Questions tagged [bonus-action]

For questions about "bonus actions" in RPGs. In D&D 5e, this term is used to refer to a certain kind of quick action that can be taken alongside a regular action. A bonus action is considered a type of action, but you can take only 1 bonus action on your turn; actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. The timing and distinction between actions and bonus actions is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
0 answers
31 views

Does the Psychic Blades second offhand attack gain the attack roll bonus? [duplicate]

Does the Psychic Blades second offhand attack gain the attack roll bonus as the text says the original weapon disappears and that the only thing that changes is the damage dice. Also at 3rd level, ...
user avatar
  • 59
16 votes
4 answers
1k views

When can you use a bonus action?

In the rules for bonus actions it states: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified ... I have seen this quote used to justify some ...
user avatar
  • 5,536
10 votes
1 answer
500 views

Does the Swift Quiver spell let you make 2 extra attacks with a bonus action on the same turn you cast it?

Swift Quiver takes a bonus action to cast, then it lets you use a bonus action to make two attacks. So the turn you cast it, you use your bonus action just to cast it, then you need another bonus ...
user avatar
  • 248
8 votes
1 answer
360 views

How to get a ranged bonus action attack before/without attacking or using a combat manoeuvre?

I want to use Maneuvering Attack to move my mount, and then make an attack action on the creature I move towards. However I want the weapon attack that triggers this combat manoeuvre to be made as a ...
user avatar
10 votes
5 answers
2k views

Does moving by means of a bonus action provoke opportunity attacks?

The criteria for not provoking an opportunity attack when leaving an opponent’s reach are: Take the Disengage action or Teleport or Move (or be moved) without using your action, reaction, or movement....
user avatar
  • 26.4k
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Balancing around Eldritch Cannon's use as a bonus action

I am fairly new to DM'ing and I am going to be running a simple one shot soon. I intend to start the players at level 3 so they can enjoy the more entertaining class features and not be so squishy ...
user avatar
23 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you use your bonus action while under the effects of the Fear spell?

The description of the fear spell states, in part: While frightened by this spell, a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route on each of its turns, ...
user avatar
  • 400
5 votes
3 answers
603 views

Multiple instances of the spell of Animate Dead and bonus action scope

If you cast Animate Dead, that allows you to use a bonus action to command any creature you made from "this spell". Do multiple instances of the effects created by the spell named Animate ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

I know you can not "Ready" a bonus action. But can you ready an attack action and use the bonus action before the attack action when the action is triggered? The rule for bonus actions says:...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
293 views

When can I use the Polearm Master bonus action attack? [duplicate]

The first benefit of PAM says When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end ...
user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can the Poisoner feat let you activate a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action?

The Dagger of Venom is a magic item with the following special property : You can use an action to cause thick, black poison to coat the blade. The poison remains for 1 minute or until an attack ...
user avatar
  • 27.8k
4 votes
1 answer
641 views

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The description of the Tasha's mind whip spell states (TCoE, p. 115): You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed ...
user avatar
  • 77
9 votes
2 answers
417 views

How many horns can be fired from Alicorn Lance during its duration?

I am somewhat confused by the wording of Alicorn Lance as stated in Elminster's Guide to Magic. The text states: Alicorn Lance 2nd-level evocation Casting Time: 1 action Components: V, S, M (a lock ...
user avatar
  • 199
2 votes
1 answer
805 views

Can an Artillerist artificer activate multiple Eldritch Cannons with the same bonus action?

To my understanding, an Artillerist artificer can create an Eldritch Cannon during a battle using an action. The first one of the day doesn't require expending a spell slot. But what about activation ...
user avatar
  • 169
1 vote
1 answer
631 views

Will multiclassing my warlock into bard with bardic inspiration give me an effective way to use my bonus action in battle?

In a party with a level 3 Warlock Tiefling - The Fiend (Pact of the Tome). We are noticing that the party members benefit more from bonus actions than the Warlock. Since that member is the only caster ...
user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
979 views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

As a monk, if I throw a dart with my action, can I make an unarmed strike using my bonus action?

As a monk, after failing to hit someone with a dart throw, can I make an unarmed strike against an enemy close to me using my bonus action?
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
428 views

Can a Kensei monk spend a bonus action to use the Kensei's Shot feature after they make an attack roll, and still do the extra damage on that attack?

The Way of the Kensei monk's Path of the Kensei feature grants several benefits, including Kensei's Shot. The wording of Kensei's Shot is as follows (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 34): You can ...
user avatar
  • 970
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item effectively bypass the bonus action spellcasting rule?

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
7 votes
1 answer
309 views

Do bonus actions trigger the save from an Internal Injury?

One of the possible injuries from the optional "Lingering Injuries" table in the DMG is Internal Injury: Internal Injury. Whenever you attempt an action in combat, you must make a DC 15 ...
user avatar
  • 18.3k
22 votes
1 answer
7k views

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

The Incapacitated condition says: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Can someone who is incapacitated still take bonus actions?
user avatar
  • 5,817
1 vote
4 answers
2k views

How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?

I've found two chains of Twitter posts by Jeremy Crawford that I can't seem to make sense of. According to a Crawford tweet from August 2018: Actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable. ...
user avatar
  • 61
5 votes
2 answers
946 views

Can the Polearm Master bonus attack only be used after the main attack?

The first benefit of the Polearm Master feat says (PHB, p. 168): When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a ...
user avatar
  • 1,506
11 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does the monk's Step of the Wind ability allow them to double their jump distance without using Dash or Disengage as a bonus action?

I was playing a game of D&D 5e the other day and got into a disagreement with the DM. I have a monk character that made a long jump off a wall using Step of the Wind. The plan was to do Flurry of ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
890 views

Can you use a bonus action in the middle of an attack (e.g. after the attack roll, but before the outcome is determined)?

Say you're a paladin, and you want to cast searing smite (PHB, p. 274). Can I roll my attack, see the result, and decide if I want to spend my bonus action on searing smite before the outcome is ...
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

Is it possible to cast a quickened Fireball as a bonus action, and also use a bonus action to make an attack with Spiritual Weapon on the same turn?

I started playing like a month ago, and the DM was nice enough to create a character for me and write me into the story. I've never played D&D before, but I told him I wanted to be a glass cannon ...
user avatar
  • 59
3 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is it possible for a rogue to get a second action/bonus action?

I know all characters get one action and one bonus action, but say I want to use misty step (via the Eladrin's Fey Step racial feature) and follow through with my dual swords. I know that misty step ...
user avatar
6 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can I make an attack as my action, and cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as my bonus action?

I am playing a rogue who chose the archetype Arcane Trickster, which means I can cast spells. Can I make a normal-range or close-range attack for my main action, and as a bonus action cast a spell ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
481 views

Using Divine Smite as a dual-wielder

Divine Smite allows my Paladin to expend a spell slot to deal extra damage after landing a melee attack. My character wields two swords. Since Divine Smite isn't a bonus action (because the rules don'...
user avatar
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

If you use two Scimitars of Speed, do you get 2 bonus action attacks?

The description for a Scimitar of Speed says: ...you can make one attack with it as a bonus action on each of your turns. According to the Player's Handbook: Ch. 9 > Your Turn > Bonus Actions, the ...
user avatar
  • 8,929
8 votes
3 answers
3k views

How many times can a Lvl 17 Astral Self (UA) Monk attack, including bonus action

I believed this was straight forward, but I had a discussion with one of my players who didn't see it the same way as I did. According to Unearthed Arcana's Way of the Astral Self's subclass features,...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
141 views

If I use a bonus action to do something besides cast a spell, can I cast a non-cantrip spell with my action?

In D&D 5e, what are the rules for casting spells when using a bonus action to do something besides cast a spell? For example, if I'm using a Cunning Action to Disengage as a bonus action, can I ...
user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
232 views

Can you cast a bonus-action-spell as a bonus action AFTER casting a action-spell/cantrip as an action? [duplicate]

From the Player's Handbook (p. 202) under Casting Time > Bonus Action, A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on ...
user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
6k views

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent D&D Beyond article, Epic House Rules: Potion Toxicity and Quick Drinking, mentioned this houserule: Variant: Quick Potion Drinking You can use a bonus action, instead of an action, to ...
user avatar
  • 77k
3 votes
2 answers
774 views

Is there a scenario where a gnoll flesh gnawer can move at least 45 feet during its Rampage bonus action?

The base movement speed of a gnoll flesh gnawer is 30 feet, and if it activates rampage by bringing a creature to 0 hit points, it can move an additional 15 feet for a total of 45 feet during "normal" ...
user avatar
  • 1,364
1 vote
0 answers
59 views

Would there be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take a second bonus action? [duplicate]

As the title suggests, I'm wondering if there would be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take an additional bonus action (but not the other way around). ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
442 views

Can you ready an action after you've already used your bonus action?

Like say, you use the rogue's cunning action to disengage, then you ready your action to shoot at the enemy when an ally gets within 5 feet of them. Would this work?
user avatar
  • 1,765
2 votes
2 answers
723 views

Can I use a bonus action to ready an action?

The 5e rules are a little unclear on this, and I haven't found anyone who has asked this yet. I've been wondering if it is possible to use your bonus action to ready an action. For example, can a ...
user avatar
15 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you continue the movement of a Bonus Action Dash granted by Expeditious Retreat if your Concentration is broken mid-move?

The spell Expeditious Retreat requires concentration, and reads: When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of your turns until the spell ends, you can take the Dash action. ...
user avatar
  • 1,851
16 votes
3 answers
12k views

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
3 votes
0 answers
201 views

What are the balance implications of allowing players to use their action to make a bonus action? [duplicate]

By the rules, according to the sage advice compendium actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. I can completely see why you shouldn't be allowed to perform an action as a bonus action, ...
user avatar
  • 6,133
1 vote
4 answers
1k views

Does the Flaming Sphere spell come with or as a bonus action as a default? [duplicate]

Reading PHB p. 242 about Flaming Sphere (second paragraph) it begins “As a bonus action, you can...”. Does this mean that when it is cast that a wizard gets to use a bonus action and move the sphere? ...
user avatar
  • 1,144
15 votes
3 answers
20k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
user avatar
  • 153
32 votes
3 answers
9k views

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

Looking at other questions about casting spells as a bonus action has left me trying to keep a lot of information in my head about whether a given combination of spells is legal according to the ...
user avatar
  • 50.5k
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you make a bonus-action attack from Two-Weapon Fighting before you take your action?

The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
user avatar
  • 3,103
26 votes
2 answers
4k views

If your bonus-action spell is counterspelled, are you still restricted to casting a cantrip that turn?

The rules for bonus-action spells state: You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell ...
user avatar
  • 90.2k
15 votes
2 answers
15k views

Are actions and bonus actions interchangeable?

While I know you can't cast 2 spells of first level or higher in a turn, and actions can't just be used as bonus actions, is the reverse true? Say there's a barbarian cleric that rages as a bonus ...
user avatar
  • 167
13 votes
5 answers
4k views

Do you have to take the Attack action before you can make the bonus-action attack from the Crossbow Expert feat?

The third benefit of the Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165): When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are ...
user avatar
  • 6,502
7 votes
3 answers
578 views

Are there features that actually specify their own bonus action timing?

The PHB States: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents ...
user avatar
  • 122k