Questions tagged [echo-knight]

For questions about the Echo Knight, an official fighter subclass in Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition. It was first published by Wizards of the Coast in the official "Explorer's Guide to Wildemount" book released in March 2020. Echo Knights summon spectral images of themselves from "unrealized timelines" and use them to fight more effectively.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
1 answer
615 views

If an Echo Knight fighter has a bow equipped, can they make an opportunity attack from the echo's space with a dagger, then use the bow on their turn?

One of my players is playing a level 5 Echo Knight fighter with the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style. Their primary source of damage is their bow. However, they utilize the ability to draw a ...
user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
180 views

Could a Simic Hybrid Echo Knight stay aloft as long as desired?

So I was reading over the Simic Hybrid's possible adaptations and noticed Manta Glide: You have ray-like fins that you can use as wings to slow your fall or allow you to glide. When you fall and aren'...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

If a prone Echo Knight fighter makes a ranged attack from the echo's space, and the echo is not prone, would the attack be made without disadvantage?

The description of the Prone condition states, in part (PHB, p. 292; emphasis mine): The creature has disadvantage on attack rolls. The description of the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature ...
user avatar
  • 670
11 votes
2 answers
965 views

Can a Bladesinger/Echo Knight MC cast attack cantrips through his Echo from his echo's location?

Extra Attack 6th-level Bladesinging feature You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of ...
user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
777 views

Can you attack while using Echo Avatar?

Using Echo Avatar, you: can temporarily transfer your consciousness to your echo. As an action, you can see through your echo's eyes and hear through its ears. During this time, you are deafened and ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
757 views

Can an echo knight's echo interact with objects?

The echo is apparently tangible and occupies a space, but is it capable of doing something as simple as opening a door? Can it pick up and carry anything?
user avatar
  • 5,817
2 votes
2 answers
557 views

Are these homebrew alterations to the Echo Knight's third level abilities balanced?

Intent It's no secret that the Echo Knight's description has been... problematic. The sheer number of questions on this site make that evident. As such, I've set out to re-write the Echo Knight's ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
4 votes
2 answers
997 views

Can a Dhampir echo knight's echo use vampiric bite to restore hit points to the echo knight?

The Vampiric Bite ability of the Dhampir race can be used as an attack, so RAW the Dhampir Echo Knight's Echo can bite. But would this be able to Empower the Echo Knight?
user avatar
  • 5,817
3 votes
1 answer
296 views

Can attacks against an Echo gain advantage for unseen attacker?

Usually, when two creatures can't see each other, and one makes an attack roll against the other, we roll a straight single D20-- advantage from unseen attacker cancels out with disadvantage from ...
user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
3k views

If an Echo Knight fighter turns invisible, do their echoes also turn invisible?

My question is inspired by this question: How can I make an Echo (or any Object) invisible? I was about to answer it by saying that the invisibility spell would work. However, on second thought, it's ...
user avatar
  • 27.7k
0 votes
1 answer
212 views

How can I make an Echo (or any Object) invisible? [duplicate]

An Echo knight's echo is an object, which makes it hard to turn invisible, as invisibility and greater invisibility only affect creatures. What options, from any non-homebrew source, allow you to ...
user avatar
  • 2,466
6 votes
1 answer
395 views

If an Echo Knight fighter makes an attack from their echo's space and hits a paralyzed enemy, is it automatically a critical hit?

The Manifest Echo feature lets the Echo Knight fighter create an echo, and attack from the echo's space (EGtW, p. 183): When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that ...
user avatar
  • 8,826
3 votes
1 answer
208 views

Can Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo's be forcibly moved?

I would like to know if an Echo, created by the Manifest Echo ability of an Echo Knight, can be forcibly moved by things else other than the Knight? Per the rules for Manifest Echo, an Echo "......
user avatar
  • 2,907
0 votes
1 answer
162 views

Can another creature move through the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo's space?

I would like to know if another creature, hostile or not, can move through the space occupied by an Echo, created by the Manifest Echo ability of an Echo Knight? Per the rules for Manifest Echo, an ...
user avatar
  • 2,907
2 votes
2 answers
545 views

Can an Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo be moved through water?

I would like to know if an Echo, created by the Manifest Echo ability of an Echo Knight, can be moved through water? An Echo itself is not considered a creature, and instead is listed as "image&...
user avatar
  • 2,907
6 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can an Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo move through another creature's space?

I would like to know if an Echo, created by the Manifest Echo ability of an Echo Knight, can move through the space of another creatures (hostile or not)? I know characters cannot normally move ...
user avatar
  • 2,907
6 votes
1 answer
653 views

Am I correct to assume that an Echo Knight can't use Manifest Echo to create an echo on the inside of a spherical Wall of Force?

Here once more a classical Wall of Force blender question. I understand that spells can't go through a spherical wall of force because of full cover, but does the same actually apply to class features ...
user avatar
  • 372
3 votes
1 answer
261 views

Does Brace trigger when an enemy enters my echo's reach?

The subclass feature Manifest Echo explicitly covers attacking from the Echo's location when taking the Attack action or when taking a specific reaction: When you take the Attack action on your turn, ...
user avatar
  • 9,394
1 vote
2 answers
1k views

Is the Echo of a Echo Knight actually a creature? [duplicate]

I've always been certain that the echo created by an Echo Knight fighter using their 3rd-level feature Manifest Echo is not defined in game terms as a creature, since the description of the echo never ...
user avatar
11 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can an Echo Knight fighter's echo ever fail a saving throw?

In an unsurprising turn of events, the wording of the Echo Knight's features continues to cause confusion. The description of the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature states, in part (EGtW, p. ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
7 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?

Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves? The Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature says, in part (EGtW, p. 183; emphasis mine): At 3rd level, you can use ...
user avatar
  • 9,394
10 votes
1 answer
826 views

When the War Caster feat lets my Echo Knight fighter cast a spell instead of the Manifest Echo feature's opportunity attack, where is it cast from?

This question is inspired by the following one: Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use cantrips for opportunity attacks made by their Echo? Part of the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo ...
user avatar
  • 71.6k
7 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use spells in place of opportunity attacks made by their Echo?

The Echo Knight fighter has the Manifest Echo feature, which grants the following ability, among others (EGtW, p. 183): When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the bonus damage from Spirit Shroud apply to an Echo's opportunity attacks?

The UA spell Spirit Shroud has the following effect: Until the spell ends, any attack you make deals 1d8 extra damage when you hit a creature within 10 feet of you. The Echo Knight has the following ...
user avatar
  • 11.1k
0 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does the reaction melee attack from the Sentinel feat's third benefit trigger through an Echo Knight fighter's echo?

The third benefit of the Sentinel feat reads (PHB, p. 169-170): When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can ...
user avatar
  • 1,725
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

For a multiclassed Ancestral Guardians barbarian/Echo Knight fighter, how do the Ancestral Protectors and Manifest Echo features interact?

Let's say I have three levels in Barbarian and three in Fighter. As a barbarian, I choose the Path of the Ancestral Guardian subclass, so I gain the Ancestral Protectors feature (XGtE, p. 10): While ...
user avatar
  • 53
3 votes
1 answer
435 views

Can an Echo Knight fighter with two echoes created by the Legion of One feature move both echoes 30 feet each on the same turn?

Upon reaching 18th level, the Echo Knight fighter gains the Legion of One feature, whose description says in part (EGtW, p. 184): You can use a bonus action to create two echoes with your Manifest ...
user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Will a Reckless Attack give advantage on attacks against a manifested echo of an Echo knight?

Question is simple. If an Echo Knight/Barbarian uses Reckless Attack on a creature and hits, will attacks made against their echo also be made with advantage?
user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
501 views

Can the Lucky feat be used on attacks made against an Echo Knight's Echo?

So, the question is regarding the Lucky Feats 2nd use. You can also spend one luck point when an attack roll is made against you. Roll a d20, and then choose whether the attack uses the attacker’s ...
user avatar
  • 164
3 votes
1 answer
678 views

Does attacking from your echo knight while hidden give you advantage or reveal your position?

If I'm a rogue/fighter multiclass, and I attack with my echo knight (which is out in the open) while I am hidden, does the attack have advantage, and does it reveal my position?
user avatar
  • 20.3k
7 votes
3 answers
7k views

What happens after an Echo Knight fighter grapples using its echo?

This question occurred to me after reading another one: Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks? That question asks whether the Echo Knight fighter's echo can make ability checks. A ...
user avatar
  • 27.7k
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks?

In the Echo Knight subclass it states that the Echo "uses your saving throw bonus for [saving throws]", but says nothing about being able to make ability checks with the Echo. I'm primarily concerned ...
user avatar
10 votes
4 answers
8k views

Can an Echo Knight move its echo vertically or through walls?

The Echo Knight archetype of the fighter class has the ability to manifest an echo of the knight. The Manifest Echo feature includes the following text (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 183): You ...
user avatar
  • 27.7k
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature create a snapshot of the character when creating it, or does it change as the Echo Knight does?

The Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 183) lets you "manifest an echo of yourself". Does Manifest Echo create a snapshot of the character when creating ...
user avatar
  • 4,650
12 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is an Echo Knight fighter's "echo" a tangible object, for the purpose of physical interaction?

The Explorer's Guide to Wildemount sourcebook contains a new Fighter subclass, the Echo Knight. Echo Knights have the ability to summon an "echo" of themselves; per the overall subclass description (p....
user avatar
  • 27.8k
9 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does the Echo Knight fighter's Legion of One feature allow each echo to use Unleash Incarnation?

The Echo Knight fighter's Unleash Incarnation feature states (EGtW, p. 183): [...] Whenever you take the Attack action, you can make one additional melee attack from the echo’s position. You can use ...
user avatar
  • 10.5k
9 votes
2 answers
6k views

Does the Echo Knight fighter's Unleash Incarnation feature add another attack to the additional Attack action from the Haste spell?

The Echo Knight fighter's Unleash Incarnation feature says (EGtW, p. 183): Whenever you take the Attack action, you can make one additional melee attack from the echo’s position. If the haste ...
user avatar
  • 99