Questions tagged [cover]

For questions primarily about cover, an element in the environment that provides a measure of protection against incoming attacks.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
133 views

How does cover interact with a Pact of the Chain Warlock with the Voice of the Chain Master Invocation?

I'm DMing for a group with a Pact of the Chain Genie Warlock in it, and he has Voice of the Chain Master. There was this one time when the party was investigating a nobleman's office and half of them ...
Wizbot's user avatar
  • 43
1 vote
1 answer
117 views

Further explanation on shape water [closed]

After reading shape water I have questions since I know the DM will refer to sage's advice. With shape water it says you have 125 ft so does that mean the 8.3 lb per gallon would apply if you decided ...
Brian A's user avatar
  • 19
9 votes
4 answers
7k views

Why does Sacred Flame specify that the target gets no benefit from cover?

The description of sacred flame reads (emphasis added): Flame-like radiance descends on a creature that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8 ...
AgentAquarius's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
228 views

How to determine Tower shield cover against an adjacent, Large creature?

Suppose that a Medium creature stands 10 ft. away from a Large one (e.g., after taking a 5 ft. step back), and uses a Tower shield to grant itself total cover towards the direction of the Large ...
Bielna's user avatar
  • 1,415
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

How do the prone condition and AC against ranged attacks interact?

So, this is just a clarification about how a character's AC interacts with the Prone condition aside from the Flat-Footed condition. Mostly because being prone gives you the ability to Take Cover and ...
Snakehelm's user avatar
  • 2,417
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a Firbolg standing behind a wall see without being seen?

The Firbolg Magic trait says: Firbolg Magic. You can cast detect magic and disguise self spells with this trait. When you use this version of disguise self, you can seem up to 3 feet shorter or ...
biziclop's user avatar
  • 2,210
3 votes
2 answers
353 views

Can Tenser's Floating Disk be used as half cover?

The spell, Tensers Floating Disk states that it is 3ft in diameter and floats 3 ft in the air in an unoccupied space. Since it says that if the stuff its carrying is over its maximum weight, it all ...
dndndndndnndndndnd's user avatar
9 votes
5 answers
3k views

Can the Spiritual Weapon spell be used as cover?

Can Spiritual Weapon be used as cover, offering an AC bonus, if so what are the limitations? Would it provide Half-cover? Three-Quarters Cover? Or maybe even Total Cover, depending on what shape I ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
29 views

Hiding in combat in complete cover [duplicate]

We had a situation: Rogue broke line of sight to enemies by running around the corner in complete cover a round ago. Next round, the enemies move closer, two engage melee fighters and two stop in the ...
Moro Kray's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
318 views

Does total cover protect someone who enters the area of a Moonbeam? [duplicate]

The Moonbeam spell states: A silvery beam of pale light shines down in a 5-foot-radius, 40-foot-high cylinder centered on a point within range. Until the spell ends, dim light fills the cylinder. ...
Alan Régis's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

Are defenders behind an arrow slit attackable?

I'm creating a game for my friends but was wondering if they would be able to shoot through the arrow slits at monsters, with ranged attacks, would they be able to do that, and have the defenders have ...
S..'s user avatar
  • 449
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Cover - Line of effect/Line of Sight

Evaluating the examples in the figure, what is the interaction between the huge creature and the respective target of each color (blue, green, red, orange, purple), without the interference of the ...
Raony Borges's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
216 views

One sided total cover

The Mighty Servant of Leuk-O is a mech that creatures can pilot. Its description says, "Those inside the servant have total cover from effects originating outside it." It does not say that ...
BobTheAverage's user avatar
11 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can we ignore cover with melee weapons?

There are a number of feats that allow a ranged attack to ignore cover, most notably Improved Precise Shot. However, ranged attacks aren’t the only ones that are subject to cover. Melee attacks with ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 349k
0 votes
1 answer
245 views

When Opportunity Attacked while moving into Total Cover, does the Target of the Opportunity Attack receive the benefits of three-quarters cover?

SRD, page 76 - Opportunity Attack: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. This question indicates that an Opportunity Attack is made ...
Payden K. Pringle's user avatar
14 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does Bless Require Line of Sight?

I was the DM in a game last night and the scenario was thus: The healer on the ground floor of a tower wanted to cast Bless on her companions the floor above. This floor only had one access point, a ...
Matthew Perryman's user avatar
11 votes
3 answers
1k views

What counts as full cover for a seeking arrow?

The the Seeking Arrow Arcane Shot option of the Arcane Archer says: [...] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, choose one creature you have seen in the ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
19 votes
6 answers
4k views

Can the Raulothim's Psychic Lance spell hit a creature behind full cover if you utter the creature's name?

The spell Raulothim's Psychic Lance (Fizban's Treasury of Dragons, p. 21) can hit a creature without having to see it, so long as the caster utters the name of the target: You unleash a shimmering ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 9,894
2 votes
1 answer
678 views

Lightning Bolt and trees in DnD 5e

I'm running Dragon of Icespire Peak, and my PCs are about to fight some NPCs who use the 3rd level spell Lightning Bolt. They will be fighting near a forest and I can see the party looking to use ...
Josh Benn's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
116 views

Does standing behind another PC provide cover? [duplicate]

I came across this in my campaign, where a player used Investiture of Wind because there was a mini horde of skeletons on higher ground about to shoot another volley of arrows. One of the other ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,503
7 votes
1 answer
145 views

Do you have to account for cover AC when attacking with a whip?

Let's say three combatants are in a line. The goblin is in the first square, the fighter in the second square, and the bard with a whip behind the fighter. If the bard attacks the goblin with the whip ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,836
8 votes
1 answer
265 views

How does cover interact with the Arcane Archer's Curving Shot?

One of the features of the Arcane Archer fighter subclass is Curving Shot: At 7th level, you learn how to direct an errant arrow toward a new target. When you make an attack roll with a magic arrow ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,166
1 vote
1 answer
217 views

Melee cover vs Cover - Can you always use Stealth?

I am using this image from another post, which is why it has lines drawn on it that are useful for only a small aspect of this question: According to the stealth rules, you need cover in order to ...
InterstellarProbe's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
567 views

How do Patterns and Cover Interact?

I am having trouble finding a confirmation one way or another in relation to how cover does or doesn't affect Pattern attacks, and if it does, when and how. I suspect that it's actually spelled out ...
vicky_molokh- unsilence Monica's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
64 views

Does Silent Image provide cover? [duplicate]

Let's say we're trying to give a Giant Ape three-quarters cover from a distant archer. A spellcaster casts Silent Image to place a rock in between them of the right shape and size to cover 3/4 of the ...
Axoren's user avatar
  • 11.4k
2 votes
4 answers
1k views

Are tiny creatures carried in a backpack protected from AOEs?

If I carry tiny creatures in my closed backpack, would they be immune to Fireball and other area of effect spells? For example, is it possible to carry a horde of Tiny Servants (from the spell of the ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 9,894
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can an area of effect spell be cast through total cover?

Wall of Ice was cast across a field. My player wanted to cast Storm Sphere on the other side, even though there was no clear path to the target. I told her that as there was no clear path, so she ...
ashacrone's user avatar
  • 101
-1 votes
1 answer
334 views

How does Freezing Sphere delayed explosion interact with simple coverings?

There are spells, which can create a bead like object which will explode after a time. Otiluke's Freezing Sphere is the one I am particularly interested in (incidentally for the same bard my earlier ...
WakiNadiVellir's user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
903 views

How does Hunger of Hadar behave in confined space?

Hunger of Hadar has a curious wording: A 20-foot-radius sphere of blackness and bitter cold appears, centered on a point with range and lasting for the duration. Compare this to Fireball: A bright ...
WakiNadiVellir's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
4k views

Could you negate a Beholder's antimagic cone by covering up its eye?

e.g. throw a heavy blanket over it, or force it to close its eye somehow. https://www.dndbeyond.com/monsters/beholder The beholder's central eye creates an area of antimagic, as in the antimagic ...
Anentropic's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can archers bypass partial cover by arcing their shot?

There are two basic ways an archer fires at a target. In close quarters engagements, archers (and anyone using a projectile weapon) would likely use "direct fire", ie. fire at an angle ...
Andrendire's user avatar
  • 11.7k
24 votes
3 answers
4k views

Playing on a grid, does this creature have half cover or three-quarters cover?

We have four medium creatures, blue (1), green (2), yellow (3), and red (4), positioned like so: We want to asses the relative cover between blue and red. The rules for determining cover on a grid ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
349 views

Can multiple creatures completely block a ranged attack thus providing total cover?

I'm asking because we play on a grid and while DMG p.251 states that 3 or 4 lines blocked by an obstacle gives 3/4 cover if the attack can still reach the target, it doesn't state what happens if the ...
jonDraco's user avatar
  • 299
9 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can I consider darkness and dim light as cover in combat?

In D&D 5E, dim light only affects Wisdom (Perception) checks. If I'm interpreting the Player's Handbook correctly, for combat rolls, creatures that don't have darkvision, whose target is in dim ...
RedGlyph's user avatar
  • 193
4 votes
1 answer
868 views

Would the Sacred Flame cantrip hurt a person whom the target is holding as a hostage/human shield?

An enemy had grabbed a friendly NPC and was using him as a hostage and standing behind him as cover. The (new) DM seemed to be implying that the archers in our party would risk shooting the friendly. ...
aampere's user avatar
  • 143
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

An archer firing through an arrow slit has improved cover. Do his targets have cover?

I'm running a module that features a fort with arrow slits and murder holes, and I'm trying to figure out what the cover rules are for people on each side of them. Under the Combat rules, the CRB ...
Ben S.'s user avatar
  • 4,872
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

How do the cover rules interact with the Flaming Sphere spell?

The rules for cover state: A target with half cover has a +2 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws. Let's say a wizard casts flaming sphere. They can then move the sphere as a bonus action to ram ...
RegularNormalDayGuy's user avatar
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you target someone with a "that you can see" spell if you can only see a hand or a foot?

If you just get a glimpse of someone turning a corner, maybe just a foot, can you cast a spell that says "that you can see"? A situation that came up for me was as follows. Command: You ...
guest's user avatar
  • 181
8 votes
2 answers
5k views

Does Eldritch Blast travel in a straight line?

My DM and I have researched this at length and we can't seem to find an answer anywhere. Eldritch Blast states: A beam of crackling energy streaks toward a creature within range. Make a ranged spell ...
SirUlrichVonLiechtenstein's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is it mathematically possible to only have 3/4th cover?

In Is the DMG 3/4 cover diagram incorrect? the question asker points out the diagram shown in the DMG implies 3/4th cover, but it's possible to get a better angle on the defender meaning they only ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
884 views

How to resolve multiple sources of cover when using a grid?

The cover rules in the PHB say: There are three degrees of cover. If a target is behind multiple sources of cover, only the most protective degree of cover applies; the degrees aren't added together. ...
Bovard's user avatar
  • 415
9 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is the DMG 3/4 cover diagram incorrect?

From page 250 and 251 of the DMG: To determine whether a target has cover against an attack or other effect on a grid, choose a corner of the attacker's space... trace imaginary lines from that ...
Bovard's user avatar
  • 415
10 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can Unseen Servant be used for cover if carrying a large shield?

Does an Unseen Servant holding a shield (or other object within its weight allowance) and ordered to walk in front of you offer cover? If so, is it 1/2 cover or 3/4 cover?
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
17 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you attack a creature behind a Wall of Sand?

Wall of Sand's description reads as follows (emphasis mine): You conjure up a wall of swirling sand on the ground at a point you can see within range. You can make the wall up to 30 feet long, 10 ...
Andrendire's user avatar
  • 11.7k
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can Channel Divinity: Preserve Life target swallowed creatures?

I saw this question and was reminded of something that happened in one of my games recently: I, as a Life Cleric, used my Channel Divinity: Preserve Life feature on an ally who had been swallowed (It ...
Spitemaster's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
396 views

How does the Earthquake spell interact with total cover?

The rules on "Area of Effect" state (emphasis mine): [...] A spell's effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 75.8k
8 votes
4 answers
2k views

Can you attack through full cover?

An eldritch knight wants to attack a guard behind a wall. Before, he casts scrying and thus can see the target and where they are behind the wall. How should this be resolved? Is he unable to attack ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.5k
6 votes
2 answers
377 views

Do the cover rules account for the type of material (e.g. silk vs. stone) between an attacker and their target?

The rules on cover state (Player's Handbook, p. 196): Walls, trees, creatures, and other obstacles can provide cover during combat, making a target more difficult to harm. However it only defines ...
user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
596 views

Ranged-attack initiative and sequencing for monsters and NPCs

How interesting that after over 20 years of playing RPGs, new basic rule questions still crop up...: The PC group I'm DM-ing got into a fight with two bugbears and eight goblins in a long 10-foot ...
vlysses's user avatar
  • 141
6 votes
3 answers
3k views

Does the Immovable Object spell allow me to make an impenetrable shield by making an object immovable and using it as cover?

The description of the immovable object spell says (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 187): You touch an object that weighs no more than 10 pounds and cause it to become magically fixed in place. ...
Fantomp's user avatar
  • 431