Questions tagged [combat-maneuver]

For questions about combat maneuvers, which refer to any martial action in combat that may not directly result in damage but some other form of debilitation or advantage that allies can capitalize on.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
1 answer
184 views

Can I legally refer to Maneuvers under the OGL?

The Battle Master subclass is not in the Systems Reference Document. I am designing a Wild West supplement for d&d-5e, to be published on DriveThruRPG, and I want to add a few Gun-Themed maneuvers ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
85 views

Do you actually have to move with a Bull Rush target to move them more than 5 feet?

I kept seeing people mention that you cannot move a target more than 5 feet with a Bull Rush without moving with them. This confused me as Pathfinder's Bull Rush rules make no mention of such a thing. ...
user avatar
  • 1,345
8 votes
2 answers
316 views

How do the multiple attack rolls of Whirlwind Attack work with Lunging Attack's bonus to the attack's damage roll?

At 11th level the Ranger subclass Hunter can get Whirlwind Attack: You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet of you, with a separate attack roll for ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
111 views

Can I use Maneuvering Strike benefiting my mount, as a battle master?

Here's my scenario, I'm on a mount. I make a weapon attack and use Maneuvering Strike: When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can [...] choose a friendly creature who can see or hear you. ...
user avatar
17 votes
1 answer
1k views

Extra attack timing: can it be interrupted?

I am trying to figure out if an extra attack can be interrupted by another effect and terminate the attack action before all attacks are completed. The specific example I'm dealing with is thus: I ...
user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
179 views

Can Aggressive Block move the enemy in any direction?

This came up in game last night: the Fighter, with Aggressive Block, Shield Blocks an attack. The Fighter and their attacker are in a narrow corridor - here is what the map looks like, where the ...
user avatar
  • 7,483
4 votes
1 answer
97 views

Do bonuses to grappling CMD apply to enemy's rolls to escape grapple?

Human alternate fighter favored class bonus states: Add +1 to the fighter’s CMD when resisting two combat maneuvers of the character’s choice. If I want to make one of the choices to be grapple ...
user avatar
  • 2,440
4 votes
1 answer
76 views

Does a Gymnast have to use the Trip action to gain panache?

Swashbucklers with the Gymnast style gain panache when they Trip, Shove, or Grapple. Does it have to be an actual Trip action, or would Improved Knockdown work?
user avatar
  • 51.8k
1 vote
0 answers
96 views

Can a Quick Toss also be a Trip Attack? [duplicate]

The Battle Master has two maneuvers that appear to work synergistically. Supposing a player has two superiority dice, may they perform both the the Quick Toss maneuver (TCoE) and Trip Attack (PHB)? ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

Can the superiority die from ‘Superior Technique’ be used for newly learned combat maneuvers?

A fighter receives a superiority die for choosing Superior Technique fighting style, then reaches level 3 and chooses Martial Archetype; Battle Master. Can the superiority die from Superior Technique ...
user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
725 views

How does the Battle Master fighter's Sweeping Attack maneuver interact with additional damage dealt on a "hit"?

How does the Battle Master fighter's Sweeping Attack maneuver work with extra damage, both rolled and static? The description of the Battle Master fighter's Sweeping Attack maneuver states (PHB, p. 74;...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
162 views

Does a character remain in a martial stance they no longer know?

A Tome of Battle stance can be initiated as a swift action, and "remains in effect indefinitely...until you change to another stance you know as a swift action." (p. 38) If a character ...
user avatar
  • 3,403
5 votes
1 answer
883 views

Does the Quick Toss maneuver work with a Magic Stone?

The Quick Toss maneuver from Tashas Cauldron indicates a ranged attack can be made with a bonus action for expending a superiority die. Could you quickly toss a Magic Stone? How much damage would it ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
226 views

Does an Awesome Blow count as an attack?

Awesome Blow (Ex) At 16th level, the brawler can as a standard action perform an awesome blow combat maneuver against a corporeal creature of her size or smaller. If the combat maneuver check succeeds,...
user avatar
  • 1,345
-3 votes
2 answers
681 views

Do the attacks from Polearm Master and the Brace Maneuver stack?

Polearm Master allows a PC to make an opportunity attack when an enemy enters within reach. With the Brace manoeuvre, you can use a reaction to make an attack, expending a superiority die. BRACE When ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
775 views

Can the Grappling Strike maneuver option be used with the Thorn Whip cantrip to grapple a creature from up to 30 feet away?

Grappling Strike is a maneuver option for Battle Master fighters (and others with access to maneuvers) that reads (Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 42; emphasis mine): Immediately after you hit a ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
415 views

Do the levels at which Battle Master fighters gain more maneuvers refer to class level, or character level?

The Battle Master subclass for fighters says that you can get more maneuvers at different levels: You learn two additional maneuvers of your choice at 7th, 10th, and 15th level. Each time you learn ...
user avatar
  • 1,067
10 votes
1 answer
559 views

Can I Feint while Swallowed Whole?

Sethix the Swashbuckler has been Swallowed Whole by a T-Rex. In order to help cut his way out, Sethix wants to Feint to gain Panache, since he is a Fencer Swashbuckler. Is this something Sethix can do?...
user avatar
  • 7,483
0 votes
1 answer
148 views

How effective is Spell Shield Magus Arcana in preventing attacks of opportunity from hitting?

My favorite class in Pathfinder is a Magus. I'm considering playing a reckless, Dex-based, magus who regularly carries out combat maneuvers. However, I don't want to allocate so many feats to improved ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
289 views

Can weapons with Reach be used to attack "through" willing allies? [duplicate]

I'm picturing the Greek Phalanx formation, where soldiers were arranged in rows and the men in Row B or even Row C could attack the enemy by thrusting their spears between the soldiers in Row A. Can ...
user avatar
  • 1,007
3 votes
2 answers
582 views

Mounted Combat: Ride-by attack + Overrun possible?

Can a Cavalier declare a Ride-by attack and then use their mount to overrun the target (thus continuing the movement through the enemies square)? Is it enough for the Cavalier to have the Ride-by ...
user avatar
  • 41
0 votes
1 answer
134 views

Are there two versions of a 'shove', and if so, what further effects do the different versions possibly allow? [closed]

As I see it there are two versions of 'shoving' in 5e: a physical verion and a magical version. The physical version allows pushing an opponent backwards OR knocking them prone, while the magic ...
user avatar
  • 519
12 votes
2 answers
844 views

How does Blink work versus a readied action in this PvP scenario?

Bit of an odd one but I want rulings for this scenario: Yes this is PVP and it ended up been fun at the table, and no one was upset. Playing a Level 7 College of Swords Bard with a Homebrew Magic ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
105 views

Sundering or dispelling Wondrous items that function as limbs

If there were to be a character that used either a clockwork arm or a necrograft limb, to replace an existing arm or leg, could an enemy that wanted to disable the ability or affects of that magic ...
user avatar
  • 5,774
3 votes
1 answer
102 views

Archer's Sunder

The Archer's Trick shot allows them to sunder. However the rules for damaging objects states "Objects take half damage from ranged weapons (unless the weapon is a siege engine or something ...
user avatar
  • 5,774
2 votes
1 answer
792 views

Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

My fighter took Superior Technique as Fighting Style. This gives me the the Combat Maneuver Brace, which says (emphasis mine): When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee ...
user avatar
  • 9,384
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Precision Attack maneuver be used on a melee spell attack?

I've searched here and in various reference books but can't find the answer to this specific question. The description of the Battle Master fighter's Precision Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74) states that ...
user avatar
  • 1,167
6 votes
2 answers
905 views

Does losing Dex to AC also apply to CMD?

Relevant rules: CMD: ...Any penalties to a creature's AC also apply to its CMD. A flat-footed creature does not add its Dexterity bonus to its CMD... blind: ...The creature cannot see. It takes a –...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
141 views

Can I swap a maneuver known with another one if I have te requisite before the swap but stop having it after?

The Tome of Battle states the following: Upon reaching 4th level, and at every even-numbered swordsage level after that (6th, 8th, 10th, and so on), you can choose to learn a new maneuver in place of ...
user avatar
  • 1,077
8 votes
3 answers
5k views

Which combat maneuvers from the Martial Adept feat best support a highly mobile monk?

I'm planning a Rogue/Monk character, and I'm planning on being a highly mobile Monk who moves around the battlefield a lot, trying to get as many attacks as possible. The Rogue subclass is going to be ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you use combat maneuvers on attacks granted by Polearm Master but not made with the Attack action?

Been enjoying the Battle Master Fighter, but have a question about use of maneuvres with the two parts of Polearm Master: Polearm Master You can keep your enemies at bay with reach weapons. You gain ...
user avatar
  • 1,506
8 votes
1 answer
563 views

Do the pushing effects of the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver and the Swords bard's Mobile Flourish stack on the same attack?

Do the pushing effects of the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver and the College of Swords bard's Mobile Flourish stack on the same attack? Assuming the target fails the Strength save ...
user avatar
  • 3,389
12 votes
2 answers
711 views

Can you disarm a solar’s Flying Sword?

In 5e D&D, the solar has the ability to release its sword and control it remotely. The description of its Flying Sword action says: Flying Sword. The solar releases its greatsword to hover ...
user avatar
  • 1,819
12 votes
4 answers
14k views

Is "Shove" an attack?

This question is prompted by reading this answer to a question about using the Polearm Master feat's bonus action after a Shove and halberd Attack In the section "Making an Attack" (PHB, page 194): ...
user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
997 views

Does Blood in the Water work if I score a critical hit on something immune to critical hits?

Blood in the Water (Tome of Battle, p. 86) states: While you are in this stance, you whip yourself into a terrible rage. When you score a critical hit against an opponent, you enter a near frenzied ...
user avatar
  • 1,280
5 votes
1 answer
9k views

How does the Overrun action work?

The action 'Overrun' is described in the DMG p. 272 as: When a creature tries to move through a hostile creature's space, the mover can try to force its way through by overrunning the hostile ...
user avatar
  • 395
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver interact with ranged weapons?

I want to create a Battle Master fighter who uses a crossbow as his main weapon. By RAW, you can use a Battle Master maneuver with a ranged weapon as long as the description does not say the ...
user avatar
  • 728
2 votes
1 answer
620 views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when both the user and ally are still within the grappler's range?

This question is based on this one: What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach? The Unearthed ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
314 views

Can an Abjuration wizard with the Martial Adept feat use the Parry maneuver before their Arcane Ward absorbs damage?

If a Wizard of the School of Abjuration takes the Martial Adept feat and chooses the Parry combat maneuver, how will it interact with their Arcane Ward? Can the Wizard parry and reduce the need for ...
user avatar
24 votes
3 answers
4k views

How should I handle a player attacking from the top of a tree?

There is a player in my group whose character is developed around staying in trees, climbling, Athletics, Acrobatics, and such. He likes to climb trees and then leap down onto enemies from the tree ...
user avatar
  • 243
7 votes
1 answer
4k views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach?

The recent Unearthed Arcana Class Feature Variants includes the Bait and Switch fighter maneuver (page 5), which states: When you’re within 5 feet of an ally on your turn, you can expend one ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
-1 votes
2 answers
284 views

What are the ramifications of making the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver no longer require the Attack action?

The Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver (PHB, p. 74) states: When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one of ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

When two-weapon fighting, can a Battle Master fighter use a maneuver on the Attack action and another on the bonus-action attack?

The Battle Master fighter's Combat Superiority feature states that “you can use only one maneuver per attack” (PHB 73), but I’m unsure how that applies in the case of two-weapon fighting. Is ...
user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
1k views

When I move away from an enemy I am flanking and trigger an opportunity attack, do I have advantage on my attack from the Riposte maneuver?

I am playing a Rogue who is planning on dipping 1-5 levels into fighter. If I get to level 3 of Fighter, I will take the Battle Master archetype and take the Parry, Riposte and Feinting attack ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
271 views

What are the rules for rebinding the suddenly freed arm of a bound prisoner to prevent them from attacking?

As DM, I am working on a scenario where a lich is bound and gagged but, unexpectedly during combat, the binding loops on one arm are broken and one of the lich's arms gets free. The adventure is a ...
user avatar
  • 11.6k
10 votes
1 answer
495 views

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver before he throws a net?

A long time ago, I had asked this question about whether a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack can do a Commander's Strike after he throws a net. It got answered in the negative (you can't give ...
user avatar
  • 27.8k
7 votes
2 answers
400 views

Can you negate disadvantage on throwing a net by using the Lunging Attack maneuver of the Battle Master fighter?

The Battle Master fighter's Lunging Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74) increases reach of a weapon by 5 feet. Could you choose to increase the short range of the net from 5 feet to 10 feet? This would allow ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
445 views

Can I ready an action before combat, and then use it immediately after, or just before combat starts? [duplicate]

I'm aware that you can use an action in combat in order to ready a specific response to be performed as a reaction when a certain event triggers it. But what if I'm in a situation where combat hasn'...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
484 views

If I trip with a weapon do I add the Weapon Focus bonus to the trip attack roll?

Some special attacks such as Trip can be performed with weapons. Its text says: Some weapons can be used to make trip attacks. In this case, you make a melee touch attack with the weapon instead of ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
675 views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver be used to pull someone past you towards your allies?

I have a Battle Master Fighter with the Pushing Attack maneuver. It states that you can push someone 15 feet away from you. Would that include also behind you as well, since you would be pushing them ...
user avatar