Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the artificer's spell-storing item store their specialist spells?

The artificer's "Spell-Storing Item" feature says: ... you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires one action to cast... [ERLW p. ...
11
votes
5answers
2k views

Would it be unbalanced to allow a non-warforged artificer to use a wand sheath if they make it themselves using one of their infusions?

One of my players is thinking about going artillerist but they don't have enough hands to hold a shield, an arcane firearm, and a sword. In going down the rabbit hole of animated shields and dropping ...
3
votes
1answer
300 views

Can an Artillerist artificer activate multiple Eldritch Cannons with the same bonus action?

To my understanding, an Artillerist artificer can create an Eldritch Cannon during a battle using an action. The first one of the day doesn't require expending a spell slot. But what about activation ...
2
votes
2answers
479 views

Artificer with a Defender-y bent

I’m interested in building an artificer who has a defender-y bent; still an artificer, still a leader, but with a minor in defending. I’m fine with sacrificing some Leadership for Defense; I ...
8
votes
2answers
273 views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
4
votes
1answer
171 views

Can an Arcane Firearm staff receive the d8 bonus when casting any of the blade cantrips?

Can an artillerist's Arcane Firearm staff receive the d8 bonus when casting any of the blade cantrips? Since the staff can be both an arcane focus and can supposedly be used as a melee weapon. ...
1
vote
0answers
103 views

Installing modifications on Battle Smith's Steel Defender (5e) [closed]

I'm currently playing an artificer in a homebrew campaign and looking at the SD's stat block, as well as other people's opinions. It's pretty much just a tank with its damage being negligible at best,...
5
votes
1answer
555 views

Do I need to use the All-Purpose Tool as my spellcasting focus to gain its bonus to my artificer spell attack rolls and spell save DC?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 119) includes a magic item called the all-purpose tool, whose description states the following: This simple screwdriver can transform into a variety of tools; as an ...
3
votes
1answer
86 views

At what distance can an Artificer Battle Smith command his Steel Defender?

The Tasha's Cauldron of Everything brings the most recent version of the Artificer and the Battle Smith subclass, who gains a companion called Steel Defender at level 3. In the description of the ...
3
votes
1answer
760 views

If an Artillerist artificer casts a spell through their arcane firearm, how is the damage bonus applied to multiple-target spells?

The Artillerist artificer has the Arcane Firearm feature, which says in part (ERLW, pg. 60): When you cast an artificer spell through the firearm, roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one of the spell'...
8
votes
3answers
793 views

Does an artificer require two hands to cast spells with a costly material component?

An artificer must use an appropriate spellcasting focus when casting artificer spells. And they must use costly material components when applicable. Neither can replace the other. But can they handle ...
2
votes
1answer
363 views

Can an artificer’s Homunculus Servant use an animated shield?

I'm playing an artificer that recently took the infusion for a Homunculus Servant. The party has an extra animated shield. I think the following is acceptable, but I wanted to see if I got it wrong ...
3
votes
1answer
242 views

Can the Mind Sharpener infusion be used in tandem with an Armor infusion?

One of the new Artificer infusions from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything is the Mind Sharpener, requiring "A suit of armor or robes". There are other Artificer infusions that apply onto armor, ...
2
votes
1answer
833 views

How do the Armorer artificer's Arcane Armor and Armor Modifications features interact with the ability to wear magic boots/gloves/etc.?

The wording of the Armorer artificer's Arcane Armor feature includes this phrase (TCoE, p. 15): The armor [...] also expands to cover your entire body, although you can retract or deploy the helmet [....
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Artificer Armorer Guardian attack and cantrips like Booming blade

So the UA specialist for the Artificer, the Armorer, has an interesting ability for one of the models you can take. Thunder Gauntlets. Your armored fists each count as a simple melee weapon, and ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an Armorer Artificer wearing Guardian-model Arcane Armor cast a somatic spell without holding tools or having the Warcaster feat?

The Guardian model described in the Arcane Armor feature of the Armorer Artificer includes "Thunder Gauntlets": Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer's Arcane Armor's special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything) gains the "Armor Modifications" feature : You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your ...
8
votes
2answers
346 views

How does Arcane Armor's removal of Strength requirements apply at a table using the Encumbrance variant?

The Armorer Artificer's Arcane Armor feature says: If the armor normally has a Strength requirement, the arcane armor lacks this requirement for you. This is in reference to the following regarding ...
4
votes
1answer
235 views

Artificer Eldritch Cannon Protector temp hit points and Wildshape

I'm trying to understand how wild shape interacts with the temp hit points provided by eldritch cannon's protector feature. Here is the scenario: Artificer puts out eldritch cannon and gives temp hit ...
3
votes
2answers
593 views

Can a Steel Defender or a Alchemical Homunculus use a Spell Storing Item?

I have seen from many different sources the thought process that you can have your Alchemical Homunculus or your Steel Defender use your spell storing item. This would let them take up concentration ...
15
votes
1answer
584 views

What is the history of the Artificer class for 5e?

The artificer class has been published in several different articles that aren't well connected and have several confusing differences between them. It's really confusing when others talk about ...
10
votes
1answer
417 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
4
votes
1answer
556 views

Is the unofficial Arcane Puppeteer subclass balanced in relation to official subclasses?

One of my players asked me to play this subclass. It is an artificer subclass which allow the character to control puppets and willing creatures. It seems that the puppets have reasonable stats (at ...
2
votes
1answer
67 views

Can multiple artificers use Flash of Genius on the same skill check or saving throw?

Can multiple Artificers use flash of Genius on 1 skill check?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

How do the Prosthetic Limb and Wand Sheath magic items interact with the artificer's Soul of Artifice capstone feature?

A player playing an artificer thought of an interesting interaction between the Prosthetic Limb or Wand Sheath magic items and the Artificer's capstone feature Soul of Artifice. The Prosthetic Limb (...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender get a full turn?

I know the Steel Defender uses your initiative and goes immediately after you. What I'm not sure about is what is can actually do on its turn. Does a Steel Defender get a full turn? Action Free ...
7
votes
3answers
830 views

When can an artificer use the Infuse Item feature to imbue an item with an artificer infusion?

While exploring Undermountain in the Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage published adventure, the party has encountered a few monsters that are resistant to non-magical weapons. The artificer in the ...
2
votes
0answers
45 views

Does Concurrent Infusions allow you to skip the XP costs and material components of the infusions it applies?

Concurrent Infusions is a 4th level Artificer infusion that lets you apply the effects of three 1st level infusions, all at once, without actually 'casting' them. You channel your artificer talents ...
9
votes
1answer
386 views

Can an artificer cast spells using a single component from a set of artisan's tools?

Under Tools Required You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus – specifically tinker’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool – in hand when you ...
9
votes
1answer
472 views

Can the artificer's spell-storing item affect a Rakshasa?

My character is being hunted down by 3 Rakshasa. The character is aware they possess limited magic immunity which reads as follows: Limited Magic Immunity. The rakshasa can't be affected or detected ...
11
votes
3answers
5k views

How does multiclassing work for an artificer?

I am making a character for a campaign that is starting soon. The character is going to start out as a cleric (War Domain) and will multiclass into artificer (Battle Smith). I have looked at the ...
9
votes
3answers
12k views

For the Artificer's Flash of Genius feature, do you activate the ability before or after the results of the roll?

The Artificer from Eberron: Rising from the Last War gets the Flash of Genius feature at 7th level (p. 57): When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature interact with spell scrolls?

Does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature allow the artificer to cast a spell that is higher than he can normally cast from a spell scroll without making an ability check to cast it? The relevant ...
7
votes
2answers
9k views

Does the item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion change its shape to fit the magic item you chose?

Does the type of item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion matter? I mean, if I infuse the replica of Bag of Holding in a dagger, does the dagger turn into a Bag of Holding, or it stays like a ...
3
votes
1answer
660 views

Can the artificer infusion Radiant Weapon blind a ranged or hidden attacker?

The artificer infusion Radiant Weapon has the following property as one of its effects (E:RftLW, p. 62; WGtE, p. 182): [...] As a reaction immediately after being hit by an attack, the wielder can ...
5
votes
2answers
710 views

Does an artificer's Spell-Storing Item bypass the need for costly/consumed material components?

Suppose I am an 11th-level Artificer with a +5 intelligence modifier, and I use my Spell-storing Item feature to store Continual Flame, whose material component is "ruby dust worth 50 gp, which ...
3
votes
1answer
220 views

Can the artificer's Flash of Genius feature and the UA Soulknife rogue's Psi-Bolstered Knack both be used on the same ability check?

Long story short, I am rolling up a level 13 UA Soulknife rogue / Armorer artificer. Can I use the Soulknife rogue's Psi-Bolstered Knack option (from the Psionic Talent feature) with the artificer's ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an artificer replicate the same magic item more than once?

Artificers can take the "Replicate Magic Item" infusion more than once, each time choosing a magic item that they can make with it. Can an Artificer take the "Replicate Magic Item" ...
3
votes
2answers
306 views

Does Alchemical Savant affect Elemental Weapon?

The Alchemist subclass of the artificer has a 5th level feature Alchemical Savant which states (E:RftLW, pg 58) Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist's supplies as the spellcasting focus, ...
2
votes
1answer
475 views

Can an Artificer imbue multiple objects with the same kind of infusion?

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not? Specifically, I want to put the ...
6
votes
2answers
782 views

Can Alchemists Experimental elixirs be combined to generate a roll on the potion miscibility table in the DMG?

DMG p140 has a potion miscibility table. Artificer subclass Alchemist creates Experimental Elixirs. Can these elixirs be combined for a roll on the aforementioned table?
1
vote
1answer
53 views

Abalative Armor and Stone Construct Interplay

Abalative Armor provides damage reduction 15/- at 10th level, once the infused item has prevented damage from a single attack even if not all the damage reduction is needed, the magic fades. Stone ...
8
votes
1answer
653 views

Does an Eldritch Canon count as an enemy for the purpose of sneak attack?

Does Eldritch Canon count as an enemy for purposes of sneak attack? What I mean by this is, if I was an Artillerist Artificer and a Rogue (multiclassing), would I be able to use my Eldritch cannon in ...
27
votes
7answers
6k views

What happens to a net with the Returning Weapon artificer infusion after it hits?

The 2019 UA artificer can infuse any simple or martial weapon that has the thrown weapon property with the Returning Weapon infusion. The net is a martial ranged weapon with the thrown property. A ...
-1
votes
1answer
140 views

Is a weapon infused with an Artificer's Infusions a magic weapon?

For example, the artificer's "Radiant Weapon" infusion gives +1 to attack and damage. Does it count as a magic weapon?
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use Flash of Genius on an initiative roll?

The Artificer's Flash of Genius says: When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to add your Intelligence ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Armorer Artificer Off-Hand with Power Armor?

OK, so the armorer artificer (UA) specialization states: Lightning Launcher. A gemlike node appears on one of your armored fists or on the chest (your choice). It counts as a simple ranged weapon, ...
7
votes
2answers
413 views

Does the artificer's Enhanced Weapon stack on top of hexblade's Improved Pact Blade?

I play a hexblade warlock with an Improved Pact Blade longsword. I like the idea of the eldritch tinkerer, who builds his patron's gifts into his gadgets, which fits in a warlock/artificer multiclass. ...
6
votes
1answer
983 views

If an Artillerist artificer holds their Eldritch Cannon in hand, what happens if it is in the area of a spell or other effect?

As an Artillerist Artificer, if I create a Tiny Eldritch Cannon that has legs (in any of the three forms)... If I hold the Tiny cannon in my hand, what happens to the cannon if I get hit by an AOE ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you combine an Artificer's Enhanced weapon infusion with a +3 magic weapon?

The Artificer's Enhance Weapon infusion (ERftLW) grants a +1 (+2 at 10th level) bonus to attack and damage rolls made with the infused weapon. Is it possible to combine this infusion with a magic ...