Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [conditions]

For questions about conditions suffered by a creature, typically negative and as a result of an enemy's actions during combat.

27
votes
4answers
21k views

What Conditions prevent a caster from using Somatic spells?

The text from Somatic reads that the caster must have a hand free to gesture with when they cast a spell with a somatic component. None of the conditions such as restrained or grappled seem to ...
48
votes
6answers
8k views

Since advantage and disadvantage caused in a heavy obscured area cancel out, what effect does it have in combat?

The rules say that creatures in a heavily obscured area "effectively suffer from the blinded condition". The blinded condition states: Attacks rolls against the creature have advantage, and the ...
33
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a surprised creature fall prone voluntarily on their turn?

Suppose someone might want their character to drop prone while they're surprised. The relevant text from Being Prone under "Movement and Position" states: You can drop prone without using any of ...
4
votes
4answers
6k views

Do the prone or restrained conditions grant other creatures advantage on special melee attacks like grapples?

The description of the prone condition says: A prone creature's only movement option is to crawl, unless it stands up and thereby ends the condition. The creature has disadvantage on attack ...
8
votes
2answers
215 views

How does the Gaseous Form spell interact with the grappled and restrained conditions?

Among other things, the Gaseous Form spell allows a creature to pass through small holes, narrow openings, and even mere cracks The spell does not explicitly make the creature immune to the ...
23
votes
4answers
2k views

Does a creature that is immune to all outcomes (conditions, damage, etc.) of an effect still make a saving throw?

Let's say a 5th level Lore Bard casts fear on a violet fungus not knowing that it is immune to the frightened condition. Does the violet fungus still make a saving throw? In particular, is a saving ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a petrified creature count as an object?

I'm curious whether the Siege Monster special ability that allows a creature to deal double damage to objects would allow them to deal double damage to a petrified character. It seems like this ...
9
votes
2answers
714 views

Does the Mind Blank spell prevent the target from being frightened?

Does the mind blank spell prevent the target from being frightened by magical means, such as from the effect of a spell, or by nonmagical means, such as from a monster's Frightful Presence? Do those ...
3
votes
4answers
138 views

Does Bleed damage break the Fascinate effect?

I'm running an arena combat game online with occasional PVP. One of my players just got hit by euphoric cloud and is fascinated. He is currently bleeding from a previous attack and wants to know if ...
-2
votes
1answer
9k views

Can you attack while prone?

In D&D 3.5 edition, there were penalties to armor class and attacks while you were prone. I read a Dragon magazine article that had a domain which allowed you to mitigate the AC penalties while ...
6
votes
1answer
58 views

'Broken' condition in Chronicles of Darkness: should I note what I would have rolled without the penalty?

The text of the condition 'Broken (Persistent)' (Core rulebook, p288) reads (my emphasis): Whatever you did or saw, something inside you snapped. You can barely muster up the will to do your job ...
28
votes
2answers
1k views

Does casting Light, or a similar spell, have any effect when the caster is swallowed by a monster?

So you've been swallowed by a Giant Toad. Oops. Your fellows are sure to kill it soon enough, but you want to do something in the meantime. "Well," you say, "perhaps I'll attack the toad from the ...
2
votes
1answer
111 views

Do perception checks to locate Invisible / Hiding creatures auto fail? [duplicate]

The Invisibility condition states: For the purpose of Hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. Rules for The Environment state: A heavily obscured area—such as Darkness, opaque fog, or dense ...
14
votes
1answer
590 views

Can you take a “free object interaction” while incapacitated?

The incapacitated condition description (PHB 290) says: An incapacitated creature can't take actions or reactions. Meaning that you can still move. But what about "interactions"? Page 190 of the ...
2
votes
0answers
59 views

Does your character possess a magic aura as a wizard while you are incapacitated? [duplicate]

My character was incapacitated (0 HP, passed my death saving throws). My party went on head to the next room without me after failing to revive me. Little did they know the next room was the boss room ...
0
votes
1answer
150 views

Can a Barbarian end his rage if he is paralyzed?

The situation came up last time we played, where the Barbarian has just began ragin and was then paralyzed. He asked if he could end his rage so as not to waste his rounds (and also eat up his fatigue ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views
4
votes
2answers
319 views

How can a player character cause the stunned condition?

Besides the monk's class feature “Stunning Strike”, how can a player character cause the stunned condition? I am looking for a solution other than very rare or legendary magic items or any Unearthed ...
9
votes
1answer
96 views

If someone influenced by the Gray Wastes leaves do they return to normal?

When a person remains in the Gray Waste for too long all their colors get drained away and so do their hopes and dreams. They end up having no desire to leave the plane. There are plenty of ways they ...
9
votes
2answers
691 views

Can you be healed or stabilized (if downed) while petrified?

I just posted this question about whether you continue making death saving throws while petrified if you are at 0 HP. The answer was yes. But I thought of another question: If you are downed and ...
12
votes
2answers
919 views

Do you continue making death saving throws while petrified?

Say you are playing a character, and they are downed (0 HP) and in that moment, they get turned into stone (petrified). Does the character continue making death saving throws while petrified? Or do ...
15
votes
2answers
371 views

Can the versatility of Feign Death be increased by combining it with Lesser Restoration and/or Freedom of Movement?

Feign Death put[s the target] into a cataleptic state that is indistinguishable from death. For that purpose, the target is blinded and incapacitated, and its speed drops to 0. However, the ...
22
votes
2answers
2k views

Do PCs roll saves for pre-existing effects while Unconscious?

Inspired by this question about Frightened. According to Appendix A: Conditions (SRD p. 192), A condition lasts either until it is countered (the prone condition is countered by standing up, for ...
1
vote
1answer
58 views

Can staggered creatures still make extra attacks from the haste spell?

Let's suppose a player gets staggered just like being target of the staggering critical feat for 3 rounds. But then she is hasted by a party member. The question is: could she make the extra haste ...
4
votes
2answers
357 views

Is there a way to stun a creature without using a Save DC?

A (homebrew) greatsword has this feature: Heavy Blow. [...] If you hit with this very powerful attack, the target must make a contested Athletics check. If the target loses, it is stunned until the ...
11
votes
1answer
268 views

On a multiattack, if the first hit imposes a specific condition, is the second attack affected by that condition?

On a multiattack, if the first hit imposes a specific condition, does the second attack need to be adjusted based on the condition from the first? For example: A Carrion Crawler can make a multi-...
6
votes
1answer
286 views

If a creature is immune to being charmed, does it know an attempt to charm it was made?

If a creature that is immune to being charmed has a charm spell cast on them. Do they know that an attempt to charm them was made? Can a creature immune to charm pretend to be charmed by a spell? Or ...
30
votes
6answers
2k views

Is it impossible to escape the Rod of Lordly Might's paralysis effect early?

On a hit, the Rod of Lordly Might can: ...force the target to make a DC 17 Strength saving throw. On a failure, the target is paralyzed for 1 minute. The target can repeat the saving throw at the ...
4
votes
2answers
142 views

Does moving a grappler away from its target break the grapple? [duplicate]

I had an unclear situation in one of my sessions. A monster grappled a PC adjacent to him. In the next turn, a PC cast Gust on the monster. After failing its strength check the monster was moved away ...
26
votes
2answers
2k views

When restoring a character's hit point maximum lost from exhaustion, does the character also regain hit points?

When restoring a character's hit point maximum lost from exhaustion, does the character also regain hit points? For example, the fourth level of exhaustion reduces a character's hit point maximum to ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Do spellcasters know that the Lesser and Greater Restoration spells can cure madness?

The lesser restoration spell description states: You touch a creature and can end either one disease or one condition afflicting it. The condition can be blinded, deafened, paralyzed, or poisoned. ...
25
votes
4answers
58k views

How can the petrification from the Flesh to Stone spell be removed?

In 5e's version of the flesh to stone spell, if the spell is maintained for the full minute duration, the effect (petrification) lasts until "removed". How can this petrification be removed?
13
votes
1answer
838 views

Are enemies with immunity to the Poisoned condition unaffected by Contagion?

After the 2018 PHB errata, the spell contagion now inflicts the Poisoned condition upon a successful melee spell attack. The relevant spell text is below, with updated portions highlighted in bold: ...
16
votes
2answers
711 views

Can a cockatrice's severed head still petrify?

After killing a cockatrice, a couple of my players cut off its head and mounted it on a javelin. Obviously, they're going to try to use it to petrify something else. Assuming realistic factors in ...
14
votes
5answers
2k views

Can I give the blinded condition through an improvised action?

Under the rules for contests it says that anytime you wish to do something that is opposed by another you make a contest ability check. Later in the combat rules it says that you can use a shove ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How does one heal a creature that is petrified & made of stone?

Whilst in a petrified condition (i.e. 'turned to stone') how does such a creature heal? In 5e D&D this condition on creatures presents as 'target is incapacitated + stone-flavoured' (PhB '...
5
votes
1answer
73 views

Can staggered creatures use immediate actions?

The Staggered condition says (PHB p313): [...] A staggered character may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can she take fullround actions). I know the text ...
10
votes
4answers
1k views

Can a charmed person harm their charmer with Burning Hands?

If a creature is under the condition Charmed, can they cast the spell Burning Hands and orient the cone such that their charmer is within the area of effect? The argument I've seen for "yes" is that ...
2
votes
2answers
490 views

Can either flavor of Restoration remove the Frightened condition?

The characters in our party got a minor boon that allows us to cast either Minor or Major Restoration on ourselves once as a bonus action. We're about to face off against an enemy that has Frightful ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if one's petrified while Enlarged (or Polymorphed)?

If one were under the effect of Enlarge Person (or some temporary polymorph effect) and then get petrified, what happens when the spell expires? I could imagine: The petrification creates a statue ...
4
votes
2answers
407 views

How does the Liberation Domain cleric's condition-suppressing aura from Freedom's Call work?

I have been reading the cleric domains, and have a question about an ability from the Liberation Domain. The ability I am unsure about is: Freedom's Call (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot ...
5
votes
1answer
398 views

If you cast Blindness/Deafness on the same creature twice, what conditions are applied?

After researching into how spell effects stack, I find some ambiguity regarding certain spells that have multiple possible effects. Notably, this answer regarding stacking spell effects contains ...
16
votes
5answers
2k views

Do attack rolls against a blinded character with the Alert feat have advantage?

Premise A character with the Alert feat (PHB, p. 165) has been blinded and is being attacked. One of the benefits of Alert is: Other creatures don’t gain advantage on attack rolls against you ...
38
votes
4answers
4k views

Can a paralyzed creature targeted by an Evocation Wizard's Sculpt Spells feature actually succeed a Dex save?

Say a friendly barbarian is currently paralyzed. Part of the description of the paralyzed condition says: The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws. Its friend, the ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Can a creature with blindsight that is not immune to the Blinded condition suffer the effects of Blindness?

Not every creature with Blindsight is immune to the Blinded condition (like bats). However, blindsight seems to work for those that can't see, and Blinded is about not being able to See. RAW seems ...
0
votes
1answer
181 views

Does a creature with blindsight have disadvantage on attack rolls while under effect of blindness spell? [duplicate]

Premise Casting blindness-deafness on a creature with blindsight: A monster with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without relying on sight, within a specific radius. blinded condition: ...
25
votes
3answers
5k views

Does the beholder's charm ray really take a PC out of the fight like this?

I was reading the Beholder's statblock (MM, page 28): Eye Rays. The beholder shoots three of the following magical eye rays at random (reroll duplicates), choosing one to three targets it can see ...
6
votes
2answers
738 views

Does the Umber Hulk's confusion attack break grapples?

A PC Barbarian Orc is grappling an Umber Hulk (MM. p. 292). The Orc fails at the Confusing Gaze saving throw, becoming confused. Does the grapple end because the Orc is confused? Under a storytelling ...
4
votes
2answers
146 views

Can a Dazzled rogue Sneak Attack?

In Pathfinder 1st edition, Sneak Attack has the following condition: The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot. A rogue ...
9
votes
1answer
250 views

Does staggered also mean hindered?

Does staggered constitute as hindered for triggering to the Medusa's Wrath feat? So I am playing a pathfinder game with some buds, and I made a monk (Core, not unchained). Under scorpion style there ...