Questions tagged [bonus-action]

For questions about "bonus actions" in RPGs. In D&D 5e, this term is used to refer to a certain kind of quick action that can be taken alongside a regular action. A bonus action is considered a type of action, but you can take only 1 bonus action on your turn; actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. The timing and distinction between actions and bonus actions is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
16
votes
3answers
9k views

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
10
votes
5answers
2k views

Does moving by means of a bonus action provoke opportunity attacks?

The criteria for not provoking an opportunity attack when leaving an opponent’s reach are: Take the Disengage action or Teleport or Move (or be moved) without using your action, reaction, or movement....
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Balancing around Eldritch Cannon's use as a bonus action

I am fairly new to DM'ing and I am going to be running a simple one shot soon. I intend to start the players at level 3 so they can enjoy the more entertaining class features and not be so squishy ...
23
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you use your bonus action while under the effects of the Fear spell?

The description of the fear spell states, in part: While frightened by this spell, a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route on each of its turns, ...
5
votes
3answers
235 views

Multiple instances of the spell of Animate Dead and bonus action scope

If you cast Animate Dead, that allows you to use a bonus action to command any creature you made from "this spell". Do multiple instances of the effects created by the spell named Animate ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

I know you can not "Ready" a bonus action. But can you ready an attack action and use the bonus action before the attack action when the action is triggered? The rule for bonus actions says:...
1
vote
1answer
123 views

When can I use the Polearm Master bonus action attack? [duplicate]

The first benefit of PAM says When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Poisoner feat let you activate a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action?

The Dagger of Venom is a magic item with the following special property : You can use an action to cause thick, black poison to coat the blade. The poison remains for 1 minute or until an attack ...
4
votes
1answer
295 views

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The description of the Tasha's mind whip spell states (TCoE, p. 115): You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed ...
9
votes
2answers
399 views

How many horns can be fired from Alicorn Lance during its duration?

I am somewhat confused by the wording of Alicorn Lance as stated in Elminster's Guide to Magic. The text states: Alicorn Lance 2nd-level evocation Casting Time: 1 action Components: V, S, M (a lock ...
28
votes
3answers
8k views

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

Looking at other questions about casting spells as a bonus action has left me trying to keep a lot of information in my head about whether a given combination of spells is legal according to the ...
43
votes
5answers
53k views

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

Can the shield push from the Shield Master feat be taken before an attack? i.e. Push prone, follow up with an attack while they're down. Shield Master You use shields not just for protection ...
2
votes
1answer
465 views

Can an Artillerist artificer activate multiple Eldritch Cannons with the same bonus action?

To my understanding, an Artillerist artificer can create an Eldritch Cannon during a battle using an action. The first one of the day doesn't require expending a spell slot. But what about activation ...
25
votes
2answers
4k views

If your bonus-action spell is counterspelled, are you still restricted to casting a cantrip that turn?

The rules for bonus-action spells state: You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell ...
1
vote
1answer
436 views

Will multiclassing my warlock into bard with bardic inspiration give me an effective way to use my bonus action in battle?

In a party with a level 3 Warlock Tiefling - The Fiend (Pact of the Tome). We are noticing that the party members benefit more from bonus actions than the Warlock. Since that member is the only caster ...
8
votes
2answers
601 views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

As a monk, if I throw a dart with my action, can I make an unarmed strike using my bonus action?

As a monk, after failing to hit someone with a dart throw, can I make an unarmed strike against an enemy close to me using my bonus action?
2
votes
1answer
288 views

Can a Kensei monk spend a bonus action to use the Kensei's Shot feature after they make an attack roll, and still do the extra damage on that attack?

The Way of the Kensei monk's Path of the Kensei feature grants several benefits, including Kensei's Shot. The wording of Kensei's Shot is as follows (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 34): You can ...
6
votes
1answer
587 views

Does the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item effectively bypass the bonus action spellcasting rule?

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken ...
7
votes
1answer
283 views

Do bonus actions trigger the save from an Internal Injury?

One of the possible injuries from the optional "Lingering Injuries" table in the DMG is Internal Injury: Internal Injury. Whenever you attempt an action in combat, you must make a DC 15 ...
15
votes
2answers
15k views

Are actions and bonus actions interchangeable?

While I know you can't cast 2 spells of first level or higher in a turn, and actions can't just be used as bonus actions, is the reverse true? Say there's a barbarian cleric that rages as a bonus ...
1
vote
4answers
2k views

How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?

I've found two chains of Twitter posts by Jeremy Crawford that I can't seem to make sense of. According to a Crawford tweet from August 2018: Actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable. ...
19
votes
1answer
4k views

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

The Incapacitated condition says: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Can someone who is incapacitated still take bonus actions?
13
votes
5answers
4k views

Do you have to take the Attack action before you can make the bonus-action attack from the Crossbow Expert feat?

The third benefit of the Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165): When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are ...
5
votes
2answers
546 views

Can the Polearm Master bonus attack only be used after the main attack?

The first benefit of the Polearm Master feat says (PHB, p. 168): When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a ...
7
votes
3answers
543 views

Are there features that actually specify their own bonus action timing?

The PHB States: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents ...
32
votes
1answer
45k views

Can I use a bonus action before my action?

In D&D 5e can I use my bonus action before my action? For example if I wanted to cast Ensnaring Strike before my action to benefit from the bonus immediately. Is this OK, or is a bonus action ...
18
votes
5answers
10k views

Can an Eldritch Knight use the bonus-action attack granted by War Magic before casting the spell as an action?

A Fighter with the Eldritch Knight martial archetype gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved War Magic at 18th level). The War Magic feature (PHB, p. 75) states: Beginning at 7th ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you make a bonus-action attack from Two-Weapon Fighting before you take your action?

The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent D&D Beyond article, Epic House Rules: Potion Toxicity and Quick Drinking, mentioned this houserule: Variant: Quick Potion Drinking You can use a bonus action, instead of an action, to ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Is it possible to cast a quickened Fireball as a bonus action, and also use a bonus action to make an attack with Spiritual Weapon on the same turn?

I started playing like a month ago, and the DM was nice enough to create a character for me and write me into the story. I've never played D&D before, but I told him I wanted to be a glass cannon ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Does the monk's Step of the Wind ability allow them to double their jump distance without using Dash or Disengage as a bonus action?

I was playing a game of D&D 5e the other day and got into a disagreement with the DM. I have a monk character that made a long jump off a wall using Step of the Wind. The plan was to do Flurry of ...
4
votes
1answer
586 views

Can you use a bonus action in the middle of an attack (e.g. after the attack roll, but before the outcome is determined)?

Say you're a paladin, and you want to cast searing smite (PHB, p. 274). Can I roll my attack, see the result, and decide if I want to spend my bonus action on searing smite before the outcome is ...
45
votes
10answers
195k views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Is it possible for a rogue to get a second action/bonus action?

I know all characters get one action and one bonus action, but say I want to use misty step (via the Eladrin's Fey Step racial feature) and follow through with my dual swords. I know that misty step ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I make an attack as my action, and cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as my bonus action?

I am playing a rogue who chose the archetype Arcane Trickster, which means I can cast spells. Can I make a normal-range or close-range attack for my main action, and as a bonus action cast a spell ...
1
vote
1answer
305 views

Using Divine Smite as a dual-wielder

Divine Smite allows my Paladin to expend a spell slot to deal extra damage after landing a melee attack. My character wields two swords. Since Divine Smite isn't a bonus action (because the rules don'...
18
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

If you use two Scimitars of Speed, do you get 2 bonus action attacks?

The description for a Scimitar of Speed says: ...you can make one attack with it as a bonus action on each of your turns. According to the Player's Handbook: Ch. 9 > Your Turn > Bonus Actions, the ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

How many times can a Lvl 17 Astral Self Monk attack, including bonus action

I believed this was straight forward, but I had a discussion with one of my players who didn't see it the same way as I did. According to the Way of the Astral Self's subclass features, at 3rd ...
1
vote
1answer
126 views

If I use a bonus action to do something besides cast a spell, can I cast a non-cantrip spell with my action?

In D&D 5e, what are the rules for casting spells when using a bonus action to do something besides cast a spell? For example, if I'm using a Cunning Action to Disengage as a bonus action, can I ...
2
votes
0answers
170 views

Can you cast a bonus-action-spell as a bonus action AFTER casting a action-spell/cantrip as an action? [duplicate]

From the Player's Handbook (p. 202) under Casting Time > Bonus Action, A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on ...
15
votes
4answers
18k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
3
votes
2answers
621 views

Is there a scenario where a gnoll flesh gnawer can move at least 45 feet during its Rampage bonus action?

The base movement speed of a gnoll flesh gnawer is 30 feet, and if it activates rampage by bringing a creature to 0 hit points, it can move an additional 15 feet for a total of 45 feet during "normal" ...
1
vote
0answers
59 views

Would there be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take a second bonus action? [duplicate]

As the title suggests, I'm wondering if there would be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take an additional bonus action (but not the other way around). ...
2
votes
2answers
615 views

Can I use a bonus action to ready an action?

The 5e rules are a little unclear on this, and I haven't found anyone who has asked this yet. I've been wondering if it is possible to use your bonus action to ready an action. For example, can a ...
4
votes
1answer
415 views

Can you ready an action after you've already used your bonus action?

Like say, you use the rogue's cunning action to disengage, then you ready your action to shoot at the enemy when an ally gets within 5 feet of them. Would this work?
15
votes
1answer
991 views

Can you continue the movement of a Bonus Action Dash granted by Expeditious Retreat if your Concentration is broken mid-move?

The spell Expeditious Retreat requires concentration, and reads: When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of your turns until the spell ends, you can take the Dash action. ...
3
votes
0answers
184 views

What are the balance implications of allowing players to use their action to make a bonus action? [duplicate]

By the rules, according to the sage advice compendium actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. I can completely see why you shouldn't be allowed to perform an action as a bonus action, ...
1
vote
4answers
1k views

Does the Flaming Sphere spell come with or as a bonus action as a default? [duplicate]

Reading PHB p. 242 about Flaming Sphere (second paragraph) it begins “As a bonus action, you can...”. Does this mean that when it is cast that a wizard gets to use a bonus action and move the sphere? ...