Questions tagged [dnd-5e]

Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition is an RPG published in 2014 by Wizards of the Coast. D&D 5e is a heroic fantasy RPG inspired by the mechanics and settings of all previous D&D editions. It was previously code-named D&D Next during the playtest period.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
2answers
118 views

Do Chain Devils' Animated Chains restrain creatures on a grapple?

The Chain Devil can make an attack that will grapple and restrain the target on a hit. Chain. Melee Weapon Attack: +8 to hit, reach 10 ft., one target. Hit: 11 (2d6 + 4) slashing damage. The ...
5
votes
6answers
4k views

How can I replicate this effect of the Infinity Gauntlet using official material?

I am a GM searching for some means (spell, magic item, artifact, etc) of replicating the power granted by the notorious Infinity Gauntlet as depicted in Marvel's Cinematic Universe. The effect I'm ...
9
votes
2answers
222 views

What damaging options does a lich have while in an anti-magic field?

Magical and magical effects are rendered ineffective in an antimagic field spell. The lich's Paralyzing Touch is described as a Melee Spell Attack. Disrupt Life and Frightening Gaze are listed as ...
6
votes
4answers
2k views

What kind of tools would be used to carve bone?

Related question: Is it balanced to replace a musical instrument proficiency from my character's background with an artisan's tool proficiency instead? I'm designing a Wood Elf Outlander ...
20
votes
3answers
9k views

Can you decide not to sneak into a room after seeing your roll?

If someone asks to stealthily open a door but rolls poorly, can they just choose not to do it, and let someone else open the door?
10
votes
2answers
884 views

How do multiple castings of Demiplane interact with one another?

So for the spell Demiplane, it states: Each time you cast this spell, you can create a new demiplane, or have the shadowy door connect to a demiplane you created with a previous casting of ...
29
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a surprised monster use lair actions if they roll an initiative above 20?

The rules for lair actions say: On initiative count 20 (losing all initiative ties), it can use one of its lair action options. It can’t do so while incapacitated or otherwise unable to take ...
1
vote
1answer
140 views

How can I learn spells that are not in the druid spell list without multiclassing or taking feats? [closed]

I am a spore druid, as I saw in my spell circles I can learn some spells that are not in the druid spell list, is there any way my druid can learn more spells outside my class without multiclassing or ...
9
votes
1answer
746 views

Can you work with another caster to store their spell in a Glyph of Warding spell you cast?

Can you work with another caster to store their spell in a Glyph of Warding spell you cast? Say you are a Wizard, level 15+. You can cast 8th level spells, and so can your level 15+ Cleric friend. ...
13
votes
1answer
367 views

Do non-elven gods become more powerful over time?

As far as I understand, gods in the Forgotten Realms become more powerful if they get more souls of their worshippers in the afterlife. According to Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes (p. 37, under "...
8
votes
2answers
604 views

Are there any official mechanics for grafts or anything similar?

In D&D 3.5e there were a number of options which PC's (and the DM) could use to augment themselves (or monsters) for a cost. Of these numerous options, I am focusing on grafts. Has anything ...
4
votes
1answer
164 views

How do areas where construction has replaced nature affect the spell Commune with Nature's ability to give information on buildings?

One of the limitations of Commune With Nature is that The spell doesn't function where nature has been replaced by construction, such as in dungeons and towns. I am uncertain what that entails ...
4
votes
2answers
286 views

Must a component pouch/focus be “out” to be handled, or can I keep it in my pocket?

When casting a spell with a material component, does one have to spend an object interaction taking the component pouch/focus out of wherever it's kept, or can it just be "handled" by touching it and ...
11
votes
1answer
259 views

What happens if you end concentration on a spell with a long casting time without your concentration “breaking”?

Certain features rely on concentration "breaking" rather than simply ending. To show the difference, there is first the "Concentration" section of the rules which states: [...] If you lose ...
8
votes
1answer
194 views

How to dismiss a conjured elemental?

Is it possible for caster to willingly dismiss an elemental who was summoned by the Conjure elemental spell? Spell description says An uncontrolled elemental can't be dismissed by you, and it ...
3
votes
2answers
206 views

Does anything grant proficiency with harpoons?

Is there any feat or ability that gives a PC proficiency with Harpoons in D&D 5th Edition? In Descent Into Avernus,
6
votes
1answer
166 views

How to recover memories from the Feywild?

Session 1 of my campaign is going to be the group waking up in an open field with no memory of why or how they got there. Later on in the campaign I want them to recover these lost memories. These ...
15
votes
1answer
319 views

Do warlocks with an infernal pact or tieflings have a place in the infernal hierarchy?

I'm doing some lore research before I start as a player (playing a warlock in a pact with levistus) in Descent into Avernus, and I'm curious whether there's any information about where mortal warlocks ...
-9
votes
2answers
170 views

If I do not need to breathe, do I still need my heart and lungs?

The Mystic class from Unearthed Arcana has the Adaptive Body discipline (page 10), which states: While focused on this discipline, you no longer need to eat, breathe... So would I still need my ...
2
votes
1answer
115 views

How does the Globe of Invulnerability spell work?

The description of the Globe of Invulnerability spell says: An immobile, faintly shimmering barrier springs into existence in a 10-foot radius around you and remains for the duration. Any ...
6
votes
1answer
166 views

Does the Insignia of Claws magic item work with a druid in Wild Shape?

A friend and I want to know if the insignia of claws magic item (HotDQ, p. 94) will work when he is in his Wild Shape form. He is playing a druid (Circle of the Moon). It does say that it affects ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Creature at 0 HP Take Damage?

Inspired by this question (and a comment underneath it), I thought we should have a solid answer on the site for this question: Can a character at 0 HP take damage?
2
votes
2answers
149 views

Does a bonus to damage rolls apply to the damage after the roll or to the number rolled?

If something says I have a bonus to damage rolls does that number get applied to the number on the dice or to the damage after the roll? I was looking at the Hexblade's Curse feature which says I ...
11
votes
2answers
267 views

Is there any terrain option that would fit Avernus/the Nine Hells for the ranger's Natural Explorer feature?

I'm reading through Descent into Avernus and my vision of it is a Mad Max-esque world. Red, desolate, almost like a desert but not classified as one. The mountains there have no vegetation... just ...
24
votes
1answer
4k views

Can massive damage kill you while at 0 HP?

The rules on "Instant Death" state: Massive damage can kill you instantly. When damage reduces you to 0 hit points and there is damage remaining, you die if the remaining damage equals or exceeds ...
26
votes
4answers
5k views

How can I curtail abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature?

I'd like to know some methods of curtailing the abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature in a game. Right now I have a player here running roughshod over the other GMs in the group by ...
8
votes
1answer
365 views

How does the Death Ward spell work if you are at 0 hit points and take massive damage?

The death ward spell states: [...] The first time the target would drop to 0 hit points as a result of taking damage, the target instead drops to 1 hit point, and the spell ends. If the spell ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What ways are there to bypass spell resistance?

Our DM originally began by targeting two characters, the Sorlock and the Bladelock, by giving enemies Brooches of Shielding to nerf them. Realizing instead, he had just given us a new revenue stream, ...
8
votes
1answer
298 views

True Polymorph, Dragon Change Shape, and True Sight interaction

So what happens if one of my PC's casts True Polymorph to turn into an adult gold dragon, concentrates on the spell for the full hour to make it permanent, then uses the the dragons Change Shape ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this homebrew tower shield overpowered?

In my current 5e game the DM allowed our paladin to purchase this shield that was homebrewed by the DM: Armor (tower shield), common \$\begin{array}{|c|c|c|c|c|} \hline \textbf{Cost} & \...
21
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Dragon enter the Feywild without having to use fey crossing portals?

I'm creating a campaign for my group and I need to know if dragons (metallic and chromatic) can enter and exit the Feywild, without having to use fey crossing portals?
4
votes
1answer
133 views

Does a target need to be within 5 feet for a Kraken to swallow it?

The Kraken has a bite attack which has the following rules: Bite: Melee Weapon Attack: +17 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 23 (3d8 + 10) piercing damage. If the target is a Large or smaller ...
1
vote
0answers
34 views

Does the total cover provided by being swallowed work both ways? [duplicate]

Say a character ends up being swallowed by a monster, for the sake of an example say the monster is a Kraken. The rules for being swallowed by a Kraken include this sentence: While swallowed, the ...
1
vote
0answers
86 views

What is a reasonable stat block for a level 8 party destroying a book of darkness [closed]

I want my party to avert a powerful wizard from becoming a lich. I know this can be done with a tome of darkness, and I'd like the party to destroy the tome of darkness in about three turns if two ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the size of Neverwinter?

In miles, feet, or kilometers, what size is Neverwinter from north wall to south wall and also from the west wall to the east side?
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there any way to ward an area against Sending?

There are several spells which ward against teleportation, planar travel, or divination spells. But as far as I've been able to find, there isn't anything that would stop the Sending spell from ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

If I kill a creature by throwing vials of acid at it, do I still get XP?

If I took an acid vial and threw it at a monster that had a very small amount of health, killing it, would I still get the experience even though it was the acid vial that killed it? I came across a ...
4
votes
1answer
262 views

Is it balanced to replace a musical instrument proficiency from my character's background with an artisan's tool proficiency instead?

I'm designing a Wood Elf Outlander Warlock (in D&D 5E) who only has one hand. This makes my arm near to useless. As an Outlander, I am proficient with a musical instrument, and have skill ...
12
votes
1answer
872 views

Is there a penalty for switching targets?

I'm playing a fighter with the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style. Several times in the game tonight, I killed my target with my first attack, and so I wanted to use my bonus attack to go at one of ...
-4
votes
2answers
288 views

Is there a balanced or allowable trade that would grant Shield proficiency as a starting proficiency for a class which normally would not have it?

Normally a character has to choose between wielding 2 of a shield, an arcane focus (or component pouch), and a weapon OR just a two-handed weapon. As a Warlock, I could choose to wield an arcane ...
1
vote
1answer
157 views

Can I use a ring as an arcane focus if my hand must still be empty?

I'm designing an outlander wood elf warlock who only has one hand. I feel like this would prevent me from cheating the action economy, while still allowing me to carry things with that hand. If I need ...
0
votes
0answers
48 views

What happens to characters and/or items inside a creature that is banished by the Banishment spell? [duplicate]

What happens to the other characters or items inside the one banished by a banishment spell? Are they banished with it? Do they stay behind and fall to the floor? Is there a difference between what ...
30
votes
3answers
3k views

Would Great Old Ones care about the Blood War?

I've been wanting to play a Great Old One Warlock, but my table is about to start Descent Into Avernus. My thoughts to tie it in is that the GOO has taken notice of what's going on in the Nine Hells ...
2
votes
1answer
119 views

Can You Recast Hunter's Mark Whenever You Want? [duplicate]

Hunter's mark states the following: If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to mark a new creature. Does that mean ...
10
votes
1answer
273 views

Can you take the additional action from the fighter's Action Surge feature before you take your regular action?

The fighter's Action Surge feature (post errata mentioned in the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium) now states: On your turn, you can take one additional action. The Eldritch Knight fighter gets the ...
7
votes
1answer
174 views

Is Zhent just the term for any member of the Zhentarim?

I'm starting to get confused by the term "Zhent" as I read it in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure, and how it is used. Is it just a term for any member of the Zhentarim? I attempted to look this ...
7
votes
2answers
315 views

Using the Grappler feat, can you grapple and pin (restrain) in the same action?

Using the Grappler feat, one can pin a grappled target. While grappling uses one of your attacks, in the rulebook pinning takes an action. Can I, via multi-attack access to 2 attacks, use both ...
1
vote
0answers
42 views

Do Ability Score Limits permanently change from features that change it? [duplicate]

In D&D 5E, there are multiple different ways to increase ones Ability Score permanently, for example, like the Ability Score Increase and Primal Champion (Barbarian Capstone) class features, or ...
13
votes
3answers
416 views

What is the maximum possible Stealth bonus?

I realised we do not have a version of this rather (in)famous optimization problem: What is the maximum possible bonus to a Dexterity (Stealth) check? Bonus is here taken to mean anything that is ...
8
votes
3answers
888 views

Can I return my ability to cast Wish by using the Glyph of Warding spell?

The description of Wish in the Player's Handbook says that if you use it to do anything other than duplicating another spell, you suffer stress, one of the results of which is: There is a 33 ...