Questions tagged [bonus-action]

For questions about "bonus actions" in RPGs. In D&D 5e, this term is used to refer to a certain kind of quick action that can be taken alongside a regular action. A bonus action is considered a type of action, but you can take only 1 bonus action on your turn; actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. The timing and distinction between actions and bonus actions is usually only important during combat, where timing is tracked more closely.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
13 votes
1 answer

Does a Thief rogue's Fast Hands allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent D&D Beyond article, Epic House Rules: Potion Toxicity and Quick Drinking, mentioned this houserule: Variant: Quick Potion Drinking You can use a bonus action, instead of an action, to ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 78.6k
3 votes
2 answers

Is there a scenario where a gnoll flesh gnawer can move at least 45 feet during its Rampage bonus action?

The base movement speed of a gnoll flesh gnawer is 30 feet, and if it activates rampage by bringing a creature to 0 hit points, it can move an additional 15 feet for a total of 45 feet during "normal" ...
A Random Guy's user avatar
  • 1,384
1 vote
0 answers

Would there be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take a second bonus action? [duplicate]

As the title suggests, I'm wondering if there would be any significant balance implications for letting a player forfeit their action to take an additional bonus action (but not the other way around). ...
Himitsu_no_Yami's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer

Can you ready an action after you've already used your bonus action?

Like say, you use the rogue's cunning action to disengage, then you ready your action to shoot at the enemy when an ally gets within 5 feet of them. Would this work?
guess's user avatar
  • 1,775
2 votes
2 answers

Can I use a bonus action to ready an action?

The 5e rules are a little unclear on this, and I haven't found anyone who has asked this yet. I've been wondering if it is possible to use your bonus action to ready an action. For example, can a ...
IsaacSmitriski's user avatar
15 votes
1 answer

Can you continue the movement of a Bonus Action Dash granted by Expeditious Retreat if your Concentration is broken mid-move?

The spell Expeditious Retreat requires concentration, and reads: When you cast this spell, and then as a bonus action on each of your turns until the spell ends, you can take the Dash action. ...
Blits's user avatar
  • 1,889
19 votes
3 answers

Can you ready a bonus action?

The Ready action states: Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger... I am unsure whether this means you can only ready an action such as Dodge, Hide, Attack, Cast A ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 75.6k
3 votes
0 answers

What are the balance implications of allowing players to use their action to make a bonus action? [duplicate]

By the rules, according to the sage advice compendium actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable. I can completely see why you shouldn't be allowed to perform an action as a bonus action, ...
findusl's user avatar
  • 6,447
1 vote
4 answers

Does the Flaming Sphere spell come with or as a bonus action as a default? [duplicate]

Reading PHB p. 242 about Flaming Sphere (second paragraph) it begins “As a bonus action, you can...”. Does this mean that when it is cast that a wizard gets to use a bonus action and move the sphere? ...
Greg0141's user avatar
  • 1,144
15 votes
3 answers

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
Forsythe's user avatar
  • 153
37 votes
4 answers

Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal?

Looking at other questions about casting spells as a bonus action has left me trying to keep a lot of information in my head about whether a given combination of spells is legal according to the ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.3k
7 votes
1 answer

Can you make a bonus-action attack from Two-Weapon Fighting before you take your action?

The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...
MrHiTech's user avatar
  • 3,151
27 votes
2 answers

If your bonus-action spell is counterspelled, are you still restricted to casting a cantrip that turn?

The rules for bonus-action spells state: You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 93.9k
20 votes
1 answer

Can you use a wand to cast a spell after casting a spell as a bonus action?

Almost every wand that casts a spell (eg Wand of Fireballs, Wand of Lightning Bolts, and Wand of Magic Detection) contains the wording: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 [or more] ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 93.9k
17 votes
2 answers

Are actions and bonus actions interchangeable?

While I know you can't cast 2 spells of first level or higher in a turn, and actions can't just be used as bonus actions, is the reverse true? Say there's a barbarian cleric that rages as a bonus ...
Matt's user avatar
  • 195
8 votes
3 answers

Can I use a torch to make a bonus action attack?

A torch has a melee attack which deals 1 fire damage. Torch: A torch burns for 1 hour, providing bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet. If you make a melee attack ...
inthemanual's user avatar
  • 12.1k
13 votes
5 answers

Do you have to take the Attack action before you can make the bonus-action attack from the Crossbow Expert feat?

The third benefit of the Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165): When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are ...
Shem's user avatar
  • 6,532
7 votes
3 answers

Are there features that actually specify their own bonus action timing?

The PHB States: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 124k
8 votes
2 answers

What actions, bonus actions or reactions can a character perform out of / outside of combat?

DnD 5e has a fairly clear set of rules governing a player's possible Actions in Combat, and in other fast-paced situations a GM may break time into rounds. Among the listed actions, some would seem to ...
SorcererQzot's user avatar
  • 2,035
33 votes
4 answers

Can you break up your Attack action for a bonus action?

You can do it to move: If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can ...
András's user avatar
  • 62.5k
18 votes
5 answers

Can an Eldritch Knight use the bonus-action attack granted by War Magic before casting the spell as an action?

A Fighter with the Eldritch Knight martial archetype gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved War Magic at 18th level). The War Magic feature (PHB, p. 75) states: Beginning at 7th ...
ammut's user avatar
  • 4,714
33 votes
1 answer

Can I use a bonus action before my action?

In D&D 5e can I use my bonus action before my action? For example if I wanted to cast Ensnaring Strike before my action to benefit from the bonus immediately. Is this OK, or is a bonus action ...
datinc's user avatar
  • 441
22 votes
2 answers

Can a Bonus Action be used outside of a combat encounter?

Is there anything preventing a character from using an ability such as Second Wind, or casting a spell such as Misty Step, when not engaged in a combat encounter? The rules indicate you get one Bonus ...
RayB's user avatar
  • 1,344
46 votes
5 answers

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

Can the shield push from the Shield Master feat be taken before an attack? i.e. Push prone, follow up with an attack while they're down. Shield Master You use shields not just for protection ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
53 votes
6 answers

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Actions

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
CapitalBoo's user avatar
50 votes
10 answers

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
John Evans's user avatar
26 votes
2 answers

Does order matter when casting a cantrip with a casting time of a bonus action and another spell?

When casting a spell as a bonus action, you can't cast another spell on the same turn except a 1-action cantrip - can the order be "reversed"? Can you cast a cantrip first as a bonus action, then any ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.3k