Questions tagged [cover]

For questions primarily about cover, an element in the environment that provides a measure of protection against incoming attacks.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
34
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I deny a counterspell by readying my spell behind full cover?

Suppose I am within counterspell range of an enemy mage (who has counterspell) and want to guarantee that my spell won't be countered. Could I do so entirely on my turn by moving behind full cover, ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

Can sacred flame target someone that is behind total cover?

One of the rules for targeting spells in the Player's Handbook says that spells must have a clear path to the target: A Clear Path to the Target To target something, you must have a clear path ...
20
votes
1answer
6k views

Is there a penalty for attacking THROUGH an ally's position while in Melee?

You can move through an ally's position (as difficult terrain), but can you attack through it at no cost? If you have 10' reach, but there is an ally between you and the target, does the target get ...
39
votes
3answers
5k views

Is it possible for a swallowed caster to cast Fireball outside of a Giant Toad?

I had a situation last week where my DM and I completely disagreed how the following situation should have been ruled: I'm a Circle of the Moon druid wild-shaped into a Giant toad and I had swallowed ...
15
votes
3answers
5k views

When creatures provide cover against attacks, can they be hit?

If one creature is providing cover for another, is it possible that it ends up taking the hit? If so, what are the mechanics for it? I see it like this: 2 goblins (AC 15) are standing in a row. An ...
9
votes
2answers
782 views

Is a spell's area set before damage is applied?

Triggered by the question about a fireball in a box, I was curious as to what the specific order of operations is with respect to spell resolution. I have been unable to find any information which ...
17
votes
6answers
4k views

Can an illusion give a player partial cover?

I'm in an argument with a player at my table, he says hiding behind some bushes while shooting arrows at my monsters gives him partial cover because they can only see his head and shoulders. So they'...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Cover with reach weapons

If I have a reach weapon will the target get a cover with this setup: T is target X is me F is Friend I feel not, as I can do a straight line from the X square to the target, without crossing the F. ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Do underwater opponents have cover from someone in the water?

Someone under the water has total cover from someone on the land. If you are in the water but not under it you have partial cover from a land based opponent. What I'd like to know is if you are in ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Is hiding different when invisible than when behind total cover?

A character rolls stealth with advantage if he is invisible, because he can't be seen. Why doesn't a character get advantage for being behind total cover? The senses you rely on to detect the ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

Hiding in a crowd / Hiding behind multiple creatures

When it comes to stealth, 5e is very vague on what can or cannot be done. If we refer to the rules as written: You can’t hide from a creature that can see you,... (PH. p177) This means that being ...
-5
votes
1answer
164 views

Is there an example of a damage type (cold, fire, lightning, psychic, force, etc) explicity granting cover?

Wall of force is generally assumed to grant cover because it creates a "wall." The spell itself does not specifically grant the cover condition to those on either side of the wall. That means it is ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Spiritual Weapon ignore cover?

A tree is between me and the enemy. It provides half cover to an enemy. If I cast Spiritual Weapon adjacent to him, does Spiritual Weapon ignore the cover provided by the tree? Or, because my line of ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Does transparent cover negate paladin Divine Sense?

Some background: I want to have the bad guy necromancer have a trap in front of the secret entrance to his lair. He has a small frozen lake that abuts the entrance. To invade, the players would have ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

If a tiny creature is inside the space of a medium creature, does it gain cover against a second medium creature adjacent to the first one?

I'm the GM in a game, and a player and I have been using a rule for a while now, and suddenly neither of us can remember where we found it. The rough wording of it is something like "If a Tiny or ...
-1
votes
1answer
293 views

Can an Illusion of a wall of glass grant cover? [closed]

If I were to create the illusion of a transparent wall (of glass for example) 1/4 thick in a box surrounding my character, does this wall grant me full cover? This question is different from: Can an ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Wall of Force grant cover?

Which mechanic of wall of force gives cover to creatures on either side of the wall? It grants a attributes similar to cover. It specifically states cover-like effects against physical and astral ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I use an enemy as a shield, thus gaining benefits from cover?

Can I grapple the enemy and then use him for cover?
5
votes
1answer
948 views

From which squares does a Tower Shield provide Total Cover?

When a character uses a tower shield for total cover, which squares does that protect against? Obviously the square on the other side of the shield, but what about the diagonals? Total Cover: If ...
20
votes
4answers
3k views

Do ranged attacks pass through Web?

Web on page 287 of the PHB says (emphasis mine): You conjure a mass of thick, sticky webbing at a point of your choice within range. The webs fill a 20-foot cube from that point for the ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Dissonant Whispers target an enemy I can't see and who has total cover?

In my last D&D session I thought I was very clever when, while in ranged combat with an enemy, I ducked behind some large boulders (providing full cover) and then targeted him with Dissonant ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Does Minor Illusion break only when someone spends an action to investigate it?

Using Minor Illusion to create a 5x5' cube of stone, one of my players who was a 6'4" ranger claimed it gave him three quarters cover and that he was shooting over it. I was okay with that. But after ...
9
votes
5answers
474 views

What constitutes the most protective degree of cover?

The rules for cover state: If a target is behind multiple sources of cover, only the most protective degree of cover applies In most situations, determining which cover is most protective is ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the difference between “partial cover” and “cover”?

Degrees of cover and concealment are defined in the Player's Handbook (pp 280-281). There it discusses cover, superior cover, concealment, and total concealment. However, many powers and features ...
7
votes
1answer
432 views

How are attacks that hit invisible creatures acting as cover resolved?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target The DM rules that C provides half cover for T. The table uses the optional rules for hitting cover: If a creature is ...
7
votes
4answers
591 views

Does cover work both ways for enemies behind a portcullis or similar?

As the RC and DMB say, an enemy behind an obstacle has either partial or superior cover. The example often used is that of a creature fighting behind a portcullis or window (e.g. in DMB page 141). The ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

How much cover does Wall of Stone give against a dragon's breath weapon if arrow slits are included in the wall?

I am currently a sorcerer in the Rise of Tiamat campaign (plenty of dragons to come I assume). I am obviously asking this as a player; I am not a DM and never go through the DMG/Monster Manual (so ...
5
votes
1answer
200 views

Is the dragon fouling the horse-monster's attack?

A is a Large (tall) creature armed with a longspear, giving the creature a reach of 20 ft. B, a Small creature that's hovering 5 ft. above the ground, has 10 ft. between him and the the Large (tall) ...
4
votes
1answer
106 views

Can allies take cover behind my tower shield?

I am a champion who is wielding a tower shield. I raise my shield, and then Take Cover. On their turns, can my allies attempt to take cover behind my tower shield also? The Take Cover action requires:...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Could I make a sneak attack, move behind new cover and make a stealth check?

I have been searching for hours and it only caused me to be more confused. Say I was concealed in the beginning and made a range sneak attack, could I move to another area with cover, then make a ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

How do mortar shells interact with walls?

So, in a recent Pathfinder game, there was a character with an Aasen mortar launcher. Said launcher states: After the point of impact is determined, the shell explodes and deals 6d6 points of ...