Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
2 answers
162 views

Can the Armorer Artificer's Infiltrator Lightning Launcher be used if set into a full hand?

Per RAW, if the Lightning Launcher of the Infiltrator version of Arcane Armor is put onto one of the fists, can it be used to make an attack if that hand is full, either due to wielding a weapon/...
user avatar
  • 1,916
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a fighter learn to use firearms despite them only recently being invented by another member of the party

Recently, after one of our PC's fell off a mountain we welcomed a new fighter to our party, hailing from a far-off land. Our party is all level 3. I'm playing a dwarf artillerist artificer. My ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
444 views

Do the “Master Scrivener” and “Magic Item Adept” features stack?

Does the “Master Scrivener” feature from the Order of Scribes subclass stack with the “Magic Item Adept” feature from the Artificer class when determining the time and gold cost for crafting common ...
user avatar
  • 1,951
4 votes
2 answers
785 views

Does using the Artificer's Repulsion Shield happen before or after taking damage from a successful hit?

Does using the Artificer's Repulsion Shield prevent the character from taking damage? Or does it happen after taking damage from a successful hit?
user avatar
  • 163
5 votes
0 answers
73 views

Is damage from the spell Wall of Fire rolled once or rerolled each time? [duplicate]

I am playing an Artillerist Artificer, using an Arcane Firearm (5th level feature) which states: When you cast an artificer spell through the firearm, roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one of the ...
user avatar
  • 51
7 votes
3 answers
376 views

If my artificer imbues a staff with the Enhanced Weapon infusion, and then a druid casts the Shillelagh spell on that staff, do their effects stack?

I'm currently playing as an artificer. I know that when an artificer imbues one of their infusions into an item, it makes a non-magic item into a semi-magic item. Say I imbue the Enhanced Weapon ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
405 views

Can an artificer reset an infusion's charges by re-infusing it?

Some artificer infusions have charges, like normal magic items. For example, the mind sharpener from TCE: The item has 4 charges. […] The item regains 1d4 expended charges daily at dawn. However, ...
user avatar
  • 1,405
9 votes
2 answers
1k views

What is the significance of the errata that removed the Artillerist artificer's Eldritch Cannon's immunity to conditions?

When Eberron: Rising from the Last War was published in November 2019, the version of the Artillerist artificer published in it originally contained this line (p. 59): It is immune to poison damage, ...
user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
638 views

As an Artillerist Artificer, can I use my eldritch cannons while under an entanglement spell?

In Eberron: Rising from the Last War, the Artillerist subclass for the artificer gets a feature called Eldritch Cannon that you summon as a small or tiny object. If my character is under the effects ...
user avatar
10 votes
6 answers
3k views

One of my players placed their eldritch cannon inside the mouth of an enemy. How should I handle the attack?

As stated in the title, one of my players has put their eldritch cannon (Artillerist Artificer) inside the mouth of one of the enemies in their current encounter. I'm struggling to figure out how to ...
user avatar
  • 111
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

What is the point of the Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender having the Vigilant trait?

The Battle Smith subclass of the Artificer (TCoE, p. 19) has a Steel Defender companion, whose statblock includes a trait called Vigilant: The defender can't be surprised. This sounds good, and I ...
user avatar
  • 25.8k
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can an Artificer cast V,S spells with no free hand

Just seeking to clear up a bit of confusion. There seems to be a lot of points and counter points floating around so I will start at the beginning. As I understand it a Artificer (RAW but perhaps not ...
user avatar
  • 664
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can an Artificer's Homunculus Servant use magic items, and does an Amulet of Health have an effect on it?

My question is two-fold. First, I wonder whether a Homunculus Servant can use magic items, especially if they require attunement. It explicitly counts as a creature of the construct type, and has an ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

When does an artficer regain spell slots?

I've looked on several resources and I can't get to the bottom of whether an Artificer recharges spell slots on short/long rest? Lots of articles refer to the class as a "short rest caster" ...
user avatar
  • 113
13 votes
3 answers
955 views

Can an Artificer, proficient in Mason's Tools, use Fabricate to reconstruct the statue of a petrified person which has been broken or shattered?

Am I interpreting it correctly that, yes, an Artificer in this situation would be able to reconstruct the petrified statue of his party member? The Petrified condition states: A petrified creature is ...
user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
403 views

Does the All-Purpose Tool improve the save DC of the Artillerist artificer's "Explosive Cannon" detonation ability?

At 9th level, an Artillerist artificer gains the ability to detonate the cannon created by the 3rd-level Eldritch Cannon ability: Doing so destroys the cannon and forces each creature within 20 feet ...
user avatar
  • 8,385
2 votes
1 answer
358 views

Can a Homunculus Servant speak? [duplicate]

Homunculus Servant's stat block reads: Languages understands the languages you speak It doesn't seem like it can actually talk back, though, because of the verb "understands" being used ...
user avatar
  • 2,130
4 votes
1 answer
148 views

Does Armor Modifications allow for multiple infusion on the same area? [duplicate]

A bit of a oddly phrased question however, the Armored Modification ability for the Armorer subclass for the Artificer says... At 9th level, you learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially ...
user avatar
  • 5,582
1 vote
2 answers
399 views

Can an Alchemist combine their subclass bonus with an Enhanced Arcane Focus?

Enhanced Arcane Focus is an artificer infusion that's applied to a rod, staff, or wand, and adds +1 to spell attack rolls. Alchemist artificers also get the Alchemical Savant feature, which lets them ...
user avatar
  • 1,405
1 vote
1 answer
210 views

Can an Artificer Armorer use Enhanced Defense Infusion on their Homunculus Servant (infusion)?

Can an Artificer Armorer use Enhanced Defense Infusion on their Homunculus Servant (infusion); same goes for the Battle Smith's Steel Defender? Do these constructs/creatures Natural Armor even count ...
user avatar
-4 votes
2 answers
419 views

Can the Artificer: Artillerist's Arcane Cannon (tiny hand sized variation) be used with Sneak attack?

Can an artificer with the artillerist subclass' Arcane Cannon (tiny hand sized variation) be used with Sneak attack? Granted common sense should say a cannon of any sort short of books/films is a ...
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

When firing a weapon with the artificer infusion "Returning Weapon" via catapult, does it come back to your hand after the spell's conclusion?

I'm playing a level 2 Artificer for a campaign with some friends. If I use the "Returning weapon" infusion on a hand-axe and shoot it out via the catapult spell (since a hand-axe weighs ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
214 views

Can the version of the Artificer class published in "Tasha's Cauldron of Everything" choose to end an infusion?

Is there an easy way for an Artificer to willfully end an infusion? One of the many problems I am seeing is that an infusion only works on non-magical items. But infusions cause items to become ...
user avatar
  • 27.2k
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Are the separate pieces from the Armorer Artificer's "Armor Modifications" still considered "A suit of armor" for infusions?

The title is a little convoluted, so hopefully I can explain better here. At 9th-level, an Armorer Artificer gets the class feature "Armor Modifications": You learn how to use your ...
user avatar
  • 27.2k
0 votes
1 answer
584 views

How much damage, on how many creatures can an Armorer Artificer do with Thunder Gauntlets per turn?

Regarding Armorer artificer's Armor Model feature as describe in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything: Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't ...
user avatar
  • 169
1 vote
1 answer
715 views

Can an Armorer Artificer use Enhanced Defense or other Artificer Infusions on the armor or parts of the armor?

Regarding Armorer artificer's Armor Model feature as describe in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything: Your metallurgical pursuits have led to you making armor a conduit for your magic. As an action, you ...
user avatar
  • 169
1 vote
1 answer
272 views

Artificer Steel Defender Homebrew

I DM for a player who is playing a level 4 Battle Smith Artificer. The player on numerous occasions has asked for extra enhancements to there class such as "macgyuver a holy hand grenade". ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
359 views

Does the Armorer Artificer's Lightning Launcher make a sound when attacking?

Does the Armorer Artificer's Lightning Launcher make a sound when attacking? I just recent aquired Exploring Eberon and saw Silent Weapon Infusion and want to know if it can be applied to it. Silent ...
user avatar
1 vote
4 answers
697 views

Would an Alchemist Artificer apply their Alchemist Savant feature once or twice in a given scenario?

Given the character has all their prerequisites 5th level Alchemist Artificer with the spells Absorb Elements, Shocking Grasp 3rd level Sorcerer (any) with Transmuted Spell metamagic The description ...
user avatar
  • 27.2k
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is the Artificer friendly to new players?

I have a friend who's interested in D&D and is coming from a background in 40k and Star Wars Armada. Given the difference in types of games, I worry about them being bogged down and overwhelmed. ...
user avatar
  • 143
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

Artificer Thunder gauntlets taunt effect

I'm currently DM-ing a campaign and one of my players is playing a Warforged Artificer Armorer. At lvl 3 he gains the Thunder gauntlets that as Tasha's describes has a forced attack effect on the ...
user avatar
  • 349
15 votes
2 answers
925 views

Does an Artillerist Artificer's Eldritch Cannon gain a bonus to damage while under the effect of Enlarge/Reduce?

Can the Artificer cast Enlarge on one of their eldritch cannons to grant the cannon the extra 1d4 damage to its initial damage? Some of us were confused on the official ruling of that spell.
user avatar
-7 votes
2 answers
715 views

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in?

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in? Extra Attack: Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, ...
user avatar
2 votes
4 answers
930 views

Can an Armorer Artificer wear another set of armor with their Arcane Armor?

The Arcane Armor feature from the Armorer subclass has the following line: “The armor continues to be Arcane Armor until you don another suit of armor or you die.” If an Armorer Artificer is wearing ...
user avatar
  • 1,951
4 votes
2 answers
546 views

Do the Thunder Gauntlets and Lightning Launchers of Adamantine Arcane Armor count as Adamantine weapons?

As stated in Xanathar's Guide: Adamantine is an ultrahard metal found in meteorites and extraordinary mineral veins. In addition to being used to craft adamantine armor, the metal is also used for ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
216 views

What happens to breastplate Armor when it is chosen as Armorer Artificer's Arcane Armor?

Ok now a breastplate is just the chest piece and maybe the shoulder guards. But as an Armorer's Arcane Armor the armor encases the user as stated by, "expands to cover your entire body". ...
user avatar
-2 votes
2 answers
220 views

Can you use Metamagic options when making a magic item or w/ Artificer's Emulate Magic Item Infusion by Multicalssing or by Metamagic Adept feat? [closed]

Can you use Metamagic options when making a magic item (via Xanthar's Guide) or w/ Artificer's Emulate Magic Item Infusion by Multicalssing or by Metamagic Adept feat? Ex: with the Metamagic options .....
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
165 views

Can an Artificer Infusions or Armorer 's Arcane Armor be used with a College of Creation Bard's Performance of Creation? [closed]

Can an Artificer's Infusions or Armorer's Arcane Armor be used with a College of Creation Bard's Performance of Creation? [...] create one nonmagical item of your choice [...] the gp value of the ...
user avatar
0 votes
3 answers
418 views

What balance pitfalls result from permitting an artillerist artificer to use ordinary, non-infused arcane foci for spellcasting?

For reasons of narrative flexibility, my group is considering house-ruling the artificer to permit using ordinary arcane foci (wands, staves, orbs, etc.) in addition to artisan's tools for ...
user avatar
  • 8,385
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Balancing around Eldritch Cannon's use as a bonus action

I am fairly new to DM'ing and I am going to be running a simple one shot soon. I intend to start the players at level 3 so they can enjoy the more entertaining class features and not be so squishy ...
user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
634 views

Can some Tools be used as a Druidic focus?

While I was thinking about multiclassing Druid with Artificer, I wonder how broad the definition of Druidic Focus is. Might this definition cover some Tools to use the same focus for both Druid and ...
user avatar
  • 275
3 votes
1 answer
707 views

Can you use the Crossbow Expert feat with Hand Crossbow and Armorer Artificer Infiltrator's Lightning Launcher with the same hand?

Currently using a Custom Origin (Tasha's CoE) Half Drow Rogue(Scout) 3 Armorer Artificer 5 with the Crossbow Expert feat. I want to make the maximum amount of attacks I can in the surprise round, ...
user avatar
-9 votes
1 answer
751 views

Is the Lightning Launcher from the Armorer Artificer affected by the Spell Sniper Feat? [closed]

Is the Lightning Launcher from the Armorer Artificer affected by the Spell Sniper Feat? If not, how can you increase it range? Reason: The Armorer's "Arcane Armor" (if we are to actually ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
416 views

How loud are firearms, and can Artificers modify or build a firearm that reduces the noise it makes? [closed]

How loud are firearms in D&D 5e, and can Artificers modify or build firearms to reduces the noise they make? How far can you hear a gunshot, and what would be the standard DC for Wisdom (...
user avatar
18 votes
2 answers
4k views

How can I give my Iron Man Artificer build sustained flight without wings?

I was trying to make myself Iron Man in D&D 5e. I selected the Armorer Artificer subclass and got Infiltrator armor for the lightning launchers. Now, I need a way to fly and I can't find a way to ...
user avatar
  • 189
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you stack AC bonuses with an Artificer's Infusions?

Can you stack AC bonuses with an Artificer's Infusions? I get that you can't use the same Infusion on multiple items. However... does the Enhance Defense Infusion and Repulsion Shield Infusion stack ...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
861 views

Is the Steel Defender's Force Empowered Rend affected by items that add +1 to Spell attack rolls?

Do items that affect an Artificer's spell attack modifier also affect the Steel Defender's actions that use said spell attack modifier? As an example, my current level 4 Artificer has +4 INT +2 Prof ...
user avatar
  • 61
3 votes
1 answer
749 views

The Armorer artificer's Infiltrator Armor Model negates disadvantage on Stealth from armor; can you still gain advantage on the check by other means?

The Armorer artificer's Armor Model feature (TCoE, p. 16) lets you customize your Arcane Armor into the Infiltrator or Guardian armor models, each of which grants several benefits. The Infiltrator ...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
171 views

How do Modifier-Based Features and Modifier-Setting Items Interact?

For a feature that is limited by your ability score modifier, how does usage count change if your ability score changes midday? The specific scenario in question is Flash of Genius on our negative ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
323 views

Can a multiclass Artificer use Alchemical Savant on spell learned through the other class(es)?

The description for Alchemical Savant say: You've developed masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your ...
user avatar
  • 27.2k

1
2 3 4 5 6