Questions tagged [conditions]

For questions about conditions suffered by a creature, typically negative and as a result of an enemy's actions during combat.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
57 votes
6 answers
15k views

Since advantage and disadvantage caused in a heavily obscured area cancel out, what effect does it have in combat?

The rules say that creatures in a heavily obscured area "effectively suffer from the blinded condition". The blinded condition states: Attacks rolls against the creature have advantage, and the ...
Piero's user avatar
  • 1,131
38 votes
5 answers
5k views

Does a creature that is immune to all outcomes (conditions, damage, etc.) of an effect still make a saving throw?

Let's say a 5th level Lore Bard casts fear on a violet fungus not knowing that it is immune to the frightened condition. Does the violet fungus still make a saving throw? In particular, is a saving ...
Someone_Evil's user avatar
  • 48.3k
36 votes
1 answer
12k views

Does death cure all ills?

In a previous answer, I mentioned the possibility of killing a character and restoring them to life as a possible method of removing conditions from them. On reflection, I have no idea whether this ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
15 votes
1 answer
3k views

If you cast a spell with different effect options twice on the same creature, do multiple castings of the spell stack?

After researching into how spell effects stack, I find some ambiguity regarding certain spells that have multiple possible effects. Notably, this answer regarding stacking spell effects contains ...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
18 votes
3 answers
21k views

Can you negate the Frightened condition by not looking at the source of your fear?

As the title says, if you cause a creature to be Frightened of you, as in the Frightened condition, but they can somehow manage to not see you, do they stop rolling with disadvantage to attacks/...
user avatar
46 votes
1 answer
8k views

Unlisted effects of Incapacitated Condition

In a game I DM'd, a PC had cast a spell with a Concentration requirement and was subsequently Paralyzed. I quickly checked the description of the Paralyzed condition, which said nothing about ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 50.6k
39 votes
2 answers
48k views

If you are incapacitated, can you move?

The incapacitated condition states that An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions. Does that effect allow you to move though? Moving is not an action (at least not in 5e).
MrHiTech's user avatar
  • 3,191
32 votes
5 answers
6k views

Does immunity to fear prevent a mummy's Dreadful Glare from paralyzing a character?

A Mummy has an ability called Dreadful Glare: The mummy targets one creature it can see within 60 feet of it. If the target can see the mummy, it must succeed on a DC 11 Wisdom saving throw ...
Allan Mills's user avatar
22 votes
3 answers
11k views

Does exhaustion affect a creature after it is polymorphed?

I have an ally that is exceptionally exhausted. If I polymorph him into another form, do the negative effects of exhaustion—such as reduced speed—apply to the new polymorphed form?
inthemanual's user avatar
  • 12.2k
43 votes
3 answers
8k views

Can You Use Teleportation to Stand Up?

I feel like most tables end up asking this question and I think it usually comes down to a table by table decision, but can a caster who has been knocked prone use teleportation to stand up again? I'm ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
31 votes
3 answers
14k views

Does a petrified creature stay conscious (and sane)?

The next dungeon my party visits will contain some strange statues. Most of them are just Stone Golems, which will attack them. But near the end of the dungeon, the party will discover that one of the ...
hohenheim's user avatar
  • 6,505
31 votes
2 answers
2k views

What happens if you become Immune to a condition, while suffering that condition?

My level 10 Circle of the Moon Druid is just plumb tuckered out; She is suffering from Exhaustion Level 2. During combat, she uses Wildshape to turn into an Earth Elemental. However, Earth Elementals ...
Raven Dreamer's user avatar
20 votes
4 answers
7k views

Can a Blinded caster with Blindsight use spells that require them to see the target?

The situation I have in mind is the following: An epic battle ensues between a Young Green Dragon (caster variant) and a Purple Worm. The Purple Worm swallows the dragon; meanwhile, the dragon has ...
user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
9k views

Does Exhaustion Carry Over From A Druid's Wildshaped Form to Their Regular Form?

I have a player that has a druid character. She is trying to travel as far as possible using the form of a giant eagle. If she travels at the fastest pace possible for the longest time period ...
Tophandour's user avatar
  • 3,723
115 votes
6 answers
18k views

Can a snake be prone?

It sounds like a silly question, but it caused way more discussion the other night in my Adventurer's league game than I'd care to admit... In 5e, the prone condition is described as: A prone ...
Chumblechops's user avatar
  • 1,573
12 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does Antimagic Field suppress or prevent petrification from a creature ability?

Inspired by this question and in particular, this answer. I'm focusing on a specific effect; petrification. If by a medusa's gaze or a beholder's eye rays (or other creatures with a similar ability), ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 78.9k
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

What happens when exhaustion passes 6th level on an immune creature?

On another question - Is an Immune creature considered to have the condition without suffering its effects? - it was concluded that a creature could gain exhaustion levels, while being immune to the ...
NeutralTax's user avatar
  • 3,060
30 votes
5 answers
11k views

What's the difference between "can't move" and "speed becomes 0"?

While reading through the conditions described in Appendix A of the 5e PHB, I realised, that some of them say a creature "can't move" (e.g. Stunned, Unconscious), while others state that its "speed ...
TreeSpawned's user avatar
  • 2,047
25 votes
3 answers
9k views

If a character is stunned but still has attacks remaining, can they still make those attacks?

Suppose Alex is a fighter with the Extra Attacks feature, so each time they take the Attack action they can make two attacks. Alex attacks Sam, a Fighter/Monk with access to the Riposte Battle Master ...
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.3k
18 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a creature who is exhausted benefit from bonuses to speed?

In D&D 5th Edition, there is a status effect called Exhaustion, which is measured in six levels. Level 5 Exhaustion reduces the speed of a creature to 0. $$ \begin{array}{|c|c|} \hline \textbf{...
Justine Krejcha's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
5k views

Are enemies with immunity to the Poisoned condition unaffected by Contagion?

After the 2018 PHB errata, the spell contagion now inflicts the Poisoned condition upon a successful melee spell attack. The relevant spell text is below, with updated portions highlighted in bold: ...
Nicbobo's user avatar
  • 6,648
14 votes
5 answers
22k views

Can the Phantasmal Force spell knock and hold someone prone?

The description of the Phantasmal Force spell states: You create a phantasmal object, creature, or other visible phenomenon of your choice that is no larger than a 10-foot cube and that is ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
12 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can the Phantasmal Force spell apply conditions?

The Phantasmal Force spell can be used to place a delusion inside a creature's head for the duration. I understand that the spell is worded very openly to encourage creative usage, but I'm not sure ...
Squall55's user avatar
  • 410
11 votes
1 answer
3k views

Is the act of suffocating itself considered to be taking damage?

Is the act of suffocating itself considered to be taking damage? Example: A Green Hag is poisoned with the Oil of Taggit poison and falls unconscious. She is then carefully placed into a Portable ...
Alk's user avatar
  • 2,344
8 votes
3 answers
19k views

If I'm blinded, can I cast a spell that doesn't require that the target be "a creature you can see"?

I'm playing a Wild Magic Sorcerer who obtained a Wand of Wonders — randomness ftw! Anyway, I accidentally blinded myself by using the wand. On my next turn, still being blind, I want to cast Acid ...
BlackHawk's user avatar
37 votes
6 answers
5k views

Does the frightened condition provide supernatural knowledge of the location of the source of fear?

The effects of being Frightened are as follows: A frightened creature has disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight. The creature ...
Vigil's user avatar
  • 19.1k
31 votes
5 answers
157k views

How can the petrification from the Flesh to Stone spell be removed?

In 5e's version of the flesh to stone spell, if the spell is maintained for the full minute duration, the effect (petrification) lasts until "removed". How can this petrification be removed?
Eamon Nerbonne's user avatar
29 votes
5 answers
8k views

Do manacles provide any sort of in-game mechanical effect or condition?

Reading the description of manacles, they don't seem to actually do anything rules-wise mechanically when used. Am I missing something or am I just being too literal? Do the manacles actually ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
20 votes
6 answers
23k views

Does the paladin's Aura of Courage feature remove an existing frightened condition from a frightened ally who enters the aura?

I just reached level 10 with my paladin and gained the feature "Aura of Courage". I understand that currently, I and anyone within 10 feet of me will be immune to the frightened condition. ...
Brendan Hughes's user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
21k views

Can undead be frightened?

So in a campaign as a paladin, I cast Wrathful Smite and hit an undead creature. Can undead be affected by the frightened condition?
sacreteez's user avatar
  • 191
18 votes
4 answers
16k views

Is it easier to wake a character from 'mundane' sleep than from 'magically induced' sleep?

In DnD 5e, when a character is affected by the spell Sleep, they are: 'unconscious until [either] the spell ends, the sleeper takes damage, or someone uses an action to shake or slap the sleeper ...
Tiggerous's user avatar
  • 25.1k
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

What happens when a creature reaches six levels of exhaustion while Death Ward is active on it?

Exhaustion is a special condition which has multiple levels. From the PHB p. 291, all emphasis mine: Level ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Effect ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ⋮ ​ ​ ​ ​ 6 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Death Exhaustion is measured ...
Fie's user avatar
  • 1,874
17 votes
2 answers
959 views

Is an Immune creature considered to have the condition without suffering its effects?

In this question asking about a homebrew mechanic involving exhaustion, the accepted answer points out an exploit using a moon druid's combat wildshape - Taking the form of an elemental would avoid ...
Ty Hayes's user avatar
  • 400
17 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does a petrified creature count as an object?

I'm curious whether the Siege Monster special ability that allows a creature to deal double damage to objects would allow them to deal double damage to a petrified character. It seems like this ...
Morgan May's user avatar
16 votes
4 answers
3k views

What happens when a charmed target becomes unable to be charmed?

So a bard charms monster 1. Monster 2 uses an action ability (such as Infernal Command) where it can make it so monster 1 can't be charmed. Does Monster 1 lose the original charmed status or does it ...
James's user avatar
  • 1,293
15 votes
1 answer
4k views

When using dispel magic to remove slow, when do the effects of slow end?

I was curious about how someone using dispel magic to dispel slow during their turn would play out, since slow actively affects their turn. The description of slow is: You alter time around up to ...
Dom's user avatar
  • 3,621
14 votes
1 answer
723 views

Does a climbing creature fall when affected by Hideous Laughter?

A creature is climbing on a wall, and fails a save against hideous laughter. The spell states: A creature of your choice that you can see within range perceives everything as hilariously funny and ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
14 votes
3 answers
35k views

Does a subsequent charm effect override a previous one?

In a recent session, I was confused about how multiple charm effects would interact with each other: A vampire used its 'Charm' ability to charm a PC. It reads (paraphrased): The target must ...
Ladifas's user avatar
  • 8,969
11 votes
4 answers
2k views

Does a petrified creature need to eat or drink?

Petrification does not state the creature "no longer needs to eat/drink (or sleep)"[1]: Petrified A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or ...
Mindwin Remember Monica's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
13k views

Can a creature with blindsight that is not immune to the Blinded condition suffer the effects of Blindness?

Not every creature with Blindsight is immune to the Blinded condition (like bats). However, blindsight seems to work for those that can't see, and Blinded is about not being able to See. RAW seems ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
9 votes
3 answers
6k views

What happens when a polymorphed creature is petrified?

If a creature A is polymorphed into creature B and is subsequently petrified, does it still revert to its original form after the polymorph ends? I see several possible scenarios after the polymorph ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.6k
5 votes
1 answer
21k views

What are all the ways that a PC can become immune to the frightened condition?

Question I'm interested in ways to become permanently immune to the frightened condition. I hope this is considered a bounded list question and therefore on-topic. I've so far only considered race- or ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 78.9k
4 votes
1 answer
3k views

Do shaken, frightened, and panicked replace each other or stack?

The conditions shaken, frightened, and panicked are related fear effects. Does only the worst condition apply because of this, or would being shaken and panicked give you a -4 on stuff? I ask because ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.2k
37 votes
4 answers
9k views

Petrification at low levels

I was considering using a Medusa in my home game against a group of 4th-level characters. With a CR of 6, a Medusa is well within the proper XP range for such a group. However, I'm nervous about using ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
35 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a surprised creature fall prone voluntarily on their turn?

Suppose someone might want their character to drop prone while they're surprised. The relevant text from Being Prone under "Movement and Position" states: You can drop prone without using any of ...
linksassin's user avatar
  • 30.9k
33 votes
4 answers
63k views

What Conditions prevent a caster from using Somatic spells?

The text from Somatic reads that the caster must have a hand free to gesture with when they cast a spell with a somatic component. None of the conditions such as restrained or grappled seem to ...
wax eagle's user avatar
  • 104k
28 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a petrified character drown?

At the end of our last gaming session my character was fighting a Gorgon in a pool of chest height water. I had the terrible misfortune of being knocked down and then petrified (turned to stone) Can I ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
24 votes
2 answers
4k views

Is there advantage on a non-adjacent attack against an unconscious creature?

The unconscious condition states the following two effects (PHB 292): The creature drops whatever it's holding and falls prone. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage Under the prone ...
DarkSigma's user avatar
  • 343
22 votes
3 answers
6k views

Do you remember what happened during Dominate Person?

My character was affected by the dominate person spell (and failed the will save) and was given some orders. Does he have any recollection or memory of the orders after the duration of the effect ...
Shahal's user avatar
  • 427
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

If two Ensnaring Strikes affect the same target, does it have to make two saves to be unrestrained?

Say two Rangers shot the same target with ensnaring strike and the target failed its saves on both. The PHB says the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine such as two Clerics ...
Payden K. Pringle's user avatar