Skip to main content

Questions tagged [concentration]

For questions about concentration mechanics in various RPGs.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
539 views

At what level does average incoming damage exceed 21?

I am looking towards concentration saves, and getting to +9 means automatic success on a low damage check, or a check up to 21 damage. At some point I assume the average single hit may exceed 21, ...
SeriousBri's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
4k views

Would a Lich/Wizard casting Globe of Invulnerability, Prismatic Wall, and Shield (as needed) be "invincible"?

In Dnd 5e, would casting Globe of Invulnerability at 8th level (concentration) on a surprise round, then Prismatic Wall (action) around the caster at the top of the next round, and Shield (Reaction) ...
Lemniscate's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
108 views

Can the damage taken from Blood Channeling cause you to lose concentration on the spell it's paying for?

The Blood Channeling feature of the Blood Magic Wizard from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: When casting a wizard spell that requires a costly material component, you can forego the ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Would raging break the concentration of a Wild Shaped Druid?

If you had a Druid/Barbarian multiclass would you be able to cast a spell such as Call Lightning that requires concentration, Wild Shape, and then rage without breaking concentration on the spell? ...
XenLight's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
216 views

Can you drop concentration on Delayed Blast Fireball as Dispel Magic is being cast on it? [duplicate]

Assume you cast Delayed Blast Fireball, another creature then casts Dispel Magic on it. Would you be able to end your concentration--causing it to explode--as it is being dispelled? If so, do you do ...
AnotherAnonymous's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
294 views

In Pathfinder 1e, does damage accumulate for the purpose of calculating Concentration Checks with Injury

Here is the scenario: A party has been giving chase to a spellcaster and corners them in an alley. Initiative is called for, and two archers in the party with higher initiative than the spellcaster ...
Tony Mosconi's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
368 views

Interaction between reaction attacks and concentration spells

I was considering the following scenario with a Wild Magic Sorcerer (this uses a houserule where the player chooses when to refresh Tides of Chaos ability) where they are targeted by a concentration ...
CookedTurtle's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you use Mage Hand to make a caster lose concentration?

Specifically, what I was thinking is, can you use Mage Hand to tickle an enemy caster to try to make them lose concentration, or would that be considered attacking them? Could that be called attacking,...
DMofDoom's user avatar
  • 315
2 votes
1 answer
134 views

Does a wizard need to read their spellbook to ritual cast from it? [duplicate]

The wizard spellcasting rules say... You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don't need to have the spell prepared. It ...
vonBoomslang's user avatar
  • 8,081
3 votes
2 answers
120 views

Ready an attack to disrupt spellcaster + attack of opportunity?

A player can ready an action to attack a spellcaster within their reach when they want to cast anything. And a player also gains an attack of opportunity if someone casts a spell within their reach, ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
968 views

Does a Wildfire Druid actually enter the unconscious condition when using Blazing Revival?

The 14th level Circle of Wildfire ability reads: If the spirit is within 120 feet of you when you are reduced to 0 hit points and thereby fall unconscious, you can cause the spirit to drop to 0 hit ...
RisingZan's user avatar
  • 724
20 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does Chain Lightning deal damage to its original target first?

When Chain Lightning deals damage, does it deal damage to all targets at once, or does it's original target takes damage first? I ask this question because after damage was taken concentration checks ...
Tylanderma's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the effect of Hypnotic Pattern persist after concentration is lost?

I have a question about the spell hypnotic pattern: if nobody attacks or shakes the creature, the creature stays in that condition for the duration even if the concentration is lost? The spell is ...
Humberto Treviño's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Would a magic item that lets you cast a spell (that normally requires concentration) without needing to concentrate on it be unbalanced?

I am designing some magic items and would like to add some abilities like the following to some of the items: While holding this item you may cast one of the following spells from it, using your ...
Anagkai's user avatar
  • 16.6k
5 votes
3 answers
402 views

When and how can targets be chosen for concentration spells such as Fly or Invisibility?

Spells like fly or invisibility have a casting time of 1 action and a range of touch. The spells are worded so that you touch a creature and they can either fly or become invisible with limits up to ...
Adoven's user avatar
  • 67
8 votes
1 answer
945 views

Can you maintain a spell from inside a leomund's tiny hut?

Specifically, if you were one of the creatures given permission to move in and out of the Hut, can you cast a concentration spell from outside the Hut, then step inside it and maintain concentration?
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,543
2 votes
0 answers
88 views

Is there a way to maintain two concentration spells? [duplicate]

Assuming I play a high-level Wizard in D&D 5, with access to magic items and most of the published content. Is there a way for me to maintain two spells that normally both require concentration at ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
  • 21.2k
30 votes
5 answers
2k views

How many concentration saving throws does a spellcaster moving through Spike Growth need to make?

The Spike Growth spell states that When a creature moves into or within the area, it takes 2d4 piercing damage for every 5 feet it travels. Say, the creature is also concentrating on a spell, and it ...
Pumpkinjo's user avatar
  • 732
9 votes
3 answers
621 views

Concentration and attacks with special effects

A Cleric that is concentrating on a Bless spell is hit by a Mummy Lord's Rotting Fist. The Cleric takes the damage (14 bludgeoning + 21 necrotic on average). Rotting Fist has a second effect: If the ...
Christos Arapidis's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
449 views

Can I keep concentration on a spell and an ability that works like concentration? [duplicate]

I'm playing a ranger with the astral drifter background. The background gives me the magic initiate feat and I took hex, a concentration spell. The ranger has the optional feature of favored foe that ...
TurtleTail's user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
3k views

If a sentient item such as Blackrazor maintains concentration on a spell but does not have a Constitution score, can its concentration be broken?

Some sentient items in D&D have spellcasting capabilities. For example, the description of the sentient magic greatsword Blackrazor says (DMG, p. 217): Blackrazor can cast the haste spell on you ...
Matthew Perryman's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does a spell caster need to hold onto their arcane focus when concentrating on a spell?

The long-short of it is that I want to use the maneuver Disarming Attack to make a mage drop their arcane focus. While I know this will delay their spell casting (as it requires an action to pick up ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,398
8 votes
1 answer
972 views

Countering a concentration spell while concentrating on darkness

I had a recent rules argument with a couple of fellow players during a spellcasting tournament. I'm a warlock/monk with the concentration spells silence and darkness, as well as the devil's sight ...
Tylanderma's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is Divine Smite part of a weapons damage, when you calculate damage for the Concentration save DC?

I was just wondering...when a paladin divine smites, is that part of the damage DC counted for rolling to see if you maintain a spell?
Morthanal's user avatar
  • 493
18 votes
5 answers
5k views

Could the spell Command make a target drop concentration?

The fighter/warlock in our party tried to make a creature drop concentration with Command, by saying "stop". The target was not an enemy. Whether stopping concentrating would be harmful to ...
Vadruk's user avatar
  • 10.1k
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Stars Druid Dragon form and Polymorph [duplicate]

A Circle of Stars druid can transform into a starry form with a choice of three constellations, including Dragon, which helps concentration. If the druid is in Dragon constellation and then cast ...
CWallach's user avatar
  • 1,594
24 votes
6 answers
7k views

Why shouldn't one make changes to concentration in homebrew?

It's not hard to find homebrew-review questions on this site that propose changes to how concentration works. Every time I have proposed such a homebrew, regardless of how limited the change to ...
nben's user avatar
  • 2,685
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Concentration while in Gaseous Form

Ordinarily a concentration spell would end the moment you are incapacitated. However, Gaseous Form, while being a concentration spell, has the text "The target can't fall and remains hovering in ...
Glen_b's user avatar
  • 2,178
6 votes
1 answer
570 views

Are there any guides or examples how to apply D&D 5e's concentration mechanic to 3.5e?

3.5e's quadratic wizard quickly outpaces mundane characters in power as buff spells stack up in later levels. 5e seems to have addressed that aspect of magic power creep with concentration. How would ...
Mattamue's user avatar
  • 930
15 votes
1 answer
1k views

When readying an action to cast a spell from a magic item, do you have to maintain concentration as though you were readying the Cast a Spell action?

Typically, when using the Ready action to cast a spell, the following rule applies (emphasis mine): When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does a Shield Guardian concentrate on the stored spells it casts?

The party evoker obtained the shield guardian and amulet available in the published adventure and is considering storing the Greater Invisibility spell in the guardian, with instructions to cast it ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 53.6k
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

If a Wildfire druid uses the Enhanced Bond feature to cast a concentration spell through their spirit, who maintains concentration on the spell?

The Circle of Wildfire druid gains the Enhanced Bond feature at 6th level. The feature description states, in part (TCoE, p. 39): In addition, when you cast a spell with a range other than self, the ...
Robi-Juan McKennobi's user avatar
22 votes
3 answers
9k views

Approximately how much damage should a concentration spell do each round to be balanced against instantaneous damage spells?

The DMG (p. 283) provides a table for approximate damage for single target and multiple target spells by level: Spell Level One Target Multiple Targets Cantrip 1d10 1d6 1st 2d10 2d6 2nd 3d10 4d6 ...
RedGeomancer's user avatar
  • 6,815
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

What happens when Witch Bolt misses?

According to the Witch Bolt spell description: Make a ranged spell attack against that creature. On a hit, the target takes 1d12 lightning damage, and on each of your turns for the duration, you can ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.3k
15 votes
1 answer
12k views

Does being stunned interrupt concentration?

Fairly simple question but I can't seem to find an answer to it. If a creature is concentrating on a spell and then becomes stunned, does their concentration on that spell end?
greenmaster's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Double Spirit Shroud with Death Domain

The ability from the Death Domain Cleric is Improved Reaper: Starting at 17th level, when you cast a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead ...
Espe's user avatar
  • 722
15 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does Mind Sliver's saving throw penalty apply to Concentration saves from its own damage?

Mind Sliver (Tasha's Cauldron of Everything p.108) says: The target must succeed on an Intelligence saving throw or take 1d6 psychic damage and subtract 1d4 from the next saving throw it makes before ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 53.6k
2 votes
1 answer
400 views

Is a forced Concentration save a spell effect of a damage-dealing spell?

In our last session the party was ambushed by kobolds, and I included a trio of kobold scale sorcerers, a monster I have not used before. The scale sorcerers have the ability Heightened Spell, which ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 53.6k
12 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do the spells from the drow commander's magic bolts in "Against the Giants" (from "Tales from the Yawning Portal") require concentration?

In Tales from the Yawning Portal (p. 209), in area 20 of the Hall of the Fire Giant King (in Chapter 6: Against the Giants), there's a variant drow elite warrior who is mentioned as a commander, and ...
field158's user avatar
  • 1,949
3 votes
1 answer
255 views

Wall of Fire - Do you end your turn near the wall if you damage the player that cast it and they lose concentration and the spell ends?

Player 1 casts Wall of Fire. Enemy 1 is within 10 feet and fails their DEX save and takes the fire damage. On Enemy 1's next turn they attack and damage Player 1 who fails the CON save to maintain ...
Paladin54 's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
54 views

Does the potion of clairvoyance require concentration? [duplicate]

The potion of clairvoyance says: When you drink this potion, you gain the effect of the clairvoyance spell. This is different than the potion of gaseous form and others: When you drink this potion, ...
Codex's user avatar
  • 394
1 vote
1 answer
412 views

Do the effects of spells granted by items require concentration? [duplicate]

Casting or duplicating an entire spell from an item requires concentration; this makes sense, no confusion there. However, concentration for gaining or duplicating the effect of a spell that normally ...
Codex's user avatar
  • 394
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can one use Witch Bolt to prevent spell casting?

Witch bolt seems to have a bad rap. One difference I see between witch bolt and other spells is that it is sustained/continued/ongoing damage. If I spam a spell caster with fire bolts, magic missiles ...
Lurker's user avatar
  • 109
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Do Spell-Like Abilities Require Concentration Checks?

I was wondering, for spell-like abilities, do you need to make concentration checks to cast defensively, if damaged while casting, etc? Or is none of that necessary, since they technically aren't ...
Gelleck's user avatar
  • 387
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does the ranger's Favored Foe optional class feature interact with the Hail of Thorns spell?

Suppose I'm a ranger using the variant rules in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, specifically the Favored Foe optional class feature. I'm concentrating on the Hail of Thorns spell, and I hit a creature ...
Peter Chaplin's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
184 views

Mind spike while concentrating in another spell [duplicate]

The warlock in my party is planning to learn Shadow blade and Mind spike spells (both require concentration). As far I know, you lose your concentration in a given spell if you cast another spell that ...
Averroes's user avatar
  • 859
9 votes
2 answers
699 views

Does the blindness inflicted by the Wall of Light spell last for 1 minute even if concentration on the spell ends?

The wall of light spell states: When the wall appears, each creature in its area must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 4d8 radiant damage, and it is blinded for 1 ...
user55434's user avatar
  • 2,992
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you (continue to) concentrate on a spell that never had any of its effects take hold?

I have previously asked the following question: Is there any reason to concentrate on the Thunderous Smite spell after using its effects? And my current question is inspired by that and the ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.5k
27 votes
1 answer
3k views

Should casting Confusion centered on yourself from Wild Magic Surge be trivial to end because it's a concentration spell?

The entry for a roll of 13 or 14 on the Wild Magic Surge table is: You cast confusion centered on yourself. (PHB, emphasis mine) Confusion is a 4th level concentration spell. The rules for ...
DqwertyC's user avatar
  • 585
6 votes
0 answers
74 views

If I want to affect a creature with a concentration spell and it succeeds its save, do I notice my concentration failing? [duplicate]

I'm a fairly new DM, and I've run into a problem. One of my players tried to cast Modify Memory on a golem. Golems are immune to being charmed, but Modify Memory doesn't say creatures immune to charm ...
Sashkata.Kostov's user avatar

1
2 3 4 5