Questions tagged [cover]

For questions primarily about cover, an element in the environment that provides a measure of protection against incoming attacks.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
40
votes
9answers
8k views

Does hiding under a bedsheet provide Total Cover by RAW?

The Situation I am a high level caster surrounded by multiple high level archmages, all ready to 9th-level counterspell me if I cast a spell. For reasons unimportant to this question, I have no time ...
39
votes
3answers
5k views

Is it possible for a swallowed caster to cast Fireball outside of a Giant Toad?

I had a situation last week where my DM and I completely disagreed how the following situation should have been ruled: I'm a Circle of the Moon druid wild-shaped into a Giant toad and I had swallowed ...
39
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I deny a counterspell by readying my spell behind full cover?

Suppose I am within counterspell range of an enemy mage (who has counterspell) and want to guarantee that my spell won't be countered. Could I do so entirely on my turn by moving behind full cover, ...
23
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a Fireball be cast at the air to bypass cover?

I was sitting here, thinking to myself, "How does one hit multiple enemies that are behind total cover and low to the ground?" Fireball states that it targets "a point you choose within range", and ...
22
votes
2answers
31k views

Do other creatures provide cover?

Assume we have a combat taking place in a big, open, flat field with no furnishings, so we're just dealing with the characters themselves. In this case, how does cover work? Do enemies provide cover ...
21
votes
2answers
4k views

Can sacred flame target someone that is behind total cover?

One of the rules for targeting spells in the Player's Handbook says that spells must have a clear path to the target: A Clear Path to the Target To target something, you must have a clear path to it, ...
21
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Spiritual Weapon ignore cover?

A tree is between me and the enemy. It provides half cover to an enemy. If I cast Spiritual Weapon adjacent to him, does Spiritual Weapon ignore the cover provided by the tree? Or, because my line of ...
21
votes
1answer
10k views

Is there a penalty for attacking THROUGH an ally's position while in Melee?

You can move through an ally's position (as difficult terrain), but can you attack through it at no cost? If you have 10' reach, but there is an ally between you and the target, does the target get ...
20
votes
4answers
4k views

Do ranged attacks pass through Web?

Web on page 287 of the PHB says (emphasis mine): You conjure a mass of thick, sticky webbing at a point of your choice within range. The webs fill a 20-foot cube from that point for the ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when the wearer of a Shield of Missile Attraction is behind total cover?

The Shield of Missile Attraction, a rare magic item that requires attunement, has the following curse: Whenever a ranged weapon attack is made against a target within 10 feet of you, the curse ...
19
votes
2answers
5k views

Does cover affect melee attacks?

In what circumstances would cover affect melee attacks? If three characters are lined up as shown in the diagram, and the bottom-right man in armor makes a melee attack against the frog creature in ...
18
votes
6answers
5k views

Can an illusion give a player partial cover?

I'm in an argument with a player at my table, he says hiding behind some bushes while shooting arrows at my monsters gives him partial cover because they can only see his head and shoulders. So they'...
17
votes
4answers
9k views

Can the cantrip Mold Earth create improvised cover?

the cantrip Mold Earth states: If you target an area of loose earth, you can instantaneously excavate it, move it along the ground, and deposit it up to 5 feet away. This movement doesn’t have ...
16
votes
3answers
6k views

When creatures provide cover against attacks, can they be hit?

If one creature is providing cover for another, is it possible that it ends up taking the hit? If so, what are the mechanics for it? I see it like this: 2 goblins (AC 15) are standing in a row. An ...
16
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you attack a creature behind a Wall of Sand?

Wall of Sand's description reads as follows (emphasis mine): You conjure up a wall of swirling sand on the ground at a point you can see within range. You can make the wall up to 30 feet long, 10 ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Can I shoot an enemy through a keyhole or small crack of a door with sharpshooter?

In a game last week there were two enemies trying to break down a door to get to us. We were at the end of the hall and our Sharpshooter archery Ranger was trying to hit them through a small crack in ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Shooting at larger creature behind the smaller creatures crowd

In a recent gaming session the PCs were shooting a Medium-size slaver ghoul over the heads of Small-size kobold crowd (say, a dozen of them). The Ghoul was obviously an enemy but the kobolds were ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when you cast Fog Cloud behind a wall?

I'm puzzled by the "a clear path to the target" rule. To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. This seems straightforward: you can't target a ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Do creatures on both sides of Blade Barrier benefit from 3/4 cover?

I was looking at the Blade Barrier spell, and I was wondering does the spell have a 'front' and a 'back'? The spell description states: The wall provides three-quarters cover to creatures behind it ...
14
votes
5answers
5k views

How do I represent semi-realistic gun fire-fights using Pathfinder/D&D 3.5 cover rules?

I am running a sci-fi/fantasy game using Pathfinder. The setting is firearms and future weapons focused. It's also being played on a virtual battle-map with tokens and will be run very tactically. ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

Does Minor Illusion break only when someone spends an action to investigate it?

Using Minor Illusion to create a 5x5' cube of stone, one of my players who was a 6'4" ranger claimed it gave him three quarters cover and that he was shooting over it. I was okay with that. But after ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Does hiding behind 5-ft-wide cover give full cover?

What type of cover do you get from hiding behind a 5ft-wide (we assume it is high enough to fully cover the target vertically) tree against an opponent staying right onto opposite side? Everything I'm ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Dissonant Whispers target an enemy I can't see and who has total cover?

In my last D&D session I thought I was very clever when, while in ranged combat with an enemy, I ducked behind some large boulders (providing full cover) and then targeted him with Dissonant ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Cover with reach weapons

If I have a reach weapon will the target get a cover with this setup: T is target X is me F is Friend I feel not, as I can do a straight line from the X square to the target, without crossing the F. ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Do underwater opponents have cover from someone in the water?

Someone under the water has total cover from someone on the land. If you are in the water but not under it you have partial cover from a land based opponent. What I'd like to know is if you are in ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Is hiding different when invisible than when behind total cover?

A character rolls stealth with advantage if he is invisible, because he can't be seen. Why doesn't a character get advantage for being behind total cover? The senses you rely on to detect the ...
12
votes
2answers
691 views

Shooting through spaces occupied by a large creature

I was wondering if I could shoot through a large creature like the image below? On the right image, one of the players insists that a large creature shouldn't be able to fill up the 10x10ft space, ...
12
votes
2answers
467 views

Can Channel Divinity: Preserve Life target swallowed creatures?

I saw this question and was reminded of something that happened in one of my games recently: I, as a Life Cleric, used my Channel Divinity: Preserve Life feature on an ally who had been swallowed (It ...
11
votes
4answers
1k views

How does the second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat interact with total cover?

The second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat (PHB, p. 168) lets you force an enemy to attack you rather than your mount when they attempt to attack the latter. What happens if you do that while ...
11
votes
1answer
589 views

How does a PC make an attack from behind cover and continue to receive cover?

The Background I'm a DM for a 3.5 campaign, and I use things like trees and rocks to give my PCs something to hide behind and have to move around as obstacles and simple terrain pieces. One of my PCs ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Does transparent cover negate paladin Divine Sense?

Some background: I want to have the bad guy necromancer have a trap in front of the secret entrance to his lair. He has a small frozen lake that abuts the entrance. To invade, the players would have ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Does cover also grant concealment?

One of the PC who plays in my Encounters session has a power that lets him make a stealth check to hide if he has "concealment." Last night we was behind a hard corner in a room without any other ...
11
votes
2answers
389 views

Do tower shields provide cover from all directions?

A Tower Shield allows you to use the Take Cover action, in order to gain Greater Cover from the shield. This is confusing because the cover rules require that a source of cover must be between you and ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

How does Wall of Force grant cover?

Which mechanic of wall of force gives cover to creatures on either side of the wall? It grants a attributes similar to cover. It specifically states cover-like effects against physical and astral ...
10
votes
2answers
815 views

Is a spell's area set before damage is applied?

Triggered by the question about a fireball in a box, I was curious as to what the specific order of operations is with respect to spell resolution. I have been unable to find any information which ...
10
votes
2answers
455 views

Ranged-attack initiative and sequencing for monsters and NPCs

How interesting that after over 20 years of playing RPGs, new basic rule questions still crop up...: The PC group I'm DM-ing got into a fight with two bugbears and eight goblins in a long 10-foot ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Does cover work for both ways for enemies?

So Starfinder is out, and I feel like my life is complete, as it is just great. I am used to playing D&D 5e, and while I have some experience with 3.5e, I have never played Pathfinder. As such, ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Blur let you try to hide while in plain sight?

This is a short one: Can a rogue under the effects of blur spell, but in plain sight, make a hide check? Hide says under concealment he can... but just doesn't sound right, does it?
9
votes
1answer
279 views

Do cover providing powers provide cover from adjacent melee attacks?

My Warden just acquired the level 2 Utility Daily: Nature's Abundance which creates a Zone which provides ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a creature make a diagonal attack on the other side of a secret door?

I'm not quite sure how to resolve combat around a secret door. I guess it must be like a normal door, but I wonder. Take this example: Red Circle is directly next to an open secret door, and Blue ...
9
votes
5answers
682 views

What constitutes the most protective degree of cover?

The rules for cover state: If a target is behind multiple sources of cover, only the most protective degree of cover applies In most situations, determining which cover is most protective is ...
9
votes
2answers
336 views

Is 'cover' simply about being out of sight? What IS cover?

The thread 'What's my most efficient use of spell slots to maximize my AC' sparked this line of thought: Is a curtain 'cover', even if enemy spell casters, archers (etc.) know a PC is behind it? For ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a Tower Shield providing Total Cover in a 5-foot doorway block Channel Energy from going through?

So, like the title is asking, does a Tower Shield providing Total Cover in a 5-foot doorway block Channel Energy from going through? Aka, can a party heal safely if the tower-shield fighter blocks ...
8
votes
4answers
721 views

Can you attack through full cover?

An eldritch knight wants to attack a guard behind a wall. Before, he casts scrying and thus can see the target and where they are behind the wall. How should this be resolved? Is he unable to attack ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Invisibilty provide cover for the purpose of ending Witch Bolt?

So I have a Warlock using Witch Bolt. For the purpose of ending the spell, does Invisibility provide full cover? If not, doesn't this mean you can use the Witch Bolt to locate the invisible creature? ...
8
votes
3answers
519 views

Does a prone creature grant cover to its allies against ranged attacks?

It seems like it's a no-brainer that against ranged attacks, prone creatures would not provide cover to allies, but I don't see any specific rules about it. Also I guess you could argue that larger ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

When using a grid for combat, do corners grant cover?

We are using a grid for combat. In the diagram below, the grey areas are walls. If A attacked B, would B have any cover from A?
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you aim for something behind an invisible creature to avoid the disadvantage?

Inspired by the question here. I wanted to ask if someone knows that there is an invisible creature in front of him can the person declare an attack on something behind the invisible creature in order ...
8
votes
2answers
238 views

Does a target have total cover from a ranged attacker positioned on an opposite corner of a hallway?

Consider the diagram below: N ******* * = Wall W E ....... . = Open Space S .A***T. A = Attacker T = Target Does the target have ...
8
votes
1answer
236 views

Does a creature have cover when moving through an ally's space?

Suppose that creatures A, B, and C are positioned in a straight line, with A at the start, then an empty space, then B in the next space, and C in the space after that. A has a reach weapon (and is ...