Questions tagged [blood-hunter]

For questions about Matt Mercer's third-party Blood Hunter class from D&D 5e.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Blood Hunter / Bard use Blood Curse of the Eyeless and Cutting Words on the same attack roll?

I've seen a reactionary curse that says you roll your hemocraft die to reduce an attack roll that you can see. Since this and the Lore Bard's use of Bardic Inspiration work mechanically the same via ...
2
votes
2answers
221 views

Can an Order of the Mutant blood hunter consume Mutagens towards the end of a short rest?

I'm considering playing a blood hunter, Order of the Mutant (the updated version as of 2020). Starting at 7th level, they can learn the Reconstruction Mutagen: Prerequisite: 7th level For 1 hour, at ...
8
votes
1answer
435 views

Does the blood hunter gain an additional blood curse at level 20?

In the rules for Matt Mercer's blood hunter class on D&D Beyond, the description of the Blood Maledict feature (essentially using blood curses) states that you learn a blood curse when you gain ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an Order of the Mutant Blood Hunter benefit from multiple instances of the same Mutagen at once?

The Order of the Mutant archetype of the Blood Hunter class has the ability to use mutagens to increase ability scores. The rule for using mutagens reads in part: As a bonus action you can consume ...
4
votes
1answer
236 views

Blood hunter blood curses vs. remove curse/greater restoration

Can a blood curse be removed by a use of remove curse or greater restoration? I've been looking everywhere, but I can't seem to find an answer. I assume it can be, since it is a curse.
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Blood Hunter's Order of the Lycan work well with the Fighting Styles included in the class?

I've been trying to wrap my head around the Order of the Lycan for Matt Mercer's Blood Hunter class. It looks to me like its designed around fighting unarmed in hybrid form, with a large number of its ...
4
votes
1answer
279 views

Does the Blood Hunter's Crimson Rite work with the Monk's unarmed strikes?

I want to make a level 2 monk that multi-classed into blood hunter for 1 level. If I did that, would I be able to use crimson rite on my body, and have my unarmed strikes be 2d4 + my dex modifier? ...
0
votes
2answers
4k views

What spells can a Bloodhunter Cast?

So I was wondering what spells a bloodhunter might be able to cast if any. I can't seem to find any help or details on what spells Bloodhunters can use, so if someone could kindly help me, that would ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain the additional benefits from Warlock subclasses?

A Blood Hunter can join a Blood Hunter Order at level 3. When a Blood Hunter joins the Order of the Profane Soul, they can make a Pact with the Undying and gain access to Pact Magic. Looking at the ...
3
votes
3answers
8k views

What is allowed to be a holy symbol?

One of my players is playing a Blood Hunter from the D&D beyond site. He wants to have his character be the Ghost Hunter based subclass and have his backstory be that he grew up in a ghost hunting ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

How does the Blood Hunter's bond with their weapon work?

Because I've read that blood hunters form a bond with their weapon, allowing them to harness the elements in a whirlwind of dangerous strikes. Is this bond just a ritual-type thing and that's it? Or ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

Can unarmed strikes benefit from the Blood Hunter's Crimson Rite feature even if they do not choose the Order of the Lycan subclass?

The Order of the Lycan's Hybrid Transformation feature (for the homebrew Blood Hunter class by Matt Mercer) says: Predatory Strikes. Your unarmed strikes are considered a single weapon in regards ...
27
votes
3answers
52k views

How “Official” is the Blood Hunter class?

I saw a question recently about the Blood Hunter class, which confused me because the D&D Beyond page for it is very visually distinct from pages for Homebrew, but everything I've seen indicates ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens if the Order of the Mutant blood hunter's celerity mutagen would reduce their Wisdom score to 0 or less?

Suppose I have an Order of the Mutant blood hunter who has a Wisdom score of 3, and is level 9 (or greater) so has a "mutagen bonus" of 3+. If this character uses the celerity mutagen, the ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Class armor proficiency vs. armor proficiency feats

Question being raised due to the Blood Hunter's armor proficiency, which has light + medium armor but no shields. My question is: If a class already has proficiency for something built-in, can they ...
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Do unarmed strikes count for Hunter's Mark? [duplicate]

I have a Ranger3 Blood Hunter3 in a CoS campaign. The ranger multi-classed into bloodhunter for flavor and role play. He has chosen Order of the Lycan. One of the abilities allows them to make 1d6(...