Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
32 views

Does the Gauntlets of Flaming Fury’s fire damage work on the Armorer Artificer’s Thunder Gauntlets?

Does the extra 1d6 fire damage to “grasped” weapons granted by the Gauntlets of Flaming Fury effect the Thunder Gauntlets from the Armorer Artificer subclass if the Gauntlets of Flaming Fury are the ...
-6
votes
3answers
175 views

Can you force Arcane Armor off of someone?

I'm a DM and one of my party members wants to use it to be able to walk without legs so it's just armor carrying a body (were starting at 5th level if your wondering). I want a way to make this a ...
7
votes
1answer
471 views

Can a hasted steel defender benefit from its extra actions?

Haste provides an extra action that can be used to Attack (one weapon Attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object. In combat, the defender shares your initiative count, but it takes its ...
8
votes
1answer
616 views

Does the Armorer Artificer add their Strength Modifier to damage rolls for the Thunder Gauntlets?

From Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, the Armorer Artificer's Arcane Armor feature's special weapon says: Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you ...
3
votes
1answer
96 views

Does Arcane Armor provide gauntlets?

The Armorer subclass of Artificer has the Arcane Armorer feature which gives the option for: Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding ...
1
vote
1answer
82 views

Can you infuse a breastplate with Arcane Propulsion Armor?

A Breastplate is a type of Medium armor that is described as: This armor consists of a fitted metal chest piece worn with supple leather. Although it leaves the legs and arms relatively unprotected, ...
6
votes
2answers
210 views

Propulsion Armor Infusion and Thunder Gauntlets

Do the effects of the Thunder Gauntlets from the Armorer Artificer subclass stack with the effects of the Propulsion Armor gauntlets from the Propulsion Armor Infusion considering that they’re the ...
7
votes
3answers
588 views

Can a Spell with “Self” Range be Cast by Homunculus Servant?

I’m playing an artificer for the first time and trying to decide whether or not to use an infusion for the homunculus servant. But I’m wondering about the channel magic ability. It says The ...
5
votes
0answers
122 views

Is a Spell-Refueling Ring useless for a Warlock once reaching level 7? [duplicate]

My Warlock just got a ring with the Artificer Infusion "Spell-Refueling Ring", this infusion states: While wearing this ring, the creature can recover one expended spell slot as an action. ...
9
votes
1answer
382 views

How can a 14th level Artificer with the Metamagic Adept feat restore their sorcery points?

Considering a 14th level artificer with the Metamagic Adept feat in D&D 5e: I'm assuming that the feat does not grant the ability to restore sorcery points by expending spell slots (since it ...
3
votes
1answer
332 views

Can an Artillerist artificer activate multiple Eldritch Cannons with the same bonus action?

To my understanding, an Artillerist artificer can create an Eldritch Cannon during a battle using an action. The first one of the day doesn't require expending a spell slot. But what about activation ...
8
votes
2answers
304 views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
4
votes
1answer
277 views

Can an Arcane Firearm staff receive the d8 bonus when casting any of the blade cantrips?

Can an artillerist's Arcane Firearm staff receive the d8 bonus when casting any of the blade cantrips? Since the staff can be both an arcane focus and can supposedly be used as a melee weapon. ...
1
vote
0answers
127 views

Installing modifications on Battle Smith's Steel Defender (5e) [closed]

I'm currently playing an artificer in a homebrew campaign and looking at the SD's stat block, as well as other people's opinions. It's pretty much just a tank with its damage being negligible at best,...
3
votes
1answer
113 views

At what distance can an Artificer Battle Smith command his Steel Defender?

The Tasha's Cauldron of Everything brings the most recent version of the Artificer and the Battle Smith subclass, who gains a companion called Steel Defender at level 3. In the description of the ...
5
votes
1answer
792 views

Do I need to use the All-Purpose Tool as my spellcasting focus to gain its bonus to my artificer spell attack rolls and spell save DC?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 119) includes a magic item called the all-purpose tool, whose description states the following: This simple screwdriver can transform into a variety of tools; as an ...
3
votes
1answer
376 views

Can the Mind Sharpener infusion be used in tandem with an Armor infusion?

One of the new Artificer infusions from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything is the Mind Sharpener, requiring "A suit of armor or robes". There are other Artificer infusions that apply onto armor, ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

How do the Armorer artificer's Arcane Armor and Armor Modifications features interact with the ability to wear magic boots/gloves/etc.?

The wording of the Armorer artificer's Arcane Armor feature includes this phrase (TCoE, p. 15): The armor [...] also expands to cover your entire body, although you can retract or deploy the helmet [....
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can an Armorer Artificer wearing Guardian-model Arcane Armor cast a somatic spell without holding tools or having the Warcaster feat?

The Guardian model described in the Arcane Armor feature of the Armorer Artificer includes "Thunder Gauntlets": Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’...
8
votes
2answers
468 views

How does Arcane Armor's removal of Strength requirements apply at a table using the Encumbrance variant?

The Armorer Artificer's Arcane Armor feature says: If the armor normally has a Strength requirement, the arcane armor lacks this requirement for you. This is in reference to the following regarding ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer's Arcane Armor's special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything) gains the "Armor Modifications" feature : You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your ...
4
votes
1answer
286 views

Artificer Eldritch Cannon Protector temp hit points and Wildshape

I'm trying to understand how wild shape interacts with the temp hit points provided by eldritch cannon's protector feature. Here is the scenario: Artificer puts out eldritch cannon and gives temp hit ...
2
votes
1answer
75 views

Can multiple artificers use Flash of Genius on the same skill check or saving throw?

Can multiple Artificers use flash of Genius on 1 skill check?
7
votes
3answers
1k views

When can an artificer use the Infuse Item feature to imbue an item with an artificer infusion?

While exploring Undermountain in the Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage published adventure, the party has encountered a few monsters that are resistant to non-magical weapons. The artificer in the ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

If an Artillerist artificer casts a spell through their arcane firearm, how is the damage bonus applied to multiple-target spells?

The Artillerist artificer has the Arcane Firearm feature, which says in part (ERLW, pg. 60): When you cast an artificer spell through the firearm, roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one of the spell'...
2
votes
0answers
48 views

Does Concurrent Infusions allow you to skip the XP costs and material components of the infusions it applies?

Concurrent Infusions is a 4th level Artificer infusion that lets you apply the effects of three 1st level infusions, all at once, without actually 'casting' them. You channel your artificer talents ...
9
votes
1answer
413 views

Can an artificer cast spells using a single component from a set of artisan's tools?

Under Tools Required You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus – specifically tinker’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool – in hand when you ...
9
votes
1answer
494 views

Can the artificer's spell-storing item affect a Rakshasa?

My character is being hunted down by 3 Rakshasa. The character is aware they possess limited magic immunity which reads as follows: Limited Magic Immunity. The rakshasa can't be affected or detected ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an artificer replicate the same magic item more than once?

Artificers can take the "Replicate Magic Item" infusion more than once, each time choosing a magic item that they can make with it. Can an Artificer take the "Replicate Magic Item" ...
4
votes
2answers
810 views

Can a Steel Defender or a Alchemical Homunculus use a Spell Storing Item?

I have seen from many different sources the thought process that you can have your Alchemical Homunculus or your Steel Defender use your spell storing item. This would let them take up concentration ...
4
votes
1answer
591 views

Is the unofficial Arcane Puppeteer subclass balanced in relation to official subclasses?

One of my players asked me to play this subclass. It is an artificer subclass which allow the character to control puppets and willing creatures. It seems that the puppets have reasonable stats (at ...
3
votes
2answers
360 views

Does Alchemical Savant affect Elemental Weapon?

The Alchemist subclass of the artificer has a 5th level feature Alchemical Savant which states (E:RftLW, pg 58) Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist's supplies as the spellcasting focus, ...
2
votes
1answer
618 views

Can an Artificer imbue multiple objects with the same kind of infusion?

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not? Specifically, I want to put the ...
8
votes
3answers
937 views

Does an artificer require two hands to cast spells with a costly material component?

An artificer must use an appropriate spellcasting focus when casting artificer spells. And they must use costly material components when applicable. Neither can replace the other. But can they handle ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender get a full turn?

I know the Steel Defender uses your initiative and goes immediately after you. What I'm not sure about is what is can actually do on its turn. Does a Steel Defender get a full turn? Action Free ...
1
vote
1answer
54 views

Abalative Armor and Stone Construct Interplay

Abalative Armor provides damage reduction 15/- at 10th level, once the infused item has prevented damage from a single attack even if not all the damage reduction is needed, the magic fades. Stone ...
5
votes
2answers
938 views

Does an artificer's Spell-Storing Item bypass the need for costly/consumed material components?

Suppose I am an 11th-level Artificer with a +5 intelligence modifier, and I use my Spell-storing Item feature to store Continual Flame, whose material component is "ruby dust worth 50 gp, which ...
8
votes
1answer
768 views

Does an Eldritch Canon count as an enemy for the purpose of sneak attack?

Does Eldritch Canon count as an enemy for purposes of sneak attack? What I mean by this is, if I was an Artillerist Artificer and a Rogue (multiclassing), would I be able to use my Eldritch cannon in ...
-1
votes
1answer
162 views

Is a weapon infused with an Artificer's Infusions a magic weapon?

For example, the artificer's "Radiant Weapon" infusion gives +1 to attack and damage. Does it count as a magic weapon?
6
votes
2answers
856 views

Can Alchemists Experimental elixirs be combined to generate a roll on the potion miscibility table in the DMG?

DMG p140 has a potion miscibility table. Artificer subclass Alchemist creates Experimental Elixirs. Can these elixirs be combined for a roll on the aforementioned table?
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use Flash of Genius on an initiative roll?

The Artificer's Flash of Genius says: When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to add your Intelligence ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Armorer Artificer Off-Hand with Power Armor?

OK, so the armorer artificer (UA) specialization states: Lightning Launcher. A gemlike node appears on one of your armored fists or on the chest (your choice). It counts as a simple ranged weapon, ...
2
votes
1answer
481 views

Can an artificer’s Homunculus Servant use an animated shield?

I'm playing an artificer that recently took the infusion for a Homunculus Servant. The party has an extra animated shield. I think the following is acceptable, but I wanted to see if I got it wrong ...
7
votes
2answers
471 views

Does the artificer's Enhanced Weapon stack on top of hexblade's Improved Pact Blade?

I play a hexblade warlock with an Improved Pact Blade longsword. I like the idea of the eldritch tinkerer, who builds his patron's gifts into his gadgets, which fits in a warlock/artificer multiclass. ...
6
votes
3answers
4k views

Can you combine an Artificer's Enhanced weapon infusion with a +3 magic weapon?

The Artificer's Enhance Weapon infusion (ERftLW) grants a +1 (+2 at 10th level) bonus to attack and damage rolls made with the infused weapon. Is it possible to combine this infusion with a magic ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can the artificer's spell-storing item store their specialist spells?

The artificer's "Spell-Storing Item" feature says: ... you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires one action to cast... [ERLW p. ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Artificer Armorer (UA) Dual Wield Feat while wearing a Shield

I have made a PC (5e) Artificer's Armorer subclass from UA that has the Dual Wielder (DW) feat. What happens when the PC is in the guardian mode and equips a shield? Two-Weapon Fighting: When you ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Artificer Armorer Guardian attack and cantrips like Booming blade

So the UA specialist for the Artificer, the Armorer, has an interesting ability for one of the models you can take. Thunder Gauntlets. Your armored fists each count as a simple melee weapon, and ...
10
votes
1answer
444 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
8
votes
2answers
437 views

How balanced and clear is my Arcane Luthier subclass for the Artificer?

I've long been disappointed by how brief and largely meaningless D&D 5e's handling of musical instruments is. Bards can use them as spellcasting focuses, but other than that, there's not much to ...