Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
920 views

Is there any way for a Battle Smith Artificer to have two Steel Defenders?

In the new release of Eberron, the Steel Defender is the Battle Smith version of the Eldritch Cannon. From how I am reading the rules for the Cannon from lvl3 you can have multiple cannons, one each ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Dispel Magic destroy Artificer Turrets?

I'm playing a 10th-level artillerist artificer for a one-shot my friend is running, and while playtesting some with another friend (so I could actually learn my character sheet), she cast Dispel Magic ...
4
votes
0answers
154 views

Do the bonuses from Artificer's Enhanced Arcane Focus and Staff of Power stack? [duplicate]

When I have an Enhanced arcane focus wand in one hand and the Staff of Power in the other, do the spell attack bonuses stack? Enhanced Arcane Focus Item: A rod, staff, or wand (requires ...
5
votes
1answer
6k views

What skill proficiencies do I get from multiclassing into Artificer?

I can't find the rules for multiclassing into Artificer. My character is starting out with Rogue through level 3 and then going into Artificer, after which I will bounce back and forth. Which skill ...
2
votes
0answers
122 views

Does an Artificer (Artillerists) Eldritch Cannon provoke opportunity attacks? [duplicate]

The rules for the eldritch cannon state: The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. The ...
-1
votes
2answers
946 views

Is this homebrew Armorer Artificer subclass balanced compared to the 2019 UA Artificer subclasses?

Here is my homebrew subclass for the 2019 UA Artificer class: Armorer Tools of the Trade By the time you adopt this specialty at 3rd level, you’re deeply familiar with employing its ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

Does the item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion change its shape to fit the magic item you chose?

Does the type of item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion matter? I mean, if I infuse the replica of Bag of Holding in a dagger, does the dagger turn into a Bag of Holding, or it stays like a ...
5
votes
2answers
733 views

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract. Eldritch Cannon states: Once you create a cannon, you ...
3
votes
1answer
311 views

Does the Artificer infusion Radiant Weapon blind a ranged or hidden attacker?

The artificer infusion Radiant Weapon has the following property as one of it's effects: As a reaction immediately after being hit by an attack, the wielder can expend 1 charge and cause the ...
5
votes
1answer
643 views

How does creating two Eldritch Cannons with one action work for an Artillerist artificer? [duplicate]

The Artillerist Artificer's 15th-level Fortified Position feature (Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 60) states: You can now have two cannons at the same time. You can create two with the same ...
0
votes
2answers
294 views

What determines what type of spell casting focus I may use for a spell I obtained outside of my class spell list? [closed]

My intention for this is to allow my 5th level Alchemist Artificer to cast Toll the Dead through their Tools as is required to get the bonus from Alchemical Savaant. At 5th level, you develop ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Would it be unbalanced to allow a non-warforged artificer to use a wand sheath if they make it themselves using one of their infusions?

One of my players is thinking about going artillerist but they don't have enough hands to hold a shield, an arcane firearm, and a sword. In going down the rabbit hole of animated shields and dropping ...
5
votes
1answer
934 views

Is this homebrew archetype for Artificer balanced? [closed]

Here's the homebrew Artificer archetype I have created. It is a subclass for the artificer class from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer. (Note: The link contains the most recent iteration. The archetype ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

When does an Artillerist's Cannon have disadvantage?

The new Artillerist subclass for the Artificer has a feature that creates an Eldritch Cannon with one option for the cannon being to create a Force Ballista that can fire at enemies by making ranged ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How exactly does Might of the Master apply your proficiency bonus to your Homunculus Servant?

Artificers have access to the Homunculus Servant infusion. The Homunculus Servant's Might of the Master trait says this: The following numbers increase by 1 when your proficiency bonus increases ...
8
votes
1answer
269 views

Do WoTC release any of their results/feedback regarding gameplay design?

So, the Artificer class has finally been released, and I found it curious that the Archivist from the UA Artificer (revised) had been cut. Obviously play test content is always subject to change, but ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

For the Artificer's Flash of Genius feature, do you activate the ability before or after the results of the roll?

The Artificer from Eberron: Rising from the Last War gets the Flash of Genius feature at 7th level: When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Deflect Attack reaction of a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender impose disadvantage on all attacks from the chosen creature?

In Eberron: Rising from the Last War, the artificer's Battle Smith subclass grants you a Steel Defender that can use its reaction to give disadvantage on a creature's attack roll. The Steel Defender ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

Is the Artillerist artificer's Eldritch Cannon a carryable weapon?

In Eberron: Rising from the Last War, the Artillerist subclass for the Artificer gets a feature called Eldritch Cannon. When you summon the cannon you can choose to summon it as either a Small object ...
3
votes
1answer
344 views

Is an artificer's homunculus servant's passive Perception affected by its Might of the Master trait?

An Artificer's homunculus servant has the following ability: Might of the Master. The following numbers increase by 1 when your proficiency bonus increases by 1: the homunculus's skill and saving ...
-1
votes
1answer
593 views

Do the following modifications to the 2019 UA artificer make it unbalanced with other classes?

From what I could tell, the 2019 UA Artificer lacked the cool factor in various areas and it was rather limited when it came to crafting, so I made the following modifications. Am I missing anything ...
0
votes
1answer
561 views

How do I maximize my turns for damage with this UA Battle Smith artificer melee character?

What would be the correct sequence of actions on 1st turn, and following turns for an Battle Smith Artificer to Maximize damage? They are a 3rd level variant human (Dual Wielder feat) with a ...
12
votes
5answers
2k views

How do I get a planar traveling party to use survival/spell slots for food/drink instead of an artificer's Replicate Magic Item infusion?

I have a planar traveling campaign that sometimes runs into survival issues. With Eberron coming out, I have promised my players can use Artificers. The problem is that level 2 Artificers can use the ...
25
votes
6answers
4k views

What happens to a net with the Returning Weapon artificer infusion after it hits?

The 2019 UA artificer can infuse any simple or martial weapon that has the thrown weapon property with the Returning Weapon infusion. The net is a martial ranged weapon with the thrown property. A ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

Can my 2019 UA Artificer hit 4 times in a turn by combining the Arcane Armament feature with the Dual Wielder feat?

I'm having an argument with the DM as usual. My UA Artificer (2019) reached level 8, and I have a new set of goodies. I want to dual-wield maces. Looking at the Arcane Armament feature I received at ...
7
votes
3answers
5k views

How does the UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature interact with the Artillerist subclass's Wand Prototype feature?

The revised Artificer in Unearthed Arcana gets extra attack from its Arcane Armament feature (pg 5): Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, rather than once, whenever you take the Attack ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

How does the UA 2019 artificer's Reloading Weapon infusion affect Matt Mercer's Gunslinger firearms?

I am creating a multiclassed 2019 UA artificer/Gunslinger fighter, and a question has been raised. If I infuse a gun with the Repeating Weapon artificer infusion, how does that affect the reloading ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Artificer battle smith wants to make magical armor, we're trying to figure out the borders

We're using the 2019 UA Artificer (from the DND Beyond site). Situation I am the DM. The PC is level 3 (getting to level 4 pretty soon) and he wants to start going into crafting magical armors ...
6
votes
1answer
344 views

Does the 2019 UA artificer need to prepare the Lesser Restoration spell to cast it with their Alchemical Mastery feature?

The 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemist subclass gains the following ability as part of their Alchemical Mastery feature at 6th level: In addition, you can cast lesser restoration without expending a ...
0
votes
1answer
577 views

For a UA 2019 Battle Smith artificer, does the Iron Defender's attack bonus increase with the artificer's proficiency bonus?

Does the to-hit bonus of the Iron Defender's Bite increase when the proficiency of a Battle Smith Artificer (from the 2019 artificer UA) increases? The starting bonus is +4 (which I assume is the ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

What’s the right calculation for the Homunculus’s hit points for the 2019 UA Alchemist Artificer?

In the 2019 version of the Unearthed Arcana Alchemist Artificer, the Homunculus's hit points are given as: Hit Points equal to five times your level in this class + your Intelligence modifier Is ...
6
votes
1answer
368 views

Can you use the Help action to give a 2019 UA Artillerist artificer's turret advantage?

I am playing in a campaign as a level 4 Artillerist artificer from the May 2019 UA. I am thinking of taking Magic Initiate (wizard) as my feat, and learning the find familiar spell with it. I am ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Do all 2019 UA Artificer spells have a de facto material component?

The 2019 UA Artificer's Spellcasting feature contains this sentence: You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

If a 2019 UA artificer has the Repeating Shot infusion on two hand crossbows, can they use two-weapon fighting?

It's been established that an 2019 UA artificer infusing Repeating Shot on a hand crossbow does not need a free hand to reload it, as it produces its own ammunition (and the weapon itself is not two-...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can the 2019 UA Artificer's Returning Weapon and Radiant Weapon infusions stack on the same weapon?

Can the 2019 UA Artificer's Returning Weapon and Radiant Weapon infusions stack on the same weapon? Each infusion grants you a +1 to hit and damage rolls, so would you get a +2 with both infusions? ...
7
votes
2answers
522 views

Can a (2019 UA) artificer's alchemical homunculus take actions not listed in its description?

The 2019 UA artificer's alchemical homunculus is described with a list of actions it can perform, most of which require the artificer to use a bonus action to issue the order. The actions listed are ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the 2019 UA Artificer's Many-Handed Pouch infusion enable unlimited infinite-range cross-planar communication?

One of the available infusions available to the Unearthed Arcana Artificer (2019) is called the Many-Handed Pouch, which links up to 5 pouches to the same extra-dimensional space (emphasis added): ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use two wands to cast one spell?

Basically, in the May 2019 Artificer UA (Unearthed Arcana: the Artificer Returns), the Artificer got two mutually-exclusive ways to enhance a non-magical wand to improve the spells it casts: the Wand ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

What can the 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemical Homunculus do outside of combat?

In the 2019 version of the UA Artificer class, one of the specializations is Alchemist. The alchemist gets the ability to create an Alchemical Homunculus. The description has a section on actions in ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

With the 2019 UA Revised Artificer, can you choose to end an infusion on an item?

With the 2019 UA Revised Artificer, can you choose to end an infusion on an item? It's not super clear on if they can or can't. It says if you try to infuse something past your maximum number of ...
5
votes
2answers
751 views

Does the 2019 UA Alchemist artificer's Alchemical Mastery feature let you add your Intelligence mod again to a healing spell that already includes it?

The 2019 Unearthed Arcana artificer's Alchemist archetype has a feature called Alchemical Mastery, that, among other things, allows you to add your intelligence modifier to the healing effect of a ...
19
votes
2answers
5k views

Does a Hand Crossbow with the Repeating Shot Infusion still require a Free Hand to use?

Normally speaking, a Hand Crossbow has the Ammunition and Loading properties. Respectively, these properties mean that A free hand is required to use the crossbow and load it with its ammunition, ...
4
votes
1answer
5k views

How does a Gnome Battle Smith artificer (UA) riding his iron defender control it?

I don't see any reason a gnome Battle Smith artificer (from the May 2019 UA) couldn't ride his iron defender RAW--it's got the appropriate anatomy and is one size larger. But how is it "Controlled"? ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Pros and cons of eldritch knight or arcane trickster for throwing-weapon battle smith multiclass

So I am interested in playing a character who uses thrown weapons with the returning infusion offered by the latest artificer, but I want to focus more on throwing than artificery. Towards that end, I ...
22
votes
6answers
9k views

How creative should the DM let an artificer be in terms of what they can build?

Just how creative should the DM let the Artificer be? One of my players is a guy who thinks way too hard on how to solve problems he's not meant to 'Solve' as a player. For example, I have a little ...
4
votes
3answers
721 views

What counts as a magically propelled attack for the 2019 UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature?

The (May 2019 Unearthed Arcana) Artificer class gets a feature that works very much like the Extra Attack feature from several existing classes, but with some additional limitations (emphasis added): ...
4
votes
2answers
975 views

Do the 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemical Homunculus and Iron Defender companion creatures get death saving throws?

In the May 2019 Unearthed Arcana update, two of the four Artificer specialist options can summon constructs as companions: the Alchemist summons an "alchemical homunculus", and the Battle Smith ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to a 2019 UA Artificer's Infused Bag of Holding when it de-infuses?

With the new 2019 UA Artificer, once per long rest you can 'create' a magical item if you know its infusion. This has a set limit based on level, but once you reach that limit any additional magic ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

How powerful is the February 2019 UA Artificer?

Specifically, the 1st version of the UA playtest version of the full class, released start of this year: https://media.wizards.com/2019/dnd/downloads/UA-Artificer-2019.pdf One of my new players has ...
3
votes
1answer
786 views

Why is the Psionic Artificer considered to be better than all other tier 1 classes?

The tier list over on GitP considers the Psionic Artificer to be "tier 0" and lists a few reasons explaining why. The primary justifications given for this (as seen here and here, and debated here) ...