Questions tagged [dnd-5e]

For questions about Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition, an RPG published in 2014 by Wizards of the Coast. D&D 5e is a heroic fantasy RPG inspired by the mechanics and settings of all previous D&D editions. It was previously code-named D&D Next during the playtest period.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
863 views

What does “lift” actually mean?

PHB chapter 7, "Using Ability Scores", mentions that it's possible to "lift" more than one can normally carry: Push, Drag, or Lift. You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds ...
2
votes
2answers
128 views

Can an Astral Self monk suppress the verbal components of any spells they can cast?

Can an Astral Self monk using their Word of the Spirit ability cause the Verbal component of any spells they may be able to cast to be audible only to themselves?
15
votes
1answer
2k views

Where does one leave a mount in a city? How much does it cost?

The players have a mule to carry some cargo. When they arrive at the city, they will stay in some inn. Where could they leave the mule (or horse, or another mount) and how much does it cost? I thought ...
5
votes
1answer
644 views

Does the Quick Toss maneuver work with a Magic Stone?

The Quick Toss maneuver from Tashas Cauldron indicates a ranged attack can be made with a bonus action for expending a superiority die. Could you quickly toss a Magic Stone? How much damage would it ...
2
votes
1answer
142 views

How can a bard play multiple instruments with the effect of a whole symphony performing?

Starting a new campaign as DM in the Forgotten Realms (Lost Mines of Phandelver, if it matters) and I have a player wanting to play a Bard who has the ability to play an instrument that somehow ...
4
votes
1answer
125 views

On whose turn does a homunculus deliver its Artificer's spells?

I am DMing an Artificer for the first time and we have some questions about how his homunculus servant works. This question is about spells cast by the artificer but delivered by the servant. The ...
7
votes
2answers
877 views

Does Know Your Enemy provide all class levels or just fighter levels?

I have a battle master fighter in my group who would like to use this ability while spending time at a party where a lot of my NPCs are attending. He would like to know the class levels of each one. ...
-2
votes
1answer
58 views

Can an Arcane Gate spell be facing up or down? [duplicate]

Arcane Gate states: Choose two points on the ground that you can see, one point within 10 feet of you and one point within 500 feet of you. A circular portal, 10 feet in diameter, opens over each ...
1
vote
0answers
28 views

Can Fist of Unbroken Air target unseen creatures? [duplicate]

Way of the Four Elements has two similar attacks in its list of Disiplines: Fist of Unbroken Air: You can create a blast of compressed air that strikes like a mighty fist. As an action, you can spend ...
1
vote
0answers
41 views

How do the effects of the Charm Person spell apply during combat? [duplicate]

On success, the spell Charm Person has the following effects: The target is charmed by the caster: it can't attack or harm the caster The target regards the caster as a friendly acquaintance The ...
6
votes
2answers
547 views

Multiclass - spellcasting prerequisite on feat

I have a multiclass Rogue (Inquisitive) 11 / Wizard (Diviner) 2. I'd like to take a feat instead of an ASI on my Rogue level 12, but the feat has spellcasting as a prerequisite. So my question is ...
13
votes
3answers
1k views

Is there any damage that changes with the size of a creature?

Spells which affect an area (e.g. ice storm) tend to have a set damage regardless of how much of the creature's body is within the affected area. Intuitively (I know this isn't how D&D always ...
6
votes
1answer
906 views

By numbers, is Booming Blade opportunity attack damage unreasonable?

The DM in a campaign where I am playing doesn't want to allow Booming Blade opportunity attacks with the Warcaster feat. Fluff-wise reasoning is, with OA there is not enough time to first "...
2
votes
2answers
144 views

Blindsight vs Darkness and Shadows of Moil

How does a dragon's blindsight interact with a PC casting darkness or shadows of moil. Would the PC get advantage on their attack rolls, and would the dragon get disadvantage on it's attack rolls?
7
votes
1answer
194 views

Are there any rules outside of Chapter 7 of the DMG which prompt the DM to give a player an Epic Boon or Supernatural Gift?

The Aberrant Dragonmark feat from Ebberon, Wayfinder’s Guide to Eberron and in Eberron: Rising from the Last War says: At the DM's option, a character who has the Aberrant Dragonmark feat has a ...
3
votes
1answer
191 views

What rarity would this Taser-Pistol be?

Ignore the standard rarity in the block, that is a placeholder. TASER-PISTOL ranged weapon (simple, firearm) Category: Items Damage: 1d4 Damage Type: Lightning Item Rarity: Standard Properties: ...
2
votes
2answers
244 views

Can a character be hurt by standing outside of a tight Wall of Fire?

The description for Wall of Fire states: You can make the wall up to 60 feet long, 20 feet high, and 1 foot thick, or a ringed wall up to 20 feet in diameter, 20 feet high, and 1 foot thick. [...] ...
14
votes
4answers
2k views

Does wearing a cloak over the Robe of Eyes “close” those eyes, preventing you from seeing out of the robe?

Part of the description of the robe of eyes magic item says: The robe lets you see in all directions [...] The eyes on the robe can't be closed or averted. Although you can close or avert your own ...
2
votes
2answers
654 views

What are all of the ways a character can gain a supernatural gift/blessing/epic boon - through class, feat, or other player facing methods?

After reading the Aberrant Dragonmark feat, which says: At the DM's option, a character who has the Aberrant Dragonmark feat has a chance of manifesting greater power. Upon reaching 10th level, such ...
4
votes
2answers
577 views

Does the Wall of Fire spell damage creatures above it?

The Wall of Fire spell describes its "damage zone" as: One side of the wall, selected by you when you cast this spell, deals 5d8 fire damage to each creature that ends its turn within 10 ...
4
votes
2answers
182 views

Can the Wall of Fire be placed on a vertical solid surface?

The target for the Wall of Fire spell is described as "a solid surface within range", does this imply that the spell could be cast on a wall or other vertical surface (or upside down on a ...
9
votes
1answer
969 views

How does fighting underwater increase the encounter difficulty of combat?

I am in the process of designing an encounter in which a party of 8 level 3 players will fight a group of Chuul. The CR calculation shows that 3 Chuul will cause a hard encounter, but I intend that ...
-2
votes
0answers
62 views

Can my character remove a willing ally's shield by spending my action? [duplicate]

It takes an action to don and to doff a shield (See Pg 146 of the PHB). Can P1 spend his action to remove P2's shield (doff it for him)?
23
votes
8answers
4k views

Can you make armor with multiple elemental resistances using only wool and copper? And how much time and money would it cost?

For context One of my players is playing for the first time and has some problems with magic and how versatile it is, therefore he is attempting to make an armor to resist fire, lightning, acid and ...
3
votes
0answers
39 views

How to calculate constitution based armor class for a Loxodon barbarian in 5e? [duplicate]

Loxodons have natural armor that is calculated using "12+con_mod" Barbarians have unarmored defence calculated using "10+dex_mod+con_mod" One of my players wants to be a Loxodon ...
4
votes
1answer
422 views

Does Armorer's Armor Modifications increase your Maximum number of infusions?

So I was reading the Armorer's 9th level feature and came across this text In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can an artificer have a steel defender and a homunculus?

Thinking about playing an artificer character and curious about the interactions with the Steel defender and the homunculus servant infusion, is there any contraindication?
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a second character remove a willing PC's shield?

It takes an action to don and to doff a shield (See Pg 146 of the PHB). Does that action need to be the PC's action, Or, could another member of the party (another PC), or even a familiar with ...
10
votes
2answers
709 views

How would a level 20 Moon druid defeat a Forcecage?

How would a lv 20 Moon druid get out of a Forcecage? Some options I've considered are: Repeated teleportation attempts There don't appear to be any teleportation spells that would work from inside a ...
-1
votes
1answer
107 views

Size restrictions and amount on object-to-object true polymorph spell?

Here's the initial question: Can I transport myself to the Sun and target the Sun as an entity that is within 30 feet of me, and proceed to true polymorph the Sun into not-Sun, causing the world to go ...
-1
votes
1answer
147 views

Does a Warlock's Repelling Blast Stack with Lance of Lethargy?

Lance of Lethargy states: Lance of Lethargy Prerequisite: eldritch blast cantrip Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can reduce that creature’s speed by ...
0
votes
0answers
42 views

Spells with secondary damage effects and critical damage [duplicate]

Spells like like Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade has secondary damage effects. Booming Blade deals an extra 1d8 thunder damage if the creature hit with the spell's initial melee attack requirement ...
4
votes
1answer
238 views

Criticals and Piercer Feat

Piercer feat from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything states that on critical attack roll you add an additional weapon damage die to the damage roll. Does this extra dice also double on a critical hit? Ex: ...
7
votes
2answers
173 views

Can artificer subclasses be in (third-party) material published under the OGL?

If I were to publish my own campaign setting for D&D 5e under the OGL, can I include new subclasses for the artificer in the material I publish? Would any restrictions/workarounds allow me to do ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the minimum challenge rating (CR) for creatures with Legendary Resistance (3/Day)?

I enjoy making my own creatures or tweaking existing ones for my campaigns and I have sometimes added the Legendary Resistance feature, in particular with some bosses (at higher levels). But I've ...
2
votes
0answers
29 views

Does standing behind another PC provide cover? [duplicate]

I came across this in my campaign, where a player used Investiture of Wind because there was a mini horde of skeletons on higher ground about to shoot another volley of arrows. One of the other ...
7
votes
1answer
168 views

Are there any serious balance issues with allowing all players to have access to elemental magic in my homebrew?

The Background I'm constructing a homebrew setting for a campaign in which elemental magic is much more common than in most D&D official settings. There will be portals to the elemental planes ...
3
votes
2answers
462 views

Does Advantage on a target only apply for the first of multiple attacks?

Any time you get Advantage on a target you roll 2 dice and keep the better roll, and do the opposite for Disadvantage. How does this affect attacks if you have multiple attacks such as from fighters/...
4
votes
1answer
447 views

Unconsciousness ending naturally over time?

In D&D 5E, if a player character, an NPC, or a group of player characters and/or NPCs become unconscious or go critical and then get stabilized, or if an enemy/enemies was/were knocked out instead ...
10
votes
1answer
313 views

Can you cast spells that do not require material components through an arcane focus?

The PHB states: Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “...
16
votes
3answers
728 views

Are you considered the charmer when you cast Hypnotic Pattern?

Hypnotic pattern reads: [...] On a failed save, the creature becomes charmed for the duration. While charmed by this spell, the creature is incapacitated and has a speed of 0. [...] Unlike most ...
3
votes
1answer
96 views

Is a Sidekick's base +2 proficiency bonus already included in their source stat block?

I'm confused by the Sidekick rules in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything. In the "Gaining a Sidekick Class" section, it says this: Proficiency Bonus The sidekick's proficiency bonus is ...
1
vote
0answers
79 views

Can a creature with Blindsight see a Scrying Sensor? Is that sensor an object? Can it be destroyed? [closed]

Scrying: A creature that can see Invisible Objects sees the sensor as a luminous orb about the size of your fist. Blind Sight: A creature with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without ...
1
vote
2answers
238 views

Can a conscious, stabilized PC do anything if they are still at 0 hit points after being stabilized with “Spare the Dying”?

Pretty self explanatory: A character has been shot to zero hit points and falls unconscious. A Cleric uses spare the dying on them and stabilizes them before they have a chance to make any death ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Shape Water be used to hurt Vampires?

Shape Water Says: You instantaneously move or otherwise change the flow of the water as you direct, up to 5 feet in any direction. This movement doesn’t have enough force to cause damage. Vampire - ...
2
votes
0answers
47 views

Wizard/Arcane Trickster learning 2nd level spells [duplicate]

I am a 3rd level Rogue/Arcane Trickster considering multiclassing into a Wizard. I understand, however, that this may cause some issues with my higher level spells and just want to make sure I don't ...
-3
votes
2answers
217 views

Do the attacks from Polearm Master and the Brace Maneuver stack?

Polearm Master allows a PC to make an opportunity attack when an enemy enters within reach. With the Brace manoeuvre, you can use a reaction to make an attack, expending a superiority die. BRACE When ...
3
votes
2answers
376 views

How rare is this artificer magic item I created? [closed]

One of my backup characters is a level 10 gnome artificer and has some self made magic items, but I roleplay it as if it's a technological swiss army knife with different functions with 3 buttons. (...
12
votes
2answers
305 views

Can Lair Actions be used while Resting?

I am curious because of an existing situation in my current campaign, and would appreciate feedback. Here's the scenario: An Aboleth is confronted in its lair by the party, which manages to beat it ...
2
votes
0answers
98 views

Copy Spells creating a logic paradox [duplicate]

So with the addition of Order of Scribes wizard I read about its abilities, since I heard a claim that they can potentially be better evocation wizards than the school subclass itself. While reading, ...