Questions tagged [ammunition]

For questions related to ammunition in RPGs. Ammunition is typically required for ranged weapon attacks in various RPGs. Question with this tag should relate to using, obtaining, tracking, recovery, storing, and/or crafting of ammunition.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-10
votes
1answer
268 views

Can I recover a single arrow? [closed]

Should a player be permitted to attempt recovery of a single arrow fired into battle? Phrased another way; if a player fires a single arrow into battle, and no more, should it always be unrecoverable? ...
-19
votes
3answers
371 views

A crossbowman fires three coloured bolts, then spends one minute searching the battlefield, which bolt(s) does he recover?

At the end of the battle, you can recover half your expended ammunition by taking a minute to search the battlefield. PHB.146 A ranger PC with a crossbow has three ordinary bolts. He's very ...
-11
votes
1answer
223 views

A Monk threw three coloured darts, then spends one minute searching the battlefield, how many darts does the Monk recover?

A Monk PC has three ordinary darts. He's very creative and painted the darts different colours, the primary colours. One dart is red, one dart is yellow, one dart is blue. The monk throws the three ...
16
votes
1answer
473 views

Does Improved Pact Weapon include ammo?

The Warlock Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" from Xanathar's Guide allows the warlock to summon a ranged weapon: Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or ...
2
votes
1answer
304 views

Is there a way for a PC to craft crossbow bolts?

In Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 85, it lists the following as one of the things you can do with Woodcarver's Tools: Craft Arrows. As part of a short rest, you can craft up to five arrows. As ...
7
votes
2answers
487 views

How does Hail of Thorns interact with with magic ammunition or enchantments?

How does Hail of Thorns interact with with magic ammunition or enchantments. For example with an arrow of slaying, acid arrow, and flame arrow spell? Would the effects of these enchantments be ...
5
votes
1answer
319 views

Does the “reappearing” property of the “Shadowneedle” Unbreakable Arrow function?

In Adventurers League play, it is possible to find a "Shadowneedle" (Unbreakable arrow from module CCC-KUMORI-02-04), which has this special text : One of twenty unbreakable arrows crafted with ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

Can creatures outside a Leomund's Tiny Hut use ammunition that was fired from inside the hut to attack creatures inside the hut?

I've not seen comments on this interpretation, so what can anyone tell me about enemies picking up arrows shot out of the hut and shooting them back in (albeit at obscured creatures inside)? Do those ...
7
votes
2answers
391 views

Can ammo be recovered?

I am unable to find anything in the rulebook that explains if mundane ammunition is recoverable, damaged, or destroyed after being fired. Are there any official rules on this?
15
votes
2answers
1k views

How does a poisoned arrow combine with the spell Conjure Barrage?

A Ranger casts the spell Conjure Barrage: You throw a nonmagical weapon or fire a piece of nonmagical ammunition into the air to create a cone of identical weapons that shoot forward and then ...
0
votes
1answer
591 views

How does a repeating crossbow work?

I recently looked into the D&D 3.5E rules for a repeating crossbow, but I found them a bit confusing. The rules state: As long as it holds bolts, you can reload it by pulling the reloading ...
9
votes
1answer
265 views

How does the Arcane Archer fighter's Piercing Arrow interact with magical ammunition such as +3 arrows?

A +3 arrow loses its magical property once it hits a target, but the description on the Arcane Archer fighter's Piercing Arrow (XGtE, p. 29) says that the target takes damage as if it was hit by the ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What advantages do focused Arrows of Slaying have over more generic ones?

I was looking at the arrow of slaying magic item and part of it intrigued me (bold for emphasis mine): Some are more focused than others; for example, there are both arrows of dragon slaying and ...
4
votes
1answer
508 views

Does a creature polymorphed into a Giant Ape carry ammunition to make its ranged attacks?

The description of the polymorph spell (BR, p. 266) says: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment ...
12
votes
1answer
299 views

Do winged kobolds carry a pouch of rocks?

In my adventure I want to add some winged kobolds, but I don't know how their "Dropped Rock" attack works. Do they carry a pouch of rocks, or they need to pick up larger rocks from the ground every ...
10
votes
2answers
829 views

How many arrows is an archer expected to fire by the end of the Tyranny of Dragons pair of adventures?

Tyranny of Dragons spans two supplements: Hoard of the Dragon Queen Rise of Tiamat If an archer was expected to buy all of their arrows up front, what is a reasonable estimate of how many arrows ...
17
votes
3answers
904 views

Could Swift Quiver provide silvered/adamantine ammunition?

As I understand it, silvered (PHB p. 148) and/or adamantine (XGtE p. 78) weapons or ammunition do not automatically count as magical. There is no text describing them as magical, and they are not ...
21
votes
2answers
5k views

How recoverable is Magical Ammunition?

From Xanathar's Guide to Everything: Walloping Ammunition: This ammunition packs a wallop. A creature hit by the ammunition must succeed on a DC 10 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone. ...
25
votes
1answer
3k views

Is drawing an arrow from a quiver an item interaction?

So in a given turn in combat, you can interact with an item once per turn for free, then any subsequent interactions with the same or another item costs an Action (which, unless you can Action Surge ...
3
votes
1answer
580 views

Is ammunition considered a weapon for enchantment?

Can you put enchantments made for weapon on ammunition or is it strictly ammunition enchantments? Ex. The Fiercebane enchantment (MIC p.35) calls out for a weapon slot to be enchanted and says "A ...
9
votes
4answers
8k views

Can the Lightning Arrow and Conjure Barrage spells be combined in this way?

In the game I DM for, one player is playing a ranger. The player asked me if he would be able to cast the lightning arrow spell, then use the arrow as ammunition for the conjure barrage spell. The ...
12
votes
4answers
15k views

Can you use the Catapult Spell with Ammunition and Weapons?

Can I use the Catapult spell from the Elemental Evil Companion to launch ammunition (like bolts, arrows, and sling stones) and weapons within the weight requirements? Would the damage still be ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a warlock with the UA Moon Bow invocation use the created bow to fire magic ammunition?

The Moon Bow eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) allows you to go around without ever carrying a weapon or ammunition. You can summon your bow as an action, ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Do thrown weapons in monsters' stat blocks have ammunition?

While reading the Monster Manual, I came across Ammunition A monster carries enough ammunition to make its ranged attacks . You can assume that a monster has 2d4 pieces of ...
15
votes
4answers
1k views

Using Ammo with Throwing Daggers

How does using Throwing Daggers interact with the Ammo system? The throwing dagger does not have the "ammo" tag. However, it is still thrown using Volley, which has a risk of expending additional ...
19
votes
5answers
23k views

Is ammunition recoverable and reusable?

In games I DM, it is common after combat for players to tell me that they go around and recover the items that expended as ranged attacks. While this certainly makes sense for a hand axe or thrown ...
8
votes
2answers
28k views

Costs of magic arrows [closed]

Ammunition +3 and Arrow of Slaying are both classified as Very Rare in the DMG, which according to the Magic Item Rarity table means their value is approximately 5,001-50,000gp. This means that the ...
31
votes
2answers
29k views

Does a Mundane Arrow Fired From a Magical Bow Count as a Magical Weapon Attack?

I've seen this question asked in previous editions, but I want to ask this question specifically for D&D 5e. Apparently there is still some debate about this. If I am a fighter with a +2 bow and I ...
8
votes
5answers
673 views

Recovering ammunition (bolts, etc.) in Numenera

Suppose a ranged combat character in the Numenera setting, using a non-artifact ranged/thrown weapon. Say, a heavy crossbow. There is limited ammunition that players usually have to buy. After a ...
28
votes
4answers
80k views

How do you load a hand crossbow?

The Crossbow Expert feat states that as a bonus action, you can "attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding." However, nowhere in the rules does it specify a "loaded" versus "unloaded" state ...