The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

All Questions

Tagged with
Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
0answers
66 views

Am I misreading the effect-cancelling part of Warforged Juggernaut's Crag of Steel power, or is it meant to be extremely limited?

Warforged Juggernaut's Level 20 Daily Power is Crag of Steel; a stance that gives you a bunch of stuff, but the part of the power I'm interested in here is: "Until the stance ends, you gain resist ...
2
votes
2answers
151 views

Is there official wording on whether a Hunter's Quarry affects or is affected by “marks”?

I thought I read somewhere that Hunter's Quarry worked like a mark, but I can't find this in the rules. I've just recently started DMing 4e again and can't remember where I picked that up. It may ...
5
votes
2answers
247 views

If a monster “cannot attack you” does that prevent it from using burst attacks that would include you?

I have a scenario that occurred in our recent game. The Cleric used the 17th level encounter power Enthrall which states on hit: Until the end of your next turn, the target is immobilized and ...
8
votes
3answers
337 views

Is there such a thing as a ranged unarmed attack?

So I haven't had much time to create a character for playing D&D and thought I'd try my luck using a character generator for 4e, so I had something to tinker with before game. Mind you I am a ...
3
votes
1answer
94 views

How do multiple racial power replacement feats interact in D&D4e?

If a character has two feats which both replace their racial power with another power, which one takes effect? For example, the Wizard's Wrath feat (Dragon 381) states: You ignore bloodied enemies’ ...
1
vote
1answer
115 views

Does “Ability modifier damage” always include all bonuses?

We all know that a character's damage bonus gets enhanced by many kinds of bonuses — item bonus, feat bonus, power bonus, enhancement bonus, etc. Once all is said and done, a higher-level character's ...
5
votes
1answer
121 views

How many attacks does Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) involve?

The 17th level rogue encounter power Path of the Blade (from Dragon 381) states the following: Effect: You can shift a number of squares equal to 2 + your Charisma modifier. Two times during this ...
3
votes
1answer
273 views

Can Hellish Rebuke be cast twice with an Action Point for twice the damage?

4e’s Hellish Rebuke: 1d6 + Constitution modifier fire damage. The first time you take damage before the end of your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 + Constitution modifier fire damage. ...
0
votes
1answer
86 views

How do you handle multiple Quarry as a Ranger?

A ranger having the Battlefield Archer PP can use this power: Battlefield Experience (11th level): You can designate more than one creature as your quarry at a time, up to a number equal to your ...
3
votes
1answer
125 views

How do multi-attack powers interact with the Hunting Party power?

Recently, the Ranger in my group started to use this power : Hunting Party / Ranger Utility 10 Daily ✦ martial, stance Minor Action Personal Effect: Until the stance ends, each time you ...
4
votes
1answer
443 views

Is it possible to use Fey step to bypass locks?

In D&D 4e Eladrin get an ability called fey step which allows them to teleport 5 squares per encounter. Would an Eladrin be able to peek through a keyhole and bypass a door by teleporting?
0
votes
1answer
72 views

Calculating damage on a crit with an item's encounter power?

If I crit. while using a Frostbrand's close blast encounter power, do I add in the "crit per plus" of d8 as well? Even though it wasn't used as a melee attack?
2
votes
2answers
130 views

Does the Daily Power of a Parrying Weapon have to be used with that weapon?

The power in question: Power (Daily): Immediate Reaction. Use this power when an enemy makes a melee attack against you. Make a melee basic attack against that enemy, with a power bonus on your ...
1
vote
1answer
78 views

Can a Swordmage use Spikes of Agony with every use of Aegis of Assault, or only once per encounter?

The Swormage has the 7th level Encounter Power Spikes of Agony. This Encounter has an effect that includes the At-Will Aegis of Assault. When attacking with Aegis of Assault you normally make a melee ...
8
votes
2answers
162 views

If a power references your Speed, can it be your Flight Speed?

My player has a 4e Pixie Monk and his Daily power says he can shift his speed (which on his sheet says Speed 4 Flight 8) and I'm not sure if the card is specific to Speed or can he use his Flight ...
6
votes
2answers
277 views

How many times per round does Hero's Beacon affect Tiamat?

In the final encounter of Scales of War, each of Tiamat's heads gets its own initiative (on 45, 40, 35, 30, and 25) and can use one standard and one minor action. (If she wants to move, one head must ...
2
votes
2answers
190 views

What is Intelligence vs. Reflex for in a Power when I'm already attacking AC?

If I am already rolling to beat the creature's Armour Class, where does the Intelligence vs. Reflex check come into play, in (let's say) the move Fire Burst?
9
votes
1answer
198 views

How does Drunken Monkey interact with Savage Demise?

A PC (character A) in our game used Drunken Monkey on an enemy (character B). It hit and did the following: Hit: 1d8 + Dexterity modifier damage, and you slide the target 1 square. The target then ...
3
votes
1answer
183 views

How does Concerted Effort scale?

Concerted Effort ... Effect: Until the end of your next turn, each target gains a +1 power bonus to attack rolls. Whenever a target hits with at least one attack during his or her turn, the bonus ...
2
votes
1answer
66 views

If the target of Final Rebuke ends the forced move in a square adjacent to a solid obstacle, do they take the extra damage?

The power in question is Final Rebuke, a Paladin level 9 power from Divine Powers: Daily • Divine, Reliable, Weapon Standard Action Melee weapon Target: One creature Attack: Strength vs. ...
6
votes
2answers
142 views

Can Iron Dragon Charge be used each time, or only once?

Iron Dragon Charge (PHB I) reads: Until the end of the encounter, as an immediate reaction, an ally of your choice within 5 squares of you can charge a target that you charge. Does this imply ...
3
votes
2answers
111 views

Can Avenging Echo trigger multiple times per enemy?

Avenging Echo reads: Any enemy that ends its turn adjacent to you or that hits or misses you takes 5 radiant damage. If an enemy attacks the avenger and ends its turn adjacent, or if an enemy ...
3
votes
1answer
89 views

Can I target allies with utility powers without having line of effect to them?

The rules for "Seeing and Targeting" (PHB, p273) specifically mention that You need line of effect to any target you attack and to any space in which you wish to create an effect. However, that ...
1
vote
1answer
66 views

Does Instinctive Flyby require the power to be charged?

The Young Green Dragon has the power instictive flyby: On an initiative of 10 + its initiative check, the dragon can use a free action to use flyby attack. flyby attack: Flyby Attack • Recharge ...
3
votes
1answer
185 views

Other than taking the Adamant Arrow Style feat, how can I use powers in place of a ranged basic attack?

I am playing Ranger in D&D 4e and I built myself around Flying Steel and other attacks that let you make a ranged basic attack when (trigger). I want to know if there is a way that I could use ...
8
votes
2answers
526 views

Do class features count against the number of powers you can choose at 1st level?

I have been researching my question for a week now and, simple a question though it may be, I keep reading answers that are pulling me in different directions, so I finally decided to just ask. Here ...
4
votes
1answer
194 views

How much ammo does an area burst weapon attack use?

While I was perusing a CharOp guide for the Seeker class, I saw a suggestion of a Hybrid Seeker|Executioner build. While my first thought was to the use the Seeker at-will powers that count as basic ...
3
votes
1answer
162 views

Does Vampire's “Hidden Power” trigger on “Blood Drinker” and base power

Hidden Power says: You gain a bonus to the damage rolls of your vampire powers and vampire paragon path powers. The bonus equals your Charisma modifier. So, let's say you're a level one vampire. ...
5
votes
3answers
378 views

Does having two sources of damage in one attack count as two damage rolls?

For instance, if an attack power allows you to do "2d8+3 plus 1d6 fire damage", and you're under the effects of a power which gives you "+4 to all damage rolls", would the +4 be added to both the ...
7
votes
1answer
150 views

Does Double or Total Aegis require dropping all targets to zero to reactivate Aegis?

With Hybrid Swordmages, you only get the Aegis once per encounter, but you can regain it by dropping the marked enemy to 0. What if you mark using Total Aegis or Double Aegis, though? Do you have to ...
7
votes
1answer
295 views

How do Primordial Blade and Githyanki Silver Weapon interact?

So, the Githyanki Silver Blade turns all damage dealt by it to Psychic, and Primordial Blade (16th level Malec-Keth Janissary) adds +1d4 of one of (Fire, Lightning, Thunder, Cold) to the damage. If I ...
1
vote
3answers
225 views

Is it possible to use a Cleric's Melee power with a Non-Melee weapon?

So I'm still pretty new to 4e and I had a concept for a primarily "spellcaster" Human Cleric that uses a bow instead of a regular melee weapon. (A close comparison is Kikyo/Kagomae from Inuyasha.) ...
3
votes
2answers
181 views

Do vulnerabilities trigger multiple times when a power deals damage multiple times?

If I hit a vulnerable target with an effect that hits it twice, such as Static Charge or Chromatic Bolt, does it count the damage for vulnerability twice?
4
votes
2answers
301 views

Can a Surprised character use powers triggered when initiative is rolled?

Certain powers are triggered when initiative is rolled, such as the power for the Casque of Tactics. Power (Daily): Free Action. Use this power when initiative is rolled. Swap initiative check ...
4
votes
2answers
377 views

What exactly does the Ardent's Wormhole Plunge do?

I am the DM in a campaign in which one of my friends plays an ardent. Everyone agrees with my friend that his ardent's Wormhole Plunge power kills any enemies that go into it. Is this true? It's ...
5
votes
1answer
149 views

Can a close burst attack hit flying creatures?

As a rogue, I used acrobat's blade trick with a magical dagger in an attempt to hit two flying creatures adjacent to me. At the time, the DM let me hit the creatures, although we remain unsure as to ...
1
vote
1answer
109 views

Can Forceful Drag move Multiple Creatures?

Forceful Drag: You move your speed. For each square you move, you slide a creature grabbed by you 1 square to a square adjacent to you. The creature remains grabbed, and you do not provoke an ...
2
votes
1answer
500 views

Do powers that let me shift as reaction make me negate the triggering attack at all?

I'm playing an Avenger multi-classed Ranger, and I got powers like Snarling Wolf Stance, Vengeful Parry and Fox's Cunning. Can I use the shift granted by those powers to negate the triggering attack ...
6
votes
1answer
232 views

Do powers that can be used as basic attacks trigger effects that happen when you make a basic attack?

If I have one of the Skald's at-will powers such as Bolstering Speech that triggers when I hit with a basic attack through Master of Stories and the half-elf 1/encounter at-will, can I trigger its ...
2
votes
1answer
82 views

When do creatures start receiving additional attacks while under Freezing Cloud?

The effect part of the Freezing Cloud spell description reads (PHB, p. 160): Effect: The cloud lasts until the end of your next turn. Any creature that enters the cloud or starts its turn there ...
5
votes
2answers
547 views

Is Reaper's Challenge really that broken? Did I get it wrong?

I'm DMing a 4e campaign and the PCs are level 19, now, but I have been having trouble with a power. Reaper's Challenge. My group's swordmage saves it through every adventure so he can use it on a ...
2
votes
3answers
284 views

Do I have to prepare wizards level 2 encounter spells?

I have a level 2 Wizard. Player's handbook on page 158 says: After an extended rest, you can prepare a number of daily and utility spells according to what you can cast per day for your level. You ...
3
votes
1answer
116 views

Does the Cat Paws power allow doubling all power-granted movement while climbing?

Cat Paws are an item that helps you climb better, but while making a character who wants to utilize these items for various stunts and attacks I noticed that the wording on the 'double any climbing ...
3
votes
1answer
92 views

Does Sure Strike damage include the value from the damage workspace?

Sure Strike seems to be the only Fighter action with 1[W] for the hit formula. Does this mean that the damage workspace value is not applied? My character's damage workspace value is 8. When I ...
6
votes
1answer
109 views

Dilettante replaced by Encounter-atk replacing feat?

I'm trying to create a Blackguard multiclass-vampire. One of the multiclass-vampire feats called "Thirst for Blood" allows you to "Choose one of your encounter attack powers that has a level. You lose ...
5
votes
1answer
198 views

Does replacing a basic melee attack with an encounter power expend the use of the power?

When using an encounter power to replace the basic melee attack at the end of a charge, such as daring charge (barbarian lvl 3 encounter power, phb2) does this expend the use of said encounter power? ...
2
votes
2answers
168 views

Is there time after a free action triggers to use another free action before continuing?

I've got the following feat and power on my rogue. Slaying action: If you spend an action point to take an extra action and have already dealt Sneak Attack damage during this round, you can deal ...
4
votes
1answer
175 views

In D&D 4E can effects that come before the attack line, make an attack power legal to use?

Seems like a simple thing, but it got my whole group in an argument. It was over the Assassin level 3 encounter power "inescapable Shadow" which states Before the attack, teleport 5 squares to a ...
3
votes
1answer
185 views

Can a character using a Cloak of the Gargoyle use line-of-sight psionic effects?

If a character who has turned to stone by using a Cloak of the Gargoyle detects an ally nearby using tremorsense, can he still communicate them with a telepathy power that requires line of sight/...
8
votes
1answer
268 views

Do I get all my damage bonuses with the second part of Flaming Sphere?

I recently used a Wizard(Mage) in a level 14 one-shot. I used the daily power Flaming Sphere and when I went to roll the secondary d4 + damage I assumed all my bonuses would be included. Here's those ...