book?

The Pathfinder 2 alchemist class can prepare alchemical items if they have the item's formula in their formula book. However, the class features never explicitly say that the alchemist needs to read ...
  • 31.2k
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Green-Flame Blade benefit from the Alchemist artificer's Alchemical Savant feature if they use alchemist's supplies as an improvised weapon?

The Alchemist artificer's 5th-level Alchemical Savant feature states (WGtE, p. 180; E:RftLW, p. 58): Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a ...
  • 391
5 votes
1 answer
206 views

Can I surprise enemies with bottled oozes?

Suppose I am an alchemist with the bottled ooze discovery, and have a gelatinous cube in a bottle. If I ready an action to throw a gelatinous cube in the path of a moving creature, does that count as ...
  • 411
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does consumables batch crafting work in Pathfinder Society?

How does Pathfinder 2e consumables batch crafting work in Pathfinder Society play? For example: After an adventure, an alchemist wants to use 8 downtime days to craft a batch of four lesser alchemist'...
  • 2,267
7 votes
1 answer
497 views

Can an Alchemist permanently have a potion buff?

The Eternal Elixir feat lets an Alchemist make the duration of one of their elixirs "indefinite". The Improbable Elixirs feat lets them craft a magic potion as an elixir. Can an Alchemist with both ...
  • 47.3k
7 votes
2 answers
983 views

Can a (2019 UA) artificer's alchemical homunculus take actions not listed in its description?

The 2019 UA artificer's alchemical homunculus is described with a list of actions it can perform, most of which require the artificer to use a bonus action to issue the order. The actions listed are ...
2 votes
1 answer
496 views

Stats for homunculus created by Alchemist with Promethean Disciple discovery - how to get it buffed up, RAW?

One of my ex players (ex as we're switching DM currently, she is still active) wanted to create a homunculus. She took Promethean Disciple because, for some reasons, Promethean Alchemist did not ...
  • 20.7k
1 vote
1 answer
155 views

Can other PCs use Alchemical Weapons?

I wanted to get some clarity on something. My character is an alchemist for reference. If I craft Alchemical Weapons like those listed in the Alchemists Manual, can my other party members use them? ...
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

What can the 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemical Homunculus do outside of combat?

In the 2019 version of the UA Artificer class, one of the specializations is Alchemist. The alchemist gets the ability to create an Alchemical Homunculus. The description has a section on actions in ...
  • 251
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

What’s the right calculation for the Homunculus’s hit points for the 2019 UA Alchemist Artificer?

In the 2019 version of the Unearthed Arcana Alchemist Artificer, the Homunculus's hit points are given as: Hit Points equal to five times your level in this class + your Intelligence modifier Is ...
  • 71
2 votes
1 answer
219 views

Missing with a splash weapon II - Target against a wall / water / pit

(This is kind of a follow-up to Missing with a splash weapon) Situation There is an alchemist (or other splash weapon user) "T", throwing her splash weapon at a target "X" that is within T's weapon'...
  • 1,381
4 votes
2 answers
5k views

Missing with a splash weapon

RAW The Combat Rules concerning Splash Weapons go as follows: If you miss the target (whether aiming at a creature or a grid intersection), roll 1d8. This determines the misdirection of the throw, ...
  • 1,381
4 votes
2 answers
812 views

What happens when you're under the effects of a mutagen and brew a new one?

The alchemist's Mutagen class feature says: At 1st level, an alchemist discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. ...
  • 10.6k
1 vote
1 answer
159 views

Firing a rocket from within a Bag of Holding

So, my party has come up to something that I think is rather interesting. Because of an absence from several sessions due to work, my character, a goblin firebomber, was placed within our bag of ...
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Which features that increase damage contribute towards Alchemist Bomb Splash damage?

Alchemist bombs have splash damage equal to the minimum damage that the bomb can roll. The Point-Blank-Shot feat specifically calls out that it does not increase splash damage, and FAQs have said ...
  • 2,386
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

How to make Alchemist able to create homunculus, as RAW as feasible, in Pathfinder?

In European tradition, Homunculus is alchemical creation: The homunculus first appears by name in alchemical writings attributed to Paracelsus (1493–1541) One of my players plays Alchemist class ...
  • 20.7k
2 votes
1 answer
216 views

Ectoplasmic Bombs rules?

The Alchemist's Ectoplasmic Bombs discovery states that Incorporeal creatures struck by such a bomb take full damage from it. It does not, however, state whether these still do their normal damage to ...
  • 68
1 vote
1 answer
248 views

Does an Alchemist have any means to recall Infused Extracts?

The Infusion Discovery allows Alchemist to provide their Extracts to non-Alchemist for use. However it inlcudes the caveat: ...it continues to occupy one of the alchemist’s daily extract slots. ...
  • 37.2k
2 votes
1 answer
535 views

Can an Alchemist with Infused Extract hand them out before combat? [closed]

Inspired by Who can be the target of an infused extract?. Supposing an Alchemist has created their Extracts per the Alchemy class feature and the Infusion Discovery, would they then be able to ...
  • 37.2k
2 votes
1 answer
467 views

Who can be the target of an infused extract?

The description of the discovery Infusion for the Pathfinder Alchemist class reads: "When the alchemist creates an extract, he can infuse it with an extra bit of his own magical power. The ...
2 votes
1 answer
731 views

The interaction between Ragechemist and Mutagenic Touch

One of the biggest issue with the Ragechemist archetype (Ultimate Combat) is the runaway Intelligence and Will save penalty. At max level, for a basically melee archetype, you take -4 Int and Will ...
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Does Ability Focus cover all Alchemist Bombs?

Ability Focus applies to a creature's special attack. Assuming that the Alchemist's Bomb is a special attack: Would Ability Focus (Bomb) apply to all bomb discoveries such as Cursed Bomb and Frost ...
  • 2,378
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I drink more than one potion in one round?

One of the players I play with said that it is not allowed by the rules that you drink more than one potion in one round, but he could not find the rule anymore. Let us say I have the Potion Glutton ...
  • 6,487
4 votes
2 answers
407 views

How can I create new effects using research?

I am playing a vivisectionist alchemist that has the goal of improving the human race through genetic manipulation. However, neither the GM nor I have any idea of how my character should go about ...
0 votes
1 answer
617 views

Can an Alchemist use a launching crossbow with their bombs?

Can an Alchemist use a launching crossbow with their bombs?
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

How do the Master Alchemist feat and the Instant Alchemy special ability interact?

Master Alchemist: Benefit: You receive a +2 bonus on Craft (alchemy) checks, and you may create mundane alchemical items much more quickly than normal. When making poisons, you can create a number ...
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

If you have the "Promethean Disciple" Discovery, are Constructs considered Alchemical Items?

Rules for Promethean Disciple state Benefit: "An alchemist with this discovery learns how to craft constructs by way of alchemical research rather than arcane magic. The alchemist gains Craft ...
3 votes
1 answer
620 views

How does the Animal Companion Power of a Sacrament Alchemist with Animal Domain work?

The Sacrament Alchemist archetype allows thanks to the Sacramental Cognatogen to temporarily get some domain powers as explained: Instead of providing physical benefits, the sacramental cognatogen ...
  • 986
4 votes
2 answers
725 views

Can the alchemist adventure during their mummification process?

The Alchemist's Mummification discovery states that "the alchemist must perform a 30-day regimen of a special diet, rigorous exercise, and drinking a mildly poisonous alchemical tea." Can this ...
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Spell Resistance with Alchemist Bombs

By default, an alchemist's bombs are not affected by spell resistance, because they are a Supernatural (Su) ability. Only spells and spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance. ...
  • 165
0 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does the Tinkerer Alchemist's familiar work?

I'm looking into making a Tinkerer Alchemist for PFS and I'm trying to nail down some of the rules gray areas. I'd love some help finding RAW, PFS-legal answers to these things. 1) If the construct ...
  • 1,233
6 votes
2 answers
547 views

How does a cloudkill generated by an alchemist's poison bomb naturally disperse?

At level 12, alchemists can make poison bomb Poison Bomb Benefit: The effects of the smoke created by an alchemist’s bomb duplicates the effects of cloudkill instead of fog cloud, filling ...
  • 1,282
5 votes
3 answers
481 views

Does an Underground Chemist/Far Strike Monk using ki to increase base damage of a hybridized flask increase both dice?

I have a question about how the Far Strike Monk's ability to use a ki point to give his thrown weapons his unarmed strike damage works with hybridized splash weapons. For reference: Hybridization ...
14 votes
3 answers
4k views

Can you throw back a bomb thrown by an alchemist with Snatch Arrows?

An alchemist has the ability to throw bombs. His opponent is a monk with the Snatch Arrows feat. Snatch Arrows (Combat) Instead of knocking an arrow or ranged attack aside, you can catch it ...
  • 1,282
7 votes
4 answers
14k views

Closest non-Homebrew class to Potions Master / Salve-Maker?

I've been searching for a character build where it focuses on Potions crafting. To be specific, a character that would be able to craft potions as an (in-combat) action, and where the potions crafted ...
  • 245
7 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a Tumor Familiar have an Archetype?

As the Title states I'm wanting to know if there is a ruling on whether a Tumor Familiar can get an archetype or not? Specifically wanting to know in regards to the protector archetype. I am fully ...
4 votes
1 answer
268 views

Are there issues with a tiny alchemist having a tiny tumor familiar?

So I'm starting a new character, and im planning a Svirfneblin with permanenced Reduce Person (making me tiny sized). Now my question is about the tumor familar discovery, alowing me to have a tiny/...