Questions tagged [combat-maneuver]

For questions about combat maneuvers, which refer to any martial action in combat that may not directly result in damage but some other form of debilitation or advantage that allies can capitalize on.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
46
votes
4answers
97k views

Is an Unarmed Strike considered a Weapon attack?

For the purposes of the fighter Battle Master archetype, whenever a maneuver calls for a "weapon attack" does that include an unarmed strike?
10
votes
1answer
7k views

Is this how to overrun?

Below is a summary of the combat maneuver overrun. After checking that for accuracy, I have a few questions. Overrun A creature can attempt an overrun combat maneuver under the following conditions: ...
13
votes
1answer
13k views

When a Battle Master fighter gets a critical hit and uses a maneuver that adds a superiority die to the damage, is that damage die doubled?

The Battle Master fighter has access to a number of maneuvers that add a superiority die to the damage roll. For instance, the Trip Attack maneuver says (PHB, p. 74): When you hit a creature with a ...
19
votes
5answers
9k views

Can I “shove” with a reach weapon?

I'm trying to determine how the shove Attack action and Reach weapons interact. In particular, can you use shove on a creature 10' away? The shove description says: Using the Attack action, you can ...
10
votes
4answers
8k views

Is “Shove” an attack?

This question is prompted by reading this answer to a question about using the Polearm Master feat's bonus action after a Shove and halberd Attack In the section "Making an Attack" (PHB, page 194): ...
5
votes
1answer
660 views

Is a Trip still considered successful even if the target is already prone?

I already know that using trip as an AoO against a foe while they're trying to stand up doesn't cancel their standing-up action, they still make it to their feet. However, Greater Trip permits an AoO ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Precision Attack be added to an attack roll after an enemy uses Shield as a reaction to that attack roll?

Can The battle master maneuver Precision Attack be used after his enemy casts the shield spell as a reaction to the battle master's initial die roll? This happened during a game. It didn't occur to me ...
22
votes
5answers
3k views

How to design and run cinematic combats that move between zones?

I've been running D&D for a few years now, and I just want a little more from my combats. I've already got a very solid handle on designing environments to make combat more dynamic, but what I can'...
19
votes
3answers
2k views

Why does 'Disarm' seem so trivial?

I was reading a closed question that proposed different rulings on Disarm, and it leads me to ask a proper question about the disarming abilities in 5th Edition. The Battle Master maneuver Disarming ...
18
votes
5answers
2k views

Can a Battle Master fighter with Extra Attack use the Commander's Strike maneuver after he throws a net?

When a character uses the Attack action to throw a net, he can only make one attack, regardless of the number of attacks he normally has (ex: 2 from the Level 5 Fighter's Extra Attack). A Battle ...
12
votes
3answers
21k views

Does Sentinel's opportunity attack trigger when I shove someone? [duplicate]

Alright, so me and my pal are working through making a 5e fighty Cleric. He wants to take the Sentinel and Shield Master feats. Sentinel and Shield Master's relevant parts read: Sentinel You have ...
9
votes
1answer
7k views

How does a Battle Master's Parry work with multiple damage types? [duplicate]

Suppose an attack does 5 piercing and 5 poison damage (or 5 slashing and 5 fire, etc.) and the player parries the attack, and rolls to reduce 6 points of damage. Which type of damage is reduced first?...
8
votes
4answers
22k views

How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver last?

I have the feeling that the Battle Master fighter's Evasive Footwork maneuver is extremely powerful even without getting really creative. How long does the AC increase from the Battle Master fighter'...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Chaining up a creature in combat

Can you use chains to chain up a creature in the middle of combat? (What if it becomes stunned or paralyzed for a round? - Would this be enough time?). What would the creatures condition be afterwards?...
28
votes
5answers
5k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

Is the damage of a Battle Master fighter's Sweeping Attack maneuver doubled on a crit to the 2nd target?

Battle Master fighters have the Sweeping Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74), which lets the user use a superiority die to hit another nearby target. If the original attack roll would have hit the second ...
6
votes
1answer
6k views

Can the Pushing Attack Maneuver push someone upwards?

The Battle Master's Pushing Attack can push the target up to 15 ft away from the user if the target fails their save. Ordinarily, this would mean the target is driven back 15 feet away on the ground, ...
1
vote
3answers
4k views

How do attack bonuses affect special attacks with combat maneuvers?

In Pathfinder, certain creatures have special attacks that allow them a free combat maneuver when they succeed on an attack with one of their natural weapons. The abilities I had in mind are grab and ...
29
votes
5answers
126k views

Does D&D 5e lack a general disarm rule?

I get from the PHB that there is no general rule for disarming an opponent but only a specific rule for Battle Master fighters. Can we assume that other classes (even other fighters subclasses) lack ...
13
votes
5answers
11k views

Can someone immediately pick up their weapon after being disarmed by the Battle Master fighter's Disarming Attack maneuver?

The Battle Master fighter's Disarming Attack maneuver can make someone drop a weapon at their feet. The only advantage is if others want to dash away or you need to remove a reaction parry from the ...
18
votes
3answers
15k views

Use of Mage Hand during combat to gain advantage?

In the Lost Mine of Phandelver adventure module, our party (consisting of three second-level PCs, a fighter, wizard, and cleric, with me DMing) was fighting a singular ogre. We had already taken some ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a character shove an enemy who is already prone?

Imagine a 5th level fighter, Battle Master archetype. He uses the Trip Attack maneuver with the first attack of his Attack action and knocks the enemy prone. With his second attack, he hits the ...
14
votes
2answers
18k views

Can more than one Battle Master maneuver be used in the same attack?

Some of the battle master maneuvers can be used whenever you make a weapon attack. My question is, could I use multiple superiority dice and do multiple maneuvers with a single strike?
13
votes
4answers
10k views

When is the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver worth it?

I have been playing a Fighter with the Battle Master archetype (PHB, p. 73-74), and most of my companions in my party are new to the game. I was trying to play a supportive-type character, even if I'm ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Using archery with fighter maneuvers

I was looking through the list of fighter battle master maneuvers, and I noticed that most of the maneuvers say 'a weapon attack' and not 'a melee weapon attack'. For example Disarming Attack only ...
10
votes
2answers
884 views

Does Blood in the Water work if I score a critical hit on something immune to critical hits?

Blood in the Water (Tome of Battle, p. 86) states: While you are in this stance, you whip yourself into a terrible rage. When you score a critical hit against an opponent, you enter a near frenzied ...
13
votes
3answers
16k views

Can a Battle Master fighter use the Commander's Strike maneuver when they only have one attack?

Battle Master fighters can choose the Commander's Strike maneuver option (PHB, p. 74): When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct ...
13
votes
2answers
9k views

Battle Master fighter's Trip Attack when the target is already dead from the regular hit?

The Battle Master fighter has the Trip Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74): When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to knock the target down. You add ...
11
votes
5answers
4k views

Mechanically, how well would pocket sand work?

One of my players used the legendary pocket sand, grabbing some debris out of his knapsack and throwing it into the eyes of a couple enemies blocking his escape. His intent was to run past them while ...
10
votes
3answers
859 views

Can I Trip or Disarm with the extra attack provided by the Snap Kick feat?

Snap Kick1 gives you an extra attack when performing an attack action. Improved Trip2 and Improved Disarm3 require an attack4, 5 to begin their special attack option. Does the extra attack from Snap ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

When two-weapon fighting, can a Battle Master fighter use a maneuver on the Attack action and another on the bonus-action attack?

The Battle Master fighter's Combat Superiority feature states that “you can use only one maneuver per attack” (PHB 73), but I’m unsure how that applies in the case of two-weapon fighting. Is ...
9
votes
4answers
34k views

Does the Disarm action optional rule (DMG) make the Disarming Attack maneuver (Battle Master fighter) useless?

I would like an analysis of this with feedback. Does the Disarm combat option (DMG, p. 271) make the Disarming Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74) useless by being the better option? Here are the pros &...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a character with Extra Attack replace multiple attacks with Shoves as part of the same Attack action?

In the PHB, page 195, it is stated in the rules of shoving that: If you're able to make multiple attacks with the attack action, this attack replace one of them. Because of this, combined with ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach?

The recent Unearthed Arcana Class Feature Variants includes the Bait and Switch fighter maneuver (page 5), which states: When you’re within 5 feet of an ally on your turn, you can expend one ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can Battle Master maneuvers also apply to special attacks?

Battle Master maneuvers can give to-hit modifiers, attack advantages, damage bonuses and various effects to regular attacks. My question is : can they do the same for Shoves (trips & pushes) and ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

What's my initiator level for maneuvers from Martial Study?

I'm building a Warblade/Master of Nine using the rules in Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords. To qualify for MoN, I'm using the Martial Study feat to take maneuvers from disciplines that a Warblade ...
4
votes
2answers
5k views

Critical combat maneuver?

When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Combat maneuvers are apparently attacks, and rolls made to attempt a combat ...
4
votes
1answer
913 views

Preventing a coup de grace with an attack of opportunity

We recently had a situation where an enemy red mantis assassin was using his death attack on another player's character. (He first fascinates the target and can make a coup de grace later). My pc ...
2
votes
1answer
663 views

Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

My fighter took Superior Technique as Fighting Style. This gives me the the Combat Maneuver Brace, which says (emphasis mine): When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee ...
2
votes
1answer
790 views

Can I use a maneuver to meet the prerequisites for a martial stance, then swap out that maneuver later?

I'm a Warblade in the process of reaching level 6. I have one level 1 Diamond Mind maneuver. Is the following possible: For my level six feat, I want to take Martial Stance to attain the Diamond Mind ...
2
votes
1answer
392 views

What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when both the user and ally are still within the grappler's range?

This question is based on this one: What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a grappled ally when the maneuver-user is out of the grappling monster's reach? The Unearthed ...
1
vote
2answers
597 views

How does one spread attack damage across low hit point creatures with a level 3 fighter?

We are looking at an encounter where a dozen or more 2 hit point creatures may be attacking a party of max level 3. Assuming as a DM we decide against using the “Cleaving through Creatures” optional ...