Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
981 views

Can an artificer ride a giant octopus Mechanical Servant?

Is there any problem with using a construct of a giant octopus as a mount? I know the anatomy isn’t perfect but I’m thinking with it being made by the artificer, that could be part of the design. It ...
7
votes
3answers
5k views

How does the UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature interact with the Artillerist subclass's Wand Prototype feature?

The revised Artificer in Unearthed Arcana gets extra attack from its Arcane Armament feature (pg 5): Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, rather than once, whenever you take the Attack ...
7
votes
1answer
888 views

Can an artificer cast spells with a free hand and a shield without using an object interaction action?

Suppose a level 1 artificer has a hand free and the other wielding a shield. Can the artificer cast spells without using up their object interaction action? For most spellcasters, a free hand is ...
7
votes
2answers
543 views

Can a (2019 UA) artificer's alchemical homunculus take actions not listed in its description?

The 2019 UA artificer's alchemical homunculus is described with a list of actions it can perform, most of which require the artificer to use a bonus action to issue the order. The actions listed are ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses to attack from the summoner?

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses from their summoner? I'm wondering if they use the summoner's item enhancement bonuses or get any other bonus to attack and damage rolls. Our artificer has ...
7
votes
1answer
123 views

Can the artificer Magical Tinkering be used to falsify documents?

Magical Tinkering. A static visual effect appears on one of the object’s surfaces. This effect can be a picture, up to 25 words of text, lines and shapes, or a mixture of these elements, as you ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

For the Artificer's Flash of Genius feature, do you activate the ability before or after the results of the roll?

The Artificer from Eberron: Rising from the Last War gets the Flash of Genius feature at 7th level: When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving ...
7
votes
1answer
891 views

Can the Artificer Artillerist's tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon that is not held in hand still ride or be carried elsewhere on the body?

As an Artillerist Artificer, if I create a tiny-sized Eldritch Cannon with legs, can I place this cannon somewhere on my person and let it use its legs to hold on to my character (on my head, shoulder ...
7
votes
1answer
144 views

What mundane item does an artificer infuse to replicate a Prosthetic Limb or an Arcane Propulsion Arm?

For the artificer's "Replicate Magic Item" infusion (E:RftLW, p. 63; WGtE, p. 182), I'm trying to figure out what mundane item you'd need to start with in order to end up with a Prosthetic Limb or an ...
7
votes
3answers
7k views

Does a Steel Defender mounted by an artificer still get its actions, if commanded?

Playing a human artificer battle smith with the spell Enlarge/Reduce, I want to use the Steel Defender as a mount. It is a medium size construct that becomes large size under the effects of the spell. ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Would changing the Artificer spell list affect balance?

The Artificer class released as Unearthed Arcana has the same spellcasting progression (meaning number of spell slots at certain levels) as Eldritch Knights (PHB pg. 75) and Arcane Tricksters (PHB pg. ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Battle Smith's artificer Steel Defender be imbued with an infusion?

I am looking at the Steel Defender for the Battle Smith artificer in ERLW. It is a construct (p. 61): Medium construct, neutral And its AC is determined by its "natural armor": Armor Class 15 (...
6
votes
1answer
376 views

Can you use the Help action to give a 2019 UA Artillerist artificer's turret advantage?

I am playing in a campaign as a level 4 Artillerist artificer from the May 2019 UA. I am thinking of taking Magic Initiate (wizard) as my feat, and learning the find familiar spell with it. I am ...
6
votes
1answer
346 views

Does the 2019 UA artificer need to prepare the Lesser Restoration spell to cast it with their Alchemical Mastery feature?

The 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemist subclass gains the following ability as part of their Alchemical Mastery feature at 6th level: In addition, you can cast lesser restoration without expending a ...
6
votes
2answers
247 views

Artificer Armorer Guardian attack and cantrips like Booming blade

So the UA specialist for the Artificer, the Armorer, has an interesting ability for one of the models you can take. Thunder Gauntlets. Your armored fists each count as a simple melee weapon, and ...
6
votes
2answers
504 views

When the artificer's Mechanical Servant uses its reaction to make a melee attack, does it interrupt the triggering attack against the artificer?

The artificer (from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer) gets the Mechanical Servant feature at 6th level, part of which states: If you are the target of a melee attack and the servant is within 5 feet of ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Gunsmith artificer put more barrels on his Thunder Cannon and use them in the same turn?

I am playing an Artificer with the Gunsmith specialization. I am curious if I can add more barrels to my Thunder Cannon, and use them at once with the Thunder Monger class feature, which states the ...
6
votes
1answer
339 views

Is this “Rabbit Reload” system broken? [closed]

One of my players is playing a Forest Gnome Artificer and is intending on being a bit of an inventor, comes up with crazy solutions on the fly, kind of character. But he just came up with an idea that ...
6
votes
1answer
322 views

Must the Artillerist Artificer's Tiny Eldritch Cannon be carried in their hand?

The Artillerist Artificer has the ability to make Eldritch Cannon(s). The rules for the cannon state that you can make two different sized versions of it: you can take an action to magically ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Artificer make their 1st-level item for someone else?

This is concerning specifically the Alchemist's Satchel, the Thunder Cannon (and Arcane Magazine), and any other homebrew subclasses made to work with the Unearthed Arcana version of the Artificer ...
6
votes
1answer
507 views

Does Punishing Eye count as an attack?

The last time I played my Artificer I used Punishing Eye and Spike Wire on a boss and waited for my ally's attack. First, my ally's attack got my Wis modifier for an attack, then the Eye triggered ...
6
votes
2answers
595 views

How does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature interact with spell scrolls?

Does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature allow the artificer to cast a spell that is higher than he can normally cast from a spell scroll without making an ability check to cast it? The relevant ...
6
votes
4answers
363 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Holy Avenger's 30-foot aura?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can attacks be adjusted to fit the Artificer's mechanical servant's form?

I am planning to DM a game and I have a person wanting to be an artificer. I was curious if the player could adjust attacks to fit the form of their mechanical servant? The following is stated in the ...
5
votes
2answers
440 views

Confused about spell sources for Artificer

I am going to play my first D&D campaign soon. I have played lots of Neverwinter nights (not the mmo) which I hope will give me something of a grounding. Anyway, I have chosen to be an Artificer. ...
5
votes
2answers
824 views

When an artificer uses its action to create two Cannons, how can it easily expend a spell slot between the creation of the first and second cannon?

While writing an answer for this question I came across a problem with how the Eldritch Cannon and the Fortified Position features interract. Eldritch Cannon states: Once you create a cannon, you ...
5
votes
1answer
8k views

What skill proficiencies do I get from multiclassing into Artificer?

I can't find the rules for multiclassing into Artificer. My character is starting out with Rogue through level 3 and then going into Artificer, after which I will bounce back and forth. Which skill ...
5
votes
1answer
415 views

Can Armorer Artificers make magic armor into Power Armor?

Can Armorer Artificers make armor that is already magical (e.g. Armor of Invulnerability) into Power Armor?
5
votes
1answer
679 views

Can an Artificer learn the same infusion more than once?

The Artificer class's infusions is one of it's main features, and it says this about creating infusions: You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at ...
5
votes
1answer
486 views

Can my artificer use an Infusion to create a Bag of Holding everyday for profit?

Can my artificer make a bag of holding everyday and then sell them for gold? And yes I have the infusion for this.
5
votes
2answers
763 views

Does the 2019 UA Alchemist artificer's Alchemical Mastery feature let you add your Intelligence mod again to a healing spell that already includes it?

The 2019 Unearthed Arcana artificer's Alchemist archetype has a feature called Alchemical Mastery, that, among other things, allows you to add your intelligence modifier to the healing effect of a ...
5
votes
1answer
939 views

Is this homebrew archetype for Artificer balanced? [closed]

Here's the homebrew Artificer archetype I have created. It is a subclass for the artificer class from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer. (Note: The link contains the most recent iteration. The archetype ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there any way for a Battle Smith Artificer to have two Steel Defenders?

In the new release of Eberron, the Steel Defender is the Battle Smith version of the Eldritch Cannon. From how I am reading the rules for the Cannon from lvl3 you can have multiple cannons, one each ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to a 2019 UA Artificer's Infused Bag of Holding when it de-infuses?

With the new 2019 UA Artificer, once per long rest you can 'create' a magical item if you know its infusion. This has a set limit based on level, but once you reach that limit any additional magic ...
5
votes
2answers
896 views

In a campaign without action points, how should the DM change the artificer?

The artificer base class receives at level 1 the special ability infusions, the description of which says, in part, that Many infusions have long casting times, often 1 minute or more. An artificer ...
5
votes
1answer
316 views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
5
votes
2answers
760 views

How would crafting a Spell Scroll of Guiding Bolt work for a multiclassed (2019) UA Archivist artificer / Forge cleric?

I'm playing an Archivist Artificer (8) / Forge Cleric (2) in a short campaign. I was trying to figure out how or whether it is possible to create a spell scroll of guiding bolt (or any other spell ...
5
votes
2answers
13k views

Why wouldn't a 2017 UA Gunsmith Artificer use Thunder Monger every time?

As part of the 2017 UA Artificer's Gunsmith subtree, you gain the Thunder Monger ability. Why would a player ever choose to not use this ability vs a normal attack with the Thunder Cannon? It always ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Alchemist feat apply to the UA Artificer healing draught?

The Artificer gets a healing draught that he can hold out for an hour before it loses its healing properties. He technically gets an infinite amount of them, but a person can only drink 1/ long rest. ...
5
votes
1answer
356 views

Can Artificers powers that target “weapon or implement” affect a Monks hand/feet?

Can the various Artificer powers that target weapon or implement be used to affect a Monks hand/feet attacks, even though they are not a weapon like a ...
5
votes
2answers
156 views

Artificer Armorer (UA) Dual Wield Feat while wearing a Shield

I have made a PC (5e) Artificer's Armorer subclass from UA that has the Dual Wielder (DW) feat. What happens when the PC is in the guardian mode and equips a shield? Two-Weapon Fighting: When you ...
5
votes
1answer
563 views

If an Artillerist artificer holds their Eldritch Cannon in hand, what happens if it is in the area of a spell or other effect?

As an Artillerist Artificer, if I create a Tiny Eldritch Cannon that has legs (in any of the three forms)... If I hold the Tiny cannon in my hand, what happens to the cannon if I get hit by an AOE ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What is an “artificer spell” for Infuse Magic?

The Infused Magic feature from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer says: Starting at 4th level, you gain the ability to channel your artificer spells into objects for later use. When you cast an ...
5
votes
1answer
580 views

What requirements does the Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature ignore?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states: [...] You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items. Class and race ...
5
votes
1answer
713 views

How does creating two Eldritch Cannons with one action work for an Artillerist artificer? [duplicate]

The Artillerist Artificer's 15th-level Fortified Position feature (Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 60) states: You can now have two cannons at the same time. You can create two with the same ...
4
votes
3answers
5k views

Does Crossbow Expert apply to firearms?

Crossbow Expert states You Ignore the loading property of Crossbows with which you are proficient. Could this also apply to firearms, such as the Artificer's Thunder Cannon, or would this be ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

What creature do these Alchemical Homunculus actions target?

In the new version of the Artificer UA (found in Unearthed Arcana: Artificer Revisited), there is an alchemical homunculus creature. The homunculus has certain actions it can take including: ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

If a 2019 UA artificer has the Repeating Shot infusion on two hand crossbows, can they use two-weapon fighting?

It's been established that an 2019 UA artificer infusing Repeating Shot on a hand crossbow does not need a free hand to reload it, as it produces its own ammunition (and the weapon itself is not two-...
4
votes
3answers
738 views

What counts as a magically propelled attack for the 2019 UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature?

The (May 2019 Unearthed Arcana) Artificer class gets a feature that works very much like the Extra Attack feature from several existing classes, but with some additional limitations (emphasis added): ...
4
votes
2answers
369 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a multiclassed Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Rod of the Pact Keeper?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...