Skip to main content

Questions tagged [artificer-infusions]

For questions about infusions, a feature specific to the artificer class in Dungeons & Dragons that allows the character to infuse mundane items with magic and thereby grant them special properties, some of which may replicate the functions of real magic items. (See also the [artificer] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
360 views

Can you switch your "Replicate Magic Item" Infusion after a long rest?

Say you originally had Goggles of night for your chosen Replicate Magic Item (RMI) Infusion for Artificer and you've only taken RMI once, after a long rest can you switch it to a Bag of holding if you'...
Plucky54's user avatar
  • 614
-1 votes
3 answers
217 views

What happens when an Artificer infuses an item within an anti-magic field while immune via Wish?

Relevant Text: Wish You grant up to ten creatures you can see immunity to a single spell or other magical effect for 8 hours. Antimagic Field Magic Items. The properties and powers of magic items ...
Alterinam's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
84 views

Can you have more infusions active than your daily limit?

I am a 3rd-level artificer. I know the infusions Enhanced Defence, Repeating Shot, Enhanced Weapon, and Replicate Magic Item (Bag of Holding). If I infuse a suit of armor (with Enhanced Defence) and a ...
Rhylas's user avatar
  • 57
5 votes
1 answer
85 views

Artificers and Wand DC Calculation

I'm exploring the capabilities granted by the Metamagic Spell Trigger feature at 7th level and the Metamagic Item Infusion (3rd Level). I'm seeking clarification regarding its interaction with the ...
SoyMavi's user avatar
  • 911
5 votes
2 answers
258 views

Can an Artificer's Infusions act as a spellcasting focus for spells from another class?

I'm specifically looking at the case of a character that starts as an Armorer Artificer, then multiclasses into Wizard for the majority of their career. As I read it, as long as the Artificer has ...
pixelcrash's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
405 views

Could the DM allow an Artificer to create a homunculus servant via Replicate Magic Item?

In this forum discussion at D&D Beyond, it is proposed that a homunculus servant is a magic item. Therefore, if the DM ruled it, could an artificer use the replicate magic item class feature to ...
Gurk Palastine's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
295 views

What could a Homunculus Servant transform into via true polymorph?

Looking at the Homunculus Servant stat block, I noticed that for CR it's just blankt. Not 0, not number, just blank. It made me wonder, would it be affected by spells like polymorph or true polymorph? ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
11 votes
3 answers
3k views

Thrown Arms Master and Returning Weapon Infusion

Thrown Arm Master is an interesting feat from the Tal'Dorei Campaign Setting Reborn, but I'm curious about its interaction with the Returning Weapon infusion. Namely the following part about Thrown ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
168 views

How Artificer Works in D&D 5e [closed]

Good afternoon! I found an infusion from an artificer that allows you to improve his armor by adding +1 to his armor class. But also one of the subclasses has a feature that sounds something like this:...
Lavran's user avatar
  • 27
10 votes
4 answers
840 views

Glory of the Giants item Ring of Amity and Artificers: Free Magical Healing?

The new book Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants has an attunement item called the Ring of Amity, which has an interesting property: When you first attune to this ring, you can touch one willing ...
Journer's user avatar
  • 3,560
4 votes
2 answers
920 views

Can I use Performance of Creation to provide the 100gp gem for a homunculus servant?

The College of Creation Bard has the class feature Performance of Creation, which states: As an action, you can channel the magic of the Song of Creation to create one nonmagical item of your choice ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
9 votes
1 answer
945 views

Can a Battlesmith Artificer's steel defender perform tasks such as "find food" or "stand guard"?

A Battlesmith Artificer in my campaign wants to have his steel defender basically "programmed" to perform various tasks, many of which involve acting on its own accord. Things like standing ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,383
2 votes
1 answer
577 views

What happens with multiple Replicate Magic Item infusions of Spellwrought Tattoo?

The RAW states that an Artificer's infusion can only be applied to one item at a time using bag of holding as an example so we all know it applies to replicated magical items. With Spellwrought tattoo ...
WildGues's user avatar
  • 105
2 votes
0 answers
375 views

Can use a spell to infuse an item into a weapon or a weapon with ammo. (A Gun with fireball bullets or a Sword with Blindness/Deafness) [closed]

I sort of want to do the things in the title like having a shotgun with a fire resistant build so I can have ammunition that can use fireball (multiclassing as a Artificer and a sorcerer balancing ...
egg's user avatar
  • 31
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does an Artificer obtain mundane objects for infusion/replication?

I've been trying to figure out how to go about 'creating' the non-magical items needed so you can tinker them into trinkets, or infuse them into a replication of a magic item. Things like Needles that ...
LevelSix SYSTEM's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
911 views

Does the AC bonus from artificer infusions affect the Shield Master feat?

The Shield Master feat contains this: If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful effect that targets only ...
RHS's user avatar
  • 2,290
4 votes
1 answer
251 views

What happens to an Armorer Artificer's extra infusions if they change their Arcane Armor?

Armorer artficiers have the Armor Modifications feature, which lets them improve parts of their Arcane Armor, but also importantly... In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once ...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,081
4 votes
1 answer
632 views

Arcane Propulsion Armor — can it give the wearer limbs they never had?

Arcane Propulsion Armor can give additional body parts to the wearer instead of "missing" ones: If the wearer is missing any limbs, the armor replaces those limbs—hands, arms, feet, legs, ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 69.1k
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can Arcane Armor replace a missing eye?

Arcane Armor states that it "replaces any missing limbs, functioning identically to a limb it replaces". Would this apply to a missing eye?
KGoblin's user avatar
  • 495
0 votes
2 answers
999 views

How could an Artificer craft and infuse a laser pistol?

Let's say a futuristic artificer finds themselves in the 15th-century Sword Coast and wants to build a laser pistol. If they found "generic" +1 weapon formulas, which allows you to craft a &...
47948201's user avatar
  • 3,943
3 votes
0 answers
104 views

Can an artificer use both a shield and a crossbow at the same time? [duplicate]

Ok, so from reading the rules, you can't use a shield and a crossbow at the same time due to the fact that you need a free hand to load the crossbow. My question is about a very niche artificer thing. ...
Cade Saylor's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can an Armorer Artificer infuse both of their Thunder Gauntlets separately?

This takes a little setup... At level 3, an Artificer takes the Armorer sub-class. One of the features is Armor Model which can be configured so that they have Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.6k
2 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can a Battle Smith use Replicate Magical Item to grant their Steel Defender Plate Armor?

I was looking at the options I have for my Battle Smith's Infusions, focusing on the Replicate Magic Item, and noticed that one of the common magical items listed in XGE (P. 136) is called the Armour ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,388
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the Artificer's Homunculus Servant infusion have any tool proficiencies?

The artificer's Infuse Item feature (TCoE, p. 9; E:RftLW, p. 57) grants access to a number of infusion options, one of which is the Homunculus Servant (TCoE, p. 21; E:RftLW, p. 62). I'm just trying to ...
Rakiden's user avatar
  • 21
4 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does using the Artificer's Repulsion Shield happen before or after taking damage from a successful hit?

Does using the Artificer's Repulsion Shield prevent the character from taking damage? Or does it happen after taking damage from a successful hit?
Pat's user avatar
  • 163
2 votes
1 answer
561 views

How much does a Bag of Holding weigh when it is infused by an artificer from a normal backpack (using the Replicate Magic Item infusion)?

I searched for an answer to this question, but could not find one. The "Infusing an Item" section of the artificer's Infuse Item feature description states: Whenever you finish a long rest, ...
Mike Murphy's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

If my artificer imbues a staff with the Enhanced Weapon infusion, and then a druid casts the Shillelagh spell on that staff, do their effects stack?

I'm currently playing as an artificer. I know that when an artificer imbues one of their infusions into an item, it makes a non-magic item into a semi-magic item. Say I imbue the Enhanced Weapon ...
TabledNaCl's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can an artificer reset an infusion's charges by re-infusing it?

Some artificer infusions have charges, like normal magic items. For example, the mind sharpener from TCE: The item has 4 charges. […] The item regains 1d4 expended charges daily at dawn. However, ...
Draconis's user avatar
  • 3,393
13 votes
1 answer
12k views

Can an Artificer's Homunculus Servant use magic items, and does an Amulet of Health have an effect on it?

My question is two-fold. First, I wonder whether a Homunculus Servant can use magic items, especially if they require attunement. It explicitly counts as a creature of the construct type, and has an ...
Kakuna Rattata's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
690 views

Does Armor Modifications allow for multiple infusion on the same area? [duplicate]

A bit of a oddly phrased question however, the Armored Modification ability for the Armorer subclass for the Artificer says... At 9th level, you learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially ...
Youjay's user avatar
  • 5,630
3 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can an Alchemist combine their subclass bonus with an Enhanced Arcane Focus?

Enhanced Arcane Focus is an artificer infusion that's applied to a rod, staff, or wand, and adds +1 to spell attack rolls. Alchemist artificers also get the Alchemical Savant feature, which lets them ...
Draconis's user avatar
  • 3,393
1 vote
1 answer
670 views

Can an Artificer Armorer use Enhanced Defense Infusion on their Homunculus Servant (infusion)?

Can an Artificer Armorer use Enhanced Defense Infusion on their Homunculus Servant (infusion); same goes for the Battle Smith's Steel Defender? Do these constructs/creatures Natural Armor even count ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

When firing a weapon with the artificer infusion "Returning Weapon" via catapult, does it come back to your hand after the spell's conclusion?

I'm playing a level 2 Artificer for a campaign with some friends. If I use the "Returning weapon" infusion on a hand-axe and shoot it out via the catapult spell (since a hand-axe weighs ...
Kaleb Alsobrook's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
353 views

Can the version of the Artificer class published in "Tasha's Cauldron of Everything" choose to end an infusion?

Is there an easy way for an Artificer to willfully end an infusion? One of the many problems I am seeing is that an infusion only works on non-magical items. But infusions cause items to become ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.6k
6 votes
2 answers
6k views

Are the separate pieces from the Armorer Artificer's "Armor Modifications" still considered "A suit of armor" for infusions?

The title is a little convoluted, so hopefully I can explain better here. At 9th-level, an Armorer Artificer gets the class feature "Armor Modifications": You learn how to use your ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.6k
1 vote
1 answer
5k views

Can an Armorer Artificer use Enhanced Defense or other Artificer Infusions on the armor or parts of the armor?

Regarding Armorer artificer's Armor Model feature as describe in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything: Your metallurgical pursuits have led to you making armor a conduit for your magic. As an action, you ...
GeorgeKaf's user avatar
  • 301
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a multiclassed artificer/rogue use Sneak Attack with spells that use a ranged weapon as a spellcasting focus?

So, according to a tweet by Jeremy Crawford, it is possible to Sneak Attack with a magic stone when using a sling, even though it is a ranged spell attack. That got me thinking: if an artificer imbues ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
1 vote
1 answer
692 views

Does the Armorer Artificer's Lightning Launcher make a sound when attacking?

Does the Armorer Artificer's Lightning Launcher make a sound when attacking? I just recent aquired Exploring Eberon and saw Silent Weapon Infusion and want to know if it can be applied to it. Silent ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
312 views

Can an Artificer Infusions or Armorer 's Arcane Armor be used with a College of Creation Bard's Performance of Creation? [closed]

Can an Artificer's Infusions or Armorer's Arcane Armor be used with a College of Creation Bard's Performance of Creation? [...] create one nonmagical item of your choice [...] the gp value of the ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can you stack AC bonuses with an Artificer's Infusions?

Can you stack AC bonuses with an Artificer's Infusions? I get that you can't use the same Infusion on multiple items. However... does the Enhance Defense Infusion and Repulsion Shield Infusion stack ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
3k views

Is the Steel Defender's Force Empowered Rend affected by items that add +1 to Spell attack rolls?

Do items that affect an Artificer's spell attack modifier also affect the Steel Defender's actions that use said spell attack modifier? As an example, my current level 4 Artificer has +4 INT +2 Prof ...
Simon's user avatar
  • 61
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does Armorer's Armor Modifications increase your Maximum number of infusions?

So I was reading the Armorer's 9th level feature and came across this text In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your ...
Jonathan's user avatar
  • 183
5 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can an artificer have a steel defender and a homunculus?

Thinking about playing an artificer character and curious about the interactions with the Steel defender and the homunculus servant infusion, is there any contraindication?
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I combine two parts of a sword, each with a separate infusion?

If I were to split a sword in two, and use a different infusions on both parts, and lock them back together (without fusing them together), would I get one weapon with 2 artificer infusions?
user55068's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
9k views

Can you infuse the Arcane Armor's Weapon before you gain Armor Modifications?

An Artificer Armorer acquires the class feature "Arcane Armor" at level 3. With that, the armor provides a special simple weapon (Thunder Gauntlets or Lightning Launcher). Now all of this &...
Plucky54's user avatar
  • 614
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I add an Artificers infusion to my pact blade?

In the Artificer section that talks about Artificer infusions it says "you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions". So if I was to use an Artificer infusion ...
MemeMan's user avatar
  • 1,099
7 votes
3 answers
9k views

Can I replicate Spellwrought Tattoos with spells that are not on the Artificer's spell list?

So through the Replicate Magic Item Infusion I'm able to replicate Spellwrought Tattoos (Cantrip/1st Level). But what if I have a level as a Wizard; can I replicate a tattoo with a 1st level wizard ...
TheKhileyan's user avatar
  • 2,242
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Artificer's armorer subclass features and magic armor : Armor modifications & Infusions

Many of the features of the Artificer's Armorer subclass published in Tasha's Cauldron directly impact their armor, and I have had a few questions on how these features would work in relation to magic ...
Lymakk's user avatar
  • 455
2 votes
3 answers
14k views

How do the Artificer infusions from the Infuse Item feature work?

One of my players is playing an Artificer, and has just reached level 2. Reading the infusion rules, we are both a little confused as they seem to contradict. The description of the Infuse Item ...
Richard C's user avatar
  • 6,306
7 votes
2 answers
11k views

Artificer: Does infused magic item count against maximum number of infusions?

I would assume the answer is 'no' but I wanted to check. It feels very odd to be able to replicate (up to) 4 magic items at level 2, but only ever be able to use two of them at a time at that level, ...
Joshua Doll's user avatar