Questions tagged [double-weapons]

For questions about how weapons with two (or more) ends work. Various systems include such weapons, and give them special properties, often allowing them to be used as a blend of two-handed weapons and paired one-handed weapons.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
9
votes
3answers
4k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
3
votes
2answers
131 views

Spear Dancing Style and Magic Weapon/Dual-Balanced Weapon

The Spear Dancing Style allows, when using the style, to grant the double special weapon feature to a spear or polearm from the weapon fighter group. I have two questions about the consequences of ...
4
votes
2answers
216 views

How do I create a bladed bow in Hero Lab?

I am trying to create a bladed bow (a long bow with blades along the length) in Hero Lab for D&D 5E. I need it to do a lot of things simultaneously. It needs to deal slashing damage when used as ...
-1
votes
3answers
539 views

Is this homebrewed Double Whip balanced?

The double whip is a 6-inch bar with a whip lash on each end of the bar. The damage is 1d4/1d4 slashing non-lethal, critical 18–20/×5, its range is 10 feet and it can't be used against a foe ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

Is the Polearm Master Feat compatible with the Two-Weapon Fighting style?

Can Polearm Master make a quarterstaff act as a double weapon? Back in 3.5e, using both ends of a quarterstaff to attack was treated as using a "double" weapon, which counted for all intents and ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible to dual wield two double weapons with two hands for four attacks?

I have tried googling it, went through over 50 books, overviewed Dragon Magazines, Wotc Articles and couldn't find anything. Is there any race, template, feat, class feature, spell, power or other ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Can the TWF feats be used with a double weapon instead of two weapons?

I was reading another question and answer about a double weapon being used for two weapon fighting and it started me wondering about the wording for something else. Double: You can use a double ...
5
votes
1answer
138 views

How do expertise feats work with double weapons with different groups?

I'm making a character that is wielding a Kusari-gama, which is a double weapon that is a flail on one end and a light blade on the other end. My question is for expertise feats like Flail Expertise ...
6
votes
1answer
296 views

How do weapon properties apply to double weapons?

The mechanics of wielding a double weapon is described in the Adventurer's Vault on page 10: Wielding a double weapon is like wielding a weapon in each hand. The first die given in the damage ...
6
votes
4answers
3k views

Can you wield a double weapon in one hand?

Part of the wording under double weapons is confusing: A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. ...
4
votes
1answer
12k views

If using a double weapon do you get multiple attacks?

If you don't have multiple attacks from your BAB but you have a double weapon like a quarterstaff, do you get multiple attacks if you take a full-round action or do you still need the bonus from the ...
2
votes
2answers
383 views

Does Backswing work with double weapons?

Backswing (Ex): At 7th level, when a two-handed fighter makes a full attack with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls for all attacks after the first. All double ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

What does a 1d6/1d6 damage mean?

When reading the weapon attacks from the core rulebook I noticed quarterstaves (and a few other weapons) have something like this under the Dmg column; 1d6/1d6 What does this mean? It looks to me ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

Alternate, 2H, non-double use of quarterstaff?

I understand usually a quarterstaff is usually treated as a double weapon with 1d6/1d6 - however it seems like regripping it should allow use as a two handed weapon using only one end to get more out ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Embedding and attaching double weapons to Warforged, specifically spiked chain

Regarding embedding and attaching weapons as warforged components, p. 114 of the Eberron Player's guide Weapons can be embedded or attached components. Two-handed weapons cannot be attached or ...
3
votes
2answers
664 views

Dual wielding with a Double Weapon and an Off Hand weapon

Is it possible to dual wield with a double weapon and a off-hand weapon? For example, I'm wanting to use a double-sword in my main hand and, in my off hand, a handaxe.
1
vote
1answer
318 views

Double weapons and switching hands

I am playing a Warblade weilding a Spiked Chain. I have one head of the chain enchanted with +1 Sweeping, and the other head with +2. My question is, if I have the +2 end as my main attack, and the +...