Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [concentration]

For questions about concentration mechanics in various RPGs.

19
votes
3answers
1k views

If a character has cast the Fly spell on themselves, can they “hand off” to the Levitate spell without interruption?

Suppose a character has cast fly on themselves, and wishes to switch to levitate to prevent themselves from taking fall damage if they lose concentration. What happens if they cast levitate while in ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

If I readied a spell with the trigger “When I take damage”, do I have to make a constitution saving throw to avoid losing Concentration?

Suppose I was playing a wizard. I say to my DM, "I ready my Magic Missile. I cast it when I take damage, at the attacker." When the time comes, do I need to make a Constitution saving throw ...
6
votes
1answer
233 views

How would the UA Theurgy wizard's Channel Arcana: Divine Arcana feature work for a concentration spell?

The UA Theurgy Wizard can the apply their Divine Arcana Channel Arcana option to grant themselves a +2 to the attack roll or spell save throw DC of a spell. If they apply Divine Arcana to a ...
3
votes
1answer
197 views

Is dropping concentration on a spell considered “affecting a creature” for the purpose of the Blink spell?

While under the effects of Blink and on the Ethereal Plane, can you drop a concentration spell to affect a creature on the Material Plane? The description of Blink says, "You can only affect and be ...
3
votes
1answer
109 views

What happens to Concentration spells while Blinking? [duplicate]

I regularly see blink praised as a particularly good defensive third-level spell because, unlike many spells with persistent effects, it does not require concentration. It does, however, state that "...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you lasso down a wizard who is using the Levitate spell?

My character is a Level 3 wizard who used the levitate spell on herself to avoid some ground enemies. Since she is able to use non-concentration spells during its duration, the DM began to think up ...
10
votes
1answer
241 views

Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object?

Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object? Or would doing so break your concentration on the spell?
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a caster that cast Polymorph on themselves stop concentrating at any point even if their Int is low?

I was playing a moon druid and cast the polymorph spell on myself, changing me into a T-Rex, which caused my Int to become 2 and my Wis 12. I realized my targets had immunity to non-magical damage ...
4
votes
1answer
73 views

How do Concentration checks interact with damage that is not lethal damage?

Odd question came up in a game today and that was how is a concentration check affected by damage that is not lethal damage. So these other sources are non-lethal damage, ability score damage, and ...
3
votes
1answer
366 views

Any way to have 2 concentration spells active? [duplicate]

Is there any spell, item, or skill that allows a caster to maintain 2 concentration spells active at same time?
23
votes
1answer
1k views

Can elves maintain concentration in a trance?

Following the question Must 5e elves take a long rest? and LegendaryDude's suggestion, I wanted to further elaborate on the benefits elvish trance has while adventuring. In the PHB 5e, there's a note ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Dispel Magic work against Stoneskin?

Take a spell like Stoneskin. One of my BBEGs (I'm a DM) cast Stoneskin on themselves to maximize their tanking capabilities. Our party wizard asked about Dispel Magic, and if it could be used to ...
21
votes
3answers
2k views

If Invisibility ends because the original caster casts a non-concentration spell, does Invisibility also end on other targets of the original casting?

A bit of a 'What-If' situation has cropped up in our group. Nothing that has caused any table drama, mainly something that has been noticed by some, and debated at the table off-line and casually, but ...
4
votes
1answer
241 views

What are you allowed to do while using the Warlock's Eldritch Master feature?

One of my Warlocks has taken an interesting turn... After casting a spell that required concentration, he used his Eldritch Master feature. Next turn, he cast Eldritch Blast. This series of turns ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

What are the issues with an additional (limited) concentration slot instead of Bladesong?

My DM is frustrated with balancing encounters with my high AC as a Bladesinger and wants to make a modification for a more kiting/spell-heavy playstyle. The version of Bladesong my DM is looking to ...
6
votes
1answer
516 views

Does Planar Binding require you to keep concentrating on the summoning spell?

Planar binding states: With this spell, you attempt to bind a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend to your service. The creature must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. [......
4
votes
1answer
118 views

When do you detect the presence of evil when using Detect Evil?

Detect Evil Concentration Its my understanding that you only get the benefits (1st rnd detect presence, 2nd rnd # of auras, etc) of Detect Evil when you concentrate on the spell, not just cast it. ...
2
votes
1answer
168 views

Can I cast guidance immediately before a check and keep Hex active? [duplicate]

I am currently playing a Warlock and I am going to take the tome pact boon. I know you cannot be concentrating on two spells at once but if I am concentrating on Hex and I cast guidance immediately ...
33
votes
4answers
2k views

Does a concentrating caster damaged by Ice Knife require 2 concentration checks?

Does a concentrating caster hit by Ice Knife require 2 concentration checks? As the ice knife can to damage in two separate ways, with one defined to happen after the other, would a caster damaged ...
28
votes
4answers
3k views

When exactly can a caster stop concentrating on a spell?

From the Basic Rules section on Concentration: Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends. If a spell ...
8
votes
4answers
1k views

Is there no way for a lone caster to planar bind a demon/devil with the Xanathar's spells?

Is there no way for a lone caster to planar bind a demon/devil with the Xanathar's spells? I refer specifically to the spells infernal calling and summon greater demon. Unlike the conjure elemental ...
11
votes
1answer
816 views

Does the Fade Away gnome racial feat require concentration?

Does the invisibility that the Fade Away racial feat (for gnomes) grants require concentration or would using it drop any spells the user is currently concentrating on? The wording doesn't ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

How can my wizard cast Levitate, Invisibility and Magic Weapon and have them all active at the same time before a battle? [duplicate]

As I understand the Fifth Edition rules, my player character may only have one spell that requires concentration active and in place at a time. Levitate, invisibility, and magic weapon all require ...
2
votes
1answer
237 views

Can you maintain concentration on a spell if you put the target of that spell in a Bag of Holding?

I’m playing an 6th level Artificer 2 / Bard 4 who took the Bag of Holding at 2nd level. If I cast silence on my Thunder Cannon and place it in the bag of holding, am I able to maintain concentration ...
7
votes
1answer
232 views

Does Supernatural Defense assist your saving throws to maintain concentration?

Supernatural Defense, the level 7 Monster Slayer ranger feature (XGtE, p. 43), states that, if the target of your Slayer's Prey forces you to make a saving throw, you may add 1d6 to your roll. If you ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Can monsters using innate spellcasting have their concentration broken?

In our game the other night, I cast hypnotic pattern on a genie that had cast gaseous form on himself, and he failed the Wisdom save. The DM ruled that he stayed in gaseous form while incapacitated. ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

What are the impacts of permitting casters to concentrate on 2 spells?

A common lament at tables I play at from players is often the inherent limitation on being able to maintain concentration on only one spell at a time. This doesn't just come from casters, but also ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a character maintain concentration on a readied spell after being affected by the Feeblemind spell?

A caster T readies a spell on their turn, then an enemy caster E targets them with feeblemind. T passes the Constitution save against the 4d6 psychic damage to maintain concentration, but fails the ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you Ready a Concentration spell?

The rules on Readying a spell are as follows (PHB, p. 193, bold added) When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Does it take effort/concentration to look through the eyes of a familiar?

More specifically, would I be able to keep watch through the eyes of a familiar, and still get credit for a short rest? Or a long rest?
3
votes
1answer
286 views

Would a Contingencied Banishment protect against a triggering spell?

Let's say Bob the Wizard is afraid of meteor swarms, and uses contingency to set up a banishment spell with the following trigger: "If someone casts a meteor swarm in an area that includes me, cast ...
23
votes
5answers
16k views

Does the Resilient (Con) feat or the War Caster feat most improve the chances of maintaining concentration?

The Resilient feat (PHB, p. 168) allows you to increase one ability score by 1 and gain proficiency in saving throws using the corresponding ability. In essence, taking the Resilient feat and picking ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

If I use Wish to duplicate a concentration spell, does it still require concentration?

The wish spell can (among other things): duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes ...
12
votes
2answers
976 views

Does a multiattack count as a single source of damage?

The rules for maintaining concentration on spells after getting hit state that: If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon’s breath, you make a separate saving throw ...
-1
votes
2answers
183 views

Does a Wall of Force block concentration on a spell?

If a spell was cast on a recipient prior to the wall of force being brought into existence, and that recipient was then on the other side of the wall from the caster, does wall of force prevent ...
3
votes
0answers
81 views

If a character casts a spell requiring concentration, do they know when it is no longer doing anything? [duplicate]

A cleric casts bane on 3 orcs. Two make their saving throw. RAW, the cleric does not know which orc was affected. The fighter rushes over and kills the orc that was affected by the bane, but the ...
13
votes
2answers
361 views

Can you tell if a spellcaster is maintaining a spell?

If a spellcaster casts an illusion spell that is Duration: Concentration, and then another character comes in, can they tell that the spellcaster is concentrating on something? If so, would they be ...
4
votes
1answer
936 views

Does Time Stop disrupt concentration on spells?

If I have a wizard that casts time stop, it doesn't actually speed up the caster; rather, it slows every other creature down. That would suggest that the wizard is taking their bonus turns as regular ...
5
votes
1answer
351 views

Does casting a box Forcecage around another spell’s area of effect break concentration?

Part of the description of forcecage states: A prison in the shape of a box can be up to 10 feet on a side, creating a solid barrier that prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

How can attacking disrupt concentration when it already takes up your action?

I'm sure this is a simple matter but I'd love some clarification. I'm pretty new to the game (2nd session, first campaign) and I'm playing a bard with the Charm spell on 5e. As far as I can tell, ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Quickened spells and concentration

I understand that I can't cast two spells per round (PHB p.202) even when using the Quickened Spell metamagic feat. However, is it allowable to cast a concentration spell like Crown of Madness on one ...
2
votes
0answers
57 views

Maintaining a concentration spell beyond casting range [duplicate]

Tonight, I had a bard cast Hungar of Hadar into a room, then circle back through the dungeon to flank while maintaining concentration on the spell. The spell has a range of 150 feet. Is it possible to ...
43
votes
3answers
9k views

Sentinel Raven uses too much awesome magic

The Raven Queen Warlock in my group got a Sentinel Raven, as per the Lvl1 Class Feature. This raven is now attuned to a magic ring and wields a magic wand. The wand is not that big of a problem, but ...
3
votes
3answers
4k views

How many rounds does a 1 minute spell last?

If a concentration spell lasts for one minute (60 seconds, 10 rounds), when does one start counting down how much time it has left? Does the round you cast it in count towards how long it stays active?...
6
votes
2answers
892 views

What is the lowest-level spell combo to give disadvantage to an enemy's specific save, without running into follow-up concentration issues?

What I'm trying to do is debuff an enemy's stat so that I can hit them with a "save or suck" spell like dominate monster, and be more likely to succeed. The problem is, I'm running into ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

How does the Mage Slayer feat interact with a concentration spell being cast?

I understand that the caster first completes the casting, then the Mage Slayer feat (PHB, p. 168) triggers and allows the character to attack as a reaction. If the spell requires concentration, what ...
5
votes
1answer
350 views

Concentration on a spell, does it include any of the components of casting it?

As a spell caster, when I am keeping a concentration effect up, does it require any of the casting components required to have cast it, such as verbal or somatic?
1
vote
2answers
3k views

Can I cast a concentration spell through an “Invoke Duplicity” clone? [duplicate]

I am using "Invoke Duplicity" to create a perfect illusory clone of my self. The clone is currently 100ft away. I want to cast "Dominate Person" on a target 120ft away. Can I do so without moving? ...
4
votes
0answers
457 views

Can I cast spells that require concentration through “Invoke Duplicity” [duplicate]

Can I use the clone from "Invoke Duplicity" to cast a concentration spell, since the clone requires concentration itself? For example, could I use the clone to cast invisibility on one of my allies ...
21
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a concentration spell be cast without actually concentrating on it for an “instant” effect?

The book says: Concentration Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends. So what happens if, for example, ...