Skip to main content

Questions tagged [caster-level]

For questions primarily about caster levels, the numbered steps used in some RPGs (especially D&D and Pathfinder) to indicate advancement of a character's spellcasting capabilities. The higher a character's caster level is, the more powerful their spellcasting is.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
1 answer
125 views

How does the Cloak of Resistance's caster level requirement function if a crafter does not meet its prerequisites?

How does not meeting the prerequisite in order to craft a cloak of resistance function? I have a 7th-level wizard with craft wondrous item. He can do a +2 version no problem, not missing requirements. ...
PnP's user avatar
  • 2,744
3 votes
0 answers
92 views

Is there a official source restricting the original Enlarge power for the duergar monster?

The duergar from Monstrous Manual uses the Enlarge power with his hit points as caster level as described on page 97. The Complete Book of Dwarves dictates on page 31 that the caster level is twice ...
Lucas's user avatar
  • 865
4 votes
2 answers
164 views

The caster level for magic weapons and armor created by a Forge of Thautam

In Races of Stone page 167 an item called a Forge of Thautam is detailed. Forge of Thautam: A dwarf using this forge can create magic weapons and armor as if he had the Craft Magic Arms and Armor ...
MichaelDorf's user avatar
  • 1,574
7 votes
2 answers
551 views

In D&D 3.5, can you cast with a fractional caster level?

Not that it's likely to come up very often, but I saw this answer suggesting that you can reduce your caster level, and I realized I didn't know: can you reduce that caster level to (say) 2.5? In ...
fectin's user avatar
  • 13.8k
1 vote
1 answer
110 views

Do Consumptive Field and Greater Consumptive Field stack?

Let's say a wizard has caster level 12. If the Wizard casts both Consumptive Field and Greater Consumptive Field on himself, is his caster level 18 or 24?
alexstrasa82's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
165 views

What portion of the crafting time for a magic item does an artificer need to meet the minimum caster level?

The artificer class has multiple abilities related to emulating spell casting abilities for crafting items and meeting the caster level requirements for crafting items. First, they have an ability to ...
Benjamin's user avatar
  • 1,285
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Are Lower Tier Magical Items Available in a City if They're Under the Base Value but Not the Spellcasting Limit?

I'm currently in a Rise of the Runelords Pathfinder 1E campaign. I understand that being an earlier campaign it is fairly magic item starved. My character is at level 10 and I have been absolutely ...
user70848's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

What caster level do you need to craft a Ring of Protection +5?

I had always assumed that there was a similar requirement to creating higher tiers of rings of protection (and magic items in general), just like you need to be at least three times the enhancement ...
TheQ's user avatar
  • 1,647
2 votes
1 answer
438 views

Kineticist and Caster level of SLA

Do items that increase CL affect the Kineticist's SLA? They seem to have CL on their SLA as their expanded element states "For wild talents of her element, the kineticist gains a +1 bonus on ...
Erudaki's user avatar
  • 5,854
5 votes
2 answers
266 views

How does the Savant interact with the Mystic Theurge?

A character in a game I am running wants to use the prestige class mystic theurge (Dungeon Master's Guide) to advance the caster level of his savant. The savant base class (Dragon Compendium) gains a ...
NFeutz's user avatar
  • 1,710
6 votes
1 answer
715 views

Inconsistent spellcasting benefits from prestige classes?

Am I reading these rules right? There seem to be some strange inconsistencies in the benefits some prestige classes grant to the base spellcasting class. Here are some examples, all from the 3.5 DM's ...
ppm's user avatar
  • 63
3 votes
1 answer
161 views

Can a Tiefling Monk access the Enlightened Fist PrC without dipping into a caster class?

Enlightened Fist has as a prerrequisite: Spells or Spell-Like Abilities: Arcane caster level 3rd. A Tiefling has Darkness as a spell-like ability with a caster level equal to its character level. ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
8 votes
3 answers
401 views

Can you choose to cast a spell at a lower caster level?

In AD&D, many spells have effects with areas that are a specified amount “per level”. From my understanding, this is the caster’s level. My question, is whether or not a spellcaster could choose ...
Attonwizard's user avatar
  • 2,215
3 votes
2 answers
703 views

What's the dispel DC for a spell made permanent by another caster?

I am level 9 and I cast an Enlarge Person spell on myself. An NPC is level 16 and casts Permanency on that Enlarge Person effect to make me larger permanently. When an enemy later attempts to dispel ...
Petr Hudeček's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
166 views

How do you determine specifications of scrolls/potions in prewritten adventures?

I'm currently GMing the Hell's Rebels campaign as my first dive into the system. I'm currently unsure how scrolls and potions found in the adventure have to be specified. The source material does ...
Alrik's user avatar
  • 43
3 votes
2 answers
5k views

How does a variable caster level work for spells?

There are a fair few spells that have more powerful results with a higher Caster Level. Magic Missile creates more missiles, Fireball uses more damage dice, Cure spells restore more hitpoints, etc. In ...
Kyyshak's user avatar
  • 2,921
0 votes
2 answers
794 views

Magical Knack and Hit Dice

I have a level 3 character (arcanist 2/rogue 1) with 25 HP. I wanted to pick up Magical Knack but was confused about the hit die portion of the rule: Pick a class when you gain this trait—your ...
Lalochezia's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you create scrolls with a caster level higher than your own?

I am aware that other magic items like wondrous are able to be created without meeting the CL by increasing the DC (looking at you pearl of power with CL 17) Under the magic item creation rules A ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
1 vote
1 answer
360 views

Cleric and mystic theurge class level for command undead

I am playing a cleric/wizard/mystic theurge. I have the feat command undead. The feat specifically mentions cleric level, not cleric caster level, in relations to the the DC of the ability and number ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
5 votes
1 answer
278 views

What is the caster level of a summoned creature with the Greenbound template?

The Greenbound template gives your summoned creatures the ability to cast spell-like abilities, at will, with the description: Caster level equals greenbound creature's character level; save DC 10 +...
Nifusion's user avatar
  • 165
2 votes
0 answers
60 views

Ultimate Magus and Practiced Spellcaster [duplicate]

A Q/A proposes Practiced Spellcaster to keep increasing the more valuable (Wizard) class. The Practiced Spellcaster feat (Complete Arcane, p. 82) increases CL by 4, up to the character level. The ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
2 votes
2 answers
189 views

Ranger with Practice Caster Feat

A PHB Ranger has access to spells starting at level 4 with caster level of 1/2. So for a level 4 Ranger we have a caster level of 2. Lets say this Ranger takes the feat Practiced Caster at level 6. ...
Reed's user avatar
  • 767
0 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you craft a magic item without meeting its caster level requirement? [duplicate]

For example, the Belt of Giant Strength is an item with caster level 8. Can you craft a magic item without meeting its caster level requirement? Is it treated like all other requirements, increasing ...
Momonga-sama's user avatar
  • 9,973
2 votes
1 answer
3k views

When multiclassing, are caster levels from each class added together to meet the requirements for crafting feats?

I am building a mystic theurge, and as such my starting levels are going to be alternating between cleric and wizard. I do not want to miss out on taking the Craft Wondrous Items feat at the first ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
6 votes
2 answers
822 views

How do caster level prerequisites for item creation work for multiclassed characters?

In order to qualify for certain item creation feats you have to have a certain caster level. For example: Forge Ring [Item Creation] Prerequisite: Caster level 12th. Benefit You ...
Connor Clarke's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
13k views

Any way to have 2 concentration spells active? [duplicate]

Is there any spell, item, or skill that allows a caster to maintain 2 concentration spells active at same time?
Moisés's user avatar
  • 245
1 vote
1 answer
391 views

Is a Hunter 2/Cleric 1 a 3rd-level caster? [duplicate]

Can a third level character with two levels in hunter and one level in cleric cast as a third level caster?
Scott's user avatar
  • 11
5 votes
1 answer
201 views

What game elements can raise the caster level of a fixed-caster-level supernatural ability?

The prestige class thrall to Juiblex gains the supernatural ability polymorph self that says, "An 8th-level thrall of Juiblex’s form is more amorphous than ever. It can change its appearance and form ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
720 views

Does the caster level trick of The Word (from The Wish and The Word optimization showcase) work?

The Wish and The Word are a well-known optimization showcase from early in D&D 3.5's run by Frank & K. The Word's signature trick is casting Blasphemy at an extremely high caster level to ...
A_S00's user avatar
  • 12.6k
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Spellcasting services profit for a PC with healing spells on different caster levels

One of my player is playing a Healer (a class similar to cleric, but based mainly on healing spells from Miniatures Handbook) and he would like to run a business selling spellcasting services. He ...
Bloodlex's user avatar
  • 321
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

What methods exist to get infinite or extremely high caster level prior to epic levels?

In a recent answer, KRyan mentions that there are multiple tricks to get infinite caster level in 3.5. I'm not aware of very many, and those I am aware of require iffy rules interpretations: Greater ...
A_S00's user avatar
  • 12.6k
6 votes
4 answers
4k views

Which spells improve damage infinitely with caster levels?

I've been looking for spells that have no upper limit damage based on caster level for my Warlock use with his Craft Staff feat. For example, Flame Strike (Clr 5/Drd 4) has the upper limit of 15d6 ...
Aguinaldo Silvestre's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
202 views

Does the Master Specialist caster level increase affect cleric spells you have as well?

I am multi-classing a Cleric/(conjuration) Master Specialist. Does the Caster Level Increase class feature of the Master Specialist (6th level) increase the caster level of my chosen school for ...
Robert Snook's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
857 views

How can a wizard increase his arcane caster level so that a better improved familiar can be acquired?

The level 5 wizard changeling substitution level grants the supernatural ability morphic familiar that, in part, says As a full-round action, the familiar can change its form to that of any ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
1k views

Crafting a Cracked Dusty Rose Prism Ioun Stone - Required Creator Level?

Cracked Dusty Rose Prism Ioun Stone's Construction Requirements seem like they may be inaccurate for the cracked and flawed versions. It indicates the cost for all three is 2500 gp, and it ...
JoshuaD's user avatar
  • 4,415
4 votes
1 answer
5k views

Do Caster Levels from different sources stack?

This seems like a glaring oversight, but what are caster levels? Do characters only have one score called caster level just like sneak attack? Why do most classes not state what their caster level ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
1 vote
1 answer
346 views

Can you meet caster level requirements with conditional bonuses?

I am playing a level 8 Incanter from Spheres of Power. As a full caster, this gives me a caster level of 8. I have a trait which increases my caster level for the destruction sphere by 1, and I have a ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does Cleric Healing Domain Granted Power cast healing spells at +1 caster level work?

Raw newbie, struggling to understand rules... What does "cast healing spells at +1 caster level" mean, exactly? In the Jozan example on page 32, he is a 1st-level cleric who chooses Healing as one ...
AKL's user avatar
  • 41
2 votes
1 answer
451 views

Infusions & +caster level

I know this exists in a book somewhere but I can't find it no matter how much I look and Google has failed me. How do prestige classes that offer + effective spellcaster level affect an articifer and ...
Sonkuragari's user avatar
  • 1,175
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is there a class feature that improves effective Caster Level of used magic items?

Many wondrous items and other equipment duplicate spell effects, typically at the Caster Level the item itself. I would be interested in making a character that used their own HD/Class Level/Caster ...
Ifusaso 'he-him''s user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
5k views

What is a bloodrager's caster level before 4th level?

The ranger and paladin classes, core to Pathfinder, are low-grade spellcaster classes that were boosted from their 3.5 incarnations by changing their caster levels to be equal to their class level - 3,...
Firebreak's user avatar
  • 6,250
2 votes
1 answer
325 views

Permanent CL boosting for a dual Divine/Arcane spellcaster

So, I'm playing in a high power campaign that'll be going deep into epic levels, and I'd like to try to raise my CL. I'll get into depth after discussing how things are looking currently. Current ...
Alphaeus's user avatar
  • 1,310
4 votes
1 answer
901 views

My caster level calculation is a hot mess - how do I determine it?

I'm playing a gish - a character who combines spellcasting and martial combat - and due to the heavy multiclassing I've done to fit in all the class features I want, the calculation of my caster level ...
A_S00's user avatar
  • 12.6k
5 votes
1 answer
630 views

Do I have to be a caster to receive the bonus for "Ring of the Ram"?

The ring of the ram has the following description: The force of the blow is considerable, and those struck by the ring are subject to a bull rush if within 30 feet of the ring-wearer. The ram is ...
TheGrubbler's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
418 views

Are concentration checks made at full caster level if you are casting a spell with a lower CL than your highest possible?

In a related question I had asked when you must choose if you are using a lower caster level when casting a spell. If for some reason you want to cast a spell at a lower CL and are forced to make a ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Does the feat allied spellcaster stack with itself?

I am building a caster and looking for ways to increase my caster level. One such way is the teamwork feat Allied Spellcaster. The bonus is untyped so I am wondering if it is allowed to stack with ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
-6 votes
1 answer
268 views

Multi Classing Spell Level

Ok I know people are going to tell me to look at the PHB but I am having a debate with the DM on how the multiclass table works specifically with fighter/rogue If a person is fighter5/wizard1 would ...
Sandy's user avatar
  • 139
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

How to progress Chameleon spellcasting?

The Chameleon class has both the Arcane Focus and Divine Focus class features which allows a character to cast Arcane spells and Divine spells respectively. It is explicit that: You can't use any ...
Matthieu M.'s user avatar
  • 9,522
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

When casting a spell at a lower caster level, do you have to make that decision when you prepare the spell or when you cast it?

Its a rarely used ability, but spell casters have the ability to cast spells at a lower caster level provided that they still meet a spell's minimum requirements. When is this choice made for ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.3k
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Bead of karma on character with multiple caster classes

Let's say there's, for example, a cleric/wizard with a Karma bead, does this character get an CL increase on both his classes at the same time or must he chose a class on activaction? Even though ...
valepu's user avatar
  • 1,398