Skip to main content

Questions tagged [bonus-action]

For questions about "bonus actions" in RPGs. In D&D 5e, this term is used to refer to a certain kind of quick action that can be taken alongside a regular action. A bonus action is considered a type of action, but you can take only 1 bonus action on your turn; actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. The timing and distinction between actions and bonus actions is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
53 votes
6 answers
721k views

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Actions

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
CapitalBoo's user avatar
51 votes
10 answers
221k views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
John Evans's user avatar
46 votes
5 answers
65k views

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

Can the shield push from the Shield Master feat be taken before an attack? i.e. Push prone, follow up with an attack while they're down. Shield Master You use shields not just for protection ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 145k
37 votes
4 answers
14k views

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

Looking at other questions about casting spells as a bonus action has left me trying to keep a lot of information in my head about whether a given combination of spells is legal according to the ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.8k
33 votes
1 answer
63k views

Can I use a bonus action before my action?

In D&D 5e can I use my bonus action before my action? For example if I wanted to cast Ensnaring Strike before my action to benefit from the bonus immediately. Is this OK, or is a bonus action ...
datinc's user avatar
  • 441
33 votes
4 answers
42k views

Can you break up your Attack action for a bonus action?

You can do it to move: If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.9k
28 votes
1 answer
15k views

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

The Incapacitated condition says: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Can someone who is incapacitated still take bonus actions?
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
28 votes
2 answers
6k views

If your bonus-action spell is counterspelled, are you still restricted to casting a cantrip that turn?

The rules for bonus-action spells state: You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.1k
26 votes
2 answers
10k views

Does order matter when casting a cantrip with a casting time of a bonus action and another spell?

When casting a spell as a bonus action, you can't cast another spell on the same turn except a 1-action cantrip - can the order be "reversed"? Can you cast a cantrip first as a bonus action, then any ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.5k
23 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you use your bonus action while under the effects of the Fear spell?

The description of the fear spell states, in part: While frightened by this spell, a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route on each of its turns, ...
Chebi's user avatar
  • 420
22 votes
2 answers
9k views

Can a Bonus Action be used outside of a combat encounter?

Is there anything preventing a character from using an ability such as Second Wind, or casting a spell such as Misty Step, when not engaged in a combat encounter? The rules indicate you get one Bonus ...
RayB's user avatar
  • 1,344
20 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a Bladesinger wizard cast a Bonus Action spell and still use their Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip on the same turn?

I noticed a peculiar rule interaction. The rule on casting bonus action spells states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell,...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,141
20 votes
1 answer
15k views

Can you use a wand to cast a spell after casting a spell as a bonus action?

Almost every wand that casts a spell (eg Wand of Fireballs, Wand of Lightning Bolts, and Wand of Magic Detection) contains the wording: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 [or more] ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.1k
20 votes
4 answers
23k views

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
19 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use a bonus action between the separate attacks of a spell?

Similar to my recent question about moving between a spell's attacks I am curious about whether RAW you can use a bonus action between a spells attacks. Unlike in the case of movement, bonus actions ...
user avatar
18 votes
5 answers
12k views

Can an Eldritch Knight use the bonus-action attack granted by War Magic before casting the spell as an action?

A Fighter with the Eldritch Knight martial archetype gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved War Magic at 18th level). The War Magic feature (PHB, p. 75) states: Beginning at 7th ...
ammut's user avatar
  • 4,754
17 votes
4 answers
9k views

When can you use a bonus action?

In the rules for bonus actions it states: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified ... I have seen this quote used to justify some ...
user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
18k views

Are actions and bonus actions interchangeable?

While I know you can't cast 2 spells of first level or higher in a turn, and actions can't just be used as bonus actions, is the reverse true? Say there's a barbarian cleric that rages as a bonus ...
Matt's user avatar
  • 195
15 votes
3 answers
24k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
Forsythe's user avatar
  • 153
15 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you continue the movement of a Bonus Action Dash granted by Expeditious Retreat if your Concentration is broken mid-move?

The spell Expeditious Retreat requires concentration, and reads: When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of your turns until the spell ends, you can take the Dash action. ...
Blits's user avatar
  • 1,899
14 votes
2 answers
630 views

Does ending the effect of Boots of Speed also require a bonus action?

The description for the Boots of Speed states: While you wear these boots, you can use a bonus action and click the boots' heels together. If you do, the boots double your walking speed, and any ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

How does the Amulet of Betrayal magic item interact with the Stunned condition?

The Amulet of Betrayal magic item from Chains of Asmodeus (an adventure by Arcanum Worlds, published by Wizards of the Coast as an Extra Life charity release) says: You can use a bonus action to move ...
Lord Dark Light's user avatar
13 votes
5 answers
5k views

Do you have to take the Attack action before you can make the bonus-action attack from the Crossbow Expert feat?

The third benefit of the Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165): When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are ...
Shem's user avatar
  • 6,572
13 votes
1 answer
9k views

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent D&D Beyond article, Epic House Rules: Potion Toxicity and Quick Drinking, mentioned this houserule: Variant: Quick Potion Drinking You can use a bonus action, instead of an action, to ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.3k
12 votes
5 answers
3k views

Would it harm game balance to allow potions to be self-administered with a bonus action?

Potion usage costs an action according to RAW, as stated in the DMG on page 139: Drinking or administering a potion takes an action. However, I have heard of GM's house-ruling that PC's may use a ...
Valley Lad's user avatar
  • 7,655
12 votes
2 answers
7k views

Does the monk's Step of the Wind ability allow them to double their jump distance without using Dash or Disengage as a bonus action?

I was playing a game of D&D 5e the other day and got into a disagreement with the DM. I have a monk character that made a long jump off a wall using Step of the Wind. The plan was to do Flurry of ...
Revel Carlberg West's user avatar
11 votes
5 answers
3k views

Does moving by means of a bonus action provoke opportunity attacks?

The criteria for not provoking an opportunity attack when leaving an opponent’s reach are: Take the Disengage action or Teleport or Move (or be moved) without using your action, reaction, or movement....
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.4k
11 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can the Poisoner feat let you activate a Dagger of Venom as a Bonus Action?

The Dagger of Venom is a magic item with the following special property : You can use an action to cause thick, black poison to coat the blade. The poison remains for 1 minute or until an attack ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
11 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does the Swift Quiver spell let you make 2 extra attacks with a bonus action on the same turn you cast it?

Swift Quiver takes a bonus action to cast, then it lets you use a bonus action to make two attacks. So the turn you cast it, you use your bonus action just to cast it, then you need another bonus ...
Fey Long's user avatar
  • 306
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a Homunculus freely take a bonus action granted to it by a specific rule such as a spell?

After the errata / Tasha's, we know that you can use your character's bonus action to command a Homunculus to use a Spell Storing Item. I think we also know that a Homunculus can freely maintain ...
whenpushcomestoshove's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

I know there are some ways to grapple as a bonus action (like with the feat Tavern Brawler and the maneuver Grappling Strike), but I was wondering if there was a way to grapple as a bonus action ...
The Man's user avatar
  • 613
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a Steel Defender attack in every round with the cost of only one Bonus Action?

In combat, if a Battle Smith Artificer commands a Steel Defender to attack in every round, does he need to use his bonus action in every round or only one command is necessary?
BooZix's user avatar
  • 169
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the Tasha's Mind Whip spell prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The description of the Tasha's mind whip spell states (TCoE, p. 115): You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed ...
Arc's user avatar
  • 127
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use a bonus action before a held readied action?

I know you can not "Ready" a bonus action. But can you ready an attack action and use the bonus action before the attack action when the action is triggered? The rule for bonus actions says:...
C Peters's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
4k views

What actions, bonus actions or reactions can a character perform out of / outside of combat?

DnD 5e has a fairly clear set of rules governing a player's possible Actions in Combat, and in other fast-paced situations a GM may break time into rounds. Among the listed actions, some would seem to ...
SorcererQzot's user avatar
  • 2,065
9 votes
2 answers
458 views

How many horns can be fired from Alicorn Lance during its duration?

I am somewhat confused by the wording of Alicorn Lance as stated in Elminster's Guide to Magic. The text states: Alicorn Lance 2nd-level evocation Casting Time: 1 action Components: V, S, M (a lock ...
BM-'s user avatar
  • 199
9 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item effectively bypass the bonus action spellcasting rule?

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states: A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
8 votes
3 answers
4k views

How many times can a Lvl 17 Astral Self (UA) Monk attack, including bonus action

I believed this was straight forward, but I had a discussion with one of my players who didn't see it the same way as I did. According to Unearthed Arcana's Way of the Astral Self's subclass features,...
WookieCutie's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can I use a torch to make a bonus action attack?

A torch has a melee attack which deals 1 fire damage. Torch: A torch burns for 1 hour, providing bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet. If you make a melee attack ...
inthemanual's user avatar
  • 12.2k
8 votes
2 answers
4k views

Balancing around Eldritch Cannon's use as a bonus action

I am fairly new to DM'ing and I am going to be running a simple one shot soon. I intend to start the players at level 3 so they can enjoy the more entertaining class features and not be so squishy ...
user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

What bonus actions are available to all characters, regardless of class, race, feats, background, or other specific features?

According to WotC-official sources, what bonus actions are available to every character in general, regardless of class, race, feats, background, or other specific features? That is, what bonus ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
8 votes
1 answer
3k views

As a monk, if I throw a dart with my action, can I make an unarmed strike using my bonus action?

As a monk, after failing to hit someone with a dart throw, can I make an unarmed strike against an enemy close to me using my bonus action?
Death Flame ko's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

How to get a ranged bonus action attack before/without attacking or using a combat manoeuvre?

I want to use Maneuvering Attack to move my mount, and then make an attack action on the creature I move towards. However I want the weapon attack that triggers this combat manoeuvre to be made as a ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
326 views

What are the consequences of changing the rule for casting multiple spells in a turn to "You can spend no more than one spell-slot each turn"?

The D&D 5e rules for casting multiple spells in one round are a frequent source of confusion across tables in my experience. While the rule is just a line of text You can’t cast another spell ...
nben's user avatar
  • 2,855
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you make a bonus-action attack from Two-Weapon Fighting before you take your action?

The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
MrHiTech's user avatar
  • 3,191
7 votes
3 answers
601 views

Are there features that actually specify their own bonus action timing?

The PHB States: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
7 votes
1 answer
357 views

Do bonus actions trigger the save from an Internal Injury?

One of the possible injuries from the optional "Lingering Injuries" table in the DMG is Internal Injury: Internal Injury. Whenever you attempt an action in combat, you must make a DC 15 ...
Vigil's user avatar
  • 19.3k
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can the Polearm Master bonus attack only be used after the main attack?

The first benefit of the Polearm Master feat says (PHB, p. 168): When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, quarterstaff, or spear, you can use a bonus action to make a ...
Folau's user avatar
  • 1,526
6 votes
6 answers
2k views

Rogue Holding Bonus Action to disengage once attacked

Can a player hold ONLY their bonus action? They take their turn, take the attack action, hold the bonus action. With disengage and dash as bonus actions, it puts the rogue in a better place to control ...
Andrew Dorfman's user avatar
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can I make an attack as my action, and cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as my bonus action?

I am playing a rogue who chose the archetype Arcane Trickster, which means I can cast spells. Can I make a normal-range or close-range attack for my main action, and as a bonus action cast a spell ...
user64354's user avatar