Skip to main content

Questions tagged [bonus-action]

For questions about "bonus actions" in RPGs. In D&D 5e, this term is used to refer to a certain kind of quick action that can be taken alongside a regular action. A bonus action is considered a type of action, but you can take only 1 bonus action on your turn; actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. The timing and distinction between actions and bonus actions is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can I use Misty Step during someone else's reaction?

On my turn, can I avoid a melee attack by using misty step when the enemy has readied an action to react to my movement?
small secret's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

How does the Amulet of Betrayal magic item interact with the Stunned condition?

The Amulet of Betrayal magic item from Chains of Asmodeus (an adventure by Arcanum Worlds, published by Wizards of the Coast as an Extra Life charity release) says: You can use a bonus action to move ...
Lord Dark Light's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

What bonus actions are available to all characters, regardless of class, race, feats, background, or other specific features?

According to WotC-official sources, what bonus actions are available to every character in general, regardless of class, race, feats, background, or other specific features? That is, what bonus ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Flurry of Blows has to be done after the action. Why?

Monk's Ki feature Flurry of Blows is defined like this (PHB, page 78): Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus ...
volferine's user avatar
  • 969
5 votes
2 answers
792 views

Can I spend additional ki points to make additional attacks with my Flurry of Blows bonus action?

I just re-read the rules about monks and I wonder how to interpret this from the PHB: Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 1,030
10 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

I know there are some ways to grapple as a bonus action (like with the feat Tavern Brawler and the maneuver Grappling Strike), but I was wondering if there was a way to grapple as a bonus action ...
The Man's user avatar
  • 613
12 votes
5 answers
3k views

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

Potion usage costs an action according to RAW, as stated in the DMG on page 139: Drinking or administering a potion takes an action. However, I have heard of GM's house-ruling that PC's may use a ...
Valley Lad's user avatar
  • 7,655
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Druid, Circle of Stars "Archer Starry Form" and Lvl 10 Twinkling Constellations form change: How many Luminous Arrow attacks can you make in one turn?

Starry Form At 2nd level, you gain the ability to harness constellations' power to alter your form. As a bonus action, you can expend a use of your Wild Shape feature to take on a starry form, rather ...
VoiceChatty's user avatar
2 votes
4 answers
634 views

Ready Action and Bonus Action [closed]

In our weekly game we had a pretty typical question about a ready action, reaction and bonus action. I was DM and here is how it starte. The players decided to explore some ruins. As they explored, ...
Oakstout's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
241 views

At what point is a character considered to have "taken the Attack Action"? [duplicate]

Per the rules of Bonus Action: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 40.9k
5 votes
2 answers
540 views

Does Unspoken Agreement stack with multi-attack or cantrips?

This question is about material from Genuine Fantasy Press's Compedium of Forgotten Secrets, which has a free version available. Does Unspoken Agreement Spell stack with multi-attack or cantrips? ...
Bay Pacman's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
326 views

What are the consequences of changing the rule for casting multiple spells in a turn to "You can spend no more than one spell-slot each turn"?

The D&D 5e rules for casting multiple spells in one round are a frequent source of confusion across tables in my experience. While the rule is just a line of text You can’t cast another spell ...
nben's user avatar
  • 2,785
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a Steel Defender attack in every round with the cost of only one Bonus Action?

In combat, if a Battle Smith Artificer commands a Steel Defender to attack in every round, does he need to use his bonus action in every round or only one command is necessary?
BooZix's user avatar
  • 169
3 votes
1 answer
792 views

Can you use Second Wind outside of combat? [duplicate]

The fighter's Second Wind feature says: You have a limited well of stamina that you can draw on to protect yourself from harm. On your turn, you can use a bonus action to regain hit points equal to ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
6 votes
6 answers
2k views

Rogue Holding Bonus Action to disengage once attacked

Can a player hold ONLY their bonus action? They take their turn, take the attack action, hold the bonus action. With disengage and dash as bonus actions, it puts the rogue in a better place to control ...
Andrew Dorfman's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you activate your Extra Attack from the Bonus Action Attack of your primal companion?

As stated in the title, I got curious about the interaction between the Attack action of my beast (which requires my Bonus Action) and the Extra Attack feature. Beginning at 5th level, you can attack ...
Duhl's user avatar
  • 281
20 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a Bladesinger wizard cast a Bonus Action spell and still use their Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip on the same turn?

I noticed a peculiar rule interaction. The rule on casting bonus action spells states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell,...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,141
14 votes
2 answers
629 views

Does ending the effect of Boots of Speed also require a bonus action?

The description for the Boots of Speed states: While you wear these boots, you can use a bonus action and click the boots' heels together. If you do, the boots double your walking speed, and any ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
8k views

Can you use your action to take a bonus action? [duplicate]

During a game tonight, I had a DM state using an action to do a bonus action is allowed by RAW. I was always taught this is not the case. I understand it's the DM's table, but for my own knowledge for ...
Morthanal's user avatar
  • 493
1 vote
0 answers
45 views

Does the Psychic Blades second offhand attack gain the attack roll bonus? [duplicate]

Does the Psychic Blades second offhand attack gain the attack roll bonus as the text says the original weapon disappears and that the only thing that changes is the damage dice. Also at 3rd level, ...
Jake's user avatar
  • 69
17 votes
4 answers
9k views

When can you use a bonus action?

In the rules for bonus actions it states: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified ... I have seen this quote used to justify some ...
user avatar
11 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does the Swift Quiver spell let you make 2 extra attacks with a bonus action on the same turn you cast it?

Swift Quiver takes a bonus action to cast, then it lets you use a bonus action to make two attacks. So the turn you cast it, you use your bonus action just to cast it, then you need another bonus ...
Fey Long's user avatar
  • 306
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

How to get a ranged bonus action attack before/without attacking or using a combat manoeuvre?

I want to use Maneuvering Attack to move my mount, and then make an attack action on the creature I move towards. However I want the weapon attack that triggers this combat manoeuvre to be made as a ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
11 votes
5 answers
3k views

Does moving by means of a bonus action provoke opportunity attacks?

The criteria for not provoking an opportunity attack when leaving an opponent’s reach are: Take the Disengage action or Teleport or Move (or be moved) without using your action, reaction, or movement....
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.4k
8 votes
2 answers
4k views

Balancing around Eldritch Cannon's use as a bonus action

I am fairly new to DM'ing and I am going to be running a simple one shot soon. I intend to start the players at level 3 so they can enjoy the more entertaining class features and not be so squishy ...
user avatar
23 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you use your bonus action while under the effects of the Fear spell?

The description of the fear spell states, in part: While frightened by this spell, a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route on each of its turns, ...
Chebi's user avatar
  • 420
4 votes
3 answers
2k views

Multiple instances of the spell of Animate Dead and bonus action scope

If you cast Animate Dead, that allows you to use a bonus action to command any creature you made from "this spell". Do multiple instances of the effects created by the spell named Animate ...
SpiderWaffle's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

I know you can not "Ready" a bonus action. But can you ready an attack action and use the bonus action before the attack action when the action is triggered? The rule for bonus actions says:...
C Peters's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

When can I use the Polearm Master bonus action attack? [duplicate]

The first benefit of PAM says When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end ...
AnotherAnonymous's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can the Poisoner feat let you activate a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action?

The Dagger of Venom is a magic item with the following special property : You can use an action to cause thick, black poison to coat the blade. The poison remains for 1 minute or until an attack ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The description of the Tasha's mind whip spell states (TCoE, p. 115): You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed ...
Arc's user avatar
  • 127
9 votes
2 answers
458 views

How many horns can be fired from Alicorn Lance during its duration?

I am somewhat confused by the wording of Alicorn Lance as stated in Elminster's Guide to Magic. The text states: Alicorn Lance 2nd-level evocation Casting Time: 1 action Components: V, S, M (a lock ...
BM-'s user avatar
  • 199
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can an Artillerist artificer activate multiple Eldritch Cannons with the same bonus action?

To my understanding, an Artillerist artificer can create an Eldritch Cannon during a battle using an action. The first one of the day doesn't require expending a spell slot. But what about activation ...
GeorgeKaf's user avatar
  • 301
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Will multiclassing my warlock into bard with bardic inspiration give me an effective way to use my bonus action in battle?

In a party with a level 3 Warlock Tiefling - The Fiend (Pact of the Tome). We are noticing that the party members benefit more from bonus actions than the Warlock. Since that member is the only caster ...
Anonymous 's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
whenpushcomestoshove's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

What features, items, or spells allow dodging as a bonus action other than Monk's Patient Defense?

I'm looking for features, spells, or items that trigger Dwarven Fortitude without the use of Ki points. Dwarven Fortitude: Whenever you take the Dodge action in combat, you can spend one Hit Die to ...
Amarov's user avatar
  • 381
8 votes
1 answer
3k views

As a monk, if I throw a dart with my action, can I make an unarmed strike using my bonus action?

As a monk, after failing to hit someone with a dart throw, can I make an unarmed strike against an enemy close to me using my bonus action?
Death Flame ko's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
769 views

Can a Kensei monk spend a bonus action to use the Kensei's Shot feature after they make an attack roll, and still do the extra damage on that attack?

The Way of the Kensei monk's Path of the Kensei feature grants several benefits, including Kensei's Shot. The wording of Kensei's Shot is as follows (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 34): You can ...
Wyvern's user avatar
  • 970
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item effectively bypass the bonus action spellcasting rule?

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
7 votes
1 answer
357 views

Do bonus actions trigger the save from an Internal Injury?

One of the possible injuries from the optional "Lingering Injuries" table in the DMG is Internal Injury: Internal Injury. Whenever you attempt an action in combat, you must make a DC 15 ...
Vigil's user avatar
  • 19.3k
28 votes
1 answer
15k views

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

The Incapacitated condition says: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Can someone who is incapacitated still take bonus actions?
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
1 vote
4 answers
4k views

How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?

I've found two chains of Twitter posts by Jeremy Crawford that I can't seem to make sense of. According to a Crawford tweet from August 2018: Actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable. ...
Haloha's user avatar
  • 61
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can the Polearm Master bonus attack only be used after the main attack?

The first benefit of the Polearm Master feat says (PHB, p. 168): When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a ...
Folau's user avatar
  • 1,526
12 votes
2 answers
7k views

Does the monk's Step of the Wind ability allow them to double their jump distance without using Dash or Disengage as a bonus action?

I was playing a game of D&D 5e the other day and got into a disagreement with the DM. I have a monk character that made a long jump off a wall using Step of the Wind. The plan was to do Flurry of ...
Revel Carlberg West's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you use a bonus action in the middle of an attack (e.g. after the attack roll, but before the outcome is determined)?

Say you're a paladin, and you want to cast searing smite (PHB, p. 274). Can I roll my attack, see the result, and decide if I want to spend my bonus action on searing smite before the outcome is ...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is it possible to cast a quickened Fireball as a bonus action, and also use a bonus action to make an attack with Spiritual Weapon on the same turn?

I started playing like a month ago, and the DM was nice enough to create a character for me and write me into the story. I've never played D&D before, but I told him I wanted to be a glass cannon ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 59
3 votes
3 answers
9k views

Is it possible for a rogue to get a second action/bonus action?

I know all characters get one action and one bonus action, but say I want to use misty step (via the Eladrin's Fey Step racial feature) and follow through with my dual swords. I know that misty step ...
Xerneas Trainer's user avatar
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can I make an attack as my action, and cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as my bonus action?

I am playing a rogue who chose the archetype Arcane Trickster, which means I can cast spells. Can I make a normal-range or close-range attack for my main action, and as a bonus action cast a spell ...
user64354's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Using Divine Smite as a dual-wielder

Divine Smite allows my Paladin to expend a spell slot to deal extra damage after landing a melee attack. My character wields two swords. Since Divine Smite isn't a bonus action (because the rules don'...
jonnybolton16's user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
user avatar