Questions tagged [bonus-action]

A bonus action is a term used in D&D 5e for a quick action that can be taken along side a regular action. The timing and distinction is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
110 views

Using Divine Smite as a dual-wielder

Divine Smite allows my Paladin to expend a spell slot to deal extra damage after landing a melee attack. My character wields two swords. Since Divine Smite isn't a bonus action (because the rules don'...
12
votes
2answers
546 views

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
3
votes
1answer
775 views

If you use two Scimitars of Speed, do you get 2 bonus action attacks?

The description for a Scimitar of Speed says: ...you can make one attack with it as a bonus action on each of your turns. According to the Player's Handbook: Ch. 9 > Your Turn > Bonus Actions, the ...
8
votes
2answers
836 views

How many times can a Lvl 17 Astral Self Monk attack, including bonus action

I believed this was straight forward, but I had a discussion with one of my players who didn't see it the same way as I did. According to the Way of the Astral Self's subclass features, at 3rd ...
1
vote
1answer
97 views

If I use a bonus action to do something besides cast a spell, can I cast a non-cantrip spell with my action?

In D&D 5e, what are the rules for casting spells when using a bonus action to do something besides cast a spell? For example, if I'm using a Cunning Action to Disengage as a bonus action, can I ...
2
votes
0answers
113 views

Can you cast a bonus-action-spell as a bonus action AFTER casting a action-spell/cantrip as an action? [duplicate]

From the Player's Handbook (p. 202) under Casting Time > Bonus Action, A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on ...
19
votes
2answers
4k views

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

Looking at other questions about casting spells as a bonus action has left me trying to keep a lot of information in my head about whether a given combination of spells is legal according to the ...
15
votes
4answers
11k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent D&D Beyond article, Epic House Rules: Potion Toxicity and Quick Drinking, mentioned this houserule: Variant: Quick Potion Drinking You can use a bonus action, instead of an action,...
3
votes
2answers
359 views

Is there a scenario where a gnoll flesh gnawer can move at least 45 feet during its Rampage bonus action?

The base movement speed of a gnoll flesh gnawer is 30 feet, and if it activates rampage by bringing a creature to 0 hit points, it can move an additional 15 feet for a total of 45 feet during "normal" ...
1
vote
0answers
57 views

Would there be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take a second bonus action? [duplicate]

As the title suggests, I'm wondering if there would be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take an additional bonus action (but not the other way around). ...
2
votes
2answers
384 views

Can I use a bonus action to ready an action?

The 5e rules are a little unclear on this, and I haven't found anyone who has asked this yet. I've been wondering if it is possible to use your bonus action to ready an action. For example, can a ...
4
votes
1answer
401 views

Can you ready an action after you've already used your bonus action?

Like say, you use the rogue's cunning action to disengage, then you ready your action to shoot at the enemy when an ally gets within 5 feet of them. Would this work?
15
votes
1answer
893 views

Can you continue the movement of a Bonus Action Dash granted by Expeditious Retreat if your Concentration is broken mid-move?

The spell Expeditious Retreat requires concentration, and reads: When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of your turns until the spell ends, you can take the Dash action. ...
3
votes
0answers
142 views

What are the balance implications of allowing players to use their action to make a bonus action? [duplicate]

By the rules, according to the sage advice compendium actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. I can completely see why you shouldn't be allowed to perform an action as a bonus action, ...
1
vote
4answers
566 views

Does the Flaming Sphere spell come with or as a bonus action as a default? [duplicate]

Reading PHB p. 242 about Flaming Sphere (second paragraph) it begins “As a bonus action, you can...”. Does this mean that when it is cast that a wizard gets to use a bonus action and move the sphere? ...