Skip to main content

Questions tagged [cleric]

For questions about the cleric, a playable deity-bound caster class in a number of RPGs. Clerics may have different restrictions and allowances based on their deity, though these often vary by RPG and edition.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
41 votes
7 answers
132k views

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
Shalvenay's user avatar
  • 11.1k
43 votes
4 answers
49k views

Can a spell be prepared once and cast multiple times?

Our group had some confusion about preparing spells for a Wizard and Cleric. The rules say that you prepare a number of spells from your list and that you tick off spell slots when you cast a spell. ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 15.8k
8 votes
1 answer
5k views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
Shalvenay's user avatar
  • 11.1k
56 votes
3 answers
19k views

Are there any rules for a Cleric to change his faith?

There are rules for a Cleric who loses faith, and how to regain his standing through atonement. But what if he abandons one faith entirely for another? Presumably his new god/faith should be picking ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
20 votes
6 answers
49k views

Can Clerics have divine power without it being provided by a god?

I have an experienced player wanting to create a tempest cleric who doesn't worship a god. His back story will be something along the lines of 'walking through a storm one day he is hit by lightning, ...
Dressy's user avatar
  • 611
48 votes
3 answers
246k views

How does wizard & cleric spell preparation and casting work? [closed]

In 3.X wizards had spellbooks, while clerics had their entire spell list, but they both memorized/prepared spells every day from those lists, and had a certain number of slots for preparing spells in. ...
Oblivious Sage's user avatar
  • 55.3k
18 votes
3 answers
7k views

Can I copy prepared Cleric spells that are also on the Wizard spell list into my spellbook?

I'm multiclassing as a Wizard2/Cleric3. I'm wondering if it's possible to prepare a spell from the cleric spell list and then if it's also found in the Wizard spell list, would I be able to write it ...
Illbean's user avatar
  • 399
17 votes
2 answers
8k views

How does the Cleric's Blessings of Knowledge feature interact with the rules for gaining proficiency when already proficient in a skill?

Scenario: I am a level 1 Half-Elf Monk, using a combination of my Monk starting skill proficiencies and Skill Versatility racial features to start with proficiency in Arcana, History, Religion, and ...
CTWind's user avatar
  • 19.4k
14 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does the Tempest cleric's Thunderbolt Strike feature still work if the target is immune to lightning damage?

Tempest Domain clerics (PHB, p. 62) get the Thunderbolt Strike feature at 6th level: At 6th level, when you deal lightning damage to a Large or smaller creature, you can also push it up to 10 feet ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
37 votes
3 answers
60k views

How does Augury work exactly?

I am the DM for a party that started to rely more and more on the augury spell, casting it as a ritual at least daily, because it has shown them the 'right' path on multiple occasions in the past. ...
Ruben's user avatar
  • 685
28 votes
3 answers
52k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the War Caster feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If not,...
Brian's user avatar
  • 281
25 votes
5 answers
9k views

Can Goodberries heal a Life cleric when consumed by another?

Are Goodberries affected by the Life domain class features? asked whether or not the Life domain cleric's Disciple of Life feature improved the healing of each berry. My question is: does the Life ...
chif-ii's user avatar
  • 2,849
20 votes
3 answers
8k views

What happens when I can prepare more spells than I have slots to cast them with?

I am a level 4 cleric with a 20 (+5) wisdom in D&D 5e. This means I have a total of 9 spells I can cast in 1 day. I only have 4 level 1 spell slots and 3 level 2. So if I were to use all those ...
Trek's user avatar
  • 217
18 votes
1 answer
4k views

If I cast Thunderous Smite and Booming Blade, hit, and use Destructive Wrath to maximize damage, how many uses of Channel Divinity are expended?

How many uses of channel divinity should be expended in the following example? Example: A character is using that a weapon that deals 2d6 thunder damage on a hit. They cast Thunderous Smite, using ...
ToastHater's user avatar
130 votes
11 answers
24k views

Given powerful low-level Clerical healing, how can sick, crippled or otherwise unhealthy people exist?

In my attempt to make a more harsh, uncaring setting, I’ve hit a stumbling block in terms of the ease with which even low level Clerics can treat the poor and the sick: A 1st-level Cleric can bring ...
abza's user avatar
  • 2,379
5 votes
2 answers
262 views

Can I keep the effect of the Algid Enhancment spell if the Mantle of the Icy Soul spell ends?

The description of the Algid Enhancement spell (Frostburn, p. 88) says You energize cold creatures with a surge of coldfire. Creatures with the cold subtype affected by this spell gain a +1 ...
HaveANiceDay's user avatar
43 votes
6 answers
9k views

How do I Raise the Dead and Look Good Doing it?

I am a LE cleric (No god, but in an order of LG/LN cleric, faking to praying to their god) and we are in a mass combat campaign (Darn you drow), and I want to raise an elite troop of undead to protect ...
Pyersamid's user avatar
  • 811
18 votes
2 answers
77k views

Do Cleric's domain spells add slots?

I'm a little bit confused with the whole spell system and additions to them. If I pick for instance Tempest Domain Spell, are the spells additional to the other ones? (2 at level 1) So do that make it ...
Caelum Superus's user avatar
18 votes
3 answers
12k views

Can clerics use spell scrolls for spells they receive through their Divine domains?

I've been trying to resolve some edge cases with who can use which spell scrolls. As the DMG says in the Spell Scroll entry on page 200: "If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use ...
Mellifluous's user avatar
16 votes
2 answers
14k views

What is the interaction between the Aura of Vitality spell and the Life Domain cleric's Blessed Healer feature?

The Life Domain cleric's Disciple of Life feature works with any spell that you use to restore hit points to a creature, so I know it works with Aura of Vitality to heal 2d6+5 as a bonus action: ...
Jeftah's user avatar
  • 314
16 votes
3 answers
84k views

How do spell slots and preparation work when multi-classing between cleric and bard

I'm planning to play a multi-class bard/cleric character, and I wanted to verify how spell preparation and slots work across the two classes, particularly since they use different approaches for ...
Imaginary's user avatar
  • 3,186
11 votes
3 answers
184k views

How many spells can a cleric learn?

The number of spells a sorcerer can learn is listed in the PHB, e.g. a 5th level sorcerer can know 6 spells total. For a wizard, it says they learn 2 spells per level. This however is not shown for ...
Warlockofdarkness999's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can Invoke Duplicity use touch spells?

So the Trickery Domain's first channel divinity is Invoke Duplicity, you make an illusion of yourself, and it says For the duration, you can cast spells as though you were in the illusion's space,...
J Nason's user avatar
  • 3,461
30 votes
4 answers
5k views

When the Shocking Grasp cantrip hits, can it trigger the Tempest cleric's Wrath of the Storm reaction?

The Tempest Domain cleric's Wrath of the Storm feature description says (PHB, p. 62): When a creature within 5 feet of you that you can see hits you with an attack, you can use your reaction to ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 69.8k
28 votes
5 answers
38k views

Does a Life Cleric casting Goodberry at higher spell levels get more potent Berries?

My question is derived from a few contradicting pieces of information but I have no direct answer with an example. I'll first describe the information: Goodberry, has no cast at higher level footnote ...
V Rodg's user avatar
  • 891
23 votes
4 answers
14k views

Is Spiritual Weapon considered a Spell or a Weapon for Resistance/Immunity purposes?

In 5th Edition D&D there are various monsters with immunity or resistance to magic. For example, the Rakshasa is immune to spells of 6th level or lower. Many of these monsters are not also immune/...
Kembi's user avatar
  • 233
23 votes
3 answers
6k views

Are Goodberries affected by the Life domain class features?

How are Goodberries affected by the cleric class features from the Life domain, if at all? I read somewhere that the Life domain's healing bonuses apply to each berry created by the spell — do they? ...
Imaginary's user avatar
  • 3,186
23 votes
3 answers
47k views

Does the Spiritual Weapon spell take a bonus action or an action to use?

I am a 5th level cleric in D&D and I am a little unsure about how to use spiritual weapon, which is cast with a bonus action. The spell says that you create a weapon and then you can attack. ...
DDG's user avatar
  • 247
21 votes
3 answers
4k views

How does the timing on Augury work?

This question was originally part of How does Augury work exactly?, but moved here to clean up. The Augury spell says: By casting gem inlaid sticks, rolling dragon bones, laying out ornate cards, ...
Ruben's user avatar
  • 685
21 votes
5 answers
9k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class's ...
Josh Clark's user avatar
  • 5,279
19 votes
6 answers
50k views

How does the Trickery Domain cleric's Invoke Duplicity Channel Divinity option work?

The Trickery Domain cleric gets the Channel Divinity: Invoke Duplicity feature at 2nd level, which creates "a perfect illusion of yourself" (PHB p.63). However, CD:ID's description doesn't really ...
OpaCitiZen's user avatar
  • 39.4k
19 votes
3 answers
7k views

Is negative energy (or channeling it) necessarily evil?

I'm building a Lawful Neutral cleric of Abadar, and picture her channeling negative energy as "Abadar's rebuke of the unjust". In my case, she'll use the Rulership variant channeling rules, cutting ...
Jeff Fry's user avatar
  • 8,469
16 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took cleric spells that scale (so you can cast ...
DampeS8N's user avatar
  • 3,550
16 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can a Cleric leave spell slots open to prepare later?

In another question, it's explained that Wizards can leave spell slots blank to be prepared later. I want to know if a Cleric can do the same thing: can a Cleric leave spell slots open when they first ...
Admiralshlork's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a multiclass Cleric/Warlock hold a Holy Shield and an Arcane Staff and still cast spells?

The PHB (pg. 151) states that a Cleric may use a shield with a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10....
He Who Rules As Intended's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
9k views

When does a target know it's under the effects of a charm/enchantment spell?

In 5th Edition which spells, like Suggestion, are not noticable, and which are noticeable by the target and/or nearby onlookers? Are there differences if a target fails or succeeds on a save roll? I ...
Drake's user avatar
  • 1,504
10 votes
1 answer
7k views

What happens when a Twilight Cleric uses Steps of Night to fly into a brightly lit area?

The Twilight Domain Cleric's sixth level ability "Steps of Night" reads as follows: You can draw on the mystical power of night to rise into the air. As a bonus action when you are in dim ...
Andrendire's user avatar
  • 11.9k
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

What are the effects of losing your feat prerequisite?

I have a human cleric with the Extend Spell feat thanks to the domain power of the Spell domain. The first level human bonus feat was spent on Persistent Spell and the regular first level feat was ...
mtijn's user avatar
  • 1,219
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens to a priest travelling from one world to another in the Prime Material Plane?

I'm working on a planeswalking campaign where the group will be travelling through several different worlds in the Prime Material Plane (i.e. from Toril to Krynn). I'm using the AD&D Planescape ...
Erizo's user avatar
  • 165
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Catalogues of Enlightenment: What's a creature's cleric level when it has none?

The touchstone site Catalogues of Enlightenment (Planar Handbook 166-7) grants this as its base ability: "Choose a cleric domain; you gain the granted power of that domain." Further, the Catalogues ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

How is "targeting" a spell defined for the Order Domain cleric's Voice of Authority feature?

The Order Domain cleric's 1st-level Voice of Authority feature gives one ally a bonus attack. It reads as follows: You can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell ...
Meavar's user avatar
  • 121
5 votes
3 answers
13k views

Do class spells take up spell slots?

So I'm fairly new and ended up being the Cleric in my also fairly new group. I haven't played a caster before and the book says that at level 1 I have Bless and Cure Wounds. Do I need to assign these ...
Skinbear Bearskin's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
475 views

Can Favored Souls choose feats that require cleric levels, such as Initiate of Astilabor?

The Initiate of Astilabor feat (Dragon Magic, p. 20) has the following prequisites: Prerequisite: Cleric level 3rd, dragonblood subtype, deity Astilabor. As a Dracolyte silverbrow human having an ...
Maxpire's user avatar
  • 3,193
1 vote
2 answers
7k views

For multiclassed warlock/clerics, do your spell slots from the two classes stack?

So I'm a new DM and one of my PC's who's a 1st-level warlock wants to multi-class into cleric. So he would essentially be a warlock 1/cleric 1. Since the Warlock only has one 1st-level spell slot at ...
Pasan's user avatar
  • 13
56 votes
1 answer
25k views

Can clerics use swords?

My DM, who hasn't played newer versions of D&D, was asking if my cleric was allowed to use sharp weapons. I double checked the descriptions and didn't see anything like this written there, but now ...
WendyG's user avatar
  • 1,424
38 votes
4 answers
21k views

Why can't clerics use sharp weapons?

In many versions of D&D, clerics can't use bladed/edged/pointy weapons, and are instead restricted to things like staves, clubs, maces, etc. Why is this? Is there some historical reason? Is ...
Joe's user avatar
  • 17.1k
37 votes
9 answers
18k views

How might a character transport hundreds of thousands of gold inconspicuously?

Caveat is that it must be in a manner that draws no attention, so there can't be an armed guard, any carriages, or multiple people. Is there anything that holds more than the bag of holding, as it ...
He Who Rules As Intended's user avatar
36 votes
2 answers
72k views

Can clerics create holy water?

I'm running a 5th edition campaign that's going well. I'm not very versed in the system just yet, and my group has run into a little bit of a bind - it's not game-breaking, but it tends to come up ...
alephtwo's user avatar
  • 882
30 votes
10 answers
6k views

Is there an official way to effectively carry a holy symbol without breaking Vow of Poverty?

A cleric who takes Vow of Poverty (Book of Exalted Deeds) can't carry a holy symbol. This is both true under the rules-as-written (he is allowed no material possessions except simple weapons, simple ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
21 votes
12 answers
53k views

Can Clerics be Death Domain and Neutral?

Basically, me and my friend have been arguing for 2 months over the Death domain cleric alignment. He keeps referencing the DMG's quote of "The gods of death domain embody murder" and the fact it is a ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar