All Questions

Tagged with
Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
2answers
136 views

How do the Haste spell and Turn Undead interact?

There are a few features like Turn Undead which state: A turned creature [...] also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that ...
4
votes
2answers
119 views

Is a creature's bonus action available while affected by Turn Undead?

There are a few features like Turn Undead which state: A turned creature [...] also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that ...
7
votes
1answer
218 views

Can a Shadow Magic sorcerer control a Hound of Ill Omen as they would any other mount?

Say I am a Small-sized Shadow Magic sorcerer. I summon a Hound of Ill Omen, I mount it, and I attempt to control it. Does it move as I direct it, choosing only between Dash, Disengage, and Dodge? Or ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Why would an Inquisitive rogue choose to use Insightful Fighting as opposed to using their Cunning Action to Hide?

Inquisitive rogues get access to a new bonus-action option, Insightful Fighting (XGtE, p. 46): At 3rd level, you gain the ability to decipher an opponent’s tactics and develop a counter to them. As ...
11
votes
1answer
716 views

Can an Eldritch Knight use Action Surge and thus Arcane Charge even when surprised?

The Eldritch Knight fighter's Arcane Charge feature says: At 15th level, you gain the ability to teleport up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see when you use your Action Surge. (PHB, p. ...
2
votes
1answer
269 views

Do the War Domain cleric's War Priest feature and Two-Weapon Fighting's second attack both use a bonus action?

One of my players is a War Domain cleric and dual-wields weapons. He's been making three attacks: the Attack action bonus-action for the other hand, from Two-Weapon Fighting, and use one of his "War ...
4
votes
1answer
299 views

What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?

One of my Warlocks has taken an interesting turn... After casting a spell that required concentration, he used his Eldritch Master feature. Next turn, he cast Eldritch Blast. This series of turns ...
1
vote
2answers
881 views

Can Cunning Action be taken more than once per turn?

The rogue's Cunning Action feature states: Starting at 2nd level, your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. ...
4
votes
1answer
742 views

Can a mechanic's exocortex actually hack?

In Starfinder, a mechanic with an exocortex gains the Wireless Hack ability at 5th level. It allows the exocortex to attempt a Computers check each round against a designated computer within 20 feet, ...
29
votes
3answers
39k views

Does a fighter's Action Surge trigger Extra Attack?

Context A player in my game will play a fighter with a greatsword. At 5th level he has Extra Attack and the option to use Action Surge. PHB p.72 states: Action Surge. Starting at 2nd level, you ...
0
votes
1answer
4k views

Can 2 non-cantrip-spells be cast in one round with action surge? [duplicate]

Fighters have an ability that allows them to take 2 actions in one turn (regular, full, unrestricted actions, unlike those gained from the Haste spell): Starting at 2nd level, you can push yourself ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

The charger feat as it pertains to combat actions

I am currently playing a Swashbuckler Rogue 5th level. The DM is allowing to pick feats as a variant instead of stats when we level up. I'm thinking about choosing the Charger feat. My question is: ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I drink more than one potion in one round?

One of the players I play with said that it is not allowed by the rules that you drink more than one potion in one round, but he could not find the rule anymore. Let us say I have the Potion Glutton ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can the Grave Domain cleric's Spare the Dying cantrip still be cast as a regular action?

The Grave Domain cleric (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 19-20) gets the Circle of Mortality feature at 1st level, part of which states: In addition, you learn the spare the dying cantrip, which ...
3
votes
3answers
196 views

Is the Oracle Metal Scarf revelation a free attack?

Is the whole use of the revelation a swift action, or just the hardening of the scarf? From the metal revelation (emphasis mine): Steel Scarf (Su): As a swift action, you can harden a scarf, ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action?

Does the Great Old One warlock's telepathy from the Awakened Mind feature take an action? It doesn't seem too clear to our group and we have basically ruled it as equivalent to talking.
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a monk use his Martial Arts bonus-action unarmed strike when using a readied action to attack?

My group is pretty new to D&D 5e, and the bonus action is confusing one of our players. When a monk does an attack from a readied action, can he then use his bonus-action unarmed strike? I ...
12
votes
4answers
3k views

Must the Flurry of Blows attacks occur after the initial (and extra) attack?

Looking at the wording of Flurry of Blows, I may be overthinking it, but the description of the feature (PHB, p. 78) says: Immediately after you take the attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ...
17
votes
6answers
5k views

Can an Eldritch Knight use the bonus-action attack granted by War Magic before casting the spell as an action?

A Fighter with the Eldritch Knight martial archetype gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved War Magic at 18th level). The War Magic feature (PHB, p. 75) states: Beginning at 7th ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a Fighter use their Action Surge while Surprised to get an Action?

I was reading Rules Answers: November 2015 | Dungeons & Dragons and in the Combat section and someone had asked "Does surprise happen outside the initiative order as a special surprise round?". ...
24
votes
8answers
80k views

Does an Action Surge grant a second bonus action?

We were trying to understand how the "Action Surge" rule works, and after some discussion we came to a standstill. Starting at 2nd level, you can push yourself beyond your normal limits for a ...