Questions tagged [conditions]

For questions about conditions suffered by a creature, typically negative and as a result of an enemy's actions during combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
19
votes
3answers
937 views

When is the Saving Throw rolled for an Infernal Wound?

This came up in a game I was running yesterday. Two devils (Bearded and Horned) in 5e have weapons that deliver "infernal wounds", which are basically bleed effects. The creatures can be ...
10
votes
3answers
925 views

Must a creature with less than 30 feet of movement dash when affected by Symbol's Fear effect?

The effect states: Fear: Each target must make a Wisdom saving throw and becomes Frightened for 1 minute on a failed save. While Frightened, the target drops whatever it is holding and must move at ...
3
votes
1answer
159 views

Is an unsuccessful attack on a creature under the effect of Charm Person “harmful” for purposes of ending the spell? [duplicate]

Consider the following elaborate scenario, which nevertheless actually occurred at our table. Two PCs, Sophie Sorcerer and Roger Rogue, sneak into the hideout of hapless villain Tarley Target. While ...
11
votes
1answer
666 views

Should Greater Restoration work against Prismatic Spray's Indigo Ray?

My group is playing DnD 5e. We encountered an ancient blue dragon who cast Prismatic Spray at us. Our Ranger/Druid, who was in Air Elemental wildshape at the time, got struck by the Indigo Ray and ...
8
votes
2answers
268 views

What happens if a Sibriex targets the same creature with Warp Creature repeatedly?

The Sibriex monster, found in page 137 of Mordekainen's Tome of Foes has an ability called "Warp Creature". For convenience, here's the entire text of it: (emphasis mine) The sibriex ...
5
votes
1answer
103 views

What is the penalty for fighting while blind?

What happens when an enemy is blinded and wants to fight? What penalty does the enemy get when he wants to attack? Is the enemy flat footed?
3
votes
1answer
96 views

Can the frightened condition stack if it's caused by the same source?

Say Faendal the Fallen Aasimar Paladin uses his Necrotic Shroud racial ability (Charisma saving throw, an affected creature can repeat the saving throw on subsequent turns to end the effect), and a ...
2
votes
0answers
25 views

Can a prone, entangled character stand up? [duplicate]

This is a pretty straightforward question, but to stand up from being prone takes half your movement speed. When entangled, your speed is 0, so are you able to stand up without becoming un-entangled?
4
votes
1answer
90 views

How do stunned and delay interact?

Character A takes the delay free action at the start of their turn, planning to act later. Afterwards, before Character A has acted, Big Bad Monster B inflicts stunned 3 upon Character A. Can ...
4
votes
2answers
303 views

Is there a way to repeatedly make yourself incapacitated, while it's not your turn?

A lot of player 'Companions' (like the Beast and Drake (UA) companion for the Ranger, or the Homunculus Servant or Steel Defender for the artificer) can act more freely if you are incapacitated. Is ...
5
votes
1answer
260 views

Does the Greater Restoration spell grant knowledge about the effect it ends?

I have a really great hunch that my players will cast greater restoration on a person charmed by Levistus. Is there any consensus or RAW that states that the caster will learn anything about what is ...
1
vote
1answer
114 views

Petrification and Animate object; Can you animate a petrified person? [duplicate]

I had a friend of mine asked me if someone could animate a creature that a gorgon or basilisk had turned to stone, and I couldn't answer. The Petrified status has one of the following as part of its ...
11
votes
3answers
506 views

If a PC becomes stunned on their turn, do they lose the rest of their actions without losing any stunned value?

Page 622 of the Core Rulebook defines the Stunned condition: You've become senseless. You can't act while stunned. Stunned usually includes a value, possibly over multiple turns, from being stunned. ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a frightened creature freely circle the source of its fear?

A frightened creature A is standing horizontally or vertically next to the source of its fear B. The creature can't willingly move closer to the source of its fear. Can A freely circle B, for ...
6
votes
1answer
414 views

What spells or other effects cause a creature to make a saving throw to avoid being knocked out?

I saw that a hydra has "advantage on saving throws against being... knocked unconscious" and was curious as to what spells or effects would cause such a thing to happen. The only effect that ...
12
votes
1answer
410 views

Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?

Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you ...
2
votes
3answers
156 views

Are there rules for becoming blind or deaf from character birth or injury?

There are special effects (psionics, magic, etc) which can cause blindness or deafness, but are there rules for being blind or deaf from character birth or becoming so from injury?
2
votes
1answer
132 views

What is the highest value a condition could reach?

I'm making a Pathfinder 2e character sheet on Google sheet to automate as much number-crunching as possible. Currently, I'm making a dropdown list for conditions, as well as formulas for calculating ...
0
votes
1answer
81 views

What creatures cannot be blinded?

Warlock with Beshadowed Blast can blind targets if target fails to make a DC check against 10 + Spell level (4) + Caster level Beshadowed Blast indicates: This eldritch essence invocation allows you ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Disguise Self end if the caster falls unconscious?

In one of my groups, I play a squishy sorcerer focused on deception, including having a number of false identities. Last week, we were infiltrating an enemy’s base and my sorcerer used disguise self ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an incapacitated character still use bonus actions?

The Incapacitated condition says: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Can someone who is incapacitated still take bonus actions?
30
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens if you become frightened of yourself?

You might be wondering how this could happen apart from a contrived scenario of casting a spell like cause fear on yourself (which is allowed). Turns out, it can happen by interacting with the local ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you stand up from prone while stunned?

If you are Stunned, your movement isn't reduced to 0 (unlike grappled.) Can you stand up from prone while Stunned? Can you also drop prone from standing? Stunned A stunned creature is incapacitated (...
3
votes
1answer
295 views

Do melee and ranged spell attack rolls have advantage against a stunned creature?

In D&D 5e, if a creature has a condition such as Stunned, then: Attack rolls against the creature have advantage. Does this benefit also apply to spells that require melee or ranged spell attack ...
5
votes
1answer
263 views

Are you be able to Wild Shape while paralyzed?

Would you be able to use Wild Shape while paralyzed in d&d 3.5?
10
votes
5answers
2k views

Can you use your free object interaction while restrained?

If a character is restrained, like being in the gullet of a froghemoth, and they attempt to pull out a different weapon, I assume they could drop what they were holding, but since their speed is zero, ...
6
votes
1answer
142 views

Does Stunned make you Flat-Footed?

Stunned does not explicitly make you Flat-Footed, but common sense and the first sentence implies it (CR p622): You’ve become senseless.
3
votes
2answers
131 views

What happens when Restrained creatures are removed from the area of effect of Entangle?

The victims of an Entangle spell are Restrained and cannot move themselves; but can be moved by others. I had always assumed that moving them out of the Area of Effect of the spell would free them; ...
-2
votes
1answer
177 views

Allowing Allies to free one from Entangle and Web

Among spells that restrain creatures, most require those restrained to free themselves while others expressly allow allies to free them (either directly or by using the Help action to assist the ...
3
votes
1answer
117 views

Does HP fall to 0 if a creature is knocked unconscious from failing a save? If not, how does the unconscious condition end?

I was looking at the Prismatic Beetle Swarm from Tome of Beasts. The description of its Glittering Carapace trait says, in part: In bright light, a creature within 30 feet that looks at the prismatic ...
3
votes
1answer
156 views

How dangerous is this modified exhaustion compared to other harmful conditions?

In this question, I asked about the ramifications of monsters causing exhaustion: How dangerous is exhaustion? The answers concluded, that this would generally be very risky and dangerous. I therefore ...
27
votes
1answer
1k views

Unlisted effects of Incapacitated Condition

In a game I DM'd, a PC had cast a spell with a Concentration requirement and was subsequently Paralyzed. I quickly checked the description of the Paralyzed condition, which said nothing about ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

How dangerous is exhaustion?

I'm interested in adding exhaustion effects to monsters. I might homebrew changes to the exhaustion mechanic, but for now, I'm interested in assessing how dangerous it is if monsters can cause RAW ...
11
votes
2answers
924 views

What does Axiomatic Mind do?

The Modrons have the following trait: Axiomatic Mind. The [modron] can't be compelled to act in a manner contrary to its nature or its instructions. What does this mean? It sounds to me like ...
6
votes
2answers
207 views

If 3+ characters cast Flesh to Stone on the same target, and the target fails the saving throws against all of them, is it petrified?

The flesh to stone spell states: A creature restrained by this spell must make another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. If it successfully saves against this spell three ...
4
votes
2answers
774 views

Does being “paralyzed” for an extended period of time grant the effects of a rest?

One of our players got paralyzed for 10 hours by a special dart (homebrew). We were in combat when he went down, and were in combat when the effect wore off, although they were 2 separate encounters. ...
8
votes
1answer
106 views

Does the Hallow spell remove an existing charm/fear/possession effect from creatures that are already in its area when the spell is cast?

Part of the description of the hallow spell includes the following effect (emphasis mine): First, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead can't enter the area, nor can such creatures charm, ...
6
votes
1answer
107 views

Does gaining immunity to a condition apply immediately to a current condition?

What happens when a creature gains immunity to a condition while it currently has that condition? (For a list of conditions see Rules Compendium 229–35.) For example, the level 6 battlemind daily ...
10
votes
1answer
447 views

What happens when a character fails to reject influence that would put a label above +3 or below -2?

The Labels in Masks: A New Generation are fixed between -2 and +3. From the rulebook: If you ever need to shift a Label and can’t (because the Label is at +3 and would shift up, or is at -2 and ...
6
votes
1answer
332 views

What happens to magical objects worn or carried by a character when it is petrified?

The first part of the description of the Petrified condition says (PHB, p. 291; emphasis mine): A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, ...
7
votes
1answer
250 views

What would be the implications of ignoring the incapacitated condition tied to the paralyzed condition?

The paralyzed condition notes A paralyzed creature is incapacitated (see the condition) and can't move or speak. Under incapacitated it says An incapacitated creature can't take actions or ...
2
votes
1answer
78 views

Bloodpyre Poison Str bonus duration

This bloodpyre poison states that it gives str bonus along with the damage it causes. However there is no duration given. Does the str bonus last while you have ability score damage? Is it permanent? ...
1
vote
0answers
49 views

Does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved in order to force the grapple to end, or can the grappler be the one that is moved? [duplicate]

The description of the grappled condition reads, in part: The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a ...
8
votes
1answer
631 views

What happens if you're frightened of a hidden or invisible creature?

A Frightened creature suffers the following effects: A frightened creature has disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight. The ...
7
votes
1answer
116 views

Understanding Frightful Aura and Frightened tick down

I have a question concerning Pathfinder Second Edition: From my understanding, when a creature enters the Lich's Frightful Presence aura, it has to roll Will save. Because of the nature of ...
2
votes
1answer
86 views

Should the “Distracted” modifier be applied to Vigor rolls made to avoid Bleeding Out?

I want to know if the Distracted modifier should be applied to Vigor rolls made to avoid Bleeding Out. The rules state that the Distracted modifier applies to all trait rolls. Personally, I don't ...
0
votes
0answers
35 views

Can Phantasmal Force Incapacitate Someone? [duplicate]

The spell Phantasmal Force allows the caster to implant an illusion into a creature's mind. Would it be possible to use some form of illusion that would make the target believe it is incapacitated, so ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Does drowning count as a condition?

So I know we are going to some kind of underwater place next session. I was wondering if the bard could use Lesser Restoration to "fix" the drowning "condition". That is, if it counts as one.
7
votes
1answer
769 views

Does the Ring of Free Action grant immunity to the incapacitated condition if caused by magic?

I am a DM who is planning to have the party finally face off against a criminal mastermind whose signature spell is Modify Memory. However, the party rogue is in possession of a Ring of Free Action. ...
2
votes
0answers
28 views

What is the effect of being prone in the Ubiquity RPG system?

In the Ubiquity RPG system (used for Hollow Earth Expedition and other games), the action “Stand Up” reads: Falling down is easy; it is getting up that is hard. Your character can fall prone as a ...

1
2 3 4 5
8