Questions tagged [class-feature]

For questions that are centrally about class features, powers or properties that are exclusive to a given class, such as the Cleric's ability to Turn Undead in D&D.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
17 views

Does Healing Spirit proc Shepard druid's Unicorn Spirit totem? If so when?

Unicorn totem reads: In addition, if you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to any creature inside or outside the aura, each creature of your choice in the aura also ...
9
votes
3answers
9k views

Does the Draconic Bloodline sorcerer's Elemental Affinity feature increase the damage for all targets?

If a 6th-level Draconic Bloodline sorcerer with Elemental Affinity (fire) casts Green-Flame Blade, is only the first target's damage increased, or both? The Elemental Affinity feature (PHB, p. 102) ...
11
votes
2answers
838 views

Can the weapon summoned via a Warlock's Pact of the Blade be pre-silvered when summoned?

Would it be possible to manifest a weapon that has either the Silvered or the Adamantine property? Per the description of Pact of the Blade: You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your ...
3
votes
0answers
26 views

How does Leadership work for a Vigilante?

I’m interested in playing a Vigilante character specializing in Leadership. The Vigilante class has the Dual Identity extraordinary ability, which gives them a social identity (Bruce Wayne, Peter ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
9
votes
2answers
7k views

Is a Pact Weapon a spell attack or a normal weapon?

Basically, do I use Charisma to attack? If not, is it a normal weapon? So if I create a Greatsword, I use Strength, but with a Scimitar I use Dexterity? Do I apply feats, if I have Extra Attack from ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a Pact of the Blade warlock's pact weapon metal?

This came up in our last session. My pact of the blade warlock summoned a longsword to fight a grey ooze. Any nonmagical metal or wood that touches an ooze is corroded. According to the PHB, The pact ...
9
votes
4answers
420 views

Can Pact of the Blade be used to create a double-bladed scimitar in DDAL?

This question pertains specifically to D&D Adventurers League rules. I've got a character concept that I want to implement in a Forgotten Realms campaign, and I'm trying to formulate a plausible ...
3
votes
1answer
73 views

How are the hit points of the hound determined for the Shadow Magic sorcerer's Hound of Ill Omen feature?

How are the hit points of the hound determined for the Shadow Magic sorcerer's Hound of Ill Omen feature (XGtE, p. 51)? I have read over the feature several times now, and I have a question. Here ...
7
votes
1answer
86 views

Can a multiclassed Lore bard/druid use the Cutting Words feature while in Wild Shape?

I’m playing a multiclassed 6th-level Lore bard/2nd-level druid. Could I use the Cutting Words feature while in Wild Shape? My DM wasn’t sure, so I was wondering if I can.
9
votes
1answer
276 views

Can a multiclassed bard/druid use the Bardic Inspiration feature while in Wild Shape?

I’m playing a multiclassed 6th-level bard/2nd-level druid. Could I still use the Bardic Inspiration feature while in Wild Shape? I looked at the rules; I think technically you can, because all you ...
3
votes
1answer
862 views

Does the feat “Splash Weapon Mastery” work with the alchemist discovery “Healing Bomb”?

The feat Splash Weapon Mastery gives alchemists the following effect: When you hit with a splash weapon, select one additional square adjacent to the splash area; creatures in this area also take ...
2
votes
1answer
71 views

Can telekinetic haul be used to drop heavy objects on targets

I was watching an anime and a minor character attacks by lifting large objects and dropping or throwing them at people and wanted to replicate that in pathfinder I read here that the damage of the ...
21
votes
2answers
2k views

Dispel Magic VS a spell which has been Twinned Spell

I'm curious about what would happen, in combat, if a sorcerer twin spells a haste on the fighters of the party and an enemy then casts a 4th level dispel magic. Would dispelling the Magical Effect of ...
9
votes
2answers
217 views

Are there mechanical or balance issues with this War Priest feature rework?

War Priest is a 1st level feature that lets War Domain Clerics use their bonus action to make a second attack when they take the Attack action. I (and others online) feel that this feature is poor, ...
6
votes
1answer
117 views

Can you use Arcane Bond to cast a spell with a long casting time?

The Drain Bonded Item action says: During your turn, you gain the ability to cast one spell you prepared today and already cast (Core 205) Does this mean that you cannot use this to cast any ...
5
votes
1answer
114 views

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled?

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled? For example, if another player is at 10hp, can the wizard wait to see if 10hp damage is done before choosing to ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Would letting the Assassin rogue replace its 9th-level Infiltration Expertise feature with the Thief's Supreme Sneak feature be unbalanced?

I wanted to ask about allowing the Rogue sub-class (Assassin) to benefit from Supreme Sneak. I have a player in my campaign who plays as an Assassin Rogue and would like to have access to the Supreme ...
5
votes
1answer
163 views

How does a Mastermind rogue's Master of Tactics feature work when trying to Help an allied spellcaster in combat?

The Mastermind rogue's Master of Tactics feature (SCAG, p. 135; XGtE, p. 46) states: Starting at 3rd level, you can use the Help action as a bonus action. Additionally, when you use the Help action ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Know Your Enemy feature be used repeatedly on the same target?

The Battle Master fighter's 7th-level feature Know Your Enemy (PHB, p. 73-74) allows them to spend a minute of noncombat interaction with someone to determine relative values (higher, lower, or equal ...
3
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a Mastermind Rogue use the Master of Tactics feature to grant themselves advantage on an attack using the Help action?

The Mastermind rogue's Master of Tactics feature (SCAG, p. 135; XGtE, p. 46) states: Starting at 3rd level, you can use the Help action as a bonus action. Additionally, when you use the Help action ...
9
votes
3answers
460 views

For the Battle Master fighter's Know Your Enemy feature, what happens if the target's AC changes while the target is being observed?

Know Your Enemy (PHB, p. 73-74) is a Battle Master fighter feature that lets you determine whether a creature's Armor Class is superior, equal to, or inferior to yours. What happens if a character's ...
12
votes
3answers
15k views

How many effects can an Open Hand monk impose with the Open Hand Technique feature using Flurry of Blows if all attacks hit?

Concerning the Open Hand Technique, if I have a level 6 Monk and I use Flurry of Blows on a single target and I hit with all attacks, can I apply a Str save to all attacks to possibly push a mob back ...
5
votes
2answers
101 views

Does the Elk option for the Totem Warrior barbarian's Aspect of the Beast feature affect travel pace for land vehicles?

The Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide adds the Elk and Tiger totem spirits as options for the Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian. The Elk totem option for the 6th-level Aspect of the Beast feature (SCAG,...
7
votes
1answer
72 views

Can the artificer Magical Tinkering be used to falsify documents?

Magical Tinkering. A static visual effect appears on one of the object’s surfaces. This effect can be a picture, up to 25 words of text, lines and shapes, or a mixture of these elements, as you ...
7
votes
2answers
667 views

Could a Thief rogue with the Use Magic Device feature use a wizard's spellbook to cast spells?

At 13th level, the Thief rogue gains the Use Magic Device feature, which states: By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when ...
7
votes
3answers
202 views

Can a Battle Smith artificer change the appearance of a Steel Defender after creating it?

I'm playing a Battle Smith artificer currently, and my DM is a very by-the-books kind of guy. When the question came up of whether or not I could change its appearance, he just said "if it's in the ...
22
votes
2answers
30k views

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I'm looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation. This gives you access to both... Divine Smite ...
4
votes
2answers
801 views

Can Paladins ritual cast?

In the D&D5E Player's Handbook, the Paladin's description states that they "learned to draw on divine magic and cast spells as a cleric does." The cleric is capable of ritual casting, and ...
7
votes
3answers
505 views

Would swapping the Assassin's Imposter feature for the Scout's Ambush Master feature be unbalanced?

Inspired by this question: Would allowing the Rogue sub-class (Assassin) to benefit from Supreme Sneak be unbalanced? The Assassin roguish archetype is considered by some to have very weak class ...
5
votes
1answer
120 views

How (if at all) do Wild Magic Surges stack with each other?

First off there are a lot of rules on combining/overlapping effects: The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect--such as the highest ...
1
vote
0answers
53 views

For the purposes of Magic Jar, does a monster with the Spellcasting special trait have class levels? [duplicate]

The spell magic jar says with regards to the creature who's body the caster is possessing: If the target has any class levels, you can't use any of its class features. The only class feature a ...
38
votes
3answers
7k views

If I have both advantage and disadvantage, and my target has the Elusive rogue class feature, do I have disadvantage on the attack?

At level 18, Rogues get the Elusive class feature, which says: No attack roll has advantage against you while you aren’t incapacitated. However, if you have both advantage and disadvantage, they ...
6
votes
2answers
289 views

How does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature interact with spell scrolls?

Does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature allow the artificer to cast a spell that is higher than he can normally cast from a spell scroll without making an ability check to cast it? The relevant ...
13
votes
2answers
533 views

If two Lore Bards used the Cutting Words feature on an ability check or attack, would they stack?

Let's say the party had two Lore Bards, and both used Cutting Words on a creature who tried to attack. Does that stack, since they are separate penalties and not enduring effects (like bless)? Or ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

How does the Sanctuary spell stack with the College of Glamour bard's Unbreakable Majesty feature?

The College of Glamour bard's Unbreakable Majesty feature (XGE, p. 14-15) has a similar effect to the sanctuary spell, although it requires a Charisma save instead of a Wisdom save. If someone ...
1
vote
0answers
36 views

At what level does a Horizon Walker Ranger's Ethereal Step cast the Etherealness spell? [duplicate]

The Ethereal Step conclave ability of a Horizon Walker Ranger is described as such: At 7th level, you learn to step through the Ethereal Plane. As a bonus action on your turn, you can cast the ...
8
votes
3answers
215 views

How do the Drunken Master monk's Drunkard's Luck feature and the Great Old One warlock's Entropic Ward feature interact?

The Way of the Drunken Master Monk gets the Drunkard's Luck feature, which states: When you make an ability check, an attack roll, or a saving throw and have disadvantage, you can spend 2 ki points ...
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Entropic Ward Sneak Attack [closed]

Are you able to entropic ward an attack from stealth? Or would it just be assumed that you didn’t know it was coming therefore you can’t cast a reaction. For reference the Great Old One Warlock gets ...
11
votes
4answers
435 views

Is the Inquisitive rogue's Ear for Deceit feature made useless by a character's Passive Insight score?

The Inquisitive rogue's Ear for Deceit feature (XGtE, p. 45) says: When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you develop a talent for picking out lies. Whenever you make a Wisdom (Insight) check ...
24
votes
4answers
1k views

Does Evasion work against effects that don't target an area?

At 7th level, rogues gain the Evasion feature: Beginning at 7th level, you can nimbly dodge out of the way of certain area effects, such as an ancient red dragon’s fiery breath or an ice storm ...
6
votes
1answer
259 views

Can you use Divine Smite while you are concentrating on a spell?

I am playing as a multiclassed Hexblade warlock 3/paladin 2 in a D&D 5e campaign. Can you use your paladin Divine Smite feature in melee while you are concentrating on a spell, such as shadow ...
3
votes
1answer
145 views

How does the Shield Master feat interact with a Rogue's Uncanny Dodge and Evasion features?

How does the Shield Master feat interact with a Rogue's Uncanny Dodge and Evasion features? The Shield Master feat (PHB, p. 170) grants the following benefits: a) add the shield's AC to Dexterity ...
5
votes
1answer
282 views

What happens if a creature eats food created by a College of Creation bard?

If a College of Creation bard uses their Performance of Creation to summon rations, and then eats the rations, will they still be hungry at the end of their next turn? What if they maintain the ...
14
votes
6answers
26k views

How does the Trickery Domain cleric's Invoke Duplicity Channel Divinity option work?

The Trickery Domain cleric gets the Channel Divinity: Invoke Duplicity feature at 2nd level, which creates "a perfect illusion of yourself" (PHB p.63). However, CD:ID's description doesn't really ...
17
votes
4answers
12k views

Will anything break if I allow the Warlock pact weapon to be called with a bonus action instead of an action?

I have a Warlock in my group that rarely ever gets his pact blade out, since it takes an action to summon it. Given that drawing a regular weapon doesn't even take a bonus action, is there anything in ...
8
votes
2answers
299 views

Is the Channel Divinity feature negated in an antimagic field, since it channels “divine energy”?

Are Channel Divinity powers not usable in antimagic fields? The antimagic field spell says, in part (emphasis mine): Spells and other magical effects, except those created by [...] a deity, are ...
15
votes
2answers
555 views

What is considered a class feature for a monster for the purpose of Change Shape?

It's well understood that Spellcasting in a creature's stat block is a class feature. For the purposes of Change Shape and similar abilities where the term "class features" has mechanical importance, ...
24
votes
4answers
12k views

What is the purpose of the Evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells feature?

The School of Evocation wizard's 2nd-level Sculpt Spells feature says: The chosen creatures automatically succeed on their saving throws against the spell, and they take no damage if they would ...
23
votes
2answers
13k views

Does the “use magic device” feature of the thief subclass allow you to attune to items requiring you to be a spellcaster?

Use Magic Device By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when they are not intended for you. You ignore all class, race and ...

1 2 3 4 5 28