Questions tagged [attack]

For questions about attacks. An attack is generally defined as an action to cause damage or some other debilitation, though specific RPGs may define the term more specifically.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
1answer
594 views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock with the Thirsting Blade invocation make one attack with their pact weapon and one with a different weapon?

If you have a weapon in each hand (neither of which has the light property) and you have the Extra Attack feature, you can use Extra Attack to attack with each weapon once using your action. However, ...
4
votes
1answer
133 views

Is there an official variant rule where a natural 1 ends a full attack action?

In many 3.5 games that I have played, a roll of a natural one on an attack roll is basically just a miss, but you cannot make any more attacks that round. I thought this was an official variant rule, ...
10
votes
1answer
784 views

With shillelagh, do you have to use your spellcasting modifier?

Shillelagh states (emphasis added): For the Duration, you can use your Spellcasting Ability instead of Strength for the Attack and Damage Rolls of Melee Attacks using that weapon, and the weapon's ...
6
votes
1answer
150 views

In Pathfinder, how can my DM deal with my very high attack mod?

I recently joined an ongoing campaign with a level 8 fighter character and due to the amount of feats, weapon training, equipment, and especially buffs coming from the party bard... my character tends ...
10
votes
2answers
794 views

What is the weapon attack damage of a tentacle rod?

The tentacle rod's description includes the following (emphasis added): Made by the drow, this rod is a magic weapon that ends in three rubbery tentacles. While holding the rod, you can use an action ...
2
votes
2answers
360 views

If my familiar is forced through my action to drop a rock while over a target, is it considered an attack?

Here is the scenario: My bat familiar (from the find familiar spell) has a Strength score of 2, and can therefore carry 7 lbs. (Per the "Lifting and Carrying" rules (PHB, p. 176), its ...
18
votes
4answers
4k views

How do “monsters” attack if the PCs don't engage in combat first?

I'm not a total newbie to DW, and have played 'solo' DW with my partner for at least two years. We both have a number of level 3 characters who we run through GM-less scenarios we generate from ...
17
votes
1answer
860 views

Can a Tentacle Rod be used with Extra Attack?

In a recent game our monk used a Tentacle Rod to attack three times (per its normal use), then used his Extra Attack to attack three more times, then used his bonus action to deliver an unarmed strike....
19
votes
2answers
999 views

Ring of the Ram: what kind of attack does it make?

The Ring of the Ram (DMG p. 193) states the following: While wearing the ring, you can use an action to expend 1 to 3 of its charges to attack one creature you can see within 60 feet of you. The ring ...
4
votes
1answer
223 views

Can you use a bonus action in the middle of an attack (e.g. after the attack roll, but before the outcome is determined)?

Say you're a paladin, and you want to cast searing smite (PHB, p. 274). Can I roll my attack, see the result, and decide if I want to spend my bonus action on searing smite before the outcome is ...
8
votes
1answer
204 views

Can you choose to use abilities like Stunning Strike or Divine Smite after rolling damage?

There are certain abilities that require you to first make a hit, then you can choose whether or not to use that ability. Two examples that I can think of are a monk's Stunning Strike and a paladin's ...
13
votes
2answers
840 views

Why are Ghouls not proficient with their bite attack?

Looking at the Ghoul and the Ghast from the MM, we see that they both have a bite and a claw attack. The claw attack has two points more for the attack modifier which seems to indicate that the ...
5
votes
2answers
57 views

What range is used to determine the target of the attack made by the creature affected by a Spectator's Confusion Ray?

The Spectator has an Eye Ray option, Confusion Ray, that says: [The target] uses its action to make a melee or ranged attack against a randomly determined creature within range. Unlike the spell ...
9
votes
2answers
337 views

Can a multi-attack pounce be done twice?

A deinonychus has 40 feet movement speed so can it: move 20 ft> multiattack> 1st claw> pounce> bonus action bite> move 20 ft to another creature> 2nd claw>pounce>multiattack ...
6
votes
2answers
866 views

Can the Hexblade warlock's Armor of Hexes feature be used to cancel a ranged spell attack?

Can Armor of Hexes be used to cancel a ranged spell attack like scorching ray? Does one ray count as an attack roll because you roll to hit? The Hexblade warlock's Armor of Hexes feature says (XGtE, p....
10
votes
1answer
639 views

Can you use the Distant Strike from Horizon Walker to get in melee range and attack?

Suppose a Horizon Walker Ranger is not in melee range and has used all their movement. Can a they make a melee attack, and use their Distant Strike ability before the attack, get to melee range and ...
1
vote
1answer
92 views

How do I determine the proper bonuses for my attack and damage rolls?

I am a half-orc monk at level 14. I am using a homebrew gun called "the demon of powder", which has 6 charges that it expends as ammunition instead of regular bullets. My stats are 14 20 14 ...
7
votes
2answers
204 views

Does a multiclassed Hexblade warlock/paladin's Cha modifier stack with their Str or Dex modifier for attack rolls? Or does it replace Str/Dex mods?

I'm creating a fun villainous figure for my campaign. The choice has fallen on a Paladin-Warlock hybrid. The general idea is to take 2 levels in Paladin for Divine Smite, and then pound 4-5 levels ...
8
votes
3answers
956 views

For a Pact of the Chain warlock, is choosing to have their familiar attack generally the worse option for the warlock's action?

I have a warlock who has chosen Pact of the Chain. This gives me the find familiar spell, which states: You gain the service of a familiar, a spirit that takes an animal form you choose: bat, cat, ...
6
votes
2answers
338 views

Can someone use a Readied Help action between multiple attacks?

Scenario 1 : An ally is unseen and has Extra Attack. They have advantage on the first attack of their Attack action and I want to use the Help action to give them advantage on the second attack of ...
3
votes
3answers
278 views

Ways to Increase the number of attacks for a Fighter using 2-handed Weapons

How can a 2-handed weapon fighter archetype increase their number of melee attacks per round? I am only interested in increases through feats or abilities, not by magic items or spells. I already ...
4
votes
2answers
598 views

How does the Gloom Stalker ranger's Dread Ambusher feature interact with Surprise?

In D&D 5e, if a Gloom Stalker Ranger uses their Dread Ambusher feature's secondary attack on a creature during a surprise round (whether on the same target or a different one), is that creature ...
9
votes
1answer
252 views

Does making an attack with a previously cast Spiritual Weapon spell cause the Invisibility spell to end?

Suppose a character casts the spiritual weapon spell one round, then casts the invisibility spell the following round. Does using the bonus action from spiritual weapon to attack count as making an ...
8
votes
4answers
730 views

Can you attack through full cover?

An eldritch knight wants to attack a guard behind a wall. Before, he casts scrying and thus can see the target and where they are behind the wall. How should this be resolved? Is he unable to attack ...
7
votes
3answers
210 views

How do I narrate Laeral Silverhand's Silver Hair attack?

Laeral Silverhand's statblock appears in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure (p. 207). Among her action options, she has an attack option labeled "Silver Hair": Silver Hair. Melee Weapon Attack: +...
10
votes
4answers
3k views

Is “Shove” an attack?

This question is prompted by reading this answer to a question about using the Polearm Master feat's bonus action after a Shove and halberd Attack In the section "Making an Attack" (PHB, page 194): ...
1
vote
1answer
129 views

Using Divine Smite as a dual-wielder

Divine Smite allows my Paladin to expend a spell slot to deal extra damage after landing a melee attack. My character wields two swords. Since Divine Smite isn't a bonus action (because the rules don'...
8
votes
1answer
97 views

Can a Hunter ranger, can the Horde Breaker feature target a creature within 5 feet of any target attacked that turn, or only the most recent target?

I play a Hunter ranger using longbow attacks in a D&D 5e game. I'm trying to understand how the Horde Breaker feature works. Say there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (...
-1
votes
1answer
150 views

Are the “power word” spells an attack, and how do they interact with mirror image?

Mirror Image (p260 PHB) Says: Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell's duration, roll a d20 to determine whether the attack instead targets one of your duplicates.... ....A ...
17
votes
2answers
631 views

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
24
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you move between the separate attacks of a spell?

Some spells (Eldritch Blast, Scorching Ray) involve making multiple attacks, in that they require multiple attack rolls. Under the movement section of the PHB, the "Moving Between Attacks" reads (PHB ...
5
votes
2answers
237 views

What is the attacker for Spiritual Weapon? The caster or the weapon?

Background This question was prompted by this question about the relation to the rogue's uncanny dodge feature and being able to see the attacker when spiritual weapon is used. Question When a ...
11
votes
1answer
909 views

Can I apply the Great Weapon Master feat's second benefit (-5 to attack roll, +10 to damage roll) to the bonus-action attack from the first benefit?

Say I trigger the bonus-action attack granted by the first benefit of the Great Weapon Master feat (PHB, p. 167), either by getting a crit or a killing blow. Can I then apply GWM's second benefit (-5 ...
0
votes
2answers
140 views

Can you attack four times when you have two light weapons and the extra attack skill? [duplicate]

Most, if not all, classes gain the extra attack ability at level 5 where you can attack twice on your go instead of once. But if you are weilding two light weapons when you're using extra attack, do ...
14
votes
7answers
6k views

Planning to use 1 arrow to hit a second target if it misses the first target

I've read a lot about "shooting the other enemy" and how enemies don't occupy the entire 5ft square; however what I can't find is the following scenario: I intentionally position my character to have ...
10
votes
2answers
374 views

Does the Hunter ranger's Colossus Slayer feature work with an opportunity attack?

The Hunter ranger can choose the Colossus Slayer option for their 3rd-level Hunter's Prey feature. Suppose that on my turn, my Hunter ranger hits my opponent and gets to use Colossus Slayer. Then on ...
2
votes
1answer
95 views

Are the attacks made when using the Whirlwind Attack feat sequential or simultaneous?

This way we will know if we can use the 5 foot step during the whirlwind attack and if another creature can use an immediate action while it's being done: Of course you can use the 5 foot step before ...
3
votes
1answer
177 views

Can a monk abort a Flurry of Blows after the first bonus-action attack to avoid wasting a ki point?

Can a monk abort a Flurry of Blows after the first bonus-action attack to avoid wasting a ki point (e.g. if the enemy goes down after the first attack)? Or do you have to "declare" Flurry of Blows and ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Echo Knight fighter's Legion of One feature allow each echo to use Unleash Incarnation?

The Echo Knight fighter's Unleash Incarnation feature states (EGtW, p. 183): [...] Whenever you take the Attack action, you can make one additional melee attack from the echo’s position. You can use ...
1
vote
0answers
261 views

Does attacking from your echo knight while hidden give you advantage/Reveal your position? [closed]

The title says it all. If I'm a rogue/fighter multiclass, and I attack with my echo knight while hidden, does the attack have advantage?
4
votes
2answers
199 views

Two target attacks from monsters

If a monster has an attack with two targets. Do I make a separate attack roll for each player, or do I make one attack roll and compare to each AC individually? The monster in question , from A Wild ...
3
votes
1answer
102 views

mechanics of attack and roll damage for hill dwarf figther lvl1 [duplicate]

STR 13 +1 DEX 14 +2 CON 17 +4 INT 15 +2 WIS 12 +1 CHA 17 +3 So, I attack with one hand Battleaxe 1d8 with dueling fighting style: Attack rolld20 - 16+1 from strength +2 from proficiency with ...
36
votes
4answers
4k views

Is a character swallowed by a giant toad considered “unseen” on an attack against the toad, granting advantage (which cancels out disadvantage)?

When swallowed by a Giant Toad, you are Blinded and Restrained, both of which give you disadvantage on attacks. However you also have "total cover against attacks and other effects outside the toad". ...
11
votes
1answer
389 views

Can the reaction attack from the third benefit of the Sentinel feat be triggered by a shove or grapple?

The third benefit of the Sentinel feat says (PHB, p. 169-170; emphasis mine): When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

How many times can a Lvl 17 Astral Self Monk attack, including bonus action

I believed this was straight forward, but I had a discussion with one of my players who didn't see it the same way as I did. According to the Way of the Astral Self's subclass features, at 3rd ...
9
votes
2answers
932 views

Do unarmed strikes work with the Great Weapon Master feat?

A new player told me he wants to use the Great Weapon Master feat and choose 'Unarmed Strikes' as his weapon. I told him no because Unarmed Strikes are not considered weapons. He argued with me and I ...
5
votes
1answer
147 views

Is Reckless Attack active with Retaliation?

For the Barbarian, is Reckless Attack still active if you retaliate (lv 14 Path of the Berserker) against someone when they hit you? On Reddit, it said for the Fighter's Evasive Footwork that, "...
4
votes
1answer
908 views

Does haste's extra attack get triggered when you cast haste on yourself?

My question here is what is the right combination of the answers from these two questions: Does Extra attack stack with haste? Can you get an extra attack after casting a spell whilst hasted? ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What monster attacks have “Miss” outcomes?

I was looking at the piercer and noticed that it's attack not only has a Hit outcome, but a Miss line as well that is both fun and fits the attack. As far as I can tell, the piercer is the only ...
1
vote
2answers
632 views

Do I get a bonus d6 to Magic Missile damage if my expert sidekick helps me?

The expert sidekick has the helpful ability (at level 7+): The expert can take the Help action as a bonus action, and the creature who receives the help gains a 1d6 bonus to the d20 roll. If that ...

1
2 3 4 5
13