Questions tagged [class-feature]

For questions that are centrally about class features, powers or properties that are exclusive to a given class, such as the Cleric's ability to Turn Undead in D&D.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Does a Swashbuckler gain Precise Strike on every attack?

Precise Strike (Ex): At 3rd level, while she has at least 1 panache point, a swashbuckler gains the ability to strike precisely with a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon (though not natural ...
0
votes
3answers
29k views

How and when does Song of Rest work? [duplicate]

I am a level 6 bard playing a campaign in 5e. I have the ability "song of rest" Beginning at 2nd level, you can use soothing music or oration to help revitalize your wounded allies during a short ...
1
vote
2answers
4k views

Possible to cast Mind Spike without breaking concentration? [duplicate]

Mind Spike is cast with one action but has concentration up to an hour. Unless I'm mistaken, the actual casting process of the spell does not take concentration, due to it not being longer than a ...
2
votes
1answer
110 views

How do feats work for a multiclassing monster class character?

Reading the savage species entry for the monster class mind flayer the feats section reads Feats: A mind flayer receives one feat at 1st level and additional ones at 5th and 11th level. After 15th ...
5
votes
1answer
747 views

What happens when attacking with a Minor Conjuration bow/crossbow?

If I use Minor Conjuration to summon a bow/crossbow, which requires ammunition to deal damage, what will happen to the bow/crossbow if I load it with real ammunition and attack with it? Does the bow/...
16
votes
6answers
21k views

How can a level 1 ninja cause a foe to lose its Dexterity bonus to AC?

I'm playing a ninja (Complete Adventurer 5–10). The ninja has the special ability sudden strike that's like sneak attack except that the extra damage is dealt only when the opponent is denied its ...
20
votes
2answers
5k views

Can blade flourish be used with ranged attacks?

In Xanathar's Guide to Everything under the Bard College of Swords Blade Flourish feature (page 15) it says "Whenever you make an attack action...". Was this meant for strictly melee attacks or can ...
26
votes
4answers
3k views

Can “Minor Conjuration” create a physical key?

I'm creating a campaign which one of the quest requires the party to obtain a key (ordinary, not magical) to a room. One of my PCs is a Wizard that specializes in Conjuration. I'm considering whether ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I conjure a dagger or dart in my offhand and use bonus action to attack with it?

I'm considering getting two levels as Conjuration Wizard to multiclass my Rogue, just because what I'm about to ask seems cool. I want to use Minor Conjuration as an action to summon a dagger in my ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a dagger summoned by Minor Conjuration overcome resistances?

The object is visibly magical, radiating dim light out to 5 feet. If I summon a dagger (or 10 daggers), will attacks made with them be able to overcome a creature resistance (which can normally be ...
1
vote
1answer
613 views

Does a maximized warlock eldritch blast use a lower caster level?

In reviewing the feat "maximize spell like ability" I noted something odd. The feat reads Choose one of your spell-like abilities (subject to the restrictions below) to use at maximum ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

When a transmuter uses his Master Transmutation/Restore Life feature, does he have to supply the material component of raise dead too?

A 14th level transmuter wizard has this feature: Master Transmutation Starting at 14th level, you can use your action to consume the reserve of transmutation magic stored within your ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Who rolls for Song of Rest?

Assume multiple people have used hit dice. When a bard casts Song of Rest, who rolls the 1d6? Beginning at 2nd level, you can use soothing music or oration to help revitalize your wounded allies ...
1
vote
1answer
187 views

Does an Alchemist have any means to recall Infused Extracts?

The Infusion Discovery allows Alchemist to provide their Extracts to non-Alchemist for use. However it inlcudes the caveat: ...it continues to occupy one of the alchemist’s daily extract slots. ...
2
votes
1answer
299 views

Can a first level Cleric utilize the feat Versatile Channeling?

My level 1 lawful neutral cleric picked Negative Energy Channeling. His level 1 feat is Versatile Channeling, which allows characters to channel the opposite energy at two levels weaker. Can he use ...
14
votes
2answers
962 views

Does a Vampire's Bite heal it even if Maximum Hit Points aren't reduced?

The Vampire's Bite attack says: Hit: 7 (1d6 + 4) piercing damage plus 10 (3d6) necrotic damage. The target's hit point maximum is reduced by an amount equal to the necrotic damage taken, and the ...
10
votes
3answers
9k views

How do warlocks enter into a pact with a patron?

How do warlocks get into a pact with their patron? I want to multiclass my rogue but I don't know how that works into any story. Are there any published official material (or Unearthed Arcana) that ...
3
votes
1answer
522 views

Does Empowered Evocation still work if you Overchannel?

So my WIZ 14 casts Scorching Ray at 5th level to Overchannel it. Because I'm not rolling for damage does my Scorching Ray still get the benefit of Empowered Evocation?
7
votes
1answer
693 views

Do Barbarians in Pathfinder lose any class abilities if they become lawful?

Looking to make a starting level 6 multiclass character with barbarian/monk/druid levels. First two levels are barbarian, then the others. I know paladins lose paladin-stuff if they slip from lawful ...
2
votes
1answer
493 views

How visible is someone using Rogue's Hide in Plain Sight?

For disambiguation, I'm referring using Pathfinder's Rogue Talent from Ultimate Combat. An excellent answer might address if other form(s) of HiPS have a different answer, but it's not necessary. A ...
7
votes
1answer
294 views

Does an Apostle of Peace violate their vows by casting End to Strife?

End to Strife is a spell on the Apostle of Peace PrC spell list that deals damage to creatures who make attacks in its area, yet an Apostle of Peace is forbidden by their vows from dealing damage. ...
0
votes
1answer
5k views

Can 2 non-cantrip-spells be cast in one round with action surge? [duplicate]

Fighters have an ability that allows them to take 2 actions in one turn (regular, full, unrestricted actions, unlike those gained from the Haste spell): Starting at 2nd level, you can push yourself ...
1
vote
1answer
269 views

Arcane Hierophant and Familiars

The Arcane Hierophant Companion Familiar class feature says: Companion Familiar: Upon becoming an arcane hierophant, you must dismiss your familiar, if you have one (You do not risk losing XP for ...
6
votes
2answers
251 views

Can a Diviner native to & on the Border Ethereal influence rolls of creatures on the Material Plane?

A particular diviner wizard is native to the Ethereal Plane (he was created by a wish spell replicating simulacrum cast on that plane). While this wizard is on the Border Ethereal, can he use his ...
3
votes
1answer
5k views

Does Shadow of Moil grant the user advantage against enemies?

Shadow of Moil strikes me as the Warlock's equivalent of Greater Invisibility, with a few perks. One major point of contention among my party, however, is whether or not it grants the user advantage ...
3
votes
2answers
171 views

Can a spellbreaker immune to conjuration be attacked by summoned monsters?

The spellbreaker inquisitor archetype has this nice capstone candy: Impervious (Ex) At 20th level, a Spellbreaker becomes immune to the effects of a single school of arcane magic. That school ...
2
votes
1answer
710 views

Does Ethereal Sight let you discern reality from illusions?

Does Ethereal Sight let you discern reality from illusions?
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Arcane archer's Piercing arrow and sneak attack

If a multi-class fighter(Arcane archer from XGtE)/rogue is using the piercing arrow arcane shot can he do sneak attack on one of the creatures damaged by the effect? Can he do it even if the creature ...
1
vote
0answers
96 views

How to use the Gentleman's MBA? [closed]

Old Spice published a D&D 3.5 class called "the Gentleman" as part of a promotion (available here at the time of writing). At level 19 the Gentleman gains his MBA. The class feature is described ...
1
vote
1answer
492 views

Urban Druid's “Urban Shape” limitations

Playing in a 3.5e/PF cross-over campaign. My character is using the Urban Druid (Dragon Compendium variant, p. 57) base class as his main class (with some DM tweaks). My question relates to the Urban ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Supernatural Fury replace the Rage feature entirely?

This question is about the Supernatural Fury feature of the Path of the Sacred Kin from Xanathar's Lost Notes to Everything Else (a third-party book which can be found on dmsguild.com). ...
6
votes
1answer
132 views

Variant specialized wizards help understanding what is replaced

Unearthed arcana presents variant wizard specialist classes and states that: Each variant specialist class gives up one of the standard specialist’s class abilities in exchange for a new ability ...
18
votes
3answers
14k views

Can an Arcane Trickster Rogue learn all of the wizard spells from the low levels it has slots for?

My take on this is as follows: Arcane Trickster level 17 class ability allows for stealing spells somebody is casting (this isn't restricted to wizard spells). Skill is located on PHB pg. 98, ...
-2
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a berserker use his reaction for “retaliation” during his turn?

The barbarian subclass Berserker gets the feature Retaliation at level 14, which allows making a melee weapon attack as a reaction to taking damage. RETALIATION Starting at 14th level, when you ...
18
votes
8answers
6k views

Do Two Class Features That Add The Same Modifier to Damage Double It?

I've had a question that I can't seem to find an answer to and it's hard to formulate a question that I feel is clear enough without explaining the setup. Lets use a 6/2 Sorc/Warlock as an example. ...
9
votes
2answers
7k views

Can a Half Orc Barbarian use Relentless Endurance after failing to use Relentless Rage? [duplicate]

Relentless Rage allows you to avoid passing out with a successful Constitution saving throw. Starting at 11th level, your rage can keep you fighting despite grievous wounds. If you drop to 0 hit ...
0
votes
1answer
96 views

Can a Mageknight that selected Time Shift as her Spellsword ability make as many attacks with Relentless Pursuit as she has Spell Points?

The Mageknight has these abilities, relevant to the question: Relentless Pursuit (Requires Marked class feature) You may spend a spell point as a swift action to make a single manufactured or ...
1
vote
1answer
101 views

Can a Sage use her Infuser package ability with the Chi Gong attack?

The Champion of the Sphere's Sage class has these abilities: Chi Gong (Su) At 1st level, the sage learns the chi gong technique, which allows him to wield his ki as a precise instrument, ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Danger Sense make any spell/trap/effect seen be able to make a Dex saving throw with advantage?

Let's say I'm a Level 2 Barbarian and I'm targeted by the spell Shatter. Since I have Danger Sense and I see the spell coming at me, and because specific beasts general I won't be making a ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the cantrip Shillelagh and Hex Warrior class feature work together when you attack?

If a Hexblade Warlock used the cantrip Shillelagh and attacked with a Quarterstaff would the class feature Hex Warrior and Shillelagh both apply to the attack and damage rolls? Hex Warrior When ...
1
vote
0answers
1k views

Warlock/Paladin: Using pact magic spell slots for Divine Smite [duplicate]

I'm currently thinking about doing an Aasimar Paladin / Celestial Warlock sometime in the future. Now, I've been looking at the Divine Smite feature of the Paladin (p. 85, PHB), which states the ...
2
votes
2answers
262 views

Does a Pale Master “know” animate dead enough to scribe a scroll?

The Pale Master prestige class entry reads Animate Dead (Sp): Starting at 2nd level, a pale master begins to exercise control over the undead. Once per day, he can use animate dead, as the spell, ...
4
votes
1answer
264 views

Does a thaumaturge knows all invocations

The thaumaturge is confusing. The class progression table has "invocations" at several levels, and the entry for the ability does not state how many they know: Thaumaturges control power in its ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I drink more than one potion in one round?

One of the players I play with said that it is not allowed by the rules that you drink more than one potion in one round, but he could not find the rule anymore. Let us say I have the Potion Glutton ...
3
votes
1answer
849 views

Does the feat “Splash Weapon Mastery” work with the alchemist discovery “Healing Bomb”?

The feat Splash Weapon Mastery gives alchemists the following effect: When you hit with a splash weapon, select one additional square adjacent to the splash area; creatures in this area also take ...
3
votes
1answer
131 views

Does an armorist need to pick “bound fang” more than once?

So, a half-dragon armorist wants a lots of claws as bound fangs. Since claws are OK natural attacks for a half-dragon's form, it passes. But does he need to pick the arsenal trick only once, or one ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Nondetection plus Invisibility hide you from the The Third Eye Wizard ability?

Nondetection protects you from divination magic. In an early post on Sage Advice, I read Nondetection + Invisibility even protects against True Seeing. Okay, makes sense. But what about the ...
6
votes
2answers
605 views

Does Resistance combine with Deflect Missiles and make it easier to throw it back?

I have a character playing a multiclass Barbarian/Monk. Does the resistance from rage combine with Deflect Missiles to negate the damage and make the reaction attack?
1
vote
1answer
262 views

Can a 7th-level Slayer activate Assassinate via a swift action Study, or must it still be a standard action?

I just got to 10th level for my Dwarven Slayer and I can choose a new Advanced Slayer talent. I want to take Assassinate but I wanted something clarified. At 7th level you can Study a target as a ...
4
votes
0answers
570 views

Can I cast spells that require concentration through “Invoke Duplicity” [duplicate]

Can I use the clone from "Invoke Duplicity" to cast a concentration spell, since the clone requires concentration itself? For example, could I use the clone to cast invisibility on one of my allies ...

1 18 19 20 21 22 27