Questions tagged [charge]

For questions about "charging", a feature in various RPGs that involves moving forward rapidly towards an enemy as part of an attack. Such a charge can sometimes do additional damage to the enemy, disorient, or knock them prone. (This tag is not related to character/monster abilities that recharge after use; use the [recharge] tag for that instead.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
140 views

Can a mounted combatant utilize the pouncing charge maneuver from their mount's charge?

As related to this question, can a creature utilizing a mount take advantage of pouncing charge from page 88 of Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords? The relevant rules for pouncing charge are: As ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
280 views

Does a lance deal double-damage for all attacks made when using the pouncing charge maneuver?

Pouncing Charge, From Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords, page 88: As part of initiating this maneuver, you make a charge attack. Instead of making a single attack at the end of your charge, you ...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
231 views

Do feats that improve Power Attack charging damage last until your next turn?

Say you make a Leap Attack with Shock Trooper and a two-handed weapon, taking -5 to attack and assigning the full penalty to AC instead. That's +2 attack, +15 damage, and -7 AC. You also use Karmic ...
user avatar
  • 3,403
5 votes
1 answer
263 views

Combat Patrol and Charge

I have a level 10 Orc Fighter. Among other things, I have the Combat Patrol feat. As a full-round action, you may set up a combat patrol, increasing your threatened area by 5 feet for every 5 points ...
user avatar
  • 1,909
3 votes
2 answers
591 views

Mounted Combat: Ride-by attack + Overrun possible?

Can a Cavalier declare a Ride-by attack and then use their mount to overrun the target (thus continuing the movement through the enemies square)? Is it enough for the Cavalier to have the Ride-by ...
user avatar
  • 41
4 votes
1 answer
303 views

Can beasts use the Charge feature twice with Extra Attack?

Now that sidekicks can learn extra attack (Tasha's Warrior Sidekick class) I was wondering how this works. For example if an elk charges 20ft and attacks and gets the charge bonus, can they now use ...
user avatar
  • 722
0 votes
2 answers
181 views

Is there a way to charge as a move action (or lower)?

I'm very fond of quirky builds, even if the optimization is horrible. I'm working around a polearm charger right now (no mounts - mounts are lame). My other question asks about ways to turn during a ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
358 views

What ways are there to turn during a charge?

I found Charging Stag Style and Sharp Veer in this /r/Pathfinder_RPG thread on Reddit, and thought "Hmm this sounds like fun." So I was wondering if there are any other ways to get a charge. No ...
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
197 views

Does a charger's movement end when the charger's movement puts the charger adjacent to the target?

In last week's Dungeons & Dragons 4e ersatz Sword Art Online campaign, the barbarian PC charged a target. When the barbarian's movement took him adjacent to the target of the charge, the target ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
96 views

Dervish of Dawn (Fighter) reducing higher charge AC penalties

Burst of Speed (Ex) At 3rd level, a dervish takes only a –1 penalty to her AC after charging. At 7th level, the dervish can charge with no penalty. This ability replaces Armor Training 1. - ...
user avatar
  • 1,345
9 votes
1 answer
511 views

For the Charger feat, is it possible to move at least 10 feet in a straight line while staying within an enemy's reach?

The Charger feat lets you make a bonus-action attack with +5 to the damage roll if you take the Dash action and "If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line immediately before taking this bonus ...
user avatar
  • 93
1 vote
1 answer
673 views

Preventing AOO during a charge

A DM ruled that a charge doesnt provoke an AOO because there is a feat that makes jump checks work like tumble. He could not come up with the name or source of the feat. And it was eventually ...
user avatar
  • 1,280
3 votes
2 answers
625 views

Drawing a weapon during a Charge attack

Charge is a full-round action; can you also draw your weapon as part of that Charge using the rule that characters with at least +1 BAB can draw their weapon as part of a move action? Although a ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
136 views

According to the Rules Compendium, can I charge through a square that would hamper my movement as long as it isn't difficult terrain?

According to the Rules Compendium, can I charge through a square that would hamper my movement as long as it isn't difficult terrain? Under "Initiating a Charge" (p. 27), it says: If you don’t ...
user avatar
  • 3,039
3 votes
1 answer
244 views

How straight does a creature need to move for abilities that trigger after charging towards an opponent?

There are certain creatures with a extra ability attached to their attack if they move a certain distance towards their opponent before attacking. Take the Gorgon as an example, it has the Trampling ...
user avatar
  • 24.2k
3 votes
1 answer
111 views

Would a Dragon be able to use the Fleet of Foot feat while flying?

Fleet of Foot from Complete Warrior: Would a Dragon be able to use the Fleet of Foot feat while flying? The feat states: "When running or charging..
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

How to Charge and Spring Attack?

Is there any way to Charge (literally, not a functional equivalent, so as tot rigger every 'on a charge' trick in the book) while also applying Spring Attack or an equivalent feature? The objective ...
user avatar
22 votes
2 answers
3k views

If a centaur druid Wild Shapes into a Giant Elk, do their Charge features stack?

The Centaur player race has a "Charge" feature (GGtR, p. 16): If they move 30 feet, the Centaur can attack against the target with its hooves as a Bonus Action. The Giant Elk beast has a similar "...
user avatar
  • 2,722
8 votes
2 answers
210 views

Cometary Collision vs a Large opponent's AoO

So I have this situation: Largo the Large, who is Large (and a humanoid, so he gets reach), charges Count Countercharge, who has readied his Cometary Collision feat, and is Medium-sized. The question ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
23k views

What are the mechanics for tackling / charging attacks without using the Charger feat?

I'm trying to find the mechanics for a running tackle / charging attack, but can't seem to find one in the PHB or the DMG. I'm looking for something that allows players to run towards a creature and ...
user avatar
  • 769
17 votes
2 answers
2k views

What is the correct way to handle someone charging through an unknown invisible enemy?

In a recent session, an enemy creature tried to charge at our spellcaster. Unknown to him, our Rogue, who had Invisibility cast on him, was in the way. What is the correct way to handle this?
user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you charge then grapple?

Can you charge an enemy then grapple that enemy at the end of the charge instead of making a normal melee attack?
user avatar
  • 4,345
4 votes
2 answers
5k views

Barbarian Charger, does it work?

I was playing with the idea of a charging Barbarian in 5e. What I would like to know is if there is anything within this build that would not work. Step 1: Choose Variant Human as your race. This ...
user avatar
  • 815
2 votes
1 answer
616 views

Can creatures use Grab on a Charge attack?

My reefclaws are attacking the players underwater. They charge the oracle/monk. Reefclaws have Grab and 2 Claw attacks. If I charged, am I correct in thinking that: The reefclaw would get one claw ...
user avatar
  • 8,560
9 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the playable UA Centaur's Charge racial feature affect both attacks if I have the extra attack feature?

The Centaur's racial feature "Charge" reads as follows: If you move at least 20 feet straight toward a target and then hit it with a melee weapon attack on the same turn, roll the weapon’s damage ...
user avatar
  • 373
6 votes
3 answers
316 views

Can an incorporeal creature charge through a corporeal creature's space?

The Player's Handbook says that to execute a charge a creature "must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder [its] movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles)" (154). Can a ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is there a way it move both before and after an attack while making a charge?

I'm working on a homebrew pathfinder race that has some unusual movement capabilities when charging on foot. I'd like them to be able to take advantage of said capabilities both before and after ...
user avatar
  • 171
5 votes
1 answer
199 views

Does a braced spear have to only be readied specifically against a charge to deal double damage?

Let's say I'm holding a spear (or halberd, or urgrosh, or any other weapon that can be braced) and ready an action to attack the next enemy that comes within reach. If someone charges me, triggering ...
user avatar
  • 2,243
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you charge underwater if you have a swim speed?

Can a creature with a swim speed charge underwater? I know some creatures specifically state they can run underwater, etc. If a creature is bestowed a magical swim speed, can it treat water as ...
user avatar
4 votes
3 answers
7k views

How does overrun work? [closed]

Okay, so I've been mulling about this mechanic (Overrun), and I believe I have it down to some extent, but I'd like clarification. This is how I am aware the manoever works: An Overrun is a combat ...
user avatar
7 votes
5 answers
2k views

Explain to me this benefit of the steadfast boots

The feet-slot magic item steadfast boots (Magic Item Compendium 139-40) (1,400 gp; 1 lb.), among other benefits, grants the following benefit: Furthermore, as long as you carry a two-handed weapon, ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
300 views

Can a Rogue, with Rogue Crawl, charge while prone?

Can a Rogue with Rogue Crawl (Ex), charge while prone and crawling. Assume that there is just clear space and open ground between the rogue and the target. I think it comes down to the line in ...
user avatar
  • 760
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Ride By Attack and Pounce on a mount

Pounce would allow me to make a full attack on the end of a charge. This bonus also applies on a mounted charge. However, what happens if I combine a mounted charge with a ride-by attack? Can I still ...
user avatar
  • 7,608
1 vote
1 answer
3k views

How does the "Valorous" enhancement work?

If I have a character with leap attack and Power Attack, I can combine a charge attack with a jump and potentially triple the bonus damage granted by power attack. However, a weapon enchanted with ...
user avatar
  • 7,608
4 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does leap attack work for every attack made this round?

If I have a character with pounce, leap attack and Power Attack, I can combine a charge attack with a jump and potentially triple the bonus damage granted by power attack. However, pounce allows me to ...
user avatar
  • 7,608
11 votes
2 answers
328 views

What happens when a creature charges into a wall of smoke then fails the save?

The 1st-level Sor/Wiz spell wall of smoke [conj] (Spell Compendium 235) says, in part, that This spell creates a thin [n.b. for large quantities of thin] wall of black smoke. The wall is stationary ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
958 views

Is there any way to Charge as a move action?

I'm looking for a way to execute a charge as a move action. Movement without using a move action would work but is limited.
user avatar
  • 4,212
9 votes
2 answers
333 views

Can I charge by falling toward my enemy?

I have a charging Slayer wearing Cat Tabi. Cat Tabi are boots that make you always land on your feet, and have a daily ability that makes you take no falling damage. I was imagining scenarios where ...
user avatar
  • 5,655
4 votes
1 answer
962 views

Does a Tiny or smaller creature's charge trigger an attack of opportunity?

A Tiny or smaller creature that enter's an opponent's space, be it for attacking or anything else, usually triggers an attack of opportunity. But I don't think charges usually trigger an attack of ...
user avatar
  • 901
5 votes
1 answer
218 views

Does replacing a basic melee attack with an encounter power expend the use of the power?

When using an encounter power to replace the basic melee attack at the end of a charge, such as daring charge (barbarian lvl 3 encounter power, phb2) does this expend the use of said encounter power? ...
user avatar
  • 477
2 votes
1 answer
117 views

when to announce effect?

Can someone please settle an argument? When using an effect which modifies an attack roll such as reckless charge or elven accuracy, should the player announce it before/during the attack or after the ...
user avatar
  • 477
3 votes
1 answer
447 views

Continuing after an interrupted charge

Assume the following positions [with A being char 1 (with a non-reach weapon) and B being char 2 with a reach weapon and X being empty squares]: A X1 X2 B It's A's turn, he charges (which he can ...
user avatar
  • 4,062
1 vote
1 answer
276 views

How do I calculate my Jump when combined with Charging speed

What speed I may take to calculate my jump bonus if I'm charging? Charge gives me twice speed. For example I'm a dwarf and I have 20 speed. If I'm going to use Charge my speed is 40. To calculate ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
217 views

Can Snow Tiger Berserker let me charge past someone and full attack them?

Pounce lets me make a full attack in the end of a charge. Dive Attack works like a charge. Flyby Attack lets me take a move action, including a dive and a standard action. I must be ...
user avatar
  • 4,212
10 votes
3 answers
8k views

Can you charge while using non-standard movement like flying?

Flying is a common ability in Pathfinder; so is using special attack options like charging. What's not clear is when they're used together. Are you able to charge while flying? Can you do so while ...
user avatar
  • 26.2k
1 vote
2 answers
277 views

Should bound urskan greaves increase the damage of all attacks upon charging?

When bound to the feet chakra, urskan greaves says When you charge, if your melee attack hits, you deal an additional +1d4 points of damage per point of essentia you invest in your urskan greaves. (...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
689 views

Can a creature benefit from both pounce and the effect of bound sphinx claws?

The special ability pounce says When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability. (Monster ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a dive attack be made when you would charge as part of an effect?

The Battle Leader's Charge maneuver says you make a charge as part of the maneuver. If a character has wings and is able to do a dive attack, can a dive attack (which "works as a charge") be done in ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
482 views

Can a creature designate as the target of a charge a foe the creature can't charge?

The game seems to assume ideal battlefield conditions with perfect intelligence. However, sometimes battlefield conditions aren't ideal and intelligence isn't perfect. The special attack charge says ...
user avatar
7 votes
6 answers
1k views

How to prevent a stand-off because the player that moves opens himself up to attack

I am writing a RPG game handbook, and I am using an action point (AP) system for the game mechanics. Each turn, each character has 8 AP to spend in actions however he likes (moving costs e.g. 1AP per ...
user avatar
  • 173