Questions tagged [attack]

For questions about attacks. An attack is generally defined as an action to cause damage or some other debilitation, though specific RPGs may define the term more specifically.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
117 views

Can my 2019 UA Artificer hit 4 times in a turn by combining the Arcane Armament feature with the Dual Wielder feat?

I'm having an argument with the DM as usual. My UA Artificer (2019) reached level 8, and I have a new set of goodies. I want to dual-wield maces. Looking at the Arcane Armament feature I received at ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Thaumaturgy cantrip be used to give advantage in combat?

Can Thaumaturgy be used as a kind of taunt? I understand D&D doesn't have taunts but it's the only way I know how to describe what I do with Thaumaturgy in this scenario. So, in theory, let's ...
3
votes
1answer
363 views

Would anything change if Opportunity Attacks only allowed you to make melee weapon attacks?

This question was inspired by discussions regarding Whirlwind Attack, as well as this answer to the Q/A "Can I use the War Caster feat to cast Vampiric Touch as a reaction?", which mentions using a ...
-2
votes
4answers
237 views

Can you use a melee spell attack with the Hunter Ranger's Whirlwind Attack?

The Hunter Ranger's Whirlwind Attack feature states: You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet of you, with a separate attack roll for each target....
11
votes
2answers
943 views

Does a Spores druid's extra damage from Symbiotic Entity apply to a creature hit by the secondary damage of Green-Flame Blade?

For a Circle of Spores druid, they are able to add 1d6 Poison Damage to their melee weapon attacks while their Symbiotic Entity feature is active. At 2nd level, you gain the ability to channel ...
7
votes
1answer
366 views

Can you grapple/shove with the Hunter Ranger's Whirlwind Attack?

The Hunter Ranger's Whirlwind Attack feature states: You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet of you, with a separate attack roll for each target....
9
votes
2answers
29k views

How many unarmed strikes can a Monk make between Flurry of Blows and Martial Arts?

The Flurry of Blows class feature allows the character to spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action. Is this in addition to the bonus unarmed strike that monks get from their ...
21
votes
3answers
569 views

If an attack causes additional damage after a saving throw, is it counted as a separate source of damage for the purpose of failed death saves?

If an attack causes additional damage after a saving throw, is it counted as a separate source of damage for the purpose of failed death saving throws? In other words, does it cause another failed ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Green Flame-Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell?

Does the Green-Flame Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell? Specifically, I am unsure as to whether the Zephyr Strike spell (XGtE, p. 171) requires you take the Attack action. Its ...
0
votes
3answers
712 views

Using a ranged weapon with the Ammunition property for a melee attack

Under the section on Improvised Weapons, this rule shows up: If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I make a melee attack with a ranged weapon?

Are there any rules that preclude this action? I know weapons with the Ammunition property are treated as improvised weapons per this line and this question: If you use a weapon that has the ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Would getting a natural 20 with a penalty still count as a critical hit?

Since rolling a number up to 20 with modifiers (an example 17 + 3) is not counted as a critical hit, what happens in the following case? If I roll a natural 20 and because of penalties end up with a ...
7
votes
3answers
328 views

Are getting hit and taking damage simultaneous events?

I have found this Q/A ("Does damage from Armor of Agathys take place before or after a character takes damage from an attack that hits?") and also this Q/A ("What happens if a creature is killed ...
9
votes
1answer
279 views

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver before he throws a net?

A long time ago, I had asked this question about whether a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack can do a Commander's Strike after he throws a net. It got answered in the negative (you can't give ...
3
votes
0answers
62 views

Can you really not grapple/shove using the Haste spell's Attack action? [duplicate]

The haste spell's description states: it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an ...
14
votes
1answer
861 views

Does the Haste spell's hasted action allow you to make multiple unarmed strikes? Or none at all?

The Haste spell states that you can take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. (emphasis mine) But we know that "weapon attacks" and "melee weapon ...
17
votes
5answers
1k views

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver after he throws a net?

When a character uses the Attack action to throw a net, he can only make one attack, regardless of the number of attacks he normally has (ex: 2 from the Level 5 Fighter's Extra Attack). A Battle ...
0
votes
1answer
176 views

Does using the Lucky Feat to tranform disadvantage into super-advantage still work with a net? [duplicate]

In this question, it can be seen that using a luck point when doing something at a disadvantage essentially transforms it into super-advantage. Does this specific strategy still works when throwing a ...
16
votes
2answers
5k views

If you know the location of an invisible creature, can you attack it?

Let's say a barbarian named Boomtar is in a room with stalkers and can’t see them because they are invisible and stealthy. Boomtar bravely lunges forward and happens to run into the stalker. May ...
0
votes
1answer
130 views

For a UA 2019 Battle Smith artificer, does the Iron Defender's attack bonus increase with the artificer's proficiency bonus?

Does the to-hit bonus of the Iron Defender's Bite increase when the proficiency of a Battle Smith Artificer (from the 2019 artificer UA) increases? The starting bonus is +4 (which I assume is the ...
0
votes
0answers
55 views

With the ‘extra attack’ feature, will a creature’s ‘help’ give advantage to both attacks? [duplicate]

Out in a foggy glade Agar is deeply focused on studying the local flora. While distracted, a poisonous snake creeps closer. Swoosh! As fangs begin to dig into Agar’s leg, his exceptionally trained ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a PC attack themselves with an unarmed strike?

Let's say a PC attempts to punch herself. Can she do so? If the PC is willing and deliberate, can she miss? Does she make an attack roll? If so, what AC is she trying to hit? How much damage would it ...
5
votes
2answers
8k views

Is it possible to hit multiple enemies with a two-handed weapon?

My players want to hit multiple enemies with two handed weapons, like cleave, but I can't find anything in the rules. The most I've given them so far is on a critical roll; They can hit the enemies if ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an actual attack instead of a feint be used as the distraction for a Help action?

The latter part of the description for the Help action says: Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. You feint, distract the target, or in some ...
12
votes
7answers
28k views

Can you combo attacks with the Booming Blade cantrip?

I understand that so long as conditions are met, you can Sneak Attack as part of the melee attack from the Booming Blade cantrip. Can you dual wield and attack with both weapons after casting Booming ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does two weapon fighting's qualifying “attack” have to be part of the “Attack” action?

The rules for two-weapon fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
21
votes
1answer
49k views

Can a familiar use a Help action to grant advantage on an attack to a near by ally?

Can a familiar use a Help action to grant advantage on an Attack to a near by ally? As I understand it, a familiar can aid in any action it can take itself. But by the spell Find Familiar, a normal ...
5
votes
1answer
738 views

Which attack yields higher average damage?

I am playing a fighter in a (heavily homebrewed) D&D campaign. The way the DM and I have created my character she has the option of using her main weapon, a quarterstaff, either one handed or two ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

What is the range of a Drunken Monk's Redirect attack?

One thing that came up in a session I was playing was when our Drunken Monk was fighting three enemies, one in front and two behind. The one in front missed and the Monk used redirect to hit an enemy ...
10
votes
2answers
778 views

Can the additional attack from a Samurai fighter's Rapid Strike feature be made at advantage?

The Samurai fighter archetype (from Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 31) gains the Rapid Strike class feature at level 15, which says: If you [...] have advantage on an attack roll against one of ...
-2
votes
1answer
92 views

Do I apply my proficiency bonus to a cantrip attack for a Sorcerer? [duplicate]

I decided to through the Firebolt cantrip into the "Attacks and Spellcasting" box on the character sheet. I understand I use my Char modifier, but do I also apply a proficiency bonus as well to the ...
16
votes
2answers
26k views

Do you have to cast Shield prior to your opponent's attack roll?

The entry for Shield says that the reaction is triggered by being hit by an attack, which would tend to imply that you can wait to see if your opponent actually succeeds on their attack roll (...
1
vote
1answer
172 views

Is it imbalancing to have unarmed strikes count as weapons? [duplicate]

Unarmed strikes already count as "attacks", "melee attacks", and even "melee weapon attacks" as the Sage Advice Compendium, version 2.3, states this on page 11: For example, an unarmed strike ...
5
votes
2answers
245 views

Does a Drunken Master monk have to attack twice to activate Drunken Technique and its Disengage benefit?

Does a Drunken Master Monk have to attack with one of their flurry of blows attacks to activate the disengage benefit?
22
votes
1answer
2k views

Are there attacks that are neither melee nor ranged?

I was looking at the slow spell and realized its description states: Regardless of the creature's abilities or magic items, it can't make more than one melee or ranged attack during its turn... I ...
7
votes
1answer
184 views

Does the Cavalier fighter's usage limit on the Unwavering Mark feature apply to the creatures you can mark, or just the bonus attacks you can make?

Does the Cavalier fighter's usage limit on the Unwavering Mark feature apply to the creatures you can mark or just the bonus attacks you can make? Basically I'm curious if just the attacks are ...
4
votes
1answer
487 views

What action is used to throw a javelin of lightning?

When you use a javelin of lightning, exactly what kind of action are you performing? I'd initially assumed it would just be using your entire action, but it doesn't specifically state so. If anything,...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

What rules turn any attack that hits a given target into a critical hit?

As the title says, what rules are there that make any attack that hits a given target deal damage as if it were a critical hit? I thought I remembered hearing something about that and the prone ...
11
votes
4answers
3k views

How many creatures can attack (melee) a single creature at once (assuming all creatures are medium sized)?

Regarding a hypothetical scenario where you have a party of 8 PC's and one enemy. Can all of those 8 PC's surround and attack the enemy creature (following a square 5x5 feet square grid) in one round? ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a “melee spell attack” use my spellcasting ability, or my Strength? [duplicate]

The spell "Flame Blade" makes a fire sword that you can perform a melee spell attack with. As a druid with higher Wisdom, I would rather have it be based on that than my Strength, but I'm not sure if ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Bracer of Flying Daggers really let a thief make 4 attacks per round?

The Bracer of Flying Daggers (from Waterdeep: Dragon Heist) lets you use an action to activate the item to make two normal thrown dagger attacks. There's no limit to the number of times the item can ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

What is the range of the Defensive Throw feat?

The benefit of the Defensive Throw feat (Complete Warrior, p. 97) says: If the opponent you have chosen to use your Dodge feat against attacks you and misses, you can make an immediate trip attack ...
6
votes
1answer
175 views

Does Holy Water deal damage on a failed attack roll?

The text of Holy Water states: As an action, you can splash the contents of this flask onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw it up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make ...
0
votes
0answers
225 views

Can I attack with my move action?

I'm playing Pathfinder with a Dex-based warrior. My basic strategy is to use power attack mythic in my attacks to deal lots of damage per hit and try to attack as much as I can. In certain situations,...
18
votes
3answers
4k views

Can monsters make multiple attacks in a single action?

In the bestiary for the new D&D Next playtest packets, some creatures look as though they get multiple attacks per round. e.g.: An owl bear gets Melee Attack: Claws +5/+5 (etc.) and Bite +5 (...
17
votes
1answer
5k views

Why do the Starter Set characters have unexpected attack bonuses?

I am somewhat new to D&D 5e and had a question about attack bonuses of the pre-gen characters in the Starter Set. I was under the impression that attack bonus for a sword is strength bonus plus ...
-1
votes
2answers
163 views

Does a cockatrice actually need to land a bite for the initial DC 11 Con saving throw?

According to the cockatrice's statblock on Roll20: The target must succeed on a dc 11 constitution saving throw against being magically petrified On a failed save, the creature begins to turn ...
10
votes
1answer
274 views

What can Strahd do in this form?

In the published module Curse of Strahd, Strahd (p. 240) can However, when he does this, However, it seems ridiculous to me that he would be unable to attack when doing so, I mean it's still My ...
1
vote
3answers
157 views

If a creature with both the Faerie Fire and Mirror Image spells cast on it is attacked, when is the attack roll actually made?

According to answers on this question about how faerie fire and mirror image interact, the faerie fire spell only affects the creature, and the mirror image spell can change the target of an attack. ...
6
votes
1answer
257 views

Can a Beast Master ranger have its beast chase down and attack enemies?

I have two related questions. I'm looking for RAW answers, as I play in Adventurers League. Say you are outside: Can a Beast Master Ranger command their pet to chase down enemies? Like having a ...