Questions tagged [bonus-action]

For questions about "bonus actions" in RPGs. In D&D 5e, this term is used to refer to a certain kind of quick action that can be taken alongside a regular action. A bonus action is considered a type of action, but you can take only 1 bonus action on your turn; actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. The timing and distinction between actions and bonus actions is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
33 votes
4 answers

Can you break up your Attack action for a bonus action?

You can do it to move: If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can ...
András's user avatar
  • 62.5k
50 votes
10 answers

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
John Evans's user avatar
46 votes
5 answers

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

Can the shield push from the Shield Master feat be taken before an attack? i.e. Push prone, follow up with an attack while they're down. Shield Master You use shields not just for protection ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
37 votes
4 answers

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

Looking at other questions about casting spells as a bonus action has left me trying to keep a lot of information in my head about whether a given combination of spells is legal according to the ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.3k
26 votes
2 answers

Does order matter when casting a cantrip with a casting time of a bonus action and another spell?

When casting a spell as a bonus action, you can't cast another spell on the same turn except a 1-action cantrip - can the order be "reversed"? Can you cast a cantrip first as a bonus action, then any ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.3k
53 votes
6 answers

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Actions

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
CapitalBoo's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers

Are actions and bonus actions interchangeable?

While I know you can't cast 2 spells of first level or higher in a turn, and actions can't just be used as bonus actions, is the reverse true? Say there's a barbarian cleric that rages as a bonus ...
Matt's user avatar
  • 195
13 votes
5 answers

Do you have to take the Attack action before you can make the bonus-action attack from the Crossbow Expert feat?

The third benefit of the Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165): When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are ...
Shem's user avatar
  • 6,532
22 votes
2 answers

Can a Bonus Action be used outside of a combat encounter?

Is there anything preventing a character from using an ability such as Second Wind, or casting a spell such as Misty Step, when not engaged in a combat encounter? The rules indicate you get one Bonus ...
RayB's user avatar
  • 1,344
33 votes
1 answer

Can I use a bonus action before my action?

In D&D 5e can I use my bonus action before my action? For example if I wanted to cast Ensnaring Strike before my action to benefit from the bonus immediately. Is this OK, or is a bonus action ...
datinc's user avatar
  • 441
19 votes
3 answers

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 75.6k
18 votes
2 answers

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
user avatar
8 votes
2 answers

What actions, bonus actions or reactions can a character perform out of / outside of combat?

DnD 5e has a fairly clear set of rules governing a player's possible Actions in Combat, and in other fast-paced situations a GM may break time into rounds. Among the listed actions, some would seem to ...
SorcererQzot's user avatar
  • 2,035
7 votes
1 answer

Can you make a bonus-action attack from Two-Weapon Fighting before you take your action?

The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
MrHiTech's user avatar
  • 3,151
20 votes
1 answer

Can you use a wand to cast a spell after casting a spell as a bonus action?

Almost every wand that casts a spell (eg Wand of Fireballs, Wand of Lightning Bolts, and Wand of Magic Detection) contains the wording: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 [or more] ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
27 votes
2 answers

If your bonus-action spell is counterspelled, are you still restricted to casting a cantrip that turn?

The rules for bonus-action spells state: You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
18 votes
5 answers

Can an Eldritch Knight use the bonus-action attack granted by War Magic before casting the spell as an action?

A Fighter with the Eldritch Knight martial archetype gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved War Magic at 18th level). The War Magic feature (PHB, p. 75) states: Beginning at 7th ...
ammut's user avatar
  • 4,714
13 votes
1 answer

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent D&D Beyond article, Epic House Rules: Potion Toxicity and Quick Drinking, mentioned this houserule: Variant: Quick Potion Drinking You can use a bonus action, instead of an action, to ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 78.6k
7 votes
3 answers

Can the Polearm Master bonus attack only be used after the main attack?

The first benefit of the Polearm Master feat says (PHB, p. 168): When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a ...
Folau's user avatar
  • 1,536
7 votes
1 answer

Do bonus actions trigger the save from an Internal Injury?

One of the possible injuries from the optional "Lingering Injuries" table in the DMG is Internal Injury: Internal Injury. Whenever you attempt an action in combat, you must make a DC 15 ...
Vigil's user avatar
  • 19k
28 votes
1 answer

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

The Incapacitated condition says: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Can someone who is incapacitated still take bonus actions?
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 7,777
16 votes
4 answers

When can you use a bonus action?

In the rules for bonus actions it states: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified ... I have seen this quote used to justify some ...
user avatar
15 votes
3 answers

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
Forsythe's user avatar
  • 153
7 votes
3 answers

Are there features that actually specify their own bonus action timing?

The PHB States: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 124k