Questions tagged [artificer]

For questions about the artificer, a spellcasting class in several editions of Dungeons & Dragons and related RPGs that focuses on the creation, maintenance, and enhancement of magic items. (See also the [artificer-infusions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens to a 2019 UA Artificer's Infused Bag of Holding when it de-infuses?

With the new 2019 UA Artificer, once per long rest you can 'create' a magical item if you know its infusion. This has a set limit based on level, but once you reach that limit any additional magic ...
5
votes
1answer
835 views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
5
votes
2answers
949 views

In a campaign without action points, how should the DM change the artificer?

The artificer base class receives at level 1 the special ability infusions, the description of which says, in part, that Many infusions have long casting times, often 1 minute or more. An artificer ...
5
votes
2answers
13k views

Why wouldn't a 2017 UA Gunsmith Artificer use Thunder Monger every time?

As part of the 2017 UA Artificer's Gunsmith subtree, you gain the Thunder Monger ability. Why would a player ever choose to not use this ability vs a normal attack with the Thunder Cannon? It always ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Alchemist feat apply to the UA Artificer healing draught?

The Artificer gets a healing draught that he can hold out for an hour before it loses its healing properties. He technically gets an infinite amount of them, but a person can only drink 1/ long rest. ...
5
votes
1answer
364 views

Can Artificers powers that target “weapon or implement” affect a Monks hand/feet?

Can the various Artificer powers that target weapon or implement be used to affect a Monks hand/feet attacks, even though they are not a weapon like a ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Artificer Armorer (UA) Dual Wield Feat while wearing a Shield

I have made a PC (5e) Artificer's Armorer subclass from UA that has the Dual Wielder (DW) feat. What happens when the PC is in the guardian mode and equips a shield? Two-Weapon Fighting: When you ...
5
votes
2answers
423 views

Does an artificer's Spell-Storing Item bypass the need for costly/consumed material components?

Suppose I am an 11th-level Artificer with a +5 intelligence modifier, and I use my Spell-storing Item feature to store Continual Flame, whose material component is "ruby dust worth 50 gp, which ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

What is an “artificer spell” for Infuse Magic?

The Infused Magic feature from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer says: Starting at 4th level, you gain the ability to channel your artificer spells into objects for later use. When you cast an ...
5
votes
1answer
894 views

How does creating two Eldritch Cannons with one action work for an Artillerist artificer? [duplicate]

The Artillerist Artificer's 15th-level Fortified Position feature (Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 60) states: You can now have two cannons at the same time. You can create two with the same ...
4
votes
3answers
6k views

Does Crossbow Expert apply to firearms?

Crossbow Expert states You Ignore the loading property of Crossbows with which you are proficient. Could this also apply to firearms, such as the Artificer's Thunder Cannon, or would this be ...
4
votes
1answer
495 views

Is the unofficial Arcane Puppeteer subclass balanced in relation to official subclasses?

One of my players asked me to play this subclass. It is an artificer subclass which allow the character to control puppets and willing creatures. It seems that the puppets have reasonable stats (at ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

What creature do these Alchemical Homunculus actions target?

In the new version of the Artificer UA (found in Unearthed Arcana: Artificer Revisited), there is an alchemical homunculus creature. The homunculus has certain actions it can take including: ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

If a 2019 UA artificer has the Repeating Shot infusion on two hand crossbows, can they use two-weapon fighting?

It's been established that an 2019 UA artificer infusing Repeating Shot on a hand crossbow does not need a free hand to reload it, as it produces its own ammunition (and the weapon itself is not two-...
4
votes
2answers
556 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a multiclassed Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Rod of the Pact Keeper?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...
4
votes
3answers
790 views

What counts as a magically propelled attack for the 2019 UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature?

The (May 2019 Unearthed Arcana) Artificer class gets a feature that works very much like the Extra Attack feature from several existing classes, but with some additional limitations (emphasis added): ...
4
votes
2answers
4k views

Do an Artificer's infused items use her own concentration?

The Artificer class, introduced in Unearthed Arcana, has a feature she gains at fourth level titled Infuse Magic. This feature allows the Artificer to implant a spell into an item for later use by ...
4
votes
1answer
471 views

Can a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender be used to hurl Magic Stones?

When designing a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender (E:RftLW, p. 61), the feature description states: You determine the creature's appearance and whether it has two legs or four; your choice ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

With the 2019 UA Revised Artificer, can you choose to end an infusion on an item?

With the 2019 UA Revised Artificer, can you choose to end an infusion on an item? It's not super clear on if they can or can't. It says if you try to infuse something past your maximum number of ...
4
votes
1answer
6k views

How does a Gnome Battle Smith artificer (UA) riding his iron defender control it?

I don't see any reason a gnome Battle Smith artificer (from the May 2019 UA) couldn't ride his iron defender RAW--it's got the appropriate anatomy and is one size larger. But how is it "Controlled"? ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Do the 2019 UA Artificer's Alchemical Homunculus and Iron Defender companion creatures get death saving throws?

In the May 2019 Unearthed Arcana update, two of the four Artificer specialist options can summon constructs as companions: the Alchemist summons an "alchemical homunculus", and the Battle Smith ...
4
votes
1answer
177 views

Artificer Eldritch Cannon Protector temp hit points and Wildshape

I'm trying to understand how wild shape interacts with the temp hit points provided by eldritch cannon's protector feature. Here is the scenario: Artificer puts out eldritch cannon and gives temp hit ...
4
votes
2answers
120 views

How to overcome the distance limit on a Dedicated Wright?

In D&D 3.5 there are a number of types of homunculi that can be crafted by characters with the Craft Construct feat. Among these are Dedicated Wrights, which are specifically called out in their ...
4
votes
1answer
397 views

Can a level 15 Artillerist Artificer use the same action to make two Eldritch Cannons for the first time in a day without expending a spell slot?

At 3rd level, Artificers get the Eldritch Cannon feature, allowing them to create one of three different Eldritch Cannons. It costs a spell slot to make one, but you also get one free usage of it each ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Artificer battle smith wants to make magical armor, we're trying to figure out the borders

We're using the 2019 UA Artificer (from the DND Beyond site). Situation I am the DM. The PC is level 3 (getting to level 4 pretty soon) and he wants to start going into crafting magical armors ...
4
votes
0answers
421 views

Do the bonuses from Artificer's Enhanced Arcane Focus and Staff of Power stack? [duplicate]

When I have an Enhanced arcane focus wand in one hand and the Staff of Power in the other, do the spell attack bonuses stack? Enhanced Arcane Focus Item: A rod, staff, or wand (requires ...
4
votes
0answers
231 views

Does an Artificer (Artillerists) Eldritch Cannon provoke opportunity attacks? [duplicate]

The rules for the eldritch cannon state: The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. The ...
3
votes
4answers
3k views

Armor stacking and the Armorer Artificer

If I'm a Armorer Artificer with my power armor in Infiltrator Mode (the armor’s weight is negligible, and it's formfitting and wearable under clothing) and infused with the Enhanced Defense infusion (+...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

How does the UA 2019 artificer's Reloading Weapon infusion affect Matt Mercer's Gunslinger firearms?

I am creating a multiclassed 2019 UA artificer/Gunslinger fighter, and a question has been raised. If I infuse a gun with the Repeating Weapon artificer infusion, how does that affect the reloading ...
3
votes
1answer
264 views

If an Artillerist artificer casts a spell through their arcane firearm, how is the damage bonus applied to multiple-target spells?

The Artillerist artificer has the Arcane Firearm feature, which says in part (ERLW, pg. 60): When you cast an artificer spell through the firearm, roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one of the spell'...
3
votes
2answers
295 views

Can a Steel Defender or a Alchemical Homunculus use a Spell Storing Item?

I have seen from many different sources the thought process that you can have your Alchemical Homunculus or your Steel Defender use your spell storing item. This would let them take up concentration ...
3
votes
2answers
371 views

Can artificers design new infusions?

Artificers in 3.5 cast infusions, this is neither arcane nor divine. Yet they create magical effects. Artificers gain infusions just like a spell caster, and cast infusions in a manner just like ...
3
votes
1answer
615 views

How to revive an Artificer’s Homonculus Servant?

So, I'm a little bit confused here. On ERLW pg. 62, from the Homunculus Servant entry, it reads; "The item you infuse serves as the creature's heart, around which the creature's body instantly forms."...
3
votes
1answer
428 views

Is an artificer's homunculus servant's passive Perception affected by its Might of the Master trait?

An Artificer's homunculus servant has the following ability: Might of the Master. The following numbers increase by 1 when your proficiency bonus increases by 1: the homunculus's skill and saving ...
3
votes
1answer
971 views

Why is the Psionic Artificer considered to be better than all other tier 1 classes?

The tier list over on GitP considers the Psionic Artificer to be "tier 0" and lists a few reasons explaining why. The primary justifications given for this (as seen here and here, and debated here) ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

What is the difference between an Artificer and an Enchanter?

I'm working on a homebrew tabletop RPG, based off of D&D since that's what I'm familiar with, and I am having trouble seeing the difference between an Enchanter and an Artificer. So here's my ...
3
votes
1answer
553 views

Can the artificer infusion Radiant Weapon blind a ranged or hidden attacker?

The artificer infusion Radiant Weapon has the following property as one of its effects (E:RftLW, p. 62; WGtE, p. 182): [...] As a reaction immediately after being hit by an attack, the wielder can ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Does the UA Artillerist Artificer's Wand Prototype feature increase cantrip damage once per damage roll, or per casting?

Does the UA Artillerist Artificer's Wand Prototype feature increase the damage of a cantrip like fire bolt by an amount equal to their Intelligence modifier once per damage roll, or once per casting? ...
3
votes
1answer
497 views

How does an Artificer's Retain Essence feature interact with evil or cursed magic?

I can't find anything that even addresses an Artificer using his Retain Essence ability: Retain Essence (Su): At 5th level, an artificer gains the ability to salvage the XP from a magic item and ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

Pros and cons of eldritch knight or arcane trickster for throwing-weapon battle smith multiclass

So I am interested in playing a character who uses thrown weapons with the returning infusion offered by the latest artificer, but I want to focus more on throwing than artificery. Towards that end, I ...
3
votes
1answer
169 views

Can the artificer's Flash of Genius feature and the UA Soulknife rogue's Psi-Bolstered Knack both be used on the same ability check?

Long story short, I am rolling up a level 13 UA Soulknife rogue / Armorer artificer. Can I use the Soulknife rogue's Psi-Bolstered Knack option (from the Psionic Talent feature) with the artificer's ...
3
votes
1answer
10k views

What are possible forms for the Artificer's Mechanical Servant?

The Artificer class from Unearthed Arcana gains a so-called Mechanical Servant at level 6. It adopts the stats of a beast of CR 2 or lower and makes a few changes (such as changing the type to ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Repair Spells/Infusions and “Constructs”

I've been having a bit of an argument with another DM lately over whether the Artificer's Repair infusions can effect inanimate objects. From my understanding, RAW the repair spells are only meant to ...
3
votes
2answers
188 views

Does Alchemical Savant affect Elemental Weapon?

The Alchemist subclass of the artificer has a 5th level feature Alchemical Savant which states (E:RftLW, pg 58) Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist's supplies as the spellcasting focus, ...
3
votes
1answer
198 views

Can an artificer make a staff for epic spells?

Would an artificer be able to create a staff that was meant to cast an epic spell using use magic item skill assuming the epic spell was developed beforehand?
3
votes
1answer
233 views

Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer's Arcane Armor's special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything) gains the "Armor Modifications" feature : You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your ...
3
votes
2answers
488 views

What kind of action is using Artificer items?

I was looking over the spell lists in the artificer class and realized that there are spells like haste that allow you to take a "use an object" action twice. Does using the artificer's alchemical ...
2
votes
1answer
616 views

Can an artificer stay invisible when using Alchemical Fire/Acid?

Let's say a UA Artificer (Alchemist subclass) casts invisibility on himself. The description of invisibility says: A creature you touch and everything it wears or carries becomes invisible. If the ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Deflect Attack reaction of a Battle Smith artificer's Steel Defender impose disadvantage on all attacks from the chosen creature?

In Eberron: Rising from the Last War, the artificer's Battle Smith subclass grants you a Steel Defender that can use its reaction to give disadvantage on a creature's attack roll. The Steel Defender ...
2
votes
1answer
270 views

Can an Artificer imbue multiple objects with the same kind of infusion?

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not? Specifically, I want to put the ...