The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [arcane-focus]

For questions about items which serve as a focus for arcane energy. Examples include wands and staves. NOTE: For questions about magic items such as magic wands or staves, use [magic-items] instead.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
493 views

Does a multiclassed Oathbreaker paladin/warlock have to know the Darkness spell as a warlock to cast it using an arcane focus?

As an Oathbreaker Paladin/Warlock, my character gets darkness as an oath spell at level 5, meaning he can cast it using his holy symbol. In the event that he loses his holy symbol, does he have to ...
4
votes
1answer
299 views

Which components for the Simulacrum spell are consumed?

The components of the simulacrum spell read as follows Components: V, S, M (snow or ice in quantities sufficient to made a life-size copy of the duplicated creature; some hair, fingernail clippings,...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

Is a Hexblade Warlock's weapon their arcane focus by default?

I'm playing a Hexblade with Pact of the Blade, and I was wondering whether the weapon you use as part of the Hex Warrior ability counts as an arcane focus, or only if it's a pact weapon and you have ...
3
votes
1answer
375 views

Would a circlet be acceptable to hold an arcane focus? [closed]

I'm currently in a homebrew campaign and the DM has stated he doesn't mind my character using a circlet (what would essentially be her crown since she's a royal type) but it has to have some sort of ...
3
votes
3answers
128 views

How does SoP focus use work?

I am building a spellcasting character using the Spheres of Power rules and one of the casting drawbacks I have taken is focused casting. Focused Casting Your magic requires you to use an item ...
2
votes
2answers
491 views

Can I use a hand holding a focus from one class to cover somatic components for a spell from another class?

I want to try playing a multiclass Hexblade 2 / College of Swords Bard 18, but I'm concerned about how focused will work. I intend to hold a shield in one hand with a sword in the other. Thanks to ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a 2019 UA Artificer use a Mizzium Apparatus as a spellcasting focus?

In the 2019 Unearthed Arcana version of the Artificer, they are noted as using artisan's tools as the foci of their spells, rather than the more typical arcane or divine focuses, though the ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

How does a character multiclassing into warlock get a focus?

I have a martial character I want to multi-class into warlock but from what I can see in the book, it looks like they would not receive an arcane focus since they don't get their new class' starting ...
1
vote
1answer
778 views

Can clerics use a focus instead of divine focus when casting a spell?

I am a cleric who recently had their holy symbol stolen from them (my backup was in my backpack). I needed to cast a spell. From my list of prepared spells I had summon monster, which has both a focus ...
1
vote
1answer
160 views

Can I use a ring as an arcane focus if my hand must still be empty?

I'm designing an outlander wood elf warlock who only has one hand. I feel like this would prevent me from cheating the action economy, while still allowing me to carry things with that hand. If I need ...
1
vote
0answers
97 views

Unarmed Sorcerer's Spell Focus? [closed]

My sorcerer player has taken exception to the existence of the Hat of Wizardry being wearable on the head but not usable by a sorcerer, a class whom in their opinion shouldn't need any spell focuses ...
1
vote
0answers
412 views

If a UA Artificer infuses a weapon and uses it as a spellcasting focus, can it be used for the somatic component of a spell too? [duplicate]

The new Artificer class (from Unearthed Arcana) for 5e can infuse magic into weapons or shields, and use the infused item as a spell focus for material components. However, can you wave your focus for ...
0
votes
1answer
98 views

What happens to the book after a creature is released from Scribe's Binding?

Scribe's Binding imprisons a creature in a book, that then is filled with its "memories and knowledge". If the creature is released, does the book still contains the "memories and knowledge" of the ...
0
votes
1answer
84 views

Are all magical staves and wands spellcasting foci? [duplicate]

Are magical items such as: Staff of Frost DMG page 202 Staff of Power DMG page 202 Wand of Fireballs DMG page 210 Wand of the War Mage +1 DMG page 212 Considered to be foci usable ...
-4
votes
2answers
1k views

Does acquiring a new spellcasting focus require attunement?

Our wizard goes to spend his quest reward to buy an expensive looking wand (because he was from a rich family). At the shop, the rogue is caught shoplifting and the shopkeeper calls guards, so we ...