Questions tagged [combat-maneuver]

For questions about combat maneuvers, which refer to any action in combat that may not directly result in damage but some other form of debilitation or advantage that allies can capitalize on.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
216 views

Does Blood in the Water work if I score a critical hit on something immune to critical hits?

Blood in the Water (Tome of Battle, p. 86) states: While you are in this stance, you whip yourself into a terrible rage. When you score a critical hit against an opponent, you enter a near frenzied ...
5
votes
1answer
193 views

How does the Overrun action work?

The action 'Overrun' is described in the DMG p. 272 as: When a creature tries to move through a hostile creature's space, the mover can try to force its way through by overrunning the hostile ...
5
votes
1answer
198 views

How does the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver interact with ranged weapons?

I want to create a Battle Master fighter who uses a crossbow as his main weapon. By RAW, you can use a Battle Master maneuver with a ranged weapon as long as the description does not say the ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Using archery with fighter maneuvers

I was looking through the list of fighter battle master maneuvers, and I noticed that most of the maneuvers say 'a weapon attack' and not 'a melee weapon attack'. For example Disarming Attack only ...
2
votes
1answer
111 views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when both the user and ally are still within the grappler's range?

This question is based on this one: What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach? The Unearthed ...
5
votes
1answer
166 views

Can an Abjuration wizard with the Martial Adept feat use the Parry maneuver before their Arcane Ward absorbs damage?

If a Wizard of the School of Abjuration takes the Martial Adept feat and chooses the Parry combat maneuver, how will it interact with their Arcane Ward? Can the Wizard parry and reduce the need for ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

How should I handle a player attacking from the top of a tree?

There is a player in my group whose character is developed around staying in trees, climbling, Athletics, Acrobatics, and such. He likes to climb trees and then leap down onto enemies from the tree ...
7
votes
1answer
994 views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach?

The recent Unearthed Arcana Class Feature Variants includes the Bait and Switch fighter maneuver (page 5), which states: When you’re within 5 feet of an ally on your turn, you can expend one ...
-1
votes
2answers
170 views

What are the ramifications of making the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver no longer require the Attack action?

The Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver (PHB, p. 74) states: When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one of ...
10
votes
1answer
909 views

When two-weapon fighting, can a Battle Master fighter use a maneuver on the Attack action and another on the bonus-action attack?

The Battle Master fighter's Combat Superiority feature states that “you can use only one maneuver per attack” (PHB 73), but I’m unsure how that applies in the case of two-weapon fighting. Is ...
9
votes
1answer
337 views

When I move away from an enemy I am flanking and trigger an opportunity attack, do I have advantage on my attack from the Riposte maneuver?

I am playing a Rogue who is planning on dipping 1-5 levels into fighter. If I get to level 3 of Fighter, I will take the Battle Master archetype and take the Parry, Riposte and Feinting attack ...
3
votes
2answers
247 views

What are the rules for rebinding the suddenly freed arm of a bound prisoner to prevent them from attacking?

As DM, I am working on a scenario where a lich is bound and gagged but, unexpectedly during combat, the binding loops on one arm are broken and one of the lich's arms gets free. The adventure is a ...
9
votes
1answer
353 views

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver before he throws a net?

A long time ago, I had asked this question about whether a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack can do a Commander's Strike after he throws a net. It got answered in the negative (you can't give ...
17
votes
5answers
1k views

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver after he throws a net?

When a character uses the Attack action to throw a net, he can only make one attack, regardless of the number of attacks he normally has (ex: 2 from the Level 5 Fighter's Extra Attack). A Battle ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Is the damage of a Battle Master fighter's Sweeping Attack maneuver doubled on a crit to the 2nd target?

Battle Master fighters have the Sweeping Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74), which lets the user use a superiority die to hit another nearby target. If the original attack roll would have hit the second ...
13
votes
5answers
8k views

Can someone immediately pick up their weapon after being disarmed by the Battle Master fighter's Disarming Attack maneuver?

The Battle Master fighter's Disarming Attack maneuver can make someone drop a weapon at their feet. The only advantage is if others want to dash away or you need to remove a reaction parry from the ...
6
votes
2answers
251 views

Can you negate disadvantage on throwing a net by using the Lunging Attack maneuver of the Battle Master fighter?

The Battle Master fighter's Lunging Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74) increases reach of a weapon by 5 feet. Could you choose to increase the short range of the net from 5 feet to 10 feet? This would allow ...
2
votes
1answer
154 views

Can I ready an action before combat, and then use it immediately after, or just before combat starts? [duplicate]

I'm aware that you can use an action in combat in order to ready a specific response to be performed as a reaction when a certain event triggers it. But what if I'm in a situation where combat hasn'...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you trip someone if you have no free hands?

I'm building a Fighter for shield fighting and tripping attempts. The trip section of the SRD specifically states that you must take an unarmed melee touch attack against your target. If I have both ...
0
votes
1answer
114 views

If I trip with a weapon do I add the Weapon Focus bonus to the trip attack roll?

Some special attacks such as Trip can be performed with weapons. Its text says: Some weapons can be used to make trip attacks. In this case, you make a melee touch attack with the weapon instead of ...
37
votes
4answers
64k views

Is an Unarmed Strike considered a Weapon attack?

For the purposes of the fighter Battle Master archetype, whenever a maneuver calls for a "weapon attack" does that include an unarmed strike?
4
votes
1answer
324 views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Pushing Attack maneuver be used to pull someone past you towards your allies?

I have a Battle Master Fighter with the Pushing Attack maneuver. It states that you can push someone 15 feet away from you. Would that include also behind you as well, since you would be pushing them ...
5
votes
1answer
455 views

Can the Conjure Barrage spell stack with the Disarming Attack or Trip Attack Battle Master maneuvers?

I'm new to D&D 5e. I was thinking that someone with the Martial Adept feat (which gives them 2 of the Battle Master fighter's combat maneuvers) could use their superiority die to make a thrown ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the point of the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver?

This is a followup to: How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver last? What is the point of the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver? If ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a character shove an enemy who is already prone?

Imagine a 5th level fighter, Battle Master archetype. He uses the Trip Attack maneuver with the first attack of his Attack action and knocks the enemy prone. With his second attack, he hits the ...
-7
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a Battle Master fighter continue to use maneuvers after they have spent all their superiority dice?

Can a Battle Master fighter continue to use their maneuvers after spending all of their superiority dice? Or can they not do any more maneuvers until they finish a short or long rest?
2
votes
0answers
61 views

Battlemasters strikes clarification [duplicate]

In the Player's Handbook for DND 5e some of the maneuvers (distracting, disarming, menancing strike etc.) for the battlemaster fighter have this writen at the start: When you hit a creature with a ...
1
vote
1answer
82 views

Interactions between Reposition and Trip Maneuvers when making both with a Flowing Monk's Reposition

This question about the Flowing Monk's Redirection already lightens the mechanic when one combat maneuver is used. However the order of the actions and their interactions remains ambiguous to me when, ...
8
votes
6answers
478 views

How can I adjudicate one character attemping to jump off a party member's shield at the enemy?

Last session, two of the members from my table attempted to make a combo together! I love when people contribute to the story, especially if it's going to be something epic like this situation, but I ...
14
votes
1answer
771 views

Is there a way for a Battle Master to swap out maneuvers without taking more fighter levels?

I currently have an Ancestral Guardian barbarian 8 / Battle Master fighter 3. Some of the maneuvers I selected earlier in this character's career aren't working out as well in Tier 3. Battle Master ...
7
votes
3answers
547 views

When do I use the “Brace” special weapon feature?

I have a question regarding the weapon feature "Brace". Some weapons have the special weapon feature "Brace", for example a simple spear How to use it (how I understand it) On your turn, you take ...
5
votes
1answer
70 views

Is the Wall of Blades maneuver affected by AC penalties?

Do AC penalties (and bonuses, for that matter) apply to the Wall of Blades manuever? Bob the martial adept has prepared Wall of Blades this morning. He also acquired Shocktrooper last week. Bob's ...
1
vote
3answers
196 views

Trox's Grabbing appendages

Can a Trox, which is a large monstrous humanoid, use his grabbing appendages to grab another large creature, all the while beign able to swing his weapon; or if using his grabbing appendages, against ...
2
votes
1answer
837 views

How much damage would be appropriate for a creature pushed into a wall to take?

In our current D&D 5e game, one of the players created a Variant Human Monk that gains one feat in exchange of only having two ability score increases. The player chose the Martial Adept feat, ...
12
votes
1answer
196 views

Is the combat system in Fireborn unbalanced in favor of defenders?

I was hoping someone could help me with understanding the Fireborn combat mechanics, or optionally has a better way to explain and implement it in a less confusing way. The way the system is ...
4
votes
2answers
371 views

Can the bonus action attack from Polearm Master be used to Disarm?

Polearm Master (PHB p. 168) gives you the ability to situationally make a bonus action attack: When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, or quarterstaff, you can use a ...
4
votes
2answers
131 views

How to resolve an overrun attempt from a large creature into 2 medium sized creature?

Let's take for example an Ogre in a 10' wide corridor facing two fighters side by side in front of him. The ogre wants to perform an overrun attempt to pass over the two fighters and get to the ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Can the Pushing Attack Maneuver push someone upwards?

The Battle Master's Pushing Attack can push the target up to 15 ft away from the user if the target fails their save. Ordinarily, this would mean the target is driven back 15 feet away on the ground, ...
5
votes
4answers
16k views

How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver last?

I have the feeling that the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver is extremely powerful even without getting really creative. How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter'...
11
votes
1answer
9k views

Does a Critical Hit when tripping also double the Superiority die? [duplicate]

During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. After he made the critical hit, he wanted to use a superiority die to trip the enemy. Based on the below rules, is the superiority die also ...
3
votes
1answer
346 views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver be used on a mount from the Find Steed spell?

Assume a player character has 5 levels in Paladin and 5 levels in fighter (Battle Master). The character casts find steed and summons a war horse and mounts it. During their turn in combat, the ...
6
votes
2answers
420 views

Is there a combat style that works with disarming opponents?

I am currently playing a brawler that just reached 3rd level. I am playing him as an unarmed strike, disarm combat maneuver specialist. I know that is somewhat limiting, especially in regards to ...
1
vote
2answers
192 views

Would a character that disarmed an opponent be able to pick up the dropped weapon from the opponent's space?

There are various options that let you make your enemy drop a held object (for example, the "Disarm attack option"). Would a character that just disarmed an opponent be able to pick up the dropped ...
10
votes
1answer
6k views

Is this how to overrun?

Below is a summary of the combat maneuver overrun. After checking that for accuracy, I have a few questions. Overrun A creature can attempt an overrun combat maneuver under the following conditions: ...
3
votes
2answers
140 views

After an unarmed creature disarms a foe, can the creature keep the weapon?

I'm playing a brawler who uses unarmed strikes and who specializes in disarming foes. Can an unarmed brawler retain a weapon after he disarms an opponent since his hands are free when he makes the ...
13
votes
4answers
7k views

When is the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver worth it?

I have been playing a Fighter with the Battle Master archetype (PHB, p. 73-74), and most of my companions in my party are new to the game. I was trying to play a supportive-type character, even if I'm ...
15
votes
3answers
6k views

Can a Battle Master fighter apply the Feinting Attack and Trip Attack maneuvers to the same attack roll?

Battle Master fighters (PHB, p. 73-74) can apply a number of maneuvers to their attacks, including Feinting Attack and Trip Attack. Feinting Attack is a bonus action and uses one manoeuvre here, ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Precision Attack be added to an attack roll after an enemy uses Shield as a reaction to that attack roll?

Can The battle master maneuver Precision Attack be used after his enemy casts the shield spell as a reaction to the battle master's initial die roll? This happened during a game. It didn't occur to me ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Hexblade warlock/Battle Master fighter use Armor of Hexes to make an attack miss, then use Riposte to attack after the enemy misses?

My DM allowed me to create a tabaxi warlock/fighter, taking three levels in Battle Master fighter before my character's nature of curiosity led me into a pact with the Hexblade warlock patron. I now ...
18
votes
3answers
2k views

Why does 'Disarm' seem so trivial?

I was reading a closed question that proposed different rulings on Disarm, and it leads me to ask a proper question about the disarming abilities in 5th Edition. The Battle Master maneuver Disarming ...