Questions tagged [double-weapons]

For questions about how weapons with two (or more) ends work. Various systems include such weapons, and give them special properties, often allowing them to be used as a blend of two-handed weapons and paired one-handed weapons. (See also: the [weapons] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat?

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat? I won't detail it heavily, but can an Elf and/or Half-Elf Wizard (Bladesinger) combine all these for enhanced ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
515 views

How many times can dancing double weapons attack?

Let's assume my character has 6 BAB. He can make two attacks per turn with a basic one handed sword. His wizard friend wants to create an Urgrosh with the dancing property. As far as I know, dancing ...
user avatar
9 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can Pact of the Blade be used to create a double-bladed scimitar in DDAL?

This question pertains specifically to D&D Adventurers League rules. I've got a character concept that I want to implement in a Forgotten Realms campaign, and I'm trying to formulate a plausible ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

With the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style, how does the double-bladed scimitar's damage evolve?

Traditionally, the Greatsword, Maul and Greataxe are considered the strongest two-handed weapons (unless you take the Polearm Master feat, where Glaives and Halberds rock out). Barbarians and Half-...
user avatar
  • 44.1k
2 votes
1 answer
194 views

Two-Weapon Fighting and Double Weapons

The rules regarding the Two-Weapon Fighting feats in D&D 4th Edition seem pretty clear, but I'm still not sure how they apply to double weapons. The Adventurer's Vault states "wielding a double ...
user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does the monk's Martial Arts feature replace the damage die type, the die number, or both?

I'll get more into the question's details, but the reason I ask this is the Kensei Monk. Kensei monks cannot use Heavy weapons, which results in them being unable to use all Two-Handed weapons, but ...
user avatar
15 votes
3 answers
20k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
user avatar
  • 153
3 votes
2 answers
572 views

Spear Dancing Style and Magic Weapon/Dual-Balanced Weapon

The Spear Dancing Style allows, when using the style, to grant the double special weapon feature to a spear or polearm from the weapon fighter group. I have two questions about the consequences of ...
user avatar
  • 986
4 votes
1 answer
313 views

How do I create a bladed bow in Hero Lab?

I am trying to create a bladed bow (a long bow with blades along the length) in Hero Lab for D&D 5E. I need it to do a lot of things simultaneously. It needs to deal slashing damage when used as ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
7k views

Is the Polearm Master Feat compatible with the Two-Weapon Fighting style?

Can Polearm Master make a quarterstaff act as a double weapon? Back in 3.5e, using both ends of a quarterstaff to attack was treated as using a "double" weapon, which counted for all intents ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
5k views

Can the TWF feats be used with a double weapon instead of two weapons?

I was reading another question and answer about a double weapon being used for two weapon fighting and it started me wondering about the wording for something else. Double: You can use a double ...
user avatar
  • 26.2k
-1 votes
3 answers
608 views

Is this homebrewed Double Whip balanced?

The double whip is a 6-inch bar with a whip lash on each end of the bar. The damage is 1d4/1d4 slashing non-lethal, critical 18–20/×5, its range is 10 feet and it can't be used against a foe ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is it possible to dual wield two double weapons with two hands for four attacks?

I have tried googling it, went through over 50 books, overviewed Dragon Magazines, Wotc Articles and couldn't find anything. Is there any race, template, feat, class feature, spell, power or other ...
user avatar
  • 9,661
5 votes
1 answer
157 views

How do expertise feats work with double weapons with different groups?

I'm making a character that is wielding a Kusari-gama, which is a double weapon that is a flail on one end and a light blade on the other end. My question is for expertise feats like Flail Expertise ...
user avatar
  • 4,917
6 votes
1 answer
397 views

How do weapon properties apply to double weapons?

The mechanics of wielding a double weapon is described in the Adventurer's Vault on page 10: Wielding a double weapon is like wielding a weapon in each hand. The first die given in the damage ...
user avatar
  • 63
6 votes
4 answers
4k views

Can you wield a double weapon in one hand?

Part of the wording under double weapons is confusing: A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. ...
user avatar
  • 474
2 votes
2 answers
543 views

Does Backswing work with double weapons?

Backswing (Ex): At 7th level, when a two-handed fighter makes a full attack with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls for all attacks after the first. All double ...
user avatar
  • 474
3 votes
2 answers
710 views

Dual wielding with a Double Weapon and an Off Hand weapon

Is it possible to dual wield with a double weapon and a off-hand weapon? For example, I'm wanting to use a double-sword in my main hand and, in my off hand, a handaxe.
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
382 views

Double weapons and switching hands

I am playing a Warblade weilding a Spiked Chain. I have one head of the chain enchanted with +1 Sweeping, and the other head with +2. My question is, if I have the +2 end as my main attack, and the +...
user avatar
8 votes
4 answers
4k views

Alternate, 2H, non-double use of quarterstaff?

I understand usually a quarterstaff is usually treated as a double weapon with 1d6/1d6 - however it seems like regripping it should allow use as a two handed weapon using only one end to get more out ...
user avatar
  • 4,062
6 votes
1 answer
16k views

If using a double weapon do you get multiple attacks?

If you don't have multiple attacks from your BAB but you have a double weapon like a quarterstaff, do you get multiple attacks if you take a full-round action or do you still need the bonus from the ...
user avatar
  • 4,955
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

What does a 1d6/1d6 damage mean?

When reading the weapon attacks from the core rulebook I noticed quarterstaves (and a few other weapons) have something like this under the Dmg column; 1d6/1d6 What does this mean? It looks to me ...
user avatar
  • 4,955
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Embedding and attaching double weapons to Warforged, specifically spiked chain

Regarding embedding and attaching weapons as warforged components, p. 114 of the Eberron Player's guide Weapons can be embedded or attached components. Two-handed weapons cannot be attached or ...
user avatar
  • 1,006
4 votes
1 answer
855 views

Does a Double Weapon work with Two-weapon feats?

Would the benefits from the feats: Two-weapon Fighting, Two-weapon Opening, Two-weapon Defense, etc... apply to a character that uses a Double Axe, Double Sword or Double Scimitar?
user avatar
  • 1,112