Questions tagged [artificer-infusions]

For questions about infusions, a feature specific to the artificer class in Dungeons & Dragons that allows the character to infuse mundane items with magic and thereby grant them special properties, some of which may replicate the functions of real magic items. (See also the [artificer] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
428 views

Does Armorer's Armor Modifications increase your Maximum number of infusions?

So I was reading the Armorer's 9th level feature and came across this text In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an artificer have a steel defender and a homunculus?

Thinking about playing an artificer character and curious about the interactions with the Steel defender and the homunculus servant infusion, is there any contraindication?
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I combine two parts of a sword, each with a separate infusion?

If I were to split a sword in two, and use a different infusions on both parts, and lock them back together (without fusing them together), would I get one weapon with 2 artificer infusions?
6
votes
2answers
285 views

Can you infuse the Arcane Armor's Weapon before you gain Armor Modifications?

An Artificer Armorer acquires the class feature "Arcane Armor" at level 3. With that, the armor provides a special simple weapon (Thunder Gauntlets or Lightning Launcher). Now all of this &...
3
votes
1answer
205 views

Can I add an Artificers infusion to my pact blade?

In the Artificer section that talks about Artificer infusions it says "you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions". So if I was to use an Artificer infusion ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Propulsion Armor Infusion and Thunder Gauntlets

Do the effects of the Thunder Gauntlets from the Armorer Artificer subclass stack with the effects of the Propulsion Armor gauntlets from the Propulsion Armor Infusion considering that they’re the ...
2
votes
1answer
814 views

Can I replicate Spellwrought Tattoos with spells that are not on the Artificer's spell list?

So through the Replicate Magic Item Infusion I'm able to replicate Spellwrought Tattoos (Cantrip/1st Level). But what if I have a level as a Wizard; can I replicate a tattoo with a 1st level wizard ...
4
votes
1answer
422 views

Artificer's armorer subclass features and magic armor : Armor modifications & Infusions

Many of the features of the Artificer's Armorer subclass published in Tasha's Cauldron directly impact their armor, and I have had a few questions on how these features would work in relation to magic ...
2
votes
3answers
529 views

How do the Artificer infusions from the Infuse Item feature work?

One of my players is playing an Artificer, and has just reached level 2. Reading the infusion rules, we are both a little confused as they seem to contradict. The description of the Infuse Item ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can Two Artificers Make a Bag of Holding Bomb?

The artificer class has the Infuse Item class feature, which allows it to make "effectively a prototype" of a permanent Bag of Holding using the Replicate Magic Item Artificer Infusion, ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Artificer: Does infused magic item count against maximum number of infusions?

I would assume the answer is 'no' but I wanted to check. It feels very odd to be able to replicate (up to) 4 magic items at level 2, but only ever be able to use two of them at a time at that level, ...
3
votes
1answer
193 views

Can an artificer/wizard make a homonculus heart into a spell-storing item?

The Homonculus Servant infusion requires a specific component: Item: A gem or crystal worth at least 100 gp Later, it goes on to say The item you infuse serves as the creature's heart, around which ...
6
votes
1answer
317 views

Does an artificer's teammate have to re-attune to their infused items every time the infusions change?

Per the artificer rules... If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. Okay. Nice. Great. Except... how does it work when the item is given to ...
1
vote
1answer
150 views

Can you infuse a breastplate with Arcane Propulsion Armor?

A Breastplate is a type of Medium armor that is described as: This armor consists of a fitted metal chest piece worn with supple leather. Although it leaves the legs and arms relatively unprotected, ...
7
votes
3answers
993 views

Can a Spell with “Self” Range be Cast by Homunculus Servant?

I’m playing an artificer for the first time and trying to decide whether or not to use an infusion for the homunculus servant. But I’m wondering about the channel magic ability. It says The ...
5
votes
0answers
424 views

Is a Spell-Refueling Ring useless for a Warlock once reaching level 7? [duplicate]

My Warlock just got a ring with the Artificer Infusion "Spell-Refueling Ring", this infusion states: While wearing this ring, the creature can recover one expended spell slot as an action. ...
8
votes
2answers
537 views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
3
votes
1answer
853 views

Can the Mind Sharpener infusion be used in tandem with an Armor infusion?

One of the new Artificer infusions from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything is the Mind Sharpener, requiring "A suit of armor or robes". There are other Artificer infusions that apply onto armor, ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer's Arcane Armor's special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything) gains the "Armor Modifications" feature : You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

When can an artificer use the Infuse Item feature to imbue an item with an artificer infusion?

While exploring Undermountain in the Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage published adventure, the party has encountered a few monsters that are resistant to non-magical weapons. The artificer in the ...
2
votes
0answers
63 views

Does Concurrent Infusions allow you to skip the XP costs and material components of the infusions it applies?

Concurrent Infusions is a 4th level Artificer infusion that lets you apply the effects of three 1st level infusions, all at once, without actually 'casting' them. You channel your artificer talents ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the artificer infusion Radiant Weapon blind a ranged or hidden attacker?

The artificer infusion Radiant Weapon has the following property as one of its effects (E:RftLW, p. 62; WGtE, p. 182): [...] As a reaction immediately after being hit by an attack, the wielder can ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Can an artificer replicate the same magic item more than once?

Artificers can take the "Replicate Magic Item" infusion more than once, each time choosing a magic item that they can make with it. Can an Artificer take the "Replicate Magic Item" ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an Artificer imbue multiple objects with the same kind of infusion?

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not? Specifically, I want to put the ...
1
vote
1answer
57 views

Abalative Armor and Stone Construct Interplay

Abalative Armor provides damage reduction 15/- at 10th level, once the infused item has prevented damage from a single attack even if not all the damage reduction is needed, the magic fades. Stone ...
6
votes
3answers
6k views

Can you combine an Artificer's Enhanced weapon infusion with a +3 magic weapon?

The Artificer's Enhance Weapon infusion (ERftLW) grants a +1 (+2 at 10th level) bonus to attack and damage rolls made with the infused weapon. Is it possible to combine this infusion with a magic ...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

Is this homebrewed Enhanced Instrument infusion balanced

To go along with a homebrew Artificer subclass that I've recently asked about that is very focused on playing musical instruments, I've created a thematically related Infusion, that any Artificer ...
8
votes
1answer
979 views

What mundane item does an artificer infuse to replicate a Prosthetic Limb or an Arcane Propulsion Arm?

For the artificer's "Replicate Magic Item" infusion (E:RftLW, p. 63; WGtE, p. 182), I'm trying to figure out what mundane item you'd need to start with in order to end up with a Prosthetic Limb or an ...
1
vote
0answers
278 views

Why Is The Artificer's Infuse Item So Confusing? [closed]

I'm playing an artificer in my friends campaign but I tend to get confused by a lot of the wording on Infuse Item. The ability seems simple enough but it feels like I'm missing something because the ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can my artificer use an Infusion to create a Bag of Holding everyday for profit?

Can my artificer make a bag of holding everyday and then sell them for gold? And yes I have the infusion for this.
9
votes
1answer
1k views

How does the artificer's Resistant Armor infusion work?

The artificer class gets the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level (E:RftLW, p. 57; WGtE, p. 179): At 2nd level, you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions. The magic ...
7
votes
1answer
8k views

Can a Battle Smith's artificer Steel Defender be imbued with an infusion?

I am looking at the Steel Defender for the Battle Smith artificer in ERLW. It is a construct (p. 61): Medium construct, neutral And its AC is determined by its "natural armor": Armor Class 15 (...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Artificer learn the same infusion more than once?

The Artificer class's infusions is one of it's main features, and it says this about creating infusions: You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

What reactions are available to an artificer's homunculus servant?

The description of the artificer's homunculus servant states: In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its ...
0
votes
2answers
7k views

Can an artificer's infused item still have other magic added to it after it's infused? [closed]

If an item was infused by an Artificer, say using the returning weapon infusion, would it be possible to then add some other magic to the weapon. You cannot infuse a magical item, but does that limit ...
18
votes
1answer
6k views

What happens if you no longer meet the Strength requirement for your armor?

I recently asked about what happens when you lose requirements for an attuned item (here). Now, I have a slightly different but still related question involving the artificer class' 20th-level ability,...