Skip to main content

Questions tagged [breathing]

For questions related to to the act of breathing or holding your breath.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
20 votes
2 answers
3k views

Do Skeletons need to breathe?

Cloudkill says only breathing creatures are hurt: You deal 6d8 poison damage to each breathing creature that starts its turn in the spell's area. Do characters with the Skeleton ancestry need to ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.6k
9 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a paralyzed creature hold its breath?

Can a paralyzed creature hold its breath, or continue holding its breath if it is paralyzed while holding its breath. For example, a Chuul grapples and drags an overbold adventurer under water, the ...
C. Ross's user avatar
  • 24.2k
12 votes
5 answers
3k views

Does the Air Bubble spell stop poisonous gas?

The 2nd level Air Bubble spell says: You create a spectral globe around the head of a willing creature you can see within range. The globe is filled with fresh air that lasts until the spell ends. ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,545
12 votes
3 answers
2k views

In Spelljammer, would the Necklace of Adaptation magic item let you survive in the airless parts of space?

Recently an article was published regarding Spelljammer and what items or races could be used to survive in the airless confines of realm space. Amongst the items, the Necklace of Adaptation was not ...
Kal-Tharis's user avatar
28 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a petrified character drown?

At the end of our last gaming session my character was fighting a Gorgon in a pool of chest height water. I had the terrible misfortune of being knocked down and then petrified (turned to stone) Can I ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
38 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can dominate monster and drowning be used as an insta-kill?

In a convention scenario that I played in, creatures used dominate monster on a player character, and taking "total and precise control of the target", ordered the character to jump into a ...
RedGeomancer's user avatar
  • 6,815
6 votes
1 answer
880 views

Are Androids immune to all inhalation effects? (Starfinder)

My party and I can't seem to come to a good agreement on the extent of the Constructed Racial trait with regards to breathing. The Android Constructed racial trait reads: ...androids do not breathe ...
lodewykk's user avatar
  • 469
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Do Warforged have lungs for the purpose of them being replaced by Ventilating Lungs? (and then reappearing afterwards)

Full disclosure, this is a silly question. You may elect not to take it seriously. Warforged have the following traits worth of note: You have advantage on saving throws against being poisoned, and ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
-3 votes
1 answer
2k views

What is every possible way a PC can breathe underwater?

Currently my group is planning an underwater strike on an underwater city. We are wondering what are all the possible ways we could get to breathe underwater. So far we have found: Cap of ...
A person's user avatar
  • 622
4 votes
2 answers
148 views

What are the rules for swimming and holding your breath?

Where do I find rules for swimming/holding breath in L5R 4e? I am preparing to start a game set in the Mantis lands, and one of my players is considering playing an Order of Togashi monk. When we ...
CatLord's user avatar
  • 21k
24 votes
4 answers
5k views

Does putting an Air Elemental in a Bag of Holding create an air supply?

Elementals don't need to breathe, eat, or sleep, thanks to their Elemental Nature (MM p. 123). This means that one could survive indefinitely in a Bag of Holding. An Air Elemental using its Air Form ...
SeraphsWrath's user avatar
  • 7,438
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the Air Genasi's Unending Breath trait affect their ability to resist a dragon's poison breath?

I play a 3rd-level Air Genasi Monk. My party will be fighting a Green Dragon soon. Can a Green Dragon's Poison Breath affect me if I'm not breathing due to the Air Genasi's Unending Breath trait?
Howdy's user avatar
  • 284
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does drowning count as a condition?

So I know we are going to some kind of underwater place next session. I was wondering if the bard could use Lesser Restoration to "fix" the drowning "condition". That is, if it counts as one.
user60792's user avatar
  • 658
14 votes
4 answers
4k views

Can a Bag of Holding ever be habitable?

The description of the bag of holding in the DMG (p. 154) states: Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures [...] Is ...
Deus's user avatar
  • 3,409
13 votes
1 answer
4k views

How deadly is Dust of Sneezing and Choking?

Dust of Sneezing and Choking is a magic item that can be fairly debilitating to low-Constitution characters, but I'm curious how dangerous it is to inhale this stuff. In particular: ...you and each ...
David Coffron's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
4k views

Are there effects where holding your breath allows you to avoid them?

As suggested by one of the answers to this question on holding breath, there can be situations where damage may be able to be avoided by holding your breath. A creature can hold its breath for a ...
JohnP's user avatar
  • 10.3k
15 votes
2 answers
5k views

Are there any rules about taking damage whilst holding your breath in combat?

Can't find any official rules about holding breath in combat in 5e. If there's a poisoned gas in the room, and party is fighting against some creature with poison immunity, like golem, and so this ...
Anonymous Badger's user avatar
8 votes
4 answers
5k views

Are Warforged affected by a troglodyte's Stench or other poison-based effects?

In the Warforged's description, it states that they don't need to breathe. So one of my players told me he would shut down his smell sensors or something like that so he won't be affected by something ...
Xirem's user avatar
  • 1,011
2 votes
1 answer
728 views

How do I make an aboleth breathe out of water?

Our DM is allowing me to make an aboleth my familiar. We had met this aboleth earlier in our game and changed its alignment from lawful evil to chaotic good. My question is if I make it my familiar, ...
Jordan Lewis's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

How powerful is a "Breathe Air" spell?

Land-dwelling druids can figure out a way to use magic in order to breathe underwater (, provided that they are able to cast 3rd-level spells). But what about druids that are already able to breathe ...
hohenheim's user avatar
  • 6,525
3 votes
0 answers
253 views

Can an unconscious creature hold their breath? [duplicate]

Does an unconscious creature or PC automatically hold their breath as pertaining to suffocation? As pertaining to this question: Is the act of suffocating itself considered to be taking damage? A ...
Alk's user avatar
  • 2,354
11 votes
1 answer
3k views

Is the act of suffocating itself considered to be taking damage?

Is the act of suffocating itself considered to be taking damage? Example: A Green Hag is poisoned with the Oil of Taggit poison and falls unconscious. She is then carefully placed into a Portable ...
Alk's user avatar
  • 2,354
3 votes
2 answers
5k views

By RAW, is the Giant Rocktopus from the Out of the Abyss adventure unable to breathe while out of the water?

The description of the Giant "Rocktopus" random creature encounter in the Out of the Abyss adventure (p. 28) provides the following details: This creature is a giant octopus that has evolved to ...
reluctantuser's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
388 views

Any spells that would allow a mage to breathe while buried alive?

If a mage were buried alive for whatever reason - whether deliberate as some part of a gambit of sorts or not so deliberately via accident or attack - does there exist any specific magic or uses of ...
anon's user avatar
  • 3,704
29 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can an earth elemental drown/bury its opponent underground using earth glide?

Situation The party are at an elemental cult's shrine. The cleric contributed to the desecration of the shrine when she stuck a javelin with continual flame burning into the ground (for RP reasons). ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
23 votes
5 answers
6k views

If I spontaneously find myself in an environment I can’t breathe in, am I automatically holding my breath?

Sure, if I want to dive down into the underwater cave or explore a mineshaft with unbreathable air, I can announce that my character holds his or her breath. I would be fine for 1 + CON modifier ...
hohenheim's user avatar
  • 6,525
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do constructs need air to survive?

I'm playing an artificer (from Unearthed Arcana) and he just reached level 6, unlocking the Mechanical Servant feature. I was looking around for some CR 2 large beasts and I found the Plesiosaurus. It ...
Twiggy's user avatar
  • 405
23 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can a player survive suffocation with a Periapt of Wound Closure?

The Periapt of Wound Closure's description says While you wear this pendant, you stabilize whenever you are dying at the start of your turn. In addition, whenever you roll a Hit Die to regain hit ...
CaffeineAddiction's user avatar
10 votes
5 answers
9k views

Can Watery Sphere drown a restrained creature?

The watery sphere spell description says: You conjure up a sphere of water with a 5-foot radius at a point you can see within range. [...] Any creature in the sphere’s space must make a Strength ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.8k
5 votes
2 answers
525 views

How fast will you drown in a Kelpie Encounter?

This Kelpie (3pp) in Pathfinder could be interpreted in two (very very) different power levels. One would be that the person in question is so infatuated with the Kelpie that they do not attempt to ...
blurry's user avatar
  • 1,601
4 votes
3 answers
3k views

Are there any official rules for sharing a held breath?

In many movies, there are dramatic scenes where one victim is trapped underwater and another is responsible for giving them air. Are there any official rules for those dramatic "rescue breath" ...
Praxiteles's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does wild shape affect holding your breath?

Inspired by this question. If I begin to hold my breath above water as a druid and then wild shape into an octopus, am I still holding my breath and how much longer can I hold my breath above water? ...
David Coffron's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does an Air Genasi retain Unending Breath while wild shaped?

Air Genasi in 5e D&D have the trait Unending Breath. Does this trait carry over when an Air Genasi druid uses Wild Shape? Would such a druid be able to breathe on land if they wild shaped into a ...
Traveling Chef's user avatar
14 votes
6 answers
13k views

Can you still suffocate in an open bag of holding?

I have a player whose PC owns a bag of holding, and as part of a plan, has decided to hide in it for an ambush. According to the DMG, there is about 10 minutes of air inside the bag. The player know ...
as.beaulieu's user avatar
  • 5,328
26 votes
3 answers
7k views

Can a character drown in liquids designed to heal?

I want to do one of those silly puzzle traps, like have a character dropped in a pool of healing potion, or even waterbreathing. I'm hoping that after the panic subsides, then they still have to worry ...
as.beaulieu's user avatar
  • 5,328
4 votes
5 answers
32k views

How long can a Wizard hold their breath?

For a 5e campaign, I have created the character Diogenes, a Human Wizard from the school of transmutation. Diogenes, in real life, is said to have possibly died due to holding his breath for too long. ...
tuskiomi's user avatar
  • 5,074
30 votes
5 answers
66k views

How does drowning work when you're already at 0 hp and fall into water?

I had a player fighting against sahuagin by the shore the other day and he was dropped to 0 and dying. Because of his location, though, he landed in shallow water (2-3' deep) which I ruled was enough ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
12 votes
4 answers
15k views

How can my character avoid having to breathe, eat, drink, or sleep?

How can a character not have to breathe, eat, drink, or sleep? Undead Nature and Undying Nature seem nice, but becoming undead for Undead Nature seems to have a lot of negative consequences for one's ...
JasperNakamura's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
156 views

Breathing in magic fog?

I know the rules do not say anything on this. And a Fog Cloud is probably normal fog and breathable. But Solid Fog or Acid Fog seem like they would be hazardous to your health if breathed in. I know ...
Simanos's user avatar
  • 2,282
8 votes
2 answers
16k views

Is there a spell that lets you breathe in an airless void?

Is there a spell that like the bubble head charm from Harry Potter provides the caster with a continuous supply of air? I'm considering taking the PCs somewhere devoid of oxygen, rather than ...
mklauber's user avatar
  • 1,329
4 votes
5 answers
2k views

How can you maintain breathable air in a sealed location long term?

Wizard Bob has created himself a mighty tower, but being a reclusive, paranoid crazy sort of Wizard he'd like to create it entirely sealed to stop anything getting in that he doesn't want inside. The ...
Rob's user avatar
  • 31.5k
5 votes
4 answers
21k views

Can I use the Cap of Water Breathing or the Cloak of the Manta Ray to survive inside a Bag of Holding?

Bag of Holding: [...] Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to ...
firion's user avatar
  • 8,770
56 votes
4 answers
88k views

Can spells with a verbal component be cast underwater if the caster can't breathe water?

My party recently tipped over a boat of enemies into what was essentially rapids and trapped the enemies in a cube of force underwater. The warriors inevitably drowned as they had no way out. However, ...
Tophandour's user avatar
  • 3,723
16 votes
4 answers
7k views

Are there mechanical disadvantages to being unable to breathe for a handful of rounds, before you are actually suffocating?

Several monsters (for example, the Darkmantle) have abilities that cause their victims to be unable to breathe. However, when this happens in-game my characters just shrug and say, "whatever, I can ...
PurpleVermont's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
6k views

When do monsters need to breathe?

I've been doing some work on monster design, and stumbled on a weird problem with monsters needing to breathe. In my current monster write up, I don't intend for breathing to be something that is ...
Guy's user avatar
  • 3,526
17 votes
3 answers
8k views

If the Sleep spell is cast on an opponent in water, do they immediately start suffocating?

From the description of the Sleep spell: falls unconscious until the spell ends, the sleeper takes damage, or someone uses an action to shake or slap the sleeper awake. From the rules on suffocating:...
Orvir's user avatar
  • 5,987
17 votes
3 answers
9k views

How long would it take to suffocate in a demiplane created by the Demiplane spell?

How long would it take for a medium-sized human caster remaining inside a demiplane after the spell expires to suffocate. Assume no other mass displacing volume in the space. Per the rules of the ...
Lexible's user avatar
  • 6,120