Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
51 views

Artificer Armorer Guardian attack and cantrips like Booming blade

So the UA specialist for the Artificer, the Armorer, has an interesting ability for one of the models you can take. Thunder Gauntlets. Your armored fists each count as a simple melee weapon, and ...
8
votes
1answer
139 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
6
votes
0answers
171 views
+100

How balanced and clear is my Arcane Luthier subclass for the Artificer

I've long been disappointed by how brief and largly meaningless D&D 5e's handling of musical instruments is. Bards can use them as spellcasting focuses, but other than that, there's not much to ...
1
vote
1answer
63 views

Does Green-Flame Blade benefit from the Alchemist artificer's Alchemical Savant feature if they use alchemist's supplies as an improvised weapon?

The Alchemist artificer's 5th-level Alchemical Savant feature states (WGtE, p. 180; E:RftLW, p. 58): Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

How does multiclassing work for an artificer?

I am making a character for a campaign that is starting soon. The character is going to start out as a cleric (War Domain) and will multiclass into artificer (Battle Smith). I have looked at the ...
6
votes
1answer
98 views

What mundane item does an artificer infuse to replicate a Prosthetic Limb or an Arcane Propulsion Arm?

For the artificer's "Replicate Magic Item" infusion (E:RftLW, p. 63; WGtE, p. 182), I'm trying to figure out what mundane item you'd need to start with in order to end up with a Prosthetic Limb or an ...
4
votes
1answer
173 views

Can a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender be used to hurl Magic Stones?

When designing a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender (E:RftLW, p. 61), the feature description states: You determine the creature's appearance and whether it has two legs or four; your choice ...
3
votes
1answer
90 views

Combining Flash of Genius and Psi Bolstered Knack?

Long story short I am rolling up a level 13 Soul Knife UA Rogue / Armorer Artificer. Can I use Soul Knifes Psi Bolstered Knack with the Artificers Flash of Genius add both my Intelligence modifier ...
5
votes
1answer
340 views

Can Armorer Artificers make magic armor into Power Armor?

Can Armorer Artificers make armor that is already magical (e.g. Armor of Invulnerability) into Power Armor?
3
votes
4answers
715 views

Armor stacking and the Armorer Artificer

If I'm a Armorer Artificer with my power armor in Infiltrator Mode (the armor’s weight is negligible, and it's formfitting and wearable under clothing) and infused with the Enhanced Defense infusion (+...
1
vote
0answers
107 views

Why Is The Artificer's Infuse Item So Confusing? [closed]

I'm playing an artificer in my friends campaign but I tend to get confused by a lot of the wording on Infuse Item. The ability seems simple enough but it feels like I'm missing something because the ...
1
vote
1answer
198 views

One of the PCs is too much powerful, how can I handle it? [4th tier one-shot session] [closed]

I'm going to run a 4th Tier One-Shot very soon, I have told all my players to build a 20th level character. One player built a powerful artificer (armorer subclass) that outshines every other PC, I ...
2
votes
0answers
50 views

Artificer Eldritch Cannon and hands [duplicate]

The artificer class in Eberron: Rising from the Last War allows for the production of an eldritch cannon at 3rd level. [you] magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space ...
5
votes
1answer
367 views

Can my artificer use an Infusion to create a Bag of Holding everyday for profit?

Can my artificer make a bag of holding everyday and then sell them for gold? And yes I have the infusion for this.
4
votes
2answers
99 views

How to overcome the distance limit on a Dedicated Wright?

In D&D 3.5 there are a number of types of homunculi that can be crafted by characters with the Craft Construct feat. Among these are Dedicated Wrights, which are specifically called out in their ...
5
votes
2answers
424 views

Confused about spell sources for Artificer

I am going to play my first D&D campaign soon. I have played lots of Neverwinter nights (not the mmo) which I hope will give me something of a grounding. Anyway, I have chosen to be an Artificer. ...
16
votes
2answers
627 views

When did Artificers make their first appearance in D&D, and how do they differ between editions?

My curiosity arose after reading When did Warlocks make their first appearance in D&D and how do they differ between editions? by aaron9eee: A quality answer would have more than just a release ...
8
votes
2answers
426 views

If an artillerist-artificer has 2 protectors, does the temporary hp given by the protectors stack?

This is a somewhat loaded question that I could have stated more neutrally, but I didn't. Premise: the artillerist has a choice of 'cannons' to use. One of those choices is the protector which does ...
6
votes
1answer
275 views

Must the Artillerist Artificer's Tiny Eldritch Cannon be carried in their hand?

The Artillerist Artificer has the ability to make Eldritch Cannon(s). The rules for the cannon state that you can make two different sized versions of it: you can take an action to magically ...
8
votes
1answer
236 views

Would allowing Artificers to swap a cantrip on a long rest be unbalanced?

Context: I am implementing the Class Feature Variants Unearthed Arcana, which does not include Artificer, for a party with several spellcasters and one Artificer. This UA allows every "known" caster ...
3
votes
1answer
284 views

How to revive an Artificer’s Homonculus Servant?

So, I'm a little bit confused here. On ERLW pg. 62, from the Homunculus Servant entry, it reads; "The item you infuse serves as the creature's heart, around which the creature's body instantly forms."...
7
votes
1answer
404 views

How does the artificer's Resistant Armor infusion work?

The artificer class gets the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level (E:RftLW, p. 57; WGtE, p. 179): At 2nd level, you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions. The magic ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Battle Smith's artificer Steel Defender be imbued with an infusion?

I am looking at the Steel Defender for the Battle Smith artificer in ERLW. It is a construct (p. 61): Medium construct, neutral And its AC is determined by its "natural armor": Armor Class 15 (...
7
votes
1answer
108 views

Can the artificer Magical Tinkering be used to falsify documents?

Magical Tinkering. A static visual effect appears on one of the object’s surfaces. This effect can be a picture, up to 25 words of text, lines and shapes, or a mixture of these elements, as you ...
7
votes
3answers
417 views

Can a Battle Smith artificer change the appearance of a Steel Defender after creating it?

I'm playing a Battle Smith artificer currently, and my DM is a very by-the-books kind of guy. When the question came up of whether or not I could change its appearance, he just said "if it's in the ...
5
votes
1answer
244 views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
4
votes
1answer
263 views

Can a level 15 Artillerist Artificer use the same action to make two Eldritch Cannons for the first time in a day without expending a spell slot?

At 3rd level, Artificers get the Eldritch Cannon feature, allowing them to create one of three different Eldritch Cannons. It costs a spell slot to make one, but you also get one free usage of it each ...
5
votes
1answer
538 views

Can an Artificer learn the same infusion more than once?

The Artificer class's infusions is one of it's main features, and it says this about creating infusions: You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at ...
4
votes
1answer
752 views

Does the Artillerist Artificer add their spellcasting damage mod to attacks using their Force Balista?

An artillerist artificer gains use of an "eldritch cannon" as part of the subclass' abilities. It has several modes, one of which is force ballista, which allows the artillerist to fire it as a bonus ...
6
votes
1answer
670 views

Can the Artificer Artillerist's tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon that is not held in hand still ride or be carried elsewhere on the body?

As an Artillerist Artificer, if I create a tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon with legs, can I place this cannon somewhere on my person and let it use its legs to hold on to my character (on my head, shoulder ...
14
votes
1answer
416 views

What is the history of the Artificer class for 5e?

The artificer class has been published in several different articles that aren't well connected and have several confusing differences between them. It's really confusing when others talk about ...
5
votes
1answer
504 views

If an Artillerist artificer holds their Eldritch Cannon in hand, what happens if it is in the area of a spell or other effect?

As an Artillerist Artificer, if I create a Tiny Eldritch Cannon that has legs (in any of the three forms)... If I hold the Tiny cannon in my hand, what happens to the cannon if I get hit by an AOE ...
2
votes
1answer
180 views

Does an artificer's magical focus replace costly spell components?

To my knowledge, an artificer must use thieves' tools, artisan's tools they are proficient with, or an infusion as a magical focus when casting spells. However, some artificer spells, such as ...
8
votes
1answer
510 views

What reactions are available to an artificer's homunculus servant?

The description of the artificer's homunculus servant states: In combat, the homunculus shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. It can move and use its ...
4
votes
2answers
324 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a multiclassed Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Rod of the Pact Keeper?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...
6
votes
4answers
328 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Holy Avenger's 30-foot aura?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...
8
votes
1answer
306 views

Can an artificer heal a homunculus servant at range?

In the official version of artificer, the ability to create a homunculus servant is gained at 6th level. Among its other abilities, the homunculus can: Channel Magic The homunculus delivers a spell ...
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an artificer's infused item still have other magic added to it after it's infused? [closed]

If an item was infused by an Artificer, say using the returning weapon infusion, would it be possible to then add some other magic to the weapon. You cannot infuse a magical item, but does that limit ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Losing constitution scores in battle; does it bring down my hp and how? [duplicate]

So, I run an artificer in my one campaign that just reached lv 20. Part of the lv. 20 ability (Soul of Artifice) reads: If you’re reduced to 0 hit points but not killed outright, you can use your ...
5
votes
1answer
894 views

Is there any way for a Battle Smith Artificer to have two Steel Defenders?

In the new release of Eberron, the Steel Defender is the Battle Smith version of the Eldritch Cannon. From how I am reading the rules for the Cannon from lvl3 you can have multiple cannons, one each ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

How do the Prosthetic Limb and Wand Sheath magic items interact with the artificer's Soul of Artifice capstone feature?

A player playing an artificer thought of an interesting interaction between the Prosthetic Limb or Wand Sheath magic items and the Artificer's capstone feature Soul of Artifice. The Prosthetic Limb (...
4
votes
0answers
145 views

Do the bonuses from Artificer's Enhanced Arcane Focus and Staff of Power stack? [duplicate]

When I have an Enhanced arcane focus wand in one hand and the Staff of Power in the other, do the spell attack bonuses stack? Enhanced Arcane Focus Item: A rod, staff, or wand (requires ...
2
votes
0answers
116 views

Does an Artificer (Artillerists) Eldritch Cannon provoke opportunity attacks? [duplicate]

The rules for the eldritch cannon state: The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. The ...
7
votes
1answer
741 views

Can an artificer cast spells with a free hand and a shield without using an object interaction action?

Suppose a level 1 artificer has a hand free and the other wielding a shield. Can the artificer cast spells without using up their object interaction action? For most spellcasters, a free hand is ...
5
votes
1answer
500 views

What requirements does the Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature ignore?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states: [...] You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items. Class and race ...
6
votes
2answers
504 views

How does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature interact with spell scrolls?

Does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature allow the artificer to cast a spell that is higher than he can normally cast from a spell scroll without making an ability check to cast it? The relevant ...
1
vote
1answer
581 views

Does a weapon imbued with Magical Tinkering or an Infusion bypass resistance from non magic weapons?

When I apply Magical Tinkering or an Infusion to a weapon, does the weapon count as magical to bypass resistance to non-magic weapons? Magical Tinkering At 1st level, you learn how to invest a ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

Does the item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion change its shape to fit the magic item you chose?

Does the type of item you apply the Replicate Magic item infusion matter? I mean, if I infuse the replica of Bag of Holding in a dagger, does the dagger turn into a Bag of Holding, or it stays like a ...
3
votes
1answer
304 views

Does the Artificer infusion Radiant Weapon blind a ranged or hidden attacker?

The artificer infusion Radiant Weapon has the following property as one of it's effects: As a reaction immediately after being hit by an attack, the wielder can expend 1 charge and cause the ...
5
votes
2answers
713 views

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract. Eldritch Cannon states: Once you create a cannon, you ...