Questions tagged [artificer-infusions]

For questions about infusions, a feature specific to the artificer class in Dungeons & Dragons that allows the character to infuse mundane items with magic and thereby grant them special properties, some of which may replicate the functions of real magic items. (See also the [artificer] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
2answers
273 views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
3
votes
1answer
256 views

Can the Mind Sharpener infusion be used in tandem with an Armor infusion?

One of the new Artificer infusions from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything is the Mind Sharpener, requiring "A suit of armor or robes". There are other Artificer infusions that apply onto armor, ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer's Arcane Armor's special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything) gains the "Armor Modifications" feature : You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your ...
7
votes
3answers
841 views

When can an artificer use the Infuse Item feature to imbue an item with an artificer infusion?

While exploring Undermountain in the Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage published adventure, the party has encountered a few monsters that are resistant to non-magical weapons. The artificer in the ...
2
votes
0answers
45 views

Does Concurrent Infusions allow you to skip the XP costs and material components of the infusions it applies?

Concurrent Infusions is a 4th level Artificer infusion that lets you apply the effects of three 1st level infusions, all at once, without actually 'casting' them. You channel your artificer talents ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an artificer replicate the same magic item more than once?

Artificers can take the "Replicate Magic Item" infusion more than once, each time choosing a magic item that they can make with it. Can an Artificer take the "Replicate Magic Item" ...
2
votes
1answer
483 views

Can an Artificer imbue multiple objects with the same kind of infusion?

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not? Specifically, I want to put the ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

Abalative Armor and Stone Construct Interplay

Abalative Armor provides damage reduction 15/- at 10th level, once the infused item has prevented damage from a single attack even if not all the damage reduction is needed, the magic fades. Stone ...
9
votes
1answer
991 views

Can Two Artificers Make a Bag of Holding Bomb?

The artificer class has the Infuse Item class feature, which allows it to make "effectively a prototype" of a permanent Bag of Holding using the Replicate Magic Item Artificer Infusion, ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you combine an Artificer's Enhanced weapon infusion with a +3 magic weapon?

The Artificer's Enhance Weapon infusion (ERftLW) grants a +1 (+2 at 10th level) bonus to attack and damage rolls made with the infused weapon. Is it possible to combine this infusion with a magic ...
2
votes
1answer
97 views

Is this homebrewed Enhanced Instrument infusion balanced

To go along with a homebrew Artificer subclass that I've recently asked about that is very focused on playing musical instruments, I've created a thematically related Infusion, that any Artificer ...
8
votes
1answer
526 views

What mundane item does an artificer infuse to replicate a Prosthetic Limb or an Arcane Propulsion Arm?

For the artificer's "Replicate Magic Item" infusion (E:RftLW, p. 63; WGtE, p. 182), I'm trying to figure out what mundane item you'd need to start with in order to end up with a Prosthetic Limb or an ...
1
vote
0answers
237 views

Why Is The Artificer's Infuse Item So Confusing? [closed]

I'm playing an artificer in my friends campaign but I tend to get confused by a lot of the wording on Infuse Item. The ability seems simple enough but it feels like I'm missing something because the ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can my artificer use an Infusion to create a Bag of Holding everyday for profit?

Can my artificer make a bag of holding everyday and then sell them for gold? And yes I have the infusion for this.
9
votes
1answer
968 views

How does the artificer's Resistant Armor infusion work?

The artificer class gets the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level (E:RftLW, p. 57; WGtE, p. 179): At 2nd level, you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions. The magic ...
7
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a Battle Smith's artificer Steel Defender be imbued with an infusion?

I am looking at the Steel Defender for the Battle Smith artificer in ERLW. It is a construct (p. 61): Medium construct, neutral And its AC is determined by its "natural armor": Armor Class 15 (...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an Artificer learn the same infusion more than once?

The Artificer class's infusions is one of it's main features, and it says this about creating infusions: You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

What reactions are available to an artificer's homunculus servant?

The description of the artificer's homunculus servant states: In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its ...
0
votes
2answers
4k views

Can an artificer's infused item still have other magic added to it after it's infused? [closed]

If an item was infused by an Artificer, say using the returning weapon infusion, would it be possible to then add some other magic to the weapon. You cannot infuse a magical item, but does that limit ...
18
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens if you no longer meet the Strength requirement for your armor?

I recently asked about what happens when you lose requirements for an attuned item (here). Now, I have a slightly different but still related question involving the artificer class' 20th-level ability,...
3
votes
1answer
670 views

Can the artificer infusion Radiant Weapon blind a ranged or hidden attacker?

The artificer infusion Radiant Weapon has the following property as one of its effects (E:RftLW, p. 62; WGtE, p. 182): [...] As a reaction immediately after being hit by an attack, the wielder can ...