Skip to main content

Questions tagged [disarming]

For questions about disarming an opponent, i.e. the act of removing the opponent's weapon, usually in the heat of battle.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
89 views

How does disarming work? What skills are used?

I'm playing Stars Without Number revised. There is a section on page 52 that describes "disarming a foe" with an example at the bottom of the page: Thus, if a bare-handed assailant tried to ...
kdubs's user avatar
  • 1,893
14 votes
2 answers
764 views

Can a monk disarm the target with a Flurry of Blows?

A monk uses his Flurry of Blows feature and tries to snatch a wand from an enemy caster. We model this using the Disarm rules (DMG, p. 271): A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or ...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 90.2k
6 votes
5 answers
2k views

Grappling and disarming - when and why (or why not)?

I wonder if I am missing something or failing to understand the rules. Please, can someone explain to me: When and why should someone use disarming and grappling in a melee fight? Or why not at every ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 909
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

With the optional Disarm rule, what happens if the target wins the contest?

The optional Disarm rule in the DMG says: A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. The attacker makes an attack roll contested by the target's ...
Joakim M. H.'s user avatar
  • 2,869
7 votes
1 answer
300 views

What is defined as "secured item" when trying to grab an item from someone else?

With Disarm we have the possibility to grab an item that someone is holding or wearing. If the item is "poorly secured" or "easy to snatch or cut away" the item can be grabbed with ...
Digius's user avatar
  • 2,233
15 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a creature with Multiattack use Disarm with one of its attacks?

Noteably a creature with multiattack cannot Grapple or Shove instead of one of its attacks, because these are other types of attacks than those the creature can use multiattack for. However Disarm (...
gybencsko's user avatar
  • 758
6 votes
1 answer
693 views

What's the best weapon for disarming?

Just like the title says. I'm working on a funny build based on disarming (typically suboptimal, yes, but this one'll be hilarious). What's the best weapon for this character? I assume it'll be a two-...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
7 votes
3 answers
4k views

Is there a class feature, magic item, or spell that will allow me to telekinetically disarm one or more opponents?

The Disarm action (DMG p271) allows you to use a weapon attack to attempt to disarm a foe. I would love to be able to do this to one or more opponents telekinetically, similar to Darth Vader in Rogue ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
16 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can monsters use weapons they took from player characters via Disarm?

Without necessarily getting into whether or not Disarm is a waste of time or not, if a monster Disarms a PC, (page 271, DMG) can that monster use the weapon if it picks it up? Example... A Bandit ...
NewbieDM's user avatar
  • 161
12 votes
2 answers
918 views

Can you disarm a solar’s Flying Sword?

In 5e D&D, the solar has the ability to release its sword and control it remotely. The description of its Flying Sword action says: Flying Sword. The solar releases its greatsword to hover ...
Attonwizard's user avatar
  • 2,215
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can the bonus action attack from Polearm Master be used to Disarm?

Polearm Master (PHB p. 168) gives you the ability to situationally make a bonus action attack: When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, or quarterstaff, you can use a ...
Vigil's user avatar
  • 19.3k
4 votes
1 answer
655 views

How does the Ranged Disarm feat work?

D&D 3.5, Complete Warrior, Ranged Disarm feat. It only says that we can attempt a disarm attempt with a ranged weapon, but not much else. So, two questions: Does the enemy still have an attack ...
AdamtheHalls's user avatar
14 votes
3 answers
5k views

Is the DMG's Disarm option an entire action, or a replacement for a single weapon attack?

My confusion comes from the somewhat ambiguous wording of the Disarm action as described in the Dungeon Master's Guide (p. 271): A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.7k
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Is a disarm with Weapon Finesse made with a Str or Dex bonus to CMB?

If you are using a rapier with the feat Weapon Finesse while attempting to disarm an opponent, do you use DEX or STR on the CMB for the disarm attempt?
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
21 votes
3 answers
3k views

How does wearing a locked gauntlet interact with failing a disarm check?

In 3.5, wearing a locked gauntlet provides a +10 bonus against being disarmed. If you attempt to disarm an opponent and fail, your opponent can attempt to disarm you in response. So locking your ...
David J. Webb's user avatar
12 votes
3 answers
11k views

Can a Thief rogue disarm an enemy in combat using Sleight of Hand as a bonus action?

One of my players rolled a Thief rogue. At level three they get the Fast Hands feature: You can use the extra action granted by your Cunning Action to make Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) checks, use ...
Nilima's user avatar
  • 328
10 votes
4 answers
40k views

Does the Disarm action optional rule (DMG) make the Disarming Attack maneuver (Battle Master fighter) useless?

I would like an analysis of this with feedback. Does the Disarm combat option (DMG, p. 271) make the Disarming Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74) useless by being the better option? Here are the pros &...
user28536's user avatar
  • 3,458
12 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the DMG's "Disarm" bypass AC?

In the Dungeon Master's Guide, at pg. 271 (Chapter 9, Dungeon Master's Workshop), the Disarm optional action described appears to bypass the defenders AC: it is a contest of attack roll vs. skill. ...
Charlie M's user avatar
  • 493
0 votes
2 answers
919 views

Is disarm really a useful move?

When you disarm a foe, how far away does the disarmed weapon fall? Can the disarmed character recover the weapon in their next maneuver and thus continue the fight without penalty, except, maybe, ...
Mario González's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
3k views

What's the point of the disarm action? [duplicate]

The Disarm action is designed to knock an object out of the holder's hand and presumably into the holder's space. Because enemies aren't allowed to enter that space, nobody will be able to pick up the ...
Robert's user avatar
  • 12.9k
26 votes
5 answers
3k views

Why does 'Disarm' seem so trivial?

I was reading a closed question that proposed different rulings on Disarm, and it leads me to ask a proper question about the disarming abilities in 5th Edition. The Battle Master maneuver Disarming ...
Airatome's user avatar
  • 18.6k
4 votes
1 answer
23k views

Is it possible to snatch a weapon directly from an enemy/monster?

As a point of clarification for this post, I'm just trying to figure out if it's actually possible to take an enemy's item directly from them during combat, all in the scope of one turn. Since Disarm ...
Robert's user avatar
  • 12.9k
16 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does "Disarm" basically allow you to steal?

DMG 271 describes the disarm action and states that if the attack roll is successful, the defender "drops the item." SRD 92 lists things you can do on your turn in tandem with your move and action. ...
Robert's user avatar
  • 12.9k
7 votes
4 answers
4k views

Can armour be disarmed?

Related to Can a shield be disarmed. Can a piece of armour be disarmed? For example, can an attacker knock their foe's helm off? Remove their gauntlets? Disarm them of a cloak? Why would an ...
Greenstone Walker's user avatar
28 votes
5 answers
7k views

Can a Shield be Disarmed?

The Player's Handbook describes the shield as being wielded in one hand. However, the Armor category that displays the times to put on armor lists the shield is something that you don, and it takes ...
KnightofOP's user avatar
32 votes
5 answers
164k views

Does D&D 5e lack a general disarm rule?

I get from the PHB that there is no general rule for disarming an opponent but only a specific rule for Battle Master fighters. Can we assume that other classes (even other fighters subclasses) lack ...
fortuna's user avatar
  • 969