Questions tagged [class-feature]

For questions that are centrally about class features, powers or properties that are exclusive to a given class, such as the Cleric's ability to Turn Undead in D&D. (See also: the [alternate-class-feature] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7 votes
1 answer
212 views

Can an Eidetic Spellcaster benefit from the Geometer feature that allows one page per spell in the spellbook?

Geometer is a prestige class in Complete Arcane that gains a special class feature at level 2: A geometer uses a unique system for recording the details of a spell that drastically reduces the ...
Calabacin's user avatar
  • 763
3 votes
0 answers
47 views

Does Order of the Dragon's Aid grant expanded uses of Aid Another?

Does the Order of the Dragon ability Aid Allies allow you to grant a different bonus than would normally be allowed by the Aid Another rules? At 2nd level, whenever an order of the dragon cavalier ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,207
3 votes
2 answers
326 views

What are the risks and implications of this fighter-multiclass-buffing house rule?

I’m considering house ruling the Fighter class’s Extra Attack feature. The change would be to the second paragraph, which would now read: The number of attacks increases to three when you reach 11th ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
12 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a Hexblade warlock use their Accursed Specter feature as a pseudo-Speak with Dead spell?

The enemy criminal is captured by the player, and a middle-ranking one of an enormous organization at that. There's no way he didn't know the high-rankings, otherwise he couldn't coordinate with the ...
Fyebries Rolandia's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
104 views

If a character starts using Giants Might in an enclosed area, then enters a more open area, will their size increase?

The RAW say: Giant Might At 3rd level, you have learned how to imbue yourself with the might of giants. As a bonus action, you magically gain the following benefits, which last for 1 minute: If you ...
Schneb's user avatar
  • 651
3 votes
0 answers
64 views

What stacks with Cavalier Challenges

What (if any) are abilities, feats, or classes that stack or help progress with the Cavalier class's Challenge ability. To a lesser degree I guess I am also looking at the Samurai which also gets the ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,207
6 votes
1 answer
566 views

Does Turn the Unholy work on fallen Celestials?

The description for the Oath of Devotion Paladin feature Turn Unholy mentions fiends and undead, but what about corrupted celestials that still have the celestial type (such as the Radiant Idol in ...
king of panes's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
144 views

If a multiclassed Sorcerer/Wizard both knows and prepares Magic Missile, does it count as both a Sorcerer spell and a Wizard spell? [duplicate]

I'm building a new character for our weekly game and a build-around that I think could be fun is to optimize for the number of times I roll on the Wild Magic Surge table while dealing respectable ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
8 votes
1 answer
425 views

Can You have More than One Homunculus Simultaneously Through Different Methods?

The spell, Create Homunculus, specifies the following: You can have only one homunculus at a time. If you cast this spell while your homunculus lives, the spell fails. However, the Homunculus ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,381
-5 votes
1 answer
130 views

How would Divine Health apply to a paladin that is a parasite?

If an intelligent parasite becomes a paladin and attains the Divine Health feature, what happens? It would have to protect against hyperparasites, but what else does it affect in this context?
Ichthys King's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
549 views

If a player character is polymorphed, how does that interact with their companions, steel defender, summoned creatures, etc.?

If a player character is polymorphed, how does that interact with their companions, steel defender, summoned creatures, etc.? For example, if you're playing a Battlesmith artificer, your steel ...
crystalkalem's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

In Baldur's Gate 3, the Oath of the Ancients paladin has the Healing Radiance ability; do they have a corresponding ability in D&D 5e?

I'm in a real-life 5e table game where we meet weekly and I'm running an Oath of the Ancients paladin. I've just started BG3 and pick an Oath of the Ancients paladin as well to see how Larian have ...
Matt Bartlett's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
421 views

How to reduce the size of the Ancient Companion from the UA Mage of Lorehold subclass?

The description of the Mage of Lorehold's Ancient Companion feature (from UA: Mages of Strixhaven) reads, in part: Whenever you finish a short or long rest, you can call forth and bond with one such ...
whme's user avatar
  • 165
25 votes
3 answers
4k views

Can a paladin decide who is considered "friendly", and thus gets the benefit of their aura(s)?

Paladin auras typically state that all friendly creatures (including you) within X ft. gain effect Y. For roleplay reasons, can a paladin decide that they no longer consider party member Z to be "...
Matt Bartlett's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
485 views

Can a Path of the Giant Barbarian's Mighty Impel throw a target into the air and make it fall?

The Path of the Giant Mighty Impel says: As a bonus action while raging, you can choose one Medium or smaller creature within your reach and move it to an unoccupied space you can see within 30 feet ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 7,947
4 votes
2 answers
497 views

Flurry of Blows has to be done after the action. Why?

Monk's Ki feature Flurry of Blows is defined like this (PHB, page 78): Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus ...
volferine's user avatar
  • 969
5 votes
2 answers
732 views

Can I spend additional ki points to make additional attacks with my Flurry of Blows bonus action?

I just re-read the rules about monks and I wonder how to interpret this from the PHB: Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 668
16 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does an opportunity attack allow a monk to use their unarmed bonus attack if they still have it and it’s still their turn?

I’m theorycrafting a new character with a buddy. We’re debating the following. Say we have a monk with access to the dissonant whispers spell from something like the Fey Touched feat. When they cast ...
dairytacticianroa's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
431 views

Can unarmed strikes be used with Dread Ambusher?

I’m currently playing an unarmed monk. The build is to run as many attacks as I can without going too far into multi-classing fighter (I’ll go two levels in to pick up action surge). I’m considering ...
TangledInYarn's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
286 views

Possibility to gain magic items as feats, class features, or background

Besides the three "default" ways of getting a magic item by finding, buying, or crafting, are there other ways for a player to gain them? I found the second level artificer feature "...
00koeffers's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

What happens when a level 14 bard uses Nimbus of Pathos on a wild shape Druid currently in wild shape?

Nimbus of Pathos states: When this effect ends, the creature immediately drops to 0 hit points and is dying. Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest. By ...
Gwyn justice's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
265 views

Does a Fireball whose damage type was changed via Awakened Spellbook still ignite flammable objects?

A Fireball spell "blossoms with a low roar into an explosion of flame. [...] The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried." If ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
-1 votes
3 answers
170 views

Can you use Awakened Spellbook to replace a 3rd-level spell's damage type with piercing damage via Summon Fey?

The Awakened Spellbook feature of the Order of Scribes Wizard states that under certain circumstances when casting a spell, "you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
2 votes
2 answers
183 views

Can you use Awakened Spellbook to replace a 1st-level spell's damage type with force damage via Mage Armor, RAW?

According to the Player's Handbook Ch. 9, "force" is a damage type, and "damage types have no rules of their own." The Awakened Spellbook feature of the Order of Scribes Wizard ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
8 votes
4 answers
3k views

If I'm Wild Shaped or Polymorphed and reduced to 0 hit points, can I use Strength Before Death as a reaction to take an extra turn?

The ability comes from the Fighter Samurai subclass. Strength Before Death Starting at 18th level, your fighting spirit can delay the grasp of death. If you take damage that reduces you to 0 hit ...
Esdras not a mimic Cardona's user avatar
11 votes
4 answers
2k views

Would an Armorer artificer have to use their action to doff their Arcane Armor if told to do so via the Command spell?

Just a thought experiment I had while I was working on my Armorer artificer. There's a part about their Arcane Armor feature that specifies they can don or doff the armor as an action (TCoE, p. 15-16)....
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
517 views

Can Bards learn Oath of the Open Sea Spells via Magical Secrets? If so, does it require the GM's discretion?

The Oath of the Open Sea Spells section of Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: Paladins of the Oath of the Open Sea automatically gain two new spells through their Oath Spells feature. These ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
1 vote
0 answers
32 views

Is Aura of Liberation hampered from actually working to escape a grapple or restraint? [duplicate]

The Aura of Liberation feature of the Oath of the Open Sea from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: Creatures that are already grappled or restrained when they enter the aura can spend 5 feet of ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
0 votes
1 answer
120 views

What type of damage does Bond of Mutual Suffering deal to the attacker? [duplicate]

The Bond of Mutual Suffering feature of the Blood Magic Wizard from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: At 6th level, when a creature you can see hits you with an attack, you can use your ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
0 votes
1 answer
86 views

Can the damage taken from Blood Channeling cause you to lose concentration on the spell it's paying for?

The Blood Channeling feature of the Blood Magic Wizard from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: When casting a wizard spell that requires a costly material component, you can forego the ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
12 votes
2 answers
660 views

Are thrown Magic Stones thrown weapons for the purposes of Thrown Weapon Fighting Style?

Magic Stone says: "You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else ...
wumpus7's user avatar
  • 450
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

When a Beast Master Ranger is incapacitated, who controls the primal companion?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything's Primal Companion description says: If you are incapacitated, the beast can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge. Since it's a magically summoned primal ...
Divine Right's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
303 views

Looking for RAW features or items that allow a PC to modify the outcome of a d4+1 that also isn't damage

I'm looking at Time Stop and wondering if there is any way at all to modify the rolled d4+1. I know that Extend Spell doesn't work because the duration is Instantaneous despite the extra rounds it ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 3,979
2 votes
1 answer
309 views

Can Greater Metamorphosis or Assume Supernatural Ability be used to acquire supernatural class features??

The ability to change into various forms using Greater Metamorphosis includes the assumption that when there are more than one creature of a particular race, they do NOT count as a unique individuals ...
nijineko's user avatar
  • 11.5k
2 votes
2 answers
252 views

Does a Rod of the Pact Keeper add its bonus to a Pact of the Blade Hexblade's pact weapon?

This is perhaps more of a RAI question as opposed to RAW, but if a Hexblade Warlock with Pact of the Blade can add his Charisma bonus instead of Strength or Dexterity to the attack rolls of his pact ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 7,947
2 votes
1 answer
261 views

How does Scorn Earth function underwater?

Scorn Earth (Su) At 1st level, an elocater’s feet lift from the ground. From now on, she can float a foot above the ground. Instead of walking she glides along, unconcerned with the hard earth or ...
ninjahX's user avatar
  • 1,276
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do you get the benefits of Oversized Weapons with Path of Giant?

The description of the Path of the Giant barbarian's Elemental Cleaver feature (from Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants) says, in part: Giant Stature: Your reach increases by 5 feet, and if you are ...
Duhl's user avatar
  • 231
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the Path of the Giant barbarian's Elemental Cleaver damage increase by 1d6 each attack?

The description of the Path of the Giant barbarian's Elemental Cleaver feature (from Bigby Presents: Glory of the Giants) says, in part: [...] While you wield the infused weapon during your rage, the ...
Duhl's user avatar
  • 231
1 vote
0 answers
351 views

At what AC does GWM become ineffective? [closed]

For the mathematically challenged (me), is there a general, simple, easy-to-remember rule of thumb for when a monster's AC is high enough that you should not use GWM because the -5 to hit becomes too ...
NoisyCryket's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

Epic Holy Strike and its applicability to Unarmed Strikes

Under the Unarmed Strike subsection of the Monk class it states: A monk’s unarmed strike is treated both as a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that ...
MichaelDorf's user avatar
  • 1,534
4 votes
2 answers
273 views

Does my Tree Ghost Totem Warrior barbarian have to choose the bear totem animal every time?

The Sword Coast Adventurers Guide (p. 122) describes a number of Uthgardt tribes for the Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian from the Player's Handbook. Saying: The totems of the Uthgardt barbarians ...
yeastgoblin's user avatar
  • 1,322
2 votes
1 answer
139 views

When stacking Energy Substitution and Energy Admixture of the same energy type, can Mastery of Elements be used to maintain different energy types?

In Dungeons & Dragons 3.5e, using the Archmage prestige class from the Dungeon Master's Guide (DMG), I've chosen the Arcane Thesis feat to allow the use of metamagic feats with a +0 level ...
Krovic's user avatar
  • 21
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

For the artificer's Magical Tinkering feature, do you need to touch the object with your tool?

The artificer's Magical Tinkering feature says you need to hold the object in hand. Then touch an item to imbue it. But can the touch be with the other hand? Are there any other examples of this in ...
Zonia's user avatar
  • 213
3 votes
1 answer
672 views

Does the Animal Companion from the Beastmaster Ranger subclass get additional Hit Dice as the ranger gains levels?

We're using the Dungeons and Dragons 5th edition players handbook only. The Ranger's Companion section (PHB p. 93) seems, for the most part, to be pretty clear. The part about hit points states: It's ...
Wollie's user avatar
  • 191
2 votes
1 answer
709 views

Druid, Circle of Stars "Archer Starry Form" and Lvl 10 Twinkling Constellations form change: How many Luminous Arrow attacks can you make in one turn?

Starry Form At 2nd level, you gain the ability to harness constellations' power to alter your form. As a bonus action, you can expend a use of your Wild Shape feature to take on a starry form, rather ...
VoiceChatty's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
292 views

Can the Simulacrum of a Bard regain its Bardic Inspiration dice?

The spell Simulacrum reads as follows: It obeys your spoken commands, moving and acting in accordance with your wishes and acting on your turn in combat. ...The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,381
2 votes
1 answer
281 views

If your echo knight grabs you, can that echo knight move vertically? [duplicate]

When using the manifest echo feature, can you grapple a creature and then, since the movement says it can go in 'any direction,' can you just start going vertically with half movement? A player in a ...
laz zlo's user avatar
  • 183
16 votes
4 answers
3k views

What's the price of blood?

The class Tainted Sorcerer from Unearthed Arcana (p. 191) has, among other abilities, the class feature "Blood Component": Blood Component A tainted sorcerer must use blood in place of any ...
From's user avatar
  • 7,881
10 votes
1 answer
223 views

Enlightened fist and split ray

In one of my recent games a friend brought an enlightened fist (Complete Arcane) to the table: while I'm glad he is showing to like it, I also think to understand where the build is pointing, and ...
BigMike's user avatar
  • 103
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does a two-handed thrown weapon have to be thrown with two hands?

In the new Path of the Giant Barbarian subclass for 5e, a weapon you're holding while raging gains the thrown property with a 20/60 range. If I give that to my greatsword, do I have to throw the ...
RallozarX's user avatar
  • 5,597

1
2 3 4 5
43