Questions tagged [attunement]

For questions about the attunement mechanic in D&D 5th edition and related RPGs. Attunement involves a character forming a bond with a magic item before the character is able to use it. This tag is for questions that relate to this mechanic and its application at the table. (See also: the [magic-items] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
1answer
406 views

Do the attunement requirements of the Hammer of Thunderbolts make it situational?

The properties of the hammer of thunderbolts seem to suggest to me that (for the vast majority of the time) the player owning this item will not have it attuned. How do you rule on the current ...
9
votes
1answer
211 views

Does the Thief rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature states (E:RftLW p. 58, WGtE p. 180; emphasis mine): [...] You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items. ...
14
votes
3answers
369 views

Wild Magic Resonance - can two sorcerers and two rings of spell storing guarantee a wild magic surge?

While reviewing this related question, I think that a sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge, which has a chance to be triggered when a sorcerer casts a spell, can be forced. Looking at how the ring of spell ...
6
votes
2answers
472 views

What happens when you attack with a non-attuned cursed weapon?

Cursed weapons often have a flat bonus such as a +1 associated with them, however the negative effects of a cursed weapon tend to only be associated with being attuned to said item. Could a player (...
7
votes
1answer
201 views

If my Simulacrum possesses me via Magic Jar, to whom will my magic items attune?

I have a high level Arcana Cleric/Wizard. Using wish to create a simulacrum, I can have a body double. Since I also took magic jar, my copy knows it, too. I wanted to know what would happen if I ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How does attunement work?

I would like to use the Gauntlets of Ogre Power, which states that the item "requires attunement". What am I supposed to attune it with? What are the requisites/requirements?
0
votes
2answers
173 views

Can a magic item require attunement twice?

Can an item require attunement twice to be used? NOTE: This question is a revisit of an existing question: Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally ...
18
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens if you no longer meet the Strength requirement for your armor?

I recently asked about what happens when you lose requirements for an attuned item (here). Now, I have a slightly different but still related question involving the artificer class' 20th-level ability,...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if one no longer meets the requirements for an attuned item?

So, I have a question that's sort of a what-if situation that applies to many different situations, but what happens if the requirements to attune to an item are lost while that item is attuned to you?...
0
votes
0answers
48 views

Is there anything in the rules that say a familiar can attune to magic items? [duplicate]

Is there anything in the rules that say a familiar can attune to magic items? I've seen lots of questions about if familiars can attune to items and the community seems to agree on that they can. ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

How do the Prosthetic Limb and Wand Sheath magic items interact with the artificer's Soul of Artifice capstone feature?

A player playing an artificer thought of an interesting interaction between the Prosthetic Limb or Wand Sheath magic items and the Artificer's capstone feature Soul of Artifice. The Prosthetic Limb (...
5
votes
1answer
585 views

What requirements does the Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature ignore?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states: [...] You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items. Class and race ...
15
votes
2answers
3k views

How permanent are these changes to a PC when they attune to this weapon in Descent into Avernus?

In Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus, on pages 226-227, the is described. The weapon is listed as a and has the following property (given a bold italics header): Briefly, these traits include (...
6
votes
4answers
536 views

Can a creature of any alignment attune to this magic weapon in Curse of Strahd?

In Curse of Strahd, area K74h of Castle Ravenloft (p. 81), there is a certain magic weapon: The last bullet point describes that, if you are attuned to the weapon, you are granted the ability to cast ...
11
votes
1answer
692 views

Can one attune multiple items at the same time?

During a recent session, my character was given a Cloak of Protection and a Staff of Fire. Both items require attunement. Is it possible to attune to both items at the same time or do I need to attune ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a character with good/neutral alignment attune to a sentient magic item with evil alignment?

Can a character with good/neutral alignment attune to a sentient magic item with evil alignment? The greatsword Hazirawn in the Hoard of the Dragon Queen adventure is described as "A sentient (...
3
votes
1answer
312 views

Can a pet cat attune to a magical item? [duplicate]

Could I attune a magical item to my pet cat? There don't appear to be any base requirements for attunement.
23
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I attune a Circlet of Human Perfection to my animated skeletons to allow them to blend in and speak?

For those unfamiliar, a Circlet of Human Perfection is a magic item from the Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage adventure (p. 30). Its description reads: The circlet transforms its attuned wearer ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally requires attunement?

I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice. Using the ...
-2
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it impossible to attune to more than one copy of a magic weapon?

So I'm aware that attunement cannot be applied to more than one copy of a magic item, I.E. two rings of protection. Does the same rule apply to magic weapons that require attunement as well?
9
votes
2answers
593 views

What level should a spell that lets a character briefly attune to an extra item be?

I am considering adding a homebrew spell to a game I DM. Here is the exact wording I intend to use: Superior Attunement 8th level transmutation Casting Time: 1 action Range: Touch Components: V, S, M*...
-3
votes
2answers
2k views

Does acquiring a new spellcasting focus require attunement?

Our wizard goes to spend his quest reward to buy an expensive looking wand (because he was from a rich family). At the shop, the rogue is caught shoplifting and the shopkeeper calls guards, so we ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you attune to a magic item that does not require attunement?

Even though you could use magic items like the wand of magic missiles without attunement, you would benefit from attunement by knowing the number of charges in it (emphasis mine): Charges Some ...
11
votes
1answer
5k views

Can an animal attune to a magic item?

We have previously determined that an awakened creature or a familiar can attune to magic items, but one of those is a sapient creature, and the other "always obeys your commands". A paladin's steed (...
28
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Awakened creature attune to items?

Question is what the title says. Basically, I have an Awakened Tree that I want to give fire resistance through an item which requires attunement. Since the trees Intelligence is 10 now, it is ...
11
votes
2answers
634 views

How does temporary magic item attunement work?

I have a wizard who has a Pearl of Power. According to the rules, it looks like he should be able to, on each day, take a short rest to attune to it, use it to recover a spell slot, then take a short ...
26
votes
3answers
12k views

Can a familiar attune and wear or use a magic item?

Is it possible for a familiar to attune to and then wear or wield a magic item?
25
votes
2answers
14k views

Does the Thief rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them attune to items that require attunement by a spellcaster?

The Thief rogue's Use Magic Device feature says: By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when they are not intended for you. ...
5
votes
3answers
4k views

Are there restrictions on who can attune to magical items with no prerequisite?

When a magic item requires attunement, but does not specify any prerequisite, can anyone attune to it, or does the DM make up some prerequisite for it? Example: Ring of Free Action pg 191 of the DMG ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if you obtain a cursed item while already attuned to your maximum number of attuned items (three)?

Reference: daze413's answer to "As a monk, can I use Deflect Missiles to protect my ally?" Scenario: Monk already has his three attuned magic items. Monk picks up a shield of missile attraction, ...
9
votes
2answers
986 views

Does spending a short rest attuning to an item have any negative effects on the rest?

Does 'concentration' used during short rests for the learning a magical item's properties or attuning to an item deny the ability to spend hit dice during those rests? Rephrased, does this ...
8
votes
5answers
2k views

Can a long rest immediately follow a short rest to attune to an item?

A situation recently came up in my weekly game where a PC who had just discovered a new magic item after a series of encounters took a short rest to identify the magic item's properties. Per the DMG, ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Do resurrected characters automatically re-attune to their magic items?

In the basic rules (Pg. 58) as well as in the DMG (Pg. 138), the section on attunement states (emphasis mine): A creature’s attunement to an item ends if the creature no longer satisfies the ...
18
votes
5answers
10k views

Do magic weapons that require attunement count as magic (for Resistances) even if you are not attuned?

Resistance in a creatures stat block is written as follows: bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing from non magical weapons Does a weapon count as magical, even if I am not attuned to it? I know I ...
12
votes
3answers
42k views

Can a non-spellcaster attune to & use a wand or staff that doesn't require a spellcaster?

I've been going through the DMG's magic item list, and I notice some wands & staves require attunement without specifying "by a spellcaster". An example is the Wand of Magic Missiles. Is it the ...